schulz trade

• Thread starter Thread starter astro_toby

You can't have such dislike towards someone you've never met because he "runs into goals too casual"...

Where did your motivation come from? Or maybe this isn't a valid reason to provoke your kind of response because all you really wanted to do was mention that you had some 'inside information' and you didn't have an opinion on this information so you said "I don't like him because *insert inside information here* and that's why". Surely you don't have serious issues with Jay because he shagged some mid aged chick, he sounds like a hero to me and good on him. At my work a gay staff member took gay partners to his managers office without him knowing and did stuff on his desk... every second night! He was and still is a highly highly respected person too.

If you kicked 6 goals against the best team in the comp as an 18yo would you brag about it too? Bloody oath!

Jay isn't pathetic scum like you have suggested. He is a good bloke and you have strongly argued against him due to some third hand information by someone who makes far less money than him. Your g/f may have even said he was a little worse than he was, lots of people boost stories in her situation to make it more exciting. It would be understandable anyway. The point is you have attacked Jay's credibility to no end over something you heard from a chick who worked with him a few times.

At the end of the day I'm sure you get just as excited as I do when Deledio kicks long to the square then up and over the pack someone jumps and you yell "SCHULZ!!"

what the hell is with your obsession with me apparently having a personal vendetta with Jay?

for the FINAL time - I rate his as a player, i think he is behind both of Hughes and Reiwoldt as my preferred Forward options, and i think we only have a need for 2 Marking forwards

I think he has a weaker character, and mental strength to cope with AFL football - especially in consistency and close matches - and therefore think he would be of more use to us in helping to get a young ruckman or full back of SIMILAR quality - as we need that a lot more than a 3 marking forward

don't hate the bloke, i just retold a few things ive heard about him that backed up my thoughts that he is of weaker character than the other two.

seriously benny, if you had the choice - which player would you want to marry? or would you prefer to make a dvd with them where they all get to put it in your mouth?

seriously benny, if you had the choice - which player would you want to marry?

LOL what has this got to do with getting MARRIED?!!!

LOL seriously you are a TOOL!!

This isn't about which player you would choose to MARRY what the hell is wrong with you!!!

We're talking about a footballer's future!!!

There is a difference between supporting a team and looking to get married!!!!

We are supporters of a football club discussing a player!!

Nobody wants to MARRY THEM!!!!

FWIW Hughes has played 5 games. Jack Riewoldt has played 0 games.

Jay Schulz, IIRC, kicked 6 goals a game 3 weeks in a row for Coburg while returning from injury.

As legendary as Jack is going to be, pure logic would put Jay in front of him at this stage.

We're talking about a young KPP with around 30 something games under his belt (Less than Tambling). So far he's ripped one game apart and been solid in the last 15, kicking around 2 goals a game.

This is good for a 30-ish game KPP who was 21yo a month ago.

LOL what has this got to do with getting MARRIED?!!!

because quite obviously, you are so much in a trance of these boys in the yellow and black - you think all of them will be superstars

they are the apple of you eye, the pearl in your oyster - the egg with your bacon

i have never heard you say a negative thing about ANY player - you squeel if anyone even suggests if maybe - just maybe - just someone expressing their opinion on the side - says

"say perhaps we should try and trade jay, he is probably worth a lot at the moment, without him really proving anything, and considering we have hughes and jack - who seem to be developing a lot quicker than he did- PLUS the guy is ALWAYS fricking injured because he plays like david bourke did (i.e falls the wrong way - jumps into contests the wrong way ) - maybe we can get something rather important to the balance of our side - hmmmm...""

look forward to seeing how jay plays this week - oh wait - he is injured.
what a surprise.

can't kick 70 goals in a season if you only play 8 games

We're talking about a young KPP with around 30 something games under his belt (Less than Tambling). So far he's ripped one game apart and.......

ripped it apart - LOL

buddy - you are dreaming in la la land

FRANKLIN ripped that game apart last week - kicking 9 goals in a winning side (by a player who is only in his 3rd season might i add) is called RIPPING A GAME APART

kicking 6 goals in a LOSING side, is putting in a good game

Your a dreamer mate

because quite obviously, you are so much in a trance of these boys in the yellow and black - you think all of them will be superstars

they are the apple of you eye, the pearl in your oyster - the egg with your bacon

i have never heard you say a negative thing about ANY player - you squeel if anyone even suggests if maybe - just maybe - just someone expressing their opinion on the side - says

I say positive things about positive looking players.

These are the main players I am optomistic about and show it:

Tambling (imo will be our best player), Riewoldt, Polak, Schulz and Oakley-Nicholls. Petts and Meyer I like but not lately.

These happen to be players that are frequently discussed. There are many players on our list that I would trade without hesitation.

The top 2 players I want to trade before they lose value is Tuck and Raines.

I can elaborate if you want, but I prefer not to bag players early on as it can come back to bite you in the ass.

Foley has started to improve but has a long way to go yet.

ripped it apart - LOL

buddy - you are dreaming in la la land

FRANKLIN ripped that game apart last week - kicking 9 goals in a winning side (by a player who is only in his 3rd season might i add) is called RIPPING A GAME APART

kicking 6 goals in a LOSING side, is putting in a good game

Your a dreamer mate

Brisbane was one of the greatest teams in the history of AFL, Schulz played on their star FB Mal Michael, and he dominated. If you don't think so, that is your opinion.

your memory is almost as long as your blind faith.

i remember Jurica kicking 5 goals on the full back of the century once - so ****ing what?

your memory is almost as long as your blind faith.

lol talk about stupidity. According to you that means I have a very long memory :rolleyes: But I guess if you think it sounded smart then it'll do.

You see how quickly and strongly you've formed an opinion on me? You've gone around bagging me in other threads from almost no knowledge of me at all. You've made a snap judgement and stuck to it.

Just like you've done for Jay.

:thumbsd:

What a great example to show how you judge people without knowing anything.

You clearly don't like Schulz and that's fine but please take the blinkers off for a second if that is at all possible.

Schulz is on target for 40-50 goals and you say he hasn't improved?:rolleyes:

Hughes has played like 4 games and you say he's already gone past Schulz?:rolleyes:

You mention Riewoldt yet you continually ignore the fact that Schulz dominated at Coburg when he went back last season kicking 17 goals in 3 games.:rolleyes:

Schulz would be slaying them at a club with a half decent midfield.
That is where the problem lies.

He is contracted in '08 and won't be going anywhere.:thumbsu:

I am very much looking forward to a three pronged forward line of Hughes, Schulz and Riewoldt for many a year to come.
i dont have a problem with schulz other than the fact i dont think he can play at afl level. unlike some on here i rate all players on performance and assess their strengths and weaknesses. i would think i have given pretty good reasons why i think hes not good enough. i havent seen one post that gives good reasons why we should keep him.
magic 17 tells me he is going to kick over 50 goals this season. please tell me how hes going to kick 50. how many has he kicked in 6 games. whats that i hear did someone say 9.well geez that would give him about 30 goals if he plays every one and we all know that wont happen. anyway its not the goals that concern me he gets 5 possesions a game his output is crap you dont see him for huge chunks of the game most games. sheesh playing as a ff i reckon i could kick 1 a game thats 22 for the yr.how about you blokes have a look at his strengths and weaknesses and give me a report on them at least i put my balls on the line with my considered opinion on these things.

i dont have a problem with schulz other than the fact i dont think he can play at afl level. unlike some on here i rate all players on performance and assess their strengths and weaknesses. i would think i have given pretty good reasons why i think hes not good enough. i havent seen one post that gives good reasons why we should keep him.
magic 17 tells me he is going to kick over 50 goals this season. please tell me how hes going to kick 50. how many has he kicked in 6 games. whats that i hear did someone say 9.well geez that would give him about 30 goals if he plays every one and we all know that wont happen. anyway its not the goals that concern me he gets 5 possesions a game his output is crap you dont see him for huge chunks of the game most games. sheesh playing as a ff i reckon i could kick 1 a game thats 22 for the yr.how about you blokes have a look at his strengths and weaknesses and give me a report on them at least i put my balls on the line with my considered opinion on these things.

His strengths have been mentioned numerous times but you have the blinkers on and refuse to acknowledge them.

Strengths:
GREAT on the lead and by that i dont just mean quick off the mark, he knows when to lead, he loses his opponent and most important of all like any natural full forward he leads up the corridor!! If you dont believe that then our discussion ends now and you can live in your fantasy world. Regardless of how good Hughes and Reiwoldt will be they are both NOT full forwards, ones a roaming CHF (hughes) the other is a stay at home CHF (Reiwoldt). Not even Richo a champion of the club bless him, has the instinct to lead up the corridor consistently like Schulz.

He's quick, actually very quick for a big guy.

He has heaps of courage, regularly runs back with the flight of the ball and launches into oncoming traffic.

Has great hands.

Is a very reliable kick at goal.

As for your talk about him only touching it 5 times a game (which is a bloody exxageration anyway). Even though this has been said to you more than once and you again refuse to acknowledge it, here it is again. When has he ever been the main focal point of the forward line? You dont think that playing alongside a dominant richo impacts on how much ball he gets directed to him?

lol talk about stupidity. According to you that means I have a very long memory :rolleyes: But I guess if you think it sounded smart then it'll do.

What a great example to show how you judge people without knowing anything.

are u 12? that's exactly my point - shit you can be dense!

your memory is too long - somthing he did way way way back in 2004 is completely irrelevant to what he has done since - that is simply NOT GOOD ENOUGH for his "greatest moment" to have been 3 years ago when he was a first year player!

he is meant to get better, that is what people do when they get older! perhaps when you grow up you will get this!!

:eek:

Tiger T....

i can completely accept Jay's strengths, i think he can play football - no doubt.

but would you trade clevage or jack before him - thats pretty much the point. if we could pick up a very promising full back or ruckman, of similar age and worth for him - would you take it? knowing that it will mean we still have 2 potentially great KPforwards, an aging simmonds who can play between ruck & forward, and pattison to do likewise. extending the teams depth overall. that is the majority of the "for" peoples arguement.

Why do we have to trade one of our young forwards?

We don't want to end up like the Bulldogs. Jack and Cleve will eventually get injuries. Schulz can play with them and when any get injured our structure doesn't fall apart. Pattison can float anywhere but would you pick Patto over Schulz in front of goal?

We don't want another situation where we only have 1 key target up forward again, we've lived through all that with Richo.

3 good tall forwards gives us flexibility, depth and structure. An injury (usually Schulz :p) can easily be covered.

are u 12? that's exactly my point - shit you can be dense!

your memory is too long - somthing he did way way way back in 2004 is completely irrelevant to what he has done since - that is simply NOT GOOD ENOUGH for his "greatest moment" to have been 3 years ago when he was a first year player!

he is meant to get better, that is what people do when they get older! perhaps when you grow up you will get this!!
:eek:
I notice that you follow the Blues as well as the Tigers so let me give you something to think about. New Years Eve 1999 and a young Carlton player named Bredan Fevola kicked 12 against the Pies in the Millenium match and the football world was raving about this new star the Blues had uncovered. It was not until a few year later that he finally delivered on this promis and started to be a regular feature in games. A couple of years later he became a Coleman Medal winner and the Blues would not trade him for anything less that Chris Judd. Now I am not saying that Schulz is going to turn out the same but he has played less than 50 games and if he was to kick 2 goals a game for the rest of the year he would double his career tally of goals in a single season. Now I ask you this would you still want to trade him and then as Benny said end up with one tall forward as a target in the event of a serious injury to either Jack or Cleve?

if we got rid of jay, and one of the other two get injured - for the next two years we still have richo - and we will also have pattison and simmonds capable of playing a similar role. Polak can also be there if we really need to (but admittedly we lose him in defence) also, if we traded jay, for lets say meesen, he is also capable of playing forward - if need be. also, its not to say we wont continue drafting Key forwards with our later picks, this will added depth and they could possibly be a star one day also - who knows

the problem is at the moment - what do we do if simmonds, hall, knobel get injured? play richo in the ruck:rolleyes: ?

Well unfortunately that DID happen, and quite obviously - we have no depth in that position, and for a side which struggles with centre clearance's because of its light bodied midfielders - we are pratically no chance of winning.

i rate jay, and do believe he is a fine footballer, and if he can stay healthy - will continue to improve - but we can cover him not being there

if we got rid of jay, and one of the other two get injured - for the next two years we still have richo

You're really clutching at straws if you use Richo as "backup" to an injured Jack/Cleve. That is the kind of short-term thinking that has made the club what it is now.

It would be a big risk if we just had Jack and Cleve. While both are promising, they haven't shown as much as Jay yet and untill they pass him then we need Schulz on the list.

You're really clutching at straws if you use Richo as "backup" to an injured Jack/Cleve. That is the kind of short-term thinking that has made the club what it is now.

It would be a big risk if we just had Jack and Cleve. While both are promising, they haven't shown as much as Jay yet and untill they pass him then we need Schulz on the list.

bigger risk than having knobel and hall back ups to simmonds -****ing doubt it.

we have bloody 7 guys on the list who are capable of playing the 2 positions. simmo, richo, pattison, schulz, polak, cleve, jack - and one real ruckman

done trying to point out the bleeding obvious to you - your obviously happy with the way things are travelling - so what's the point

benny furs = fan boy

His strengths have been mentioned numerous times but you have the blinkers on and refuse to acknowledge them.

Strengths:
GREAT on the lead and by that i dont just mean quick off the mark, he knows when to lead, he loses his opponent and most important of all like any natural full forward he leads up the corridor!! If you dont believe that then our discussion ends now and you can live in your fantasy world. Regardless of how good Hughes and Reiwoldt will be they are both NOT full forwards, ones a roaming CHF (hughes) the other is a stay at home CHF (Reiwoldt). Not even Richo a champion of the club bless him, has the instinct to lead up the corridor consistently like Schulz.

He's quick, actually very quick for a big guy.

He has heaps of courage, regularly runs back with the flight of the ball and launches into oncoming traffic.

Has great hands.

Is a very reliable kick at goal.

As for your talk about him only touching it 5 times a game (which is a bloody exxageration anyway). Even though this has been said to you more than once and you again refuse to acknowledge it, here it is again. When has he ever been the main focal point of the forward line? You dont think that playing alongside a dominant richo impacts on how much ball he gets directed to him?
i will grant hes good on a lead but so many footballers are. cleve hughes is excellent on the lead and he played just a handful of games.
just on hughes how closely have you watched him he has ff written all over him he will play ff for us make no mistake. the beauty of hughes is he will be capable of playing chf and i would hope he is also developed at chb as well.

as for riewoldt being a stay at home chf have you actually watched him play what ive seenof him he gets on his bike.he also will play chb if needed to.

anyway back to schulz strengths. good on the lead. quick you say well i dispute this big time might be quick of the mark but overall i would say hes a tad on the slow side. he leads up the corridor when the space is there most players do. he has courage.and like most would be kpp has is a good overhead. not a glittering resume from one of his supporters surely theres more to him than that.

another thing everything is richos fault they kick it to richo and not schulz. riicho is all over the shop so krakouer doesnt have a chance. excuses excuses he has been given numerous opportunities to take the bull by the horns and he has failed miserably.if he cant fit into the setup he shouldnt be there.

as for his amount of possesions a game go look them up. i would bet he hasnt had one game this yr with more than 10 possesions and thats being optimistic. in the main its been the same his whole career.

you rate him thats fine keep on supporting him. for me well hes got to the end of the yr to show some marked improvement or he loses me altogether.

Well , i will take the Pepsi challenge and go on record now and say that i think Jay Schulz is no good ... time will be our judge

One dimensional in a hard running rebounding game ... lacks footy smarts , and throw in the other reasons above ... will watch with interest

precisely, sarge has the ability to be a 60+ FF I wouldnt imagine we'd get sufficient compensation to warrant a trade for him...Last i noted we didnt have KPP spilling out of the list:rolleyes:

FFS Pal ... i`ve known you a lot of years , when the f... are we going to stop sitting here and repeating the catch cry of a generation lain waste ...."He`s got ability .... he`s GUNNA be"

Can`t tell you how over it i am .

Look at the runs on the board over the last 5 years and draw a line i say ... his peripheral vision/decision ,making skills are poor , injury prone .
I can hear the Bells starting to warm up Bo