Mod. Notice Scott Avatars, North threads, and comedians.......

Suck it up sook. Every ground is like that.

In my experience when the number of supporters are even the inevitable madness of crowds is alleviated a little bit - that is just common sense. The protocol towards opposition supporters is generally not obeyed when the supporters of the other team are a relatively insignificant minority. I have walked out of a Derby and have not experienced the same thing when walking with a Freo supporter

Isn't that obvious though? It's a mob mentality. I live in Melbourne and have had plenty said to me after games against the bigger teams. Have you ever been to Skilled stadium when Geelong have won a game? It's intense.

I can honestly say I have never witnessed any abuse. I go to every home game and have been doing so for over 20years. I have seats on the north side and get dropped by the bus on the south side so I walk halfway round the ground before and after the game. On the weekend, I saw an Eagles fan pulling at a Kangas fans jumper, but it turned out to be mates mucking around. I always take my GF so I'm always very conscious of safety. The final against Carlton had a nasty feel to it, but nothing happened after the game.

Maybe I'm lucky, but you'd think the amount of times I've been, I'd have witnessed something, if it's as bad as opposition fans say.

Well, I was at the game on Friday night sitting behind the goals at the end where most of the opposition supports sit, though a couple of levels up. We did have a passionate North supporter sitting right behind us, who was cheering loudly all game, and there was not one of the regular Eagles supporters sitting around us who made any comments towards her. She literally broke down in tears after the siren, and was comforted by the Eagles supporter sitting next to her. Walking out the crowd was buzzing and excited as you would expect, but I did not hear a single person getting stuck into the North supporters. We were all too excited at the thrilling end to the game.

Mods, on North's board they are actually discussing the merits of urinating on one of our past footballers ashes. This has got to have stepped over the mark of what's acceptable? Permaban this idiot, please

I believe that's been sorted.

We shouldn't concern ourselves with what they do. Let them vent and there mods will clean up the crap.

Lets just make sure we over here keep our class.

Isn't that obvious though? It's a mob mentality. I live in Melbourne and have had plenty said to me after games against the bigger teams. Have you ever been to Skilled stadium when Geelong have won a game? It's intense.

I agree and its an immutable law that there are dickheads in every supporter base!

Contra Mundum Please, I sit somewhat near the opposition fans each and every week. The fact is theres a few, as there are in any crowd, that because it's the one game a year they get to watch their team they get ridiculously written off and hurl abuse non stop at the Eagles fans. How can you explain that? Especially when most of the Eagles crowd is over 65...

Looking forward to 2 more meltdowns tonight from the North board

-Gieschen's explanation of the free kicks, nothing short of a papal pardon will do for North at the moment.

-Scott Thompson facing the music for his behind the the play hit on Rosa which left him doubled over for a bit. I'm expecting the calls of Thompson to be a saint, Rosa is gutless and took a dive etc. Will be also interesting to see what Firrito gets for his trip on Sheppard, and if Thomas gets cited for dive holding his head after Shuey bumped him in the shoulder.

Contra Mundum Please, I sit somewhat near the opposition fans each and every week. The fact is theres a few, as there are in any crowd, that because it's the one game a year they get to watch their team they get ridiculously written off and hurl abuse non stop at the Eagles fans. How can you explain that? Especially when most of the Eagles crowd is over 65...

Are you talking about Subi or somewhere else?

Apparently I'm banned from viewing the Norf board but I can still post there and like posts. Good one Norf mods.
Now now, my brothers a good sort.

Subi. I have been lucky to see minimal fights but the instigators in these verbal arguments and abuse are always the drunken opposition fans who hate the Eagles.

Your experience is different than mine

I haven't had a chance to go through your posts, have you provided evidence elsewhere?

I have sat in the same block at Subi for a decade and have only ever seen two fights that I can recall, both behind the goals in the city end, which is where the (tiny) number of general public seats are made available 2 weeks out from game day, which abuts the area reserved for the opposition fans.

I've been to plenty of games in Melbourne where WC fans were by far in the minority, its a similar story at every ground. I've never seen anything too awful though.

I hate to intrude but have you ever wondered what it is like coming out of the ground at Subi as an opposition supporter? It is often not pleasant. As for the hysteria on our Board - to respond otherwise would not be human
I can see what you're getting at but at the same time; I took my Geelong-supporting missus to the contentious WCE-GEE match last year (the one with the bajillion deliberates and super-close finish) and we made our way out without any problems (admittedly, she was only wearing the scarf, not the jumper and was with someone in Eagles regalia, so that may not count).

On the other hand, I work with a mental as anything Carlton supporter who was stunned at how no one got stuck into Carlton fans at all after their game with us this year, so despairing was the crowd, which may say a lot by omission.

I agree and its an immutable law that there are dickheads in every supporter base!

Can also depend on how opposition supporters conduct themselves, eg the WA Blues fans were bragging about the number of fights they got into after the semi final over here in 2011.

I haven't had a chance to go through your posts, have you provided evidence elsewhere?

I have sat in the same block at Subi for a decade and have only ever seen two fights that I can recall, both behind the goals in the city end, which is where the (tiny) number of general public seats are made available 2 weeks out from game day, which abuts the area reserved for the opposition fans.

I have copped it in a very uncivil manner about half the time I have been to games at Subi. Mostly "get a life" pensioner flogs who had been into the Bradavino pre match. What I am talking about is the yelling equivalent of close talking

It was worse when the Weagles were first formed because if you stayed with your VFL team it was regarded as traitorous. Anyway it is one of those circular arguments based on experience that can't get anywhere - I am feeling more rational about the game now - we had opportunities to ice it which we missed - fair cop

Mind you I did not mind giving it to Victorian supporters on the few times we beat them in State of Origin when the games were played at the WACA

That's because I sit near there every second week and have so for the last 10 years. An example as Oneiros was saying was Carlton fans were giving the finger and swearing very aggressively after each and every goal towards Eagles fans. I'm all for supporting your team loud and proudly or hurling abuse at the other team (if thats your thing), but keep it directed to the players on the ground rather than opposing fans.

That's odd isn't it? Granted i was only born in 89 but i respect the WA guys that stuck with their VFL team

I don't have problem with it, but it would be pretty crap I reckon. Only getting to see your team once, maybe twice a season. Not having mates to talk about your team with. Not getting half the sport section of the newspaper dedicated to your team. That said, if I had to move to Melbourne for work or something, I'd still barrack for West Coast.

It was worse when the Weagles were first formed because if you stayed with your VFL team it was regarded as traitorous. Anyway it is one of those circular arguments based on experience that can't get anywhere - I am feeling more rational about the game now - we had opportunities to ice it which we missed - fair cop

Aha, that's going to be an interesting one for me in a few years. I'm a South Sydney supporter in the NRL (I actually missed the first third of the WC-NM match because I was watching the Bunnies put Wests to the uttermost sword in the conflicting match) but with a West Australian team expected to be on the way, I'll be having to settle that conflict myself.

Who knows, in five years time, I may be in your shoes :p

My experiences of being in a really distinct minority at an away game is limited to derbies and that hasn't been so bad, even in an losing effort, so its hard to speak from a position of understanding.

It is interesting how few opportunities we have of being in that situation - even in games in Melbourne we have a larger support base there than most clubs have in Perth, so you'll still usually have safety in numbers. Probably the most relevant experience I've had was going to a Melbourne Heart game as a Perth Glory supporter, but they're not exactly the fiercest supporters in the A-League.