Scott Pendlebury

I love the way how he stops before he is tackled and is able to get his arms up over the tackler to handball away.

The only things I think he could improve or show more of is urgency to move the ball on which he has done this year but last year it was a query of mine. Also his kicking skills while great most of the time have the potential to be much greater. But in reality there are no Buckley-esque users of the ball anymore. No young players can deliver 50-60 metre chisiling passes to a leading player while he is at full pace or under duress (i.e. kicking around the corner). Not even Judd (who's kicking is great but nothing special IMO, goal kicking however is sublime). B.Harvey at times shows this. Deledio from some of what I've seen is close to showing this. The modern game is about moving the ball quickly while keeping possesion and long 'low percentage' kicking to a target may be being phased out of the teaching of our kids.

Hodge does but other than him yeah not many.

I love the kid but lets get a bit of a grip. Its good to be excited but I reckon we are going a tad overboard. Anything can happen. The next challange for the kid is to cope with a tag. This will happen very soon. He is still not getting a whole lot of respect for the opposition allowing him to find alot of space. Look how good deledio was 3 years ago in his first season. He has struggled a bit in the last 18 months and is only now starting to cope with having a bit of attention.

BOOOOOOOO, way to be a narc. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:. Let us go overboard in peace ant, it's as good a reason to be as excited as ever, and it doesn't hurt anyone!!!

(struggled in past 18 months? How so? If you're talking about his footy, I'd say for someone in their first 1.5 years of AFL football (after only 1 year prior) having pretty-much missed a pre-season with glandular fever, he's been doing pretty damn well... but maybe you meant something else?)

I wouldn't get too carried away - Pendlebury is superb, but he's not the best player from that draft.

As much as it hurts to say it, Marc Murphy is an absolute gun and probably shades Pendles to date.

BOOOOOOOO, way to be a narc. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:. Let us go overboard in peace ant, it's as good a reason to be as excited as ever, and it doesn't hurt anyone!!!

(struggled in past 18 months? How so? If you're talking about his footy, I'd say for someone in their first 1.5 years of AFL football (after only 1 year prior) having pretty-much missed a pre-season with glandular fever, he's been doing pretty damn well... but maybe you meant something else?)
Think he meant Delidio has struggled.:)

Re: Scott Pendlebury - Hird-like

I love the kid but lets get a bit of a grip. Its good to be excited but I reckon we are going a tad overboard. Anything can happen. The next challange for the kid is to cope with a tag. This will happen very soon. He is still not getting a whole lot of respect for the opposition allowing him to find alot of space. Look how good deledio was 3 years ago in his first season. He has struggled a bit in the last 18 months and is only now starting to cope with having a bit of attention.

That's basically what I was going to say - perhaps his biggest challenge will be the next 1.5 seasons. I'm confident that he will be able to rise to the occasion and become a superstar, but I don't have a crystal ball.
Hard to compare with Murphy - who is obviously very good so far ( the above also applies to him although he already is getting a hard tag), but Pendlebury is Hird-like, hard to get a BigFooty compliment than that. Murphy is more Judd-like but hasn't got close to Judd's level as yet.

Pendlebury turned me last week he showed courage and skill. Still think he takes that half step before a contest though. Wasnt a big fan of him after the first few games where he pulled out a couple of times.

He's a young skinny kid, what do you expect?

He isn't suicidal.

Dale Thomas, the 'raw' kid from Drouin, doesn't go too bad himself.

Yeah but I think he still has to kind of get the body for AFL and will have to develop where Pendlebury is ready right now. So I guess you could say right now he is the best player from that draft

Is it true this is only his third year of football since under 12's?!?!
AND that he had glandular last year?!?!

if so, and there is a 'next level' for him, may God have mercy on his opponents.:eek:
Good old Penelry:eek:

I was reffering to deledio stuggling for 18 months after being tagged and has now started to get used to it. Some players never do, look at dal santo , he was superb early but has often been terrible when tagged. I am a realist. Us collingwood supporters tend to make bold predications that dont often come off. I do it myself sometimes and look silly later.

I am very excited about the kid. But I would not go as far as other on the site who are sayin he is the best young player we have had in years etc

I was reffering to deledio stuggling for 18 months after being tagged and has now started to get used to it.
Yes, but Deledio's game is almost entirely about being to get the ball in space, run, and kick.

Pendlebury is much more inside, and he doesn't need to get wide open to be at his most effective, as a deft touch can spark a whole drive.

Note that Deledio was primarily being played as a loose backman, and it was in his transition to the midfield that he began to struggle with tags - Pendlebury hasn't ever been played as a loose backman. He is already contributing through the midfield and pushing forward, so the adjustment will be much more slight.

Granted, he will probably have a slight dip the first time a Brady Rawlings or Tyson Stenglein goes to him, but that's the case with all players.

I am very excited about the kid. But I would not go as far as other on the site who are sayin he is the best young player we have had in years etc
Why not?

Name me another Collingwood player since Paul Williams who has contributed as effectively and as consistently over at least half a season as Pendlebury has before they turned 20, and I'll understand your reluctance.

Realistically, he's not up against stiff competition.

Hello guys, just my 2 cents worth but Pendles is fast becoming my favourite player in the league (of course behind my blue boys). Just love the kids composure and core strength. Very similar type to Dal Santo but Harvey like ability to not panic when he is getting tackled and give off a handpass to a running player. Very good pick up for you guys and will be a future capatin of your club & star of the competition.

P.S it got me fired up when i saw him going at Taz last week. Possibly one of the youngest in your team and the only 1 standing toe to toe with a much more experienced and bigger opponent.

Pendles has more of the athletic side to the game but Murph has more footy smarts.. Footy smarts>Athletics but still Pendlebury is a gun and will be rising star if he maintains this form.. Don't shoo him in just yet though remember what happened to MM last season

Yes, but Deledio's game is almost entirely about being to get the ball in space, run, and kick.

Pendlebury is much more inside, and he doesn't need to get wide open to be at his most effective, as a deft touch can spark a whole drive.

Note that Deledio was primarily being played as a loose backman, and it was in his transition to the midfield that he began to struggle with tags - Pendlebury hasn't ever been played as a loose backman. He is already contributing through the midfield and pushing forward, so the adjustment will be much more slight.

Granted, he will probably have a slight dip the first time a Brady Rawlings or Tyson Stenglein goes to him, but that's the case with all players.

Why not?

Name me another Collingwood player since Paul Williams who has contributed as effectively and as consistently over at least half a season as Pendlebury has before they turned 20, and I'll understand your reluctance.

Realistically, he's not up against stiff competition.

Now your trying to put words in my mouth Vinnie. Firstly I am a massive fan of pendles, just because I am not sure if he is the best youngster we have had since bob rose in 46(geez that poster must be old) does not mean I am criticising the kid in any way. He has been very consistant this year and was good last year in glimpses so you comment about his consistancy applies to 10 games IMO otherwise he would have been in the side at the business end of the season. I have not for 1 second suggested he wont cope with a tag but despit your arguments of him being an inside player(which i agree with) it does not mean he will be able to handle it but i am confident he will. But time and time again I see our supporters get carried away with players and often they dont live up to the hefty expectations we put on them. Saying he is the best youngster since bob rose is a ridiculas comment IMO and thats why I said that I though some people are going overboard.

I wont to make this absolutely clear. From what I have seen so far Pendles is a gun and should be a superstar but I have seen enough footy to know anything can happen and I am not prepared to crown him as potentially our next brownlow or next captain or greatest ever player etc etc at this stage. Fair enough???

I dont really have an answer for the other question. There is every chance he is our most impressive youngster since williams although his little mate dale thomas might challange him for that mantle. Josh Fraser was bloody impressive for a young ruckman in his first couple of seasons too. I am pretty sure most of us would have being the same things about him. In fact I remember watching talking footy early in his second season and I remember wallsy and I think it might have been bruce suggesting that josh would be the best player in the comp in a few years and obviously this did not eventuate.

And while not from collingwood brad ottens is another example of kids being awesome early on and falling away. He would have been the most sought after young tall in the comp after 2 seasons and has never really gone on with it.

So for the last time I am a massive fan but I will wait a while before getting to carried away if thats ok with everyone.

Hard to compare with Murphy - who is obviously very good so far ( the above also applies to him although he already is getting a hard tag), but Pendlebury is Hird-like, hard to get a BigFooty compliment than that. Murphy is more Judd-like but hasn't got close to Judd's level as yet.

Fair call, but I guess it depends where you stand between Hird and Judd. there are plenty of people out there who think Judd is a better footballer than Hird ever was (plenty think best ever) so where you stand in that argument, really defines where you would stand between Pendles and Murphy.

Personally, I wouldn't want to split Hird and Judd, though I'm not sure Judd could hold down a key position like Hird has managed. Both premiership skippers, brownlow winners and Norm Smith winners....

Pendles is 190cm and could easily shift forward or back to become a KPP. Murphy couldn't. However, I think Murphy has easily been the better player so far, but there is more upside to Pendles and his talents. Murphy perhaps benefits in an argument like this by playing for a geneuinely woeful side, where blokes who aren't complete reatards look like superstars :)

He's a young skinny kid, what do you expect?

He isn't suicidal.

i said he changed me last friday night... loved the outburst at tarrant! if thats all i can pick out of him he must be going pretty well. Absoulute gun mate don't get me wrong!

Pendles has more of the athletic side to the game but Murph has more footy smarts.. Footy smarts>Athletics but still Pendlebury is a gun and will be rising star if he maintains this form.. Don't shoo him in just yet though remember what happened to MM last season
The way he moves reminds me of rhys-jones were there seems to be no urgence seems to be jogging along and that coming from a pies supporter ,just an observation.

Yeah and he just jogged away from Haselby who was absolutley sprinting in an attempt to catch up, couldn't catch him.

Scott Pendlebury