SANFL Round 1

To be fair to the blokes who do the SANFL 'official' stats, I think they still have only one person for each club so that makes it difficult to get it right. I actually had Andy down for 13k and 17hb (not counting a kick out on the full) but it's easier for us if we are focusing on one or two players at a time.

Fair call.

Anyway you care to look at it, the early form of Andy Otten is VERY satisfying.

Yeah, the Advertiser stats have one person doing the stats per club. It might be one caller & one collater per club, but I believe its actually one person who does both per club. Makes it tricky if theres a bunch of 3-4-5 quick handballs in a pack etc. Dont know why they dont just use the official club stats really.

I think Moss is going to be a great pick up from the rookie list and by the end of the year i think he will be on our main list. To only play a handful of reserves games after coming from the country and be ready for league selection in the best team in the sanfl is a great effort.

PORT POWER WERE SUPPER KEEN ON HIM!

I wouldn't say his is from the country tho guys, he is from the same area as Travis Varcoe and played a bit of footy at Smithfield with Travis!

He went to Willaston as that is where his old man was playing!

You guys have pinched a future Australian Cricketer from the ranks!

He is a champion, you guys have done well!

I can see how a single statistician per club would be REALLY busy and could easily miss the odd disposal. Would be busier than a one legged man at an arse kicking contest.

Begs the question how many people Champion Data use when recording the official stats for the AFL?

I know the actual SANFL clubs have upwards of 3-4 stats people. Port Magpies have 8. I know of a few clubs that use the Pro Stats computer/keyboard system.

Champion Data would have heaps you'd think with all the stats they come up with.

I wouldn't even mind if he was inconsistent and played at least a good game every now and then for Glenelg. But he doesn't even seem to be able to do that. It is a concern. If he hadn't had that good game against Collingwood in Dubai I think there'd be a fair bit of panic on here about how he's performing.

To be fair to the lad he is inconsistent but starting to at least occasionally show the considerable potential he displayed as a junior. In addition to the Dubai game he was named as fourth best for Glenelg in the final trial with something like 15 possessions and 12 marks. That's only one game ago. At his age I don't mind if he has down weeks as long as he bounces back with those kind of displays. My concern is that with Kirkby and co at Glenelg he won't be given the game time to prove himself though.

:thumbsu: Agree. There is far to much pressure on this kid to provide superstar performances every week.

Went down and had a look. Walker very impressive. Will not play many reserves games, he just has class written all over him.
I had a good look at Kite in the Seniors. Now I realise it was only one game but OMG!:eek: The best thing I can say is he runs around a lot like Jericho, only not as good!!!!
He basically didn't make it to a contest all night. The tackles he laid were only after the contest had been and the handballs were being throw around for so long he eventually made it there. He spent 95% of his time walking, 4.9 % in a very slow stiff legged jog and then 0.1% sprinting (which is actually pretty quick).
Basically he was the worst player on the ground by a Country Mile! I'd be very surprised if he played league again this season (that's how far off he was).

The good news, Ports Mitchell Farmer was also invisible.

There was one standout I would be looking at for a 2nd round draft pick and that was Charlie Sharples. Quick and CAN play. Very impressive.

Just on Kite, apparently he injured himself in the pre game warm up and will miss the next 4 games. So lots of slack must be cut.

I take it all back!:eek:
It explains a lot. Actually credit to the bloke for being able to run through more than half a game with knee damage. I've done it several times and it can hurt like hell!

It's a bit annoying though as he probably injured it further.
It's probably a good example of Draftee Syndrome*.

Had a niggle/injury, but didn't want to let his new team/s down nor his AFL coaches and development team and tried to play on, however, could've possibly done more harm than good.

*Draftee Syndrome. (c) Campbell's Chunky 2008.

on that walker guy. i thought he was very average in first half of ressies, looked like he didnt know what he was doing....and before you jump on a troll i was with my mate (die hard crows/sturt fan) and we were in agreeance. 2nd half kicked a few beauties but hey it was only ressies. He truly looked lost in the first though.

as for the above mention of mitch farmer being invisible i disagree. Looked very touch and hard at it. Kicking needs polish and may lack size, but im glad he should be a good sanfl player and do nothing for port ...smiles all round

Dunno if it's been mentioned or not.....but Sellar only got 2 kicks on the weekend, piss poor. Was he playing injured or just got towelled up?

on that walker guy. i thought he was very average in first half of ressies, looked like he didnt know what he was doing....and before you jump on a troll i was with my mate (die hard crows/sturt fan) and we were in agreeance. 2nd half kicked a few beauties but hey it was only ressies. He truly looked lost in the first though.

So Huey and Dewy carry more weight than the Norwood FC who had him in their best players.

FFS!! :rolleyes:

as for the above mention of mitch farmer being invisible i disagree. Looked very touch and hard at it. Kicking needs polish and may lack size, but im glad he should be a good sanfl player and do nothing for port ...smiles all round

Do you use your Adelaide uni student number as your bf login?

And I disagree with your post.

Do you use your Adelaide uni student number as your bf login?

And I disagree with your post.

yes...lazy. You may disagree. 2nd half looked fine as i stated but 1st half was average....and yes he still made the best cos he kicked a bag.

reminds a lot of westhoff honestly, looks bad plays good? but go ahead and abuse again

I see I'm not the only person to note the riders on the stats..

"Crows observers credited..." and "Statistics as provided by the SANFL".

I get the feeling that someone at the AFC isn't overly impressed with the SANFL statistician.:D

The stats provided by the SANFL are the dodgy stats taken by the Advertiser, who don't have the resources to record them accurately (only one person doing the stats per team).

The Crows and Port observers at the game go and visit the SANFL club statisticians after the game to get much more accurate (and detailed)stats, as they actually know the players, record everything on computer, and have teams of up to 9 statisticians working on them. ;)

The stats provided by the SANFL are the dodgy stats taken by the Advertiser, who don't have the resources to record them accurately (only one person doing the stats per team).

The Crows and Port observers at the game go and visit the SANFL club statisticians after the game to get much more accurate (and detailed)stats, as they actually know the players, record everything on computer, and have teams of up to 9 statisticians working on them. ;)

Yeah - But the Glenelg Stats guys are by far the worst

from what I hear the only good ones get taken by the crows :p

SANFL Round 1