SANFL Preliminary Final

• Thread starter Thread starter Drummond

Age might be an issue (20?). Also he's a little small for an AFL KKP (189 cm) and a little slow to be a mid-fielder. But looks better than McGregor:D

i don't think age would be too big an issue, the crows recruited gill at a mature age this year after all, plus he's taken a little while to develop and come through to play seniors. he may just fit in as a mid-height flanker-type similar to michael o'loughlin or steve johnson

Why would you turn a forward into a defender?

What is the fascination with turning forwards into defenders? Maybe to learn a thing or two when they're struggling but Salter is in fine form, you don't change his position just for the sake of it.

And yes Salter is most certainly worth a look. Only 19 I believe, and has the ability to win the ball off the deck and make something out of nothing. Also got great footy smarts.

The reason why you would turn a forward into a defender is that they may just not cut it as a forward, but make it as defenders, think Bock, Rutten, Stevens etc.

Like the sound of this bloke salter, age shouldn't be a problem, very few blokes are ready to play at 18, especially the taller ones, a lot can happen in a year, perhaps a rookie listing or late main draft.

My thoughts :

Gallman - looked pretty good I thought. Requires a pre season or 2 on the weights but seems to have the mind set and aggression, worth keeping.

McIntyre -pretty ordinary I thought. Just needs to hit the contests harder.

Wright - There has been some reasonable wraps on him, but I thought he was average. Only young though.

Cubillo - I thought was pretty good. real hard nut, but at 183cm maybe a bit too short to be on an AFL list.

Gill - Pretty good. Just needs to work on his kicking a bit.

McGregor - Provided a good target. Still worth a spot in the Crows 22 next year I reckon, but would be restricted to FF as he doesn't have the athleticism up the ground.

Petrenko - Showed good evasive skills and a touch of class. 17 years old and showed a lot of potential. Definitely worth a look.

Jarrad - This bloke I thought was excellent. 185cm, booming left foot kick and is still young, may be worth a look late in the draft or PSD for some clubs.

Salter - This bloke is worth a look in the late 2nd or 3rd round IMO. Showed poise in the forward lines and class aswell. Kicked a few goals from approx 15 touches.

Ran all over them from about the 10min mark of the 3rd qter after the Eagles were out by 27. In the end probably should have won by about 50 points.

Say what you like about Gill's kicking the man is a deadset excitement machine. He could actually play in the midfield for bursts such is his engine.

I had him for about 4.5 plus maybe a few out on the fulls. There was probably only one set shot he should have kicked, maybe another from further out. When he misses it almost always going out to the right. This happens when his run up is too straight, if that makes sense. He is better off running on that slight arc out to right and kicking with a slight hook. When he does that he can huge distance with his kick as well as being accurate.

McIntyre could get delisted, he was owned by the eagles forwards. It is a big concern, I ask the questin again - Can he play anywhere else? He certainly is not a KPP position defender at SANFl level, let alone AFL.

Gallman a much better prosepct, don't know how to describe him but you can just tell by the way he goes about it.

McGregor did well from limited opportunities. But you really can't rate his performance as the North defence is really their weakest link. Hi accurate kicking at goal though is something to valued however.

Vince was probably the eagles best. As midfielder he goes alright, but his flair is somewhat held back there I think. He brilliance I think is better used around the sticks.

Ohh it was a sweet game. Even though I am an avid Eagles fan, Ive always had a soft spot for North.

Adelaide Oval is great for the footy, loved it.

Salter is a good young player, I hope crows are looking at him. Gill was exellent again, he always fire when he is needed, went a little quite when all guns were firing by North.

McIntyre (cant even spell his name sorry), well he is just plain terrible. What did the Crows see in him?

Also I liked what Vince was doing around the packs, I really like this bloke, I just hope he can perform when he comes back to the crows (if he comes back).

Wright - There has been some reasonable wraps on him, but I thought he was average. Only young though.

Didn't get many possessions today, but the amount of work he did off the ball was superb.

He chased all day long, laid a few terrific tackles and is a real in and under player, he isn't afraid to get stuck in.

He's only 17 too, I'd imagine he'd very much be on an AFL list next season, and depending which list he's on, he may even play a couple of games.

would be good for sanfl footy to see the roosters win :thumbsu:

in saying that, i'm tipping my boys to go down to the doggies by about 6 goals :(

anyone at the reserves?

feedback and scores appreciated. Who played well?

Glenelg 17.15 117 d North 6.8 44

Glenelg Goals: Graham 3, Willoughby 2, Lally 2, Plant 2, McGregor 2, Sutherland 2, Horan 1, Block 1, O'Grady 1, Kane 1.

played well : Nearly all the Glenelg team. Average age of 19.

that's where your recruits will come from....

Cubillo - I thought was pretty good. real hard nut, but at 183cm maybe a bit too short to be on an AFL list.
How is 183cm too short? Honestly, is 185cm the required height now? Surjan’s 180cm and he seems to be traveling alright. Cubillo’s aggression and courage will get him a long way.

Petrenko - Showed good evasive skills and a touch of class. 17 years old and showed a lot of potential. Definitely worth a look.
I agree with this and he looked the goods today. Has a bit of work to do with his disposal but his evasiveness is brilliant. Went up against Wright in a 1-on-1 contest and beat him hands down with a little sidestep. Looks classy.

Jarrad - This bloke I thought was excellent. 185cm, booming left foot kick and is still young, may be worth a look late in the draft or PSD for some clubs.
You can’t be serious? Is 23 and has no defensive side to his game. Pass.

After today I think Kenny will be at the Crows or playing SANFL. Can't see anyone picking him up after his SANFL finals form. Maybe after a good rest he might be able to get some freshness back in his legs. It's a crying shame that he looks burnt out at a relatively young age. Full forward is his go.
Thought the standouts were Ladhams, Gill and Vince as far as class went. Ladhams shows a real class and it is a pity that he decided to walk away from AFL. Can kick long and accurately and is a standout in this grade.
Salter and Wright look ok. I watched Cubillo to see how he rated but he didn't seem to be in the play much.

Can you imagine Shane Crawford was 18 years younger, he might not even make an AFL list at 174cm.
He's brilliant.

Daniel Kerr 178cm.
Heights overrated!

Funny though, I think the tallest GENUINE midfielder in the competition would be Chris Judd....189cm 85kg athletic freak of a footballer, but I guess those types only come around once a century.

Height is definitely over-rated in some respects, quite recently there have been numerous small marking forwards that are slowly becoming a part of every forward line, think Ebert (178), Porplyzia(182), Mark Williams(183), Brad Johnson(186) you could even include Ricciuto(183) and Burton(184) and there are many more I can't think of right now. Height can be very useful, but if you are good enough you will find ways around it.

(I apologise if any of the figures were slightly incorrect, they were just off the top of my head)

Very happy that North got into the GF. Even happier that Centrals made it for the 8th consecutive year. We are due for a Premiership, it has been a while. :thumbsu: ;)

Hopefully it is a good close game, and Centrals win. However, if we have to lose, Im glad it will be to North. Always have been my 2nd team, and they thoroughly deserve a Grand Final. :thumbsu: :)

Just curious, do you try shoot down in flames anyone you disagree with ?

How is 183cm too short? Honestly, is 185cm the required height now? Surjan’s 180cm and he seems to be traveling alright. Cubillo’s aggression and courage will get him a long way.

Completely agree about his courage and aggression and that is why I mentioned the lad. The guy is tough as nails and could make an AFL list, but doesnt really show any -special- skills

I just mentioned that at 183cm he may be a bit short. It hasn't stopped a lot of players from making it. Don't jump down my throat mate, just merely an observation.

I agree with this and he looked the goods today. Has a bit of work to do with his disposal but his evasiveness is brilliant. Went up against Wright in a 1-on-1 contest and beat him hands down with a little sidestep. Looks classy.

Isn't his evasive skills great ? Agreed about his disposal skills but shows class.

You can’t be serious? Is 23 and has no defensive side to his game. Pass.

Serious about what exactly ? The fact I thought he was excellent ? Booming left foot kick ? Still relatively young ? Or worth a late pick in the draft for -some- clubs?

Defensive side of his game was ok today I thought, he's ready to go and could add depth to a number of clubs around the league.

Just curious, do you try shoot down in flames anyone you disagree with ?
If I think they’re wrong, why not?

Completely agree about his courage and aggression and that is why I mentioned the lad. The guy is tough as nails and could make an AFL list, but doesnt really show any -special- skills

I just mentioned that at 183cm he may be a bit short. It hasn't stopped a lot of players from making it. Don't jump down my throat mate, just merely an observation.
Can’t disagree with your first comment. He’s as tough as nails but maybe lacks the class to make it at the top level. Disposal isn’t flash but everything else seems to be up to the mark. Could go either way.

Serious about what exactly ? The fact I thought he was excellent ? Booming left foot kick ? Still relatively young ? Or worth a late pick in the draft for -some- clubs?

Defensive side of his game was ok today I thought, he's ready to go and could add depth to a number of clubs around the league.
Serious about actually wasting a pick on him. There’s no doubting the fact that he’s a very good SANFL player but apart from his booming kick there’s nothing much to work with. You might disagree and that’s fine but no thanks on Jarrad.

Out of the Crows boys, Vince and Gill were clearly the best. Vince started off stongly in the first quarter, faded a little in the second although worked his way back in the final stages of the first half. His third quarter was ordinary, but he finished off on a high note, gathering 10 posessions in the last quarter. Overall I counted around 25 posessions, 5 marks, 1 tackle and a goal. Hopefully after a full pre season under his belt, he can break his way into the Crows side.

Gill came and went, having strong second and last quarters. He took 4 marks in the second term alone and finished with around 7 marks, 13 posessions, 3 tackles and 2 goals.

McGregor was pretty bad. I counted 7 posessions for the game. Its really his lack of speed and agility that let him down. Personally, I can't see how we offered him another contract. I would much rather his spot, even if it is a 'back up' spot, goes to a younger player.

McIntyre wasn't that good. I recorded 9 posessions for the game, 7 marks and 1 tackle. I don't know where he went in the third quarter, didn't spot him, but he bobbed up in the last to finish reasonably well.

Glenelg 17.15 117 d North 6.8 44

Glenelg Goals: Graham 3, Willoughby 2, Lally 2, Plant 2, McGregor 2, Sutherland 2, Horan 1, Block 1, O'Grady 1, Kane 1.

played well : Nearly all the Glenelg team. Average age of 19.

that's where your recruits will come from....
Well that makes 2 out of 3 GF's North will be in I think

What a great result :thumbsu: Im not expecting to win but hopefully we wont do a port power :p

Congrats to Scotty Banford on 200 games - What a champ!

GO ROOSTERS!

Can’t disagree with your first comment. He’s as tough as nails but maybe lacks the class to make it at the top level. Disposal isn’t flash but everything else seems to be up to the mark. Could go either way.

Yup, completely agree on this one. Could go either way. Being tough as nails and completely committed is a good start though.

Serious about actually wasting a pick on him. There’s no doubting the fact that he’s a very good SANFL player but apart from his booming kick there’s nothing much to work with. You might disagree and that’s fine but no thanks on Jarrad.
[/quote]

I didnt really commit either way as to whether he should be drafted. I did say some club -may- opt to draft him. I disagree with you a little, I think he's a bit more than a booming kick, but probably just short of AFL level.

No doubt, worse players than him have played AFL !