Sacramento Kings
Managed to go to Unley Oval today to watch a decent game of local footy. Sturt were clearly the better side for majority of the game (quiet Blues_Girl:p ) but could never really kill off the Eagles. Here is how the Crow's listed players performed today

Martin Mattner played on the wing whole day and was probably Sturts best player. Got plenty of the ball but burned it a fair bit in the 1st QTR. As usual his tackling was great and he layed probably about half a dozen strong tackles. He also kicked 2 goals. His second was arguably a goal of the year. He got the ball at CHB and ran throught the corridor, took a couple of bounces and kicked a goal from 50. Apart from the 1st quarter he used the ball well. He did bomb it long a fair bit.

James Begley started like a house on fire. In the first 3 quarters he played across half back. Took a couple of stroing marks and provided plenty of run from the backlines. Used the ball really well and even managed to kick a goal. He was a bit quieter in 2nd and 3rd Qtrs. Started 4th QTR in the centre and did a couple of nice things.

Ben Nelson. The best way I can describe his game today was a Roo type of game at SANFL level. His bullocking style created a lot of opportunities for his team mates. His tackling was great and he even managed to kick a couple of goals from memory.

Brent Reilly started on the bench. Came on in the 2nd quarter and played across half back. I thought he strated well. got a bit of the ball and used it well. In the 2nd half he was moved to the forard line where he rotated between HF flank and FP. Was a bit quieter in the 2nd half but kicked a nice goal. A good hitout after a long layoff with injury.

Matthew Smith is a dead set dud. He is too bloody slow. He also started on the bench and didn't come on until 3rd QTR. Was thrown to FF where he looked out of sorts and was later moved to FB to play on Nathan Bock who gave him a bit of a touch up in the 4th QTR.

Hayden Skipworth was easily BOG for mine. Had shitloads of the ball and used it to advantage. Also kicked 3 goals. It was a real 4 quarter effort from Skippy and I have to say I have not seen him play a bad game this year with the Eagles. Is having a teriffic season.

Nathan Bock played a servicable game for Eagles. He strted off at CHB and looked a bit lost. He was benched late in the 1st QTR and spent majority of the half on the pine. Was moved to half forward in the 3rd quarter and was relatively quiet. Played at FF in the 4th quarter and kicked 2 goals. Gave a bit of a touch up to Matthew Smith

Trent Hentschel was VERY quiet. Played mainly across half forward. Started off OK in the 1st QTR but got most of his ball on the wing. It appeared as if he was instruced to play firther up the ground. Was quiet for the remained of the game. He did set up a couple of goals and kicked 2 behinds. One of them I could have sworn it was a goal.

My BOG would have to be Hayden Skipworth. He was great. Mattner also played really well and Begley was good. The others were servicable at best.

For those interstaters, Sturt won by 9 points.;)

Great review young Stiffmeister!! Thanks heaps.

Looks like young Skipworth might make his way back on the main list at the expense of Nelson at season's end.

Pleased for Mattner too, because our younger brigade, who have to be the future of the club, have had pretty ordinary years so far.

Also seems like Bock is slowly working back towards some semblance of form after getting to the stage that he couldn't beat an egg a few weeks back.

Originally posted by macca23
Great review young Stiffmeister!! Thanks heaps.

Looks like young Skipworth might make his way back on the main list at the expense of Nelson at season's end.

Pleased for Mattner too, because our younger brigade, who have to be the future of the club, have had pretty ordinary years so far.

Also seems like Bock is slowly working back towards some semblance of form after getting to the stage that he couldn't beat an egg a few weeks back.
No worries mate.;)

I have seen a few Eagles games this year and I have to say Skippy has been in best players in all of those. From our rookies I would say he has performed best and has certainly been more consistent.

Mattner frustrates me. He is shocking with Crows but woith Sturt he is a star. Uses his pace well, disposes the ball better and even kicks great goals. What the hell is wrong with this fella?!?!?!?!?!?!:confused:

Bock was serviacable today. I would say he only played one good quarter today and he was opposed to Matthew Smith. Was instumental in Eagles leveling the scores in the 8th minute mark of the 4th quarter.

Hentschel disappointed me today but to be fair the game plan from the Eagles was a shocker. Their forward line was crowded and their tall forwards didn't really have a sniff all day.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

Hentschel disappointed me today but to be fair the game plan from the Eagles was a shocker. Their forward line was crowded and their tall forwards didn't really have a sniff all day.

Hentschel is playing far below his capabilities because he has natural talent to burn. Do you think that playing him prematurely in the Sydney gane has shot his confidence and ego right up the back side??

Bye bye Smith and Nelson at year's end!!

Hentschel is playing far below his capabilities because he has natural talent to burn. Do you think that playing him prematurely in the Sydney gane has shot his confidence and ego right up the back side??

Bye bye Smith and Nelson at year's end!!
I think you are right RE: Sydney game. I know he has played 4 good matches in a row before getting his 1st game but it was too early. He was better against WB but was still way off his usual game. I am not a big fan of moving young KPP all over the place. His last month in defence has been great. Either play him at FF or play him in th backlines.

At the start of the year he was a true FF for the eagles and he was getting plenty of possesions and a few good looks at goal. I just believe that with young KPP just settle them into one position and let them play there for a year. Forget this rotating crap. At the end of the day you just destroy their confidence. Same thing has happened to Bock this year. Both him and Hentshcel are being played up forward, down back or on the wing.

I couldn't agree more about Smith and Nelson. For a players blessed with great size for footballers, they are dead set shocking. Especially Smith. What a waste of a draft pick:rolleyes:

...they are dead set shocking. Especially Smith. What a waste of a draft pick:rolleyes:

2000 wasn't the year for the greatest use of draft picks

In the order they were drafted

Angwin (delisted) - no games

Handby (delisted) - no games

Smith (to be delisted) - no games

Skipworth (downgraded to rookie) - 5 games

Johnc*ck (taken at 67) - bless his heart, we got one for the year.

A wiser use of the 3 draft choices that year would have had good implications fpr the club long term.

& we recruited Handby more or less just to smooth Angwins move over to SA as they were supposedly best of mates,

Great review Stiffy, saw a fair bit of the game on tv & like you was impressed with Skipworth once again (has he bulked up ??) & Mattner & Begley were my best for the Blues, still not sure about Hentschel & Bock they both need to show a bit more for my liking & never really noticed Smith so that says a lot for his performance.

I had a look in today's paper and Parker's stats are VERY impressive. 19 kicks, 14 handballs and 9 marks. This has got to be the best game to date.

In the same match Doughty had 10 kicks, 6 handballs and 6 marks.

The thing that really pisses me off is that there are a number of absolute guns from that draft that were available for us to pick. Names like, Shaun Burgoyne, Kane Cornes, Drew Petrie, Coughlan, Harris etc were all there for picking at certain picks. Any one of those are considered as future stars. How would we love Drew Petrie as a future CHF, Shaun Burgoyne or Kane Cornes. Honestly this is a make or break season for James Fantasia and Co.:mad:

I had a look in today's paper and Parker's stats are VERY impressive. 19 kicks, 14 handballs and 9 marks. This has got to be the best game to date.
I reckon it's time we elevated him to the senior list. We need to start developing the young players we have, and he has been the standout on our rookie list thus far.

Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
I reckon it's time we elevated him to the senior list. We need to start developing the young players we have, and he has been the standout on our rookie list thus far.
I wouldn't say he is a standout on our rookie list. His form has been a bit inconsistent but he has had a good year. I wouldn't promote him before the end of the year unless there is a long term injury. If we are to elevate any of our rookies for this year it has to be done by Round 18.

Clearly the standout of our rookies has been Skipworth. He is having a great season and hasn't played a bad game all year. If anyone deserves to be promoted at this stage its got to be Skippy.

In the same match Doughty had 10 kicks, 6 handballs and 6 marks.

Now Go South and I were at the Dogs V Panthers game. Granted I missed the first quarter, so that could have been a good one for Aiden.

Based on what I saw in the second onwards, Parker was a bit inconsistant and wasted the ball. Mind you he had a few mates in the same boat.

Parker took some good marks, put on a good smother. However, one of his kicks went straight to a Centrals player in the 2nd term and we got a goal from that. In the context of the game that was a shocker as South were controlling play and we couldnt kick straight up until that point.

He also kept kicking the ball across the ground, keeping the ball within Centrals attacking 50, instead of straight up the guts. I dont know if it was a team plan or not, but it put his teamates under some pressure.

In a better side, he might like like a better contender for a senior spot, right now I'm not that covinced.

Originally posted by Jerome
Now Go South and I were at the Dogs V Panthers game. Granted I missed the first quarter, so that could have been a good one for Aiden.

Based on what I saw in the second onwards, Parker was a bit inconsistant and wasted the ball. Mind you he had a few mates in the same boat.

Parker took some good marks, put on a good smother. However, one of his kicks went straight to a Centrals player in the 2nd term and we got a goal from that. In the context of the game that was a shocker as South were controlling play and we couldnt kick straight up until that point.

He also kept kicking the ball across the ground, keeping the ball within Centrals attacking 50, instead of straight up the guts. I dont know if it was a team plan or not, but it put his teamates under some pressure.

In a better side, he might like like a better contender for a senior spot, right now I'm not that covinced.
Jerome,
What about Michael Doughty?
It didnt sound like he played well.

Originally posted by AngelEyes
Jerome,
What about Michael Doughty?
It didnt sound like he played well.

Trust me...You really don't wanna know how he played.

Managed to go to Unley Oval today to watch a decent game of local footy. Sturt were clearly the better side for majority of the game (quiet Blues_Girl:p ) but could never really kill off the Eagles.

Hello Stiffy Baby :D

Nightmares to come true ;)