Schutzenfest

I would rather get a group of mates together for a bbq and some beers.

Yes, but you can do that any weekend. I probably do this at least twice a month and don't get me wrong, I love it and it's one of the most relaxing things to do on the weekend, but when something is on that only comes round once a year, I'd head to that no question.

The fights happen without a doubt, seen it first hand on several occasions over the years. Also seen a few steining's as well....There is a reason they are plastic now instead of glass!!

With that said it generally is a good day and most of the trouble is after dark when random cats have had a skinfull.

I have said this in a previous thread but I saw a bloke get smashed with a glass stein and came within mm of being killed or serious brain damage.

Havent been back since, I know it isnt the norm so that isnt what is keeping me away, I just didnt think the entire day was much chop. I would rather get a group of mates together for a bbq and some beers.

Probably the reason behind them selling plastic steins these days

Ugh... looks doubtful ill be able to go now...

Sprained my neck today... currently on valium for the pain. No drinking allowed apparently.

Yeah drinking and medication is never a good mix, especially something like valium...... I mean just ask Cuz. Hope ya neck gets better though and im sure a few of the guys around here will drink an extra one or two.

what was once a quality german shooting festival in hahndorf. now ruined and turned into a massive piss up for try hard 18yos and yobbos to get shitfaced. awesome.

pass.

The Germans are great, lets have a festival where you can drink copious amounts of lager and eat our great food. Provided people keep in line, and most do, it is still a good weekend although it isnt as good as it was at Hahndorf, which is pretty well Little Germany. I was pleased to see the weather report this evening telling me of the mild weather ahead for the weekend.

All naysayers are inferior to me because i drink at schutzenfestenziegenfriedenfloogengloofen and i am a moral young gentleman with an enormous appendage and if you don't like schutzen then you officially are a girl.

I got ****ed up yesterday and i'm gonna be ****ed up tonight. Still, i'm ****ed up most nights because i'm awesome.

Schutzenfest yes :thumbsu:

Crows98 and co. :thumbsdown:

All naysayers are inferior to me because i drink at schutzenfestenziegenfriedenfloogengloofen and i am a moral young gentleman with an enormous appendage and if you don't like schutzen then you officially are a girl.

I got ****ed up yesterday and i'm gonna be ****ed up tonight. Still, i'm ****ed up most nights because i'm awesome.

Schutzenfest yes :thumbsu:

Crows98 and co. :thumbsdown:

What ever floats your boat Boozie

I'd love to party with you, you seem like heaps of fun.

What’s that supposed to mean?

I am 29 year old; you’re what 19 or 20 years old.

When I was 19 I used to drink every night and it got to the point where I was inebriated more than I was sober but that was 10 years ago.

People grow up and pursue different interest. I choose not to drink any more for individual reason. I only ever said the shitnface was crap because it has too many arseholes. You clearly love that atmosphere. Each to there own I guess

When I was 19 I used to drink every night and it got to the point where I was inebriated more than I was sober but that was 10 years ago.

Yet you call RS "boozie" and on several occasions have talked down alcohol and people who drink alcohol in large amounts.

I only ever said the shitnface was crap because it has too many arseholes. You clearly love that atmosphere. Each to there own I guess

There's gonna be arseholes wherever you go buddy whether it be a festival, a footy game, a party, a pub - they're everywhere but I'm not gonna let a couple of pricks stop me from having a good time. I see them and I steer clear of them for the day, no harm done. Simple.

We called in for a while late Saturday arvo/early Saturday evening. It sucked! The admission price is ridiculous and there was nothing there to do but drink! Hell I can stay home and do that and feel much more comfortable than having drunken teenagers and morons staggering and tripping everywhere.

It's not a cultural event, it's just a "pissup". You don't charge admission prices like that to pissups. I'd love to know if they bartenders have done their RSA training like our local sporting clubs have to. Bet they haven't.

Nothing to do there but drink! What a tragedy!
I was amazing to see little kids there and 120 year olds too, it is just a big awesome pissup. It was a bit of a **** at the start with the lining up but after quite a few steins I was plastered so it didn't bother me... plus the lines did get smaller.
Hit up marble bar after that and then colonel light because a few mates were playing at those places, got home about 6. Sensational.

Schutzenfest