Saturday Afternoons

• Thread starter Thread starter Dave

We've seen a lot of talk in the media about Saturday Arvo's and which is the most preferred time to go to the footy. Personally I prefer Saturday arvo's even though I play, as I reckon the skills in night matches aren't as good during the winter months(Colonial will change this with it's closed roof, but for me footy has always been a daytime sport), and I can take my son which I can't do at night as he's too young.

What's everyone else think?

Dave, agree 100% with you on Saturday afternoons. Maybe it is only a Melbourne thing (dont know about the i/staters but it is so much easier to watch then get home and feed the kids etc if you can plan your day around a 2pm start. Friday nights are not to bad if your driving but (though i dont have any of my own)I wouldnt like getiing public transport aafter 10:30 with kids. Saturday night even more so. Sundays are usally family days with me so thats anther no-no.

I prefer the Friday night games as it's a great way to end the week and it leaves the rest of the weekend to do other things. If we don't play on Friday night, then I'm not fussed if we play on Saturday or Sunday afternoons.

But unlike Grendal, I don't have kids to worry about.

Like Shinboners, I prefer Friday night football however it is definitely out for kids. I know my 5 year old, is usually asleep by 3/4 time. My second preference is Saturday arvos, with Sundays definitely out.

Saturdays and Sundays, and Public Holidays. I live on the Mornington Peninsula, and I'm 16, which makes it hard to go to night games. Any day on the weekend when I'm not working and on Public Holidays I cant make my way up there.

Saturday afternoon or Friday night.

I play on Sunday's, so I hate it when those are scheduled.

And midweek matches are f#&$%^@ ridiculous.

Best day of the year - ANZAC DAY, Collingwood vs Essendon.

Greatest game of the year.

Matt

We've never played a H&A game on a Saturday arvo, it's always Sunday afternoons or Fri/Sat nights. This year there's a couple of Sunday night games, which are a real pain, especially for kids and oldies. I don't like Friday night games, since there's not much time between uni/work finishing and the game. (That's because of Vic TV times I should point out!)
Anyway, I like Sunday games since I don't work then and aren't religious, and Saturday nights always have a good atmosphere.