Opinion Scharenberg vs Aish

• Thread starter Thread starter jjsmitty8

G'day legends. So I just wanted to throw it on the table despite the fact that it's very, VERY early days. It's been on my mind for a while, but after another outstanding performance against Essendon, I felt it's the right time to assess.

We like to emphasise how great our recruiting has been when we find a diamond in the rough eg. Langdon, but is it wrong TO BE WORRIED that we may have got it wrong by taking Scharenberg over Aish?

We knew Scharenberg had injuries, and I'm well I aware that in due time he'll hopefully be fit, but I had some concerns from day 1 and always wanted us to take Aish. I'm not writing Scharenberg off, but it could really go either way. Obviously I hope he gets himself right and dominates for many years to come, but the reality is that we've seen many highly rated early draft picks just never get themselves right or reach the level that many expect them to reach.

It's one of those things that's hard to judge until maybe 100 games, but it's hard to predict injuries and sometimes they're beyond manageable. I just hope we don't come to regret the choice.

Even Salem to an extent is showing glimpses in minimal game time.

What do we all think?

I think it's dumb to try and compare players that have played little to no AFL footy.

We will only find out who is the better of the two in maybe a few of years once they have 50ish games under their belt.

Of the top 10 picks in the draft, the ones that have played have all looked very good, even at this early stage.

I'm extremely bullish that Scharenberg will be a gun. I'm lead to believe the reason it was a tough choice between Aish and Shazza at pick 6 was because of the injury doubts on Shazza.

If he was fully fit he wouldn't have lasted to pick 6.

Let's just be patient with him, just like we were with Brodox. It'll bear fruit.

I think it's dumb to try and compare players that have played little to no AFL footy.

We will only find out who is the better of the two in maybe a few of years once they have 50ish games under their belt.
I'm not comparing the players as such, I'm comparing the fact that Aish has hit the ground running and shown his worth. We overlooked him to take Scharenberg who we knew had injuries he needed to manage. If those injuries never really come good, then we look silly. I never said Aish was better than Scharneberg, I was just asking if it's silly to BE WORRIED. Like I emphasised in my initial post.

G'day legends. So I just wanted to throw it on the table despite the fact that it's very, VERY early days. It's been on my mind for a while, but after another outstanding performance against Essendon, I felt it's the right time to assess.

We like to emphasise how great our recruiting has been when we find a diamond in the rough eg. Langdon, but is it wrong TO BE WORRIED that we may have got it wrong by taking Scharenberg over Aish?

We knew Scharenberg had injuries, and I'm well I aware that in due time he'll hopefully be fit, but I had some concerns from day 1 and always wanted us to take Aish. I'm not writing Scharenberg off, but it could really go either way. Obviously I hope he gets himself right and dominates for many years to come, but the reality is that we've seen many highly rated early draft picks just never get themselves right or reach the level that many expect them to reach.

It's one of those things that's hard to judge until maybe 100 games, but it's hard to predict injuries and sometimes they're beyond manageable. I just hope we don't come to regret the choice.

Even Salem to an extent is showing glimpses in minimal game time.

What do we all think?

I'm not sure where to begin here. All I'm going to say is it's ridiculous to make this comparison now. If you're actually worried, I'm sorry but you're a clown.

Aish looks very good. Has all the traits of a star in the making, good awareness, composure, he's a great kick and and a smart footballer.

To be honest I think Langdon is actually a better pickup for us at this point in time, he's filled a gap in the backline that was a real problem for us, and regardless of comparisons to Scharenberg or Freeman we did well in that respect already.

I don't know if Aish would be getting a game with us in the HF/wing/foll position Brisbane have been using him in.
Personally I'd rather Freeman regardless of how good Aish is, I think he will be the kind of player who can break a game of his own back.

Scharenberg will be the best player out of this draft, if he gets over those feet problem.

Aish was taken at 7 for a reason, he's a little small but there's no doubt he has talent.

I'd rate the future promise of Freeman close to Aish too, and maybe Freeman is more suited to us anyway, as we need a pacy midfielder more than we need an Aish type (Aish is Beams like I reckon).

I think the right time to assess might be after we've seen him play

Aish represents what we have, whereas Sharenberg and Freemen fill areas of deficiency in the side. I like Aish, he was my third favourite player in the draft (behind Shazza and Sheed), but I dont think he fills a need for us.

I think the right time to assess might be after we've seen him play
maybe if you read the full post you'd have realised I'm not comparing talent.

Don't get me wrong guys, I love the berg and I hope he dominates. I'm not comparing talent, I'm just throwing it out there.

I was one who was hoping we would select Aish. However, i am also very happy at the track record of our recruiting department, and I know they now a hell of a lot more then me. So even if I was for us picking Aish, I am confident our recruiters made the right choice and do not wish it went differently.

Also in terms of what is better for our team. Aish is a type of player where we have the most depth in, as well as good A graders. Scharenberg i reckon is better for team balance.

maybe if you read the full post you'd have realised I'm not comparing talent.
Yep, and you also said yourself that a better time to assess is after 100 games. To answer one of your questions, yes it is wrong (IMO) to be worried about the Scharenberg V Aish thing. We have absolute no basis for comparison. At AFL level anyway. Personally, I'm very happy to sit and wait it out re Scharenberg. I think he'll be a ripper. I also heard someone speaking on the radion about his surgery (Their surgery but the same operation) and they said it was a godsend having it done.

Confident our patience will be rewarded

Don't get me wrong guys, I love the berg and I hope he dominates. I'm not comparing talent, I'm just throwing it out there.

The issue is it's far to early to have a thread like this, Aish has got the early runs purely from being able to be selected.

Shaz is stuck in rehab and is on track to return the fact he has been running for a few weeks now is a positive sign that like Joshua Thomas he should be good to go in the future.

As you said after a 100 games or even 5 years in the system you will get more of an idea whether the choice was right.

Yep, and you also said yourself that a better time to assess is after 100 games. To answer one of your questions, yes it is wrong (IMO) to be worried about the Scharenberg V Aish thing. We have absolute no basis for comparison. At AFL level anyway. Personally, I'm very happy to sit and wait it out re Scharenberg. I think he'll be a ripper. I also heard someone speaking on the radion about his surgery (Their surgery but the same operation) and they said it was a godsend having it done.

Confident our patience will be rewarded

Josh Thomas had it done on 1 of his feet after 4 years of issues and after it no problems.

We missed out on Joel Selwood by one pick and I think Salem might turn out to be one of those misses we will be spewing about in a couple of years

Scharenberg by a country mile. In the long run Aish will be just a serviceable player while Scharenberg I expect to clearly be the best player out of this draft and if he didn't have foot problems he would have gone top 3 IMO.

I see where you are coming from jjsmitty8. Like me, you are a worrier, and you are concerned that our bloke might have some chronic problems that are going to restrict him down the track. Hopefully the club knows what they are doing and Scharenberg will be on the park in the not too distant future. Meanwhile other recent draft picks are strutting their stuff while ours are sitting out the year in rehab - both our top 10 picks. I don't think you deserve to be called a 'clown' for raising the topic. Just out of interest, who on our list is similar to Aish? Aish is meant to have exquisite kicking skills and I am not so sure that we are over-burdened with this kind of player, but am more than happy to be reminded of who I might have overlooked.

From what I gather the questions over Aish were whether he would be able to compete with the bigger bodies at AFL lever, having a smaller build himself. Having seen him play a few games now it is obvious that can and he looks a star, if we had known this on draft day we might well have gone with him over Scharenberg, especially if we knew we were getting Langdon as well. Having said that I still prefer Scharenberg purely because he is a big body, and big bodies through the midfield (where I hope he ends up playing) are becoming more and more important and are something we lack.

We missed out on Joel Selwood by one pick and I think Salem might turn out to be one of those misses we will be spewing about in a couple of years
Yeh I would have gone with Salem over Freeman any day of the week. He has everything we need while Freeman has everything we have especially the poor skills but he does have pace we lack.

I am backing Hine to have made the right call but Salem was the much better junior out of the two.