Schapelle Corby

Jenny, you agree that the bag and its contents are yours when you clear Customs in Australia, not at the other end when they open it up and discover its contents. That is exactly why you are asked at Customs, "is it your bag, did you and you alone pack it, are you fully aware of its contents ?". It does not give you an out should you be caught at the other end.

The burden of proof is upon the prosecution Australia yes, and this is NOT different in Indonesia, despite that you say it is so. It is merely the case that the Indonesian court considered the evidence, found that the charge was sustained based on the evidence. If you then want to challenge the evidence, lodge an appeal.... then you must come up with other EVIDENCE which invalidates the evidence already presented. This is the same in Indonesia as in Australia.

The arguments about the severity of punishment in Australia compared to Indonesia is irrelevant. If you are caught committing a crime in Australia, you are subject to our laws and punishments, regardless of your country of origin. We do not consider what the laws and punishments are for the defendants home country. Same goes for committing a crime in Indonesia, or any other country.

The fact that the Indonesian's have a far tougher stance on drug trafficking than you is irrelevant.

Jenny, you agree that the bag and its contents are yours when you clear Customs in Australia, not at the other end when they open it up and discover its contents. That is exactly why you are asked at Customs, "is it your bag, did you and you alone pack it, are you fully aware of its contents ?". It does not give you an out should you be caught at the other end.

The burden of proof is upon the prosecution Australia yes, and this is NOT different in Indonesia, despite that you say it is so. It is merely the case that the Indonesian court considered the evidence, found that the charge was sustained based on the evidence. If you then want to challenge the evidence, lodge an appeal.... then you must come up with other EVIDENCE which invalidates the evidence already presented. This is the same in Indonesia as in Australia.

The arguments about the severity of punishment in Australia compared to Indonesia is irrelevant. If you are caught committing a crime in Australia, you are subject to our laws and punishments, regardless of your country of origin. We do not consider what the laws and punishments are for the defendants home country. Same goes for committing a crime in Indonesia, or any other country.

The fact that the Indonesian's have a far tougher stance on drug trafficking than you is irrelevant.

Im sorry Deano but the laws re burden of proof are completely different in the two countries. That's why the prosecution in Bali only have to say she was in possession, it was her bag therefore she is guilty. It is up to her to prove that someone else put the stuff in there. It is almost impossible to do this unless someone comes forward and admits to it - which is highly unlikely. In Australia, it is always up to the prosecution to prove their case against the defendant. This is part of the "innocent until proven guilty" stance our justice system operates under. As for claiming to Customs that you packed your bags yourself in Australia BEFORE you leave, that is not right. You are only ever asked that question at point of arrival when going through customs with your bags - not departure. I've travelled many times overseas and my bags are long gone at the Qantas check-in gate before I go through Customs. Qantas' main concern is that every piece of baggage is accompanied by someone on the corresponding plane. Can't recall ever being asked if I packed them myself. In fact the only thing Customs/security do on departure is make sure you aren't carrying explosives, sharp objects etc on to the plane.

Aside from the fact that it was her bag, could it be also that she was quick to say that it was her bag because she may have thought that they would hand it straight over to her without searching it whereas if nobody owned up to the bag then they would have searched it?

Do people who think Schapelle Corby is innocent think that the Balinese customs officer is lying? Why would he lie? What's in it for him? Do you think he gets his giggles by putting innocent people in jail? He doesn't come across as that sort of person to me.

well all I have to say is that michelle Leisly or whatever is a ____ing lucky girl!

I'm been tossing up if she's guilty or innocent for ages I'm always changing my mind.....there's resonable doubt for me and also she's a bloody good at acting if she is infact Gulity.

but on the other hand if your stupid enough to claim a bag thats full of drugs as yours.......well you get my point

but if it's not her it's got to be the brother.

well all I have to say is that michelle Leisly or whatever is a ____ing lucky girl!
Slight difference being that Lesley got caught with TWO ecstasy tablets. A far cry from 4.2kg of marijuana.

Two tablets is clearly not dealing/trafficking offence, it's personal use.

Do people who think Schapelle Corby is innocent think that the Balinese customs officer is lying? Why would he lie? What's in it for him? Do you think he gets his giggles by putting innocent people in jail?

I still reckon she's guilty but more generally, you're not serious are you?

Balinese in positions of authority over there try to set up westerners all the time, these people are dirt poor compared to us - bribes.

Guilty Guilty Guilty..

They knew the system inside out in Bali.

Evidence

1. Marijuana bag fitted perfectly in boogie board

2. Clear bag - therefore if found can claim it wasn't me why would i pack it in a boogie board and in a clear bag...she cries..give me a break

3. Known Adelaide drug traffickers/smugglers visiting Corby in Jail..WTF?

I can go on but i can't be bothered.

How many froydian slips can you fit into 1 segment...ridiculous..

Mercedes: the brother had nothing to do with what schappele did...oops that didn't sound right.........give me a break.

Father: When was the last time you spoke to Tony , Tony who, i know no Tony...Tony Wilson your best friend , you know, the guy convicted for possession and trafficking commercial quantities of Marijuana...ohhhh that Tony.

Corby's best friend: Practically fessed up to the entire thing and was quickly distanced by Mercedes & Schapelle.

Her own defence Lawyer saying that the defence was a complete croc and you can clearly see on tape Schapelle agreeing that this is the story we are going with and laughing about it.

Star witness....what star witness you say ?....a convicted fellon who is part of the Carl Williams crew who was quickly silenced and didn't drop any names at Trial other then i heard 'people' talking in my jail cell...wtf.

Stupidity: oh lets go and pick up my boogie board and oh lets not notice as im carrying it 300 meters through customs that it is considerably heavier and chunkier then what it was when i packed it...lets not go directly to offices standing in the immediate vicinity and inform them of such alterations to your belongings and waive any possible criminal repercussions.....wtf

Anyone been to Bali? i have 3 times and i tell you what when i'm picking up my bags i would certainly notice if they were 5 kilos heavier and chunkier as im carrying them for a good 300 meters around the airport and customs.

Mercedes and Balinese husband claim they have never touched the stuff yet photos of mercedes chasing the dragon and her husband on camera smiling & claiming it is gods plant may say otherwise.

They got cute and thought that they could get away with the stash without paying the 'administration' fee so aptly put by all Balinese Cops and customs offices when you get pulled up in Bali.

Most of us that have been ito Bali have been stopped at Customs and in the streets for any number of reasons and you would be picked up on any trivial so called misdemeanour.

The smart ones negotiate the 'administration' fee, the bogan losers, aka Corby's do the time.

Should have got a further 20 for stupidity.

Im sorry Deano but the laws re burden of proof are completely different in the two countries. That's why the prosecution in Bali only have to say she was in possession, it was her bag therefore she is guilty. It is up to her to prove that someone else put the stuff in there. It is almost impossible to do this unless someone comes forward and admits to it - which is highly unlikely. In Australia, it is always up to the prosecution to prove their case against the defendant. This is part of the "innocent until proven guilty" stance our justice system operates under. As for claiming to Customs that you packed your bags yourself in Australia BEFORE you leave, that is not right. You are only ever asked that question at point of arrival when going through customs with your bags - not departure. I've travelled many times overseas and my bags are long gone at the Qantas check-in gate before I go through Customs. Qantas' main concern is that every piece of baggage is accompanied by someone on the corresponding plane. Can't recall ever being asked if I packed them myself. In fact the only thing Customs/security do on departure is make sure you aren't carrying explosives, sharp objects etc on to the plane.

Wrong on both counts again Jenny. The "burden of proof" is not different. In both countries the burden is on the prosecution. Possession of drugs in your belongings, without a reasonable explanation (not theory) will be sufficient to substantiate trafficking in both countries. Otherwise we could all stuff drugs in our bags, then claim to know nothing about it, and expect to be acquitted every time, right ?

You are asked at check-in (check-in not Customs, you are right on that one) at EVERY Australian airport at departure for an international flight the things I stated in my previous post. "Are they your bags, did you pack them, are you aware of their contents, and have you left them unattended since you packed them". Standard at every Australian airport. And yes, I also have travelled many times overseas recently.

why is it that sites like Big Footy tend to attract people with such extreme views??? FFS 20 years for trafficking 4kg of weed is a little extreme IMO. Yes drug trafficking is bad and offenders need to be punished but it's not like Corby is some major drug lord. Have any of u people ever thought about what it would be like to be imprisoned? Apart from being deprived of your liberty your basic human rights are abused on a daily basis. Prisoners can be subject to all diffrent froms of abuseo n a daily basis. When u do get out its on your record for life and life would never be the same again. I think 4 or 5 years would have been sufficent punishmnet for Corby. Hell i think one week in one of those prisons would be enough to scar emost people away from drugs forever.

a few other points,

• most people here callign the family bogans are absolute hypocrites. Illegal drug use is rife amongst middle class proffessionals as well as the rich. It's not just bogans that engage in illegal drug use.
  • regardless of what her family is like it does not mean aything. My old man used to grow weed but i am not him and there is nothing i could have done to stop him, except dob him in to the cops.
  • the indonesian system is f***ed. why should possession automatically transfer into guilt? Shit does happen and people do get set up. how is somebody meant to prove their innocence?
While Australia maybe very soft on these offenders there are some other countries in this region that are completely over the top. They need to move with the times.

The mileage she has been given due to the pretty face is incredible, that is not the only thing of this whole sordid affair that annoys me others are as follows;

The on air war between channel 9 and channel 7... someone at 9 loves the Corby's, someone at channel 7 woke up next to Mercedes and is forever scarred.

The constant defence of SC by stating why would you take dope to Bali where it is worth nothing...WRONG it is very much sought after by expats and regular smokers it demands much more on the streets than the local gear due to it's increased potency. It was worth quite a bit and would be easy to move on.

SC doesn't fit the drug runner mold WTF too many episodes of Border Security has made everyone experts in picking a drug runner. If the dope was for Bali distribution and her family [sister and neice and nephew] live there why wouldn't she want to fund the trip by taking some goods, remember the 17 yr old unemployed brother went as well perhaps his flight was to be paid for?

As has been stated in many previous posts if she was a hairy fat tattoooed bloke [read me] she would not rate a mention, there are plenty in Indonesian and Aussie gaols right now that no one apart from family could name.

The most compelling part of the trash tv for me was when the Balinese lawyer stated if it was planted how then was the bag of dope all 4.2kgs of it a tailor made fit for that particular bag...pure fluke not likely.

Being a bit of an Indonesian freak and having been there a lot in the past 10 years the case has interested me I personally think she was so confident and so lacking in thought processes that she convinced herself it wouldn't be a problem...how wrong she was.

Hopefully that is the last we see of the whole Corby tribe for a while, it's like driving past a prang on Goodwood road you don't want to look but you can't help but take a peek.

Do people who think Schapelle Corby is innocent think that the Balinese customs officer is lying? Why would he lie? What's in it for him? Do you think he gets his giggles by putting innocent people in jail? ......
Think of the massive coincidences that have occurred if he is lying.

He has this pillow case size bad of ganja that he is going to plant in some poor Aussie tourist's bag just for giggles. Now because of the physical size of this bag he can't just plant it in any old suitcase as most are packed to the gunwales and it just won't fit in. So he needs to plant it on someone who has a boogie board of surf board bag. So of the tens of thousands of Aussie tourists that go to Bali every year he has just reduced his possible targets by say 95% or more.

Schapelle's sister lives in Bali so she really had no need to lug a boogie board all the way from Oz. Did any one else traveling with Schapelle have a boogie board with them?

So it is our customs officer's lucky day. Along comes a boogie board bag with enough room in it to stuff a 4.2 kg bag of gunja and it is not locked. I can understand Schapelle not locking the bag because if someone is going to pinch a boogie board they will take it bag and all. It also wasn't until after the claims by Schapelle's defence team that Aussie baggage handlers had planted the dope that people here started locking and sealing all checked in luggage.

What a coincidence that his mark's father and two of her brothers have been up on drugs charges. A further coincidence is that her father, who she has been looking after, lives on a property next door to a property on which dope was grown.

How many of the ten of thousands of Aussie tourists that go to Bali every year would fit that profile?

Furthermore the mark and her family aren't some well to dos from Sydney or Melbourne but, as someone has already posted, are a family of absolute bogans from Queensland. As someone has posted illicit drug use is not limited to bogans but non-bogans would most likely be able to handle the situation with a little more intelligence.

The amount of gunja the customs officer is planting is too much for personal use so how is a short stay tourist going to sell the stuff. They'd need a local contact. What a coincidence Schapelle's sister is married to a local and lives in Bali.

None of this makes Schapelle guilty of course :rolleyes:

I have family who work at the Ariport in 2 different areas.

For the life of me I cant fathom how it went unnoticed at Brisbane Airport on check in.That does not happen, period. If it was there in Brisbane it would have been found, screened, xrayed. All overseas baggage at brisbane Airport is xrayed.

Also cant work out why Qantas disposed of the video evidence of the passage through Sydney Airport.

but on the other hand if your stupid enough to claim a bag thats full of drugs as yours.......well you get my point

Aside from the fact that it was her bag, could it be also that she was quick to say that it was her bag because she may have thought that they would hand it straight over to her without searching it whereas if nobody owned up to the bag then they would have searched it?

She was probably wanting to get the bag in her hands and get the hell thru customs as soon as possible

why is it that sites like Big Footy tend to attract people with such extreme views??? FFS 20 years for trafficking 4kg of weed is a little extreme IMO. Yes drug trafficking is bad and offenders need to be punished but it's not like Corby is some major drug lord. Have any of u people ever thought about what it would be like to be imprisoned? Apart from being deprived of your liberty your basic human rights are abused on a daily basis. Prisoners can be subject to all diffrent froms of abuseo n a daily basis. When u do get out its on your record for life and life would never be the same again. I think 4 or 5 years would have been sufficent punishmnet for Corby. Hell i think one week in one of those prisons would be enough to scar emost people away from drugs forever.

I think that most of us here that believe she is guilty would agree that the penalty is too severe but the only point we are aguing here is simply her guilt or otherwise. The penalty etc are irrelevant to that particular debate.

What? The family MUST be guilty because they are trash????? Hell let's get rid of all lawyers and forensic evidence from now on... because if the family is trash they MUST be guilty! Would save an awful lot of time! I assume you say these people are trashy because they appear to be uneducated, rough around the edges and dare I say it, a little bit angry because their daughter/sister has been wrongfully convicted? I think I'd react with a similar level of frustration/anger etc although I'd probably use a more educated response. Doesn't make me any better than her. She's a woman defending her child. She's being passionate in the only way she knows. Sure she's rough... but it doesn't make her "trash". They've done many things in an effort to help Schapelle (as you would expect most families would) - some of their choices and decision making has been very poor and perhaps only done more harm than good. This family may well be guilty but they shouldn't be judged based on their appearances or level of education. If she's innocent... put yourself in their shoes...

Jen,

all you've demonstrated is how little your argument actually has to it.
there is nothing. just (very) vague speculation, which is not nearly enough.

she has no credible defense, in what is really a very straight forward matter.

if your not comfortable with her conviction, how can you be comfortable with ANY person ever being found guilty? everyone can make up some very vague inferences and circumstantial speculation.

as I've said before, and I've seen nothing here (again) to change my mind - there is something deeply and inherently racially motivated in the defense of this girl.

Please, if you are so worried about unsafe convictions - and a noble cause it would be too - go research some of the cases in the local prisons, and find someone worthy of your zeal. Because in this case it is misguided and irrational.

Im sorry Deano but the laws re burden of proof are completely different in the two countries. That's why the prosecution in Bali only have to say she was in possession, it was her bag therefore she is guilty. It is up to her to prove that someone else put the stuff in there. It is almost impossible to do this unless someone comes forward and admits to it - which is highly unlikely. In Australia, it is always up to the prosecution to prove their case against the defendant. This is part of the "innocent until proven guilty" stance our justice system operates under.

you're talking yourself around in circles trying to create doubt out of thin air. the first bolded bit is exactly the point you're missing - they have proven the case on the evidence. they have a smoking gun.

for some reason, you seem to a smoking gun is different in one place to another.

As for claiming to Customs that you packed your bags yourself in Australia BEFORE you leave, that is not right. You are only ever asked that question at point of arrival when going through customs with your bags - not departure. I've travelled many times overseas and my bags are long gone at the Qantas check-in gate before I go through Customs. Qantas' main concern is that every piece of baggage is accompanied by someone on the corresponding plane. Can't recall ever being asked if I packed them myself. In fact the only thing Customs/security do on departure is make sure you aren't carrying explosives, sharp objects etc on to the plane.

um... this is amongst the more untrue things I've read in some time. this is just a fiction or at best a distortion of a simple truth.

you are asked when checking your bags whether these are yours, whether you packed them yourself, and whether someone could have tampered or interfered with them in any way.

I've caught literally hundreds of flights all throughout the world, with more airlines than I have fingers and toes, and have NEVER not been asked if I packed them myself. not once.

this is legally significant and binding - which is why they ask.
your claim these people (the check in staff) are not "customs" is not relevant, they have the due training, authority and legal responsibility to fulfill this task.

this is always before

and when you land at the airport, you collect your bags before going through customs. where you make a series of direct and indirect statements as you attempt to leave.

so the reality, as opposed to your inferences is this: you make declarations about your baggage before handing them over and after receiving them back.

also, it is not a Qantas issue about baggage being accompanied that is an international air travel standard and requirement.

the problem with adopting a conspiracy theory or little green men defense is when you are asked to substantiate it. it's very easy to just say it wasn't me. of course it wasn't. never is, is it?

Do people who think Schapelle Corby is innocent think that the Balinese customs officer is lying? Why would he lie? What's in it for him? Do you think he gets his giggles by putting innocent people in jail? He doesn't come across as that sort of person to me.

yes. he is lying. of course he was an upright and honest official for the other 10,000 people who he has processed before in his career - just this once, he decided to turn to the dark side to stich this girl.

after all he was due, it must have been such a burden being a good, honest citizen for so long, he just snapped and decided to fix this girl up for no good reason. he has since returned to the side of good.

she was just unlucky, honest guv :p

a few other points,

• most people here callign the family bogans are absolute hypocrites. Illegal drug use is rife amongst middle class proffessionals as well as the rich. It's not just bogans that engage in illegal drug use.
  • regardless of what her family is like it does not mean aything. My old man used to grow weed but i am not him and there is nothing i could have done to stop him, except dob him in to the cops.
  • the indonesian system is f***ed. why should possession automatically transfer into guilt? Shit does happen and people do get set up. how is somebody meant to prove their innocence?
While Australia maybe very soft on these offenders there are some other countries in this region that are completely over the top. They need to move with the times.

you entire post is irrelevant and has no bearing or meaning whatsoever.

The family is too dodgy for no one to know about the weed. This defense about baggage handlers is exactly as the lawyer says, a complete fabrication.

I'm not sure if its been mentioned yet but watching the doco, I get the feeling Mercedes is the puppet master behind everything. She seems to want control of every situation.

To people who say the punishment is too harsh, you have to respect the customs and values of other countries and the subsequent punishments in accordance with those values. We expect foreigners to respects ours afterall.

Schapelle Corby