Schammer

Jan 14, 2005
At Work.
I was waiting to see if someone else posted about his game on the weekend because you already know I have a bit of a set against him. I have been pretty disappointed in him as a player over the past few seasons, and I thought last weeks game was in the same mould. Dead ordinary.

His disposal by foot is still less than average so turns the ball over regularly, lacks composure under pressure and even with time and space regularly selects the wrong option. And he's slow and small.

I can't fault his committment and his attack on the pill. He tries his guts out but he still hasn't been able to string a consistently good series of games together.

I reckon he should be considered for trade as I don't think he adds much to our midfield.

Thoughts? Ideas? Bagging? Downright insults qustioning my sexuality and parenthood?

I don't think you can question Butthead Schammers attack at the footy, but you can question his skills. He is just one of those guys on the list who has gone backwards.. not forwards. People can talk all they like about a "big preseason will have him back on track" but the reality is, it is not his fitness that is slowing him down, it is his awareness and general footskills.

I wouldn't say he is slow though, once he gets going he is middle of the range quickness on our list. I don't think he should be traded, we wouldn't get much for him, and i think he can only improve from here. He is still only young.

if you discount this year (because it would be unfair to judge him on this years performance ) i tend to aggree with you in the sense that i dont believe he has developed as he should have over the few years , he started with a bang and the levelled off. as for Dunn i am thinking if he is contracted for 1 more year keep him and see what the new coach can get from him otherwise trade if he has more than a 1 year contract

I thought He was heaps better against the Bombres.

Pro stats listed him with 3 errors / 18 disposals which was better than Macca's 4 / 14.

His disposal on his left foot is better than his right IMO.

Agreed. He also hit Pav on the chest a couple of times.

Having said that, I think he is a fringe player atm but he is still only 22 so would expect him to improve over the next couple of seasons..

Not Sure Ralph, not sure.

What really concerns me about Schammer is his inability to keep running all day and not just this season where he has had a debilitating illness either...

Schammer's development IMHO has stalled somewhat.

I suggest seeing what we can get for him during trade week (Much like Murphy/Campbell)

Obviously if the offer isn't good enough..Keep him.

I would have thought considering the pre-season/season he has had, and the limited game time he is getting, he is starting to get his pace and touch back. Leading into crucial games that can only be a good thing.

We do have players with worse disposal playing week after week.

He hasn't quite come on as expected, however I think he's the logical replacement for Bellie when he retires.

We definately should not be looking at trading midfielders this year, that would be plain stupid when our depth in that area is very shallow indeed.

I reckon he should be considered for trade as I don't think he adds much to our midfield.

Thoughts? Ideas? Bagging? Downright insults qustioning my sexuality and parenthood?

Schammer was pretty good in the second half of last season and one of our best in the final against Melbourne. I think it is unfair to judge him on his performances in 2007 because even experienced players struggle to overcome an interrupted pre-season. Crowley has been down on last years form and has been running since christmas. Schammer's pre-season started in late April.

It's quite possible that Bell, Cook, Walker and McManus won't be on our list next season, I think it would be a very bad decision to trade Schammer. We have a habit of investing 4-5 years into a player then trading them off when they are starting to hit their straps. There's a possibility that we'll do it with Murphy and allow another club to reap the benefits, but our recruiting has put us in a damned if you do, damned if you don't position with him.

Clearly not your favourite:rolleyes:Thats what they said about Bell Dr.
Last year he lost confidence and his decision making wasn't good and this year we all know what happened but at just 22 y.o(june)he will be fine.
So Peake must be traded going on what has been said so far.

I'd be keeping him. He's right behind the 8 ball this year after what happened in the pre-season. Way too harsh judgement around here. Deserves another season minimum.

He has been on the back foot this year since his subsquent surgery, post op infection and pro-longed recovery. Certainly not the season to judge him on. Freo's own little schwarzenegger should stay in purple.

Schammer did not have a good year last year. By all accounts he had the biggest preseason of our team and was looking like breaking out. Then comes appendicitis followed by bowel obstruction.

Appendicitis, no big deal. Bowel obstruction set him back heaps. His kicking has been spot on this year. Think about his run along the wing against the Eagles, at full tilt, about to get crunched he spotted Pav on a lead with pin point accuracy. The kid is all heart and will undoubtably step into Bell's shoes once he retires.

Would hate to lose him. People forget he is only 22.

He hasn't been getting the game time that he was normally getting last year so his possies are down but his disposal has remarkably improved. If we get rid of him he won't want to go to anywhere but Adelaide or Port me thinks similar to pav.

It seems at the Purple Horde here we have a tendency to want to trade anyone who has a bad few weeks or year... First it was Mundy, then Murphy, then Schammer! What next? Josh Carr?!

He CAN change given some Harvey tuition.

Has pace, has skills...does cough it up...BUT definitely worth keeping espicially if Hase & Bell aren't there next season

Schammer was pretty good in the second half of last season and one of our best in the final against Melbourne. I think it is unfair to judge him on his performances in 2007 because even experienced players struggle to overcome an interrupted pre-season. Crowley has been down on last years form and has been running since christmas. Schammer's pre-season started in late April.
I'm not judging him just on this season. I've always thought he was overrated. Even when his disposal was average there were times when his vision was poor, and would kick to a poor option.

The difference between Schammer and Bell is the quality of the contest they can make. For a little guy Bell punches way above his weight. Schammer gets knocked off the ball so easily. One season after leaving Freo, Peter bell was a solid performer in a Premiership team. Schammer doesn't look anywhere near that class after 4 seasons.

It's quite possible that Bell, Cook, Walker and McManus won't be on our list next season, I think it would be a very bad decision to trade Schammer. We have a habit of investing 4-5 years into a player then trading them off when they are starting to hit their straps. There's a possibility that we'll do it with Murphy and allow another club to reap the benefits, but our recruiting has put us in a damned if you do, damned if you don't position with him.
I don't think that's true by a long way anymore. Maybe pre-2000.

I can look through the list and see the potential in all the younger players. But I've always had my doubts about Schammer, and his fall from grace lasy year was not unexpected for me. I suppose time will tell.

He is a midfielder, he is young, he has some pace, as a team we are not overly endowed with any of these things, end of argument!
That's a fallacy. He is not quick. Have a look at those times he is running flat tilt alongside an opposition player in a race for the ball and you'll notice he gets beaten for pace on a regular basis.

Had 12 Brownlow votes in 2004. Since then has had problems with unfortunate injuries at frustrating times. Don't lose the faith. He's shown before how good he can be. Losing him would be the biggest mistake Freo ever made. Would expect top 3 pick in the draft if he was to be traded.

Ralph, it's not as though he's the fastest going around. But he has pace, and certainly more than Bell/Carr/Hasleby.

The addition of a fit Peake & Schammer have given J Carr & Hasleby the freedom to do what they do best. And not worry about being ball carriers and deliverers. And the last two weeks show the result.

He CAN change given some Harvey tuition.

Has pace, has skills...does cough it up...BUT definitely worth keeping espicially if Hase & Bell aren't there next season

I agree he might become a very good footballer now we have a coach.

Schammer