scoring system

• Thread starter Thread starter X_box_X

AFL is the only sport I know of apart from gaelic football, which gives you 1 point for missing.
Now in the next 3 or 4 years should they take out the behind posts because teams are winning even if they dont score more goals. e.g a team with 13.19.97 - 14.10.94.
The winning team would be the team who has kicked less goals, and at the end of the day, the team with the less amount of goals has won the game, and probably played better, looking at the scoring shots, but teams have to learn how to exicute there shots.
Its an unfare advantage to the team who has kicked more goals and lost the game.

ALSO... This should be a rule that should be takin in by the AFL soon.
We have the deliberate rule, which is used when a player deliberatly takes the ball over the boundary line. But I reckon the AFL should go one step further.
This is my opinion: A free kick is awarded to the opposition, for the last player to make contact with the ball when it goes over the bondary line. Im sick of all of this time wasting and I think its about time the AFL discuss this matter, because I reckon 99% of you, all prefer this modern day game of AFL to be alot faster. The preason season is there for players to try to get fit before the up and coming AFL season. So why dont we do something about this?
I would like to hear from your opinions, please post with a reply!

X_box_X suggests...
ALSO... This should be a rule that should be takin in by the AFL soon.
We have the deliberate rule, which is used when a player deliberatly takes the ball over the boundary line. But I reckon the AFL should go one step further.
This is my opinion: A free kick is awarded to the opposition, for the last player to make contact with the ball when it goes over the bondary line. Im sick of all of this time wasting and I think its about time the AFL discuss this matter, because I reckon 99% of you, all prefer this modern day game of AFL to be alot faster. The preason season is there for players to try to get fit before the up and coming AFL season. So why dont we do something about this?

Personally, I just reckon the maggots should clamp down harder on the deliberate rule. At the moment, they really only pay the ones where player X heads straight for the boundary from probably less than 5 metres away. There are so many instances where the defender (well, it usually is a defender) just grubbers the footy along the line for 5 metres before it goes out. The players know it's deliberate, the spectators know it's deliberate and I'm sure even the umpy knows it's deliberate...but it hardly ever gets paid! They say they're giving the player the benefit of the doubt, but there would be people sentenced to jail for crimes where there is more doubt as to their guilt!

Now, as for the rule change you suggest, it was actually trialled in the Lightning Premiership that was held prior to the '96 season...and it didn't exactly set the world on fire. It led to the farcical situation where the players would just let the ball trickle over the line knowing they'd get the free anyway. It also penalised players who'd done the right thing by smothering kicks or spoiling marks only to be pinged after the footy ricocheted over the chalk.

If there was to be a rule brought in to reduce the number of out-of-boundses (and I'm not suggesting there should be), perhaps it could penalise the last team to have touched the ball only if it was a legitimate kick or handball; otherwise it would be a throw-in as per usual.

I don't think gaelic football gives any points for missing. All they have are 'overs' and 'goals'. As far as I know International rules incorporated point posts as a concession to Aussie rules.

Originally posted by X_box_X
e.g a team with 13.19.97 - 14.10.94.
The winning team would be the team who has kicked less goals, and at the end of the day, the team with the less amount of goals has won the game, and probably played better, looking at the scoring shots, but teams have to learn how to exicute there shots.

Teams also have to get the ball into their forward line. If we do what you suggest, what happens to touched goals? Do they score as a goal? What about posters? Play on? Do that and you may as well just play Gaelic football becuase it isn't Aussie Rules any more.

Its an unfare advantage to the team who has kicked more goals and lost the game.

As opposed to an unfair advantage to the team that's in all likelyhood had more of the footy.

Agree with Mr Ripper (how could anyone not?) about the OOB.

As for deliberate they either get rid of it as per BSA or start paying it properly, all the time damn it!

Leave it, the game has had so many rule changes lately, and this is one rule which doesn't need to change.

Unless a particular rule needs to change, i don't think it should.