SC Forwards Discussion Thread

I love it when people write this tripe when they have nothing else to add.

What else is there to add? I made my point which you agreed with after softening your post's about $300K players.

It's just the arrogance coming through in your posts about your strategy that led to my semi-sarcastic remark.

Trust me, I'm not talking out of my arse ... this time :) I know his average in '09 was inflated by a HUGE move to the midfield, and I believe 90 will be his new average score in the current team as his role is not going to be what it was ... having said that "consistency" is easy to judge - just look over the past 5 years of S/C averages ... even someone like Dal Santo - who I would say is HUGELY inconsistent from game to game (he is slow and struggles to break a strong tag), is still someone I would call "consistent" - simply because his S/C averages from year to year are consistent and high (ie. his good games balance out his bad games). I was burnt by O'Keefe last year too and am vacillating on him this year ... I just think it is unfair to label him "inconsistent" - unless you are meaning from game to game - in which case, I don't believe it matters for a keeper.

If fully fit you would want him averaging more than 99, which he can, as we saw at the start of last year. He was killing it before he tweaked his groin, averaging well above 100, which is the only reason he managed to finish the season with 98. After he came back his respectable scores only dribbled in.

Interesting one this year JB. Not sure he is 100% or will ever get back to 100% plus he is now lost Bradshaw/Fev/Brennan etc. Might be a tough year for him, better options to take than him this year.

Petrie is a dead set keeper if he gets back to top form - 90 plus average in the ruck is hard to come by
I don't plan on him being a keeper but see him increasing enough to trade him out. That's a big if to go back and average 90+ as a pure forward (what Scott is saying he'll be played as). If you have him as a forward and he's averaging 80 he's not a keeper.

What else is there to add? I made my point which you agreed with after softening your post's about $300K players.

It's just the arrogance coming through in your posts about your strategy that led to my semi-sarcastic remark.

I don't understand my strategy is the same as most people who have played the game for a few years. The arrogance is probably stemming from the frustration of people not being able to understand what I am saying. I never softened my post I wrote this

Keepers or cash cows - Anything in the middle is just rubbish.

To which you rambles on about this.

There is more than one strategy. Choosing a $200-$300K player isn't always a rubbish decision. By your reasoning players only go from cash cows to keepers without anything in between. Plenty of mid ranged players have break out years. Anyhow you always have the option of getting rid of a Player not performing by trading for a rookie who is scoring well, that you may not have previously had and making $200K profit.

I never said I wouldn't pick up that sort of player. I said I only would do so if they were potential keepers or if I was able to make as much money from them as I would a rookie. I'm not sure where people are getting mixed up :confused:

Yeah - the problem with Petrie (everyone will have him so it's not a huge problem) is that his role has changed ... when he averaged 90 in the past he was often used as CHB as well as in the Ruck and CHF (with Hale at Full Fwd). All indications this year are that he will be playing FF (Hansen at CHF) due to his foot injuries and therefore will be unable to utilise as much of his running skills - I would be surprised if this doesn't somewhat reduce his scoring capacity over previous years.

I don't plan on him being a keeper but see him increasing enough to trade him out. That's a big if to go back and average 90+ as a pure forward (what Scott is saying he'll be played as). If you have him as a forward and he's averaging 80 he's not a keeper.

He is a strong contested mark who leads up well at the ball. He can average over 90, however if he falls short (say 80), you would have still made about 200k from him, then you transfer him to the forward line a pick up a premium.

He is North Melbourne's most important player. Believe me we will use him whenever we can.

I never said I wouldn't pick up that sort of player. I said I only would do so if they were potential keepers or if I was able to make as much money from them as I would a rookie. I'm not sure where people are getting mixed up :confused:

In all fairness, your original posts were probably not quite as clearly stated as you believe they were (hence the myriad of people misunderstanding your original point), however when you explained what you meant, I could understand your point entirely ... anyway, I thought it was MY role to get into lengthy arguments with people over meaning and intention on Big Footy ;)

I am not 100% percent convinced on Petrie, has the potential to be a keeper, but change of regular position and injury concerns have me doubting he will get there. I currently have him on the bench in my rucks with the hopes that he will play well and I can swap him into my forward line as a keeper. But seeing that he is just over 200K im treating him like a top draft pick (Whilst the rest of my team allows me to afford it at least) with my finger crossed that nothing happens.

what are people thinking of rioli this year i see him around the ground alot more this year?

Looked to find his feet in a massive way last year, and I cant see him taking a back step. Should score pretty well rotating through the midfield.

He is a strong contested mark who leads up well at the ball. He can average over 90, however if he falls short (say 80), you would have still made about 200k from him, then you transfer him to the forward line a pick up a premium.

He is North Melbourne's most important player. Believe me we will use him whenever we can.
I get that, just pointing him out because he's one of the few mid pricers worth picking who isn't a guaranteed keeper. Doesn't really fall under a cash cow or keeper category which is what you said you should only pick - "anything else is rubbish".

He could fall under the cash cow moniker seeing that he is just over 200k, if he can average somewhere between 70 or 80 his price will rise enough for him to be considered a cash cow. I think the mid pricers he was reffering too were more around the 300K range.

That said, I am growing ever more fond of Dangerfield at 340K.

Callum Wilson from WCE anyone? thoughts? I'm really unsure

Showed a bit in his 3 games last year with an average of 79, but with a 270k price tag its probably best to stay away. There will be cheaper players averaging about that amount, and if his NAB cup games are anything to go by, he didn't look to impressive. Couldn't get on the field in the first game, had a couple of shaky touches in the second (did kick a nice goal though). That said you cant judge a player based on NAB cup form.

He could fall under the cash cow moniker seeing that he is just over 200k, if he can average somewhere between 70 or 80 his price will rise enough for him to be considered a cash cow. I think the mid pricers he was reffering too were more around the 300K range.

That said, I am growing ever more fond of Dangerfield at 340K.
Yeah, that's why I originally said it depends on your definition of a cash cow and mid pricer. Doesn't really matter anyway, he'll be worth selecting.

what are people thinking of rioli this year i see him around the ground alot more this year?

This might be able to provide some more insight:

Cyril Rioli to blossom in the Hawthorn midfield

HAWTHORN'S Cyril Rioli is ready to make a stunning transition to the midfield this year, according to teammate Lance Franklin.

With the Hawks set to inject more speed through the middle of the ground, and with Rioli having just completed a near flawless fourth pre-season, Franklin is confident his mate can weave his magic through the midfield.

"With the way he has been training, I think Cyril is ready to have a ripper year," Franklin said.

"I am excited and I know that everyone at the club is really happy with the way he is going. I reckon he is ready to make the move into the midfield and absolutely kill it.

"Cyril is one of my favourite players."

Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson admitted this week it would be a delicate balancing act where Rioli would play, given how dangerous he can be when playing in attack.

Rioli has barely missed a beat during the pre-season. The only negative was the sudden death of his uncle Maurice from a heart attack on Christmas Day.

At the moment, I'm tossing up between Cyril, Green & Sylvia for my F5 spot :confused:

Should definitely get more time around the ground, which you'd imagine would translate into a higher SC average.

But don't forget that there were 2 further articles in the Herald Sun - one interviewing Cyril Rioli himself where he stated that he had not had enough of a pre-season to increase his endurance sufficient to play in the midfield, and one interviewing Allistair Clarkson where he stated Rioli was too valuable in the Fwd line (a weakness for them as far as small fwds are concerned) to be used as a midfielder in anything other than bursts. This combined with the fact that Burgoyne is now injury free and Cameron Bruce has been playing in the midfield in the pre-season may suggest no role change for Rioli this year :(

Do you have those two articles?

Was wondering if having both Grundy and Sylvia is too much of a risk??

Pros. Both have a higher kick to h.b ratio. Grundy has played the last two seasons without missing a game. Both still young 25~26.

Cons. Sylvia is yet to play a full season in 7 seasons (most being 18 in 2008). Both playing in average-ish teams. Grundy is more of a backman.

Doing my head in now :(

Any standouts in the 448,000 and under range? Was considering Gray but was so burnt after having him all year last season.

Do you have those two articles?

Here's the one in which Rioli himself anticipated only playing bursts in the midfield:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/cyril-keeps-rioli-vision-alive/story-e6frf9jf-1225997764029

Here's one in which Mark Evans (football manager) states it will be be balance between Rioli playing Forward with "bursts" in the midfield:

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/haw...-next-afl-season/story-e6frf33l-1225965807247

And it was actually in Buddy Franklin's "Rioli to make stunning transition to Midfield this year" article (which may very well have been the one linked to above), that it is stated: "Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson admitted this week it would be a delicate balancing act where Rioli would play, given how dangerous he can be when playing in attack"

http://www.news.com.au/cyril-rioli-to-blossom/story-e6frf9jf-1226000825292

So it pretty much looks like he is still primarily a forward playing bursts in the midfield - which is NOT a change from his role of last season ... though people seem to be hyping his transition into a midfielder as per Gary Ablett Jnr. with flagrant regularity and suggesting his scoring will receive a concomitant boost ... to which I am calling "Shenanigans". The word straight from senior Hawthorn officials and Rioli (I think it's pretty safe to ignore what Buddy says most of the time) is that his role will be the same as last year and what we are encountering a lot is the usual pre-season hype and bullsh*t which occurs when people WANT something to happen (PS - I've got a hot tip for those people about Robbie Gray and Mark LeCras BOTH being moved into the midfield this year ... just like last year and the year before and ...) :eek:
:thumbsu:

Last year I expected Sylvia to have a breakout year, he showed abit of potential in a few games but was abit hot and cold. Hopefully this year should do abit better with a few more stronger bodys around to help him out abit more this year. Could be his year, but who knows.

What are your thoughts on Zaharakis this year? Its between him and Knights for a spot in my team.

WOW, Gamble super impressive.

Definately 1 i'll be keeping an eye on with a move to a new club and Roo and Kos to take the key defenders surely he has to fire.

With Dawson out suspended Gilbert will be required to go back again leaving a spot forward for RG to play and kick a bag.

Thoughts

Last year I expected Sylvia to have a breakout year, he showed abit of potential in a few games but was abit hot and cold. Hopefully this year should do abit better with a few more stronger bodys around to help him out abit more this year. Could be his year, but who knows.

What are your thoughts on Zaharakis this year? Its between him and Knights for a spot in my team.
Knights by a long way, if fit.

WOW, Gamble super impressive.

Definately 1 i'll be keeping an eye on with a move to a new club and Roo and Kos to take the key defenders surely he has to fire.

With Dawson out suspended Gilbert will be required to go back again leaving a spot forward for RG to play and kick a bag.

Thoughts

yes, had Gamble penciled in as thought he might be a good unique, after tonights effort think a few more people will be looking at him.