Scott stevens

• Thread starter Thread starter Alex99

Everybody got excited over his game last week.

Well, he played well, defensively.

But, he was playing as the loose man, one of the easiest roles in the game, not hard to take marks when it's uncontested.

And as good as he was defensively, he was terrible offensively; gave up 3 goals directly from terrible footskills and decision making - and would've given up 2 more if Thommo and Vince (I think) didn't bust their arses to clean up his mess.

He does it EVERY GAME! Last year in that bloody final, he gave away 3 goals directly from shit skills, and another 1 (at least) from a stupid free kick. He is possibly the worst user of the ball in our team, and we constantly suffer from it.

He always fails under pressure, his decision making is deplorable, and his footskills are even worse.

Depth player at best, we cannot keep playing him.

Drop Stevens now and delist at seasons end. Bring back Davis. Stevens would have had even more turnovers last week against Geelong if not for some great individual efforts and marking by team mates. His turn overs are just too frequent and costly. He has had more than enough opportunities to make ammends.

humble-pie.jpg

Crows98, the next time I call you an idiot, please refer me to this thread. That said, his kicking was no worse than the muppets who kicked 2.9 in the first half. But I stand before you, pants down, asking for your mercy :D

I wonder whether Stevens' flexibility (and for that matter, Davis' ability to play as a forward) is overvalued in our current team.

For Stevens to play as a forward, someone has to move elsewhere. Walker's a forward and nothing else. Henderson may be able to the midfield to pinch-hit, but doesn't strike me as a defender. Tippett can go in to the ruck, but that's robbing Peter to pay Paul and has been done to death here. Both Maric and Griffin have spent time resting up forward recently, but neither should be considered as defenders.

It's a lot different to a few years ago, where the likes of Hentschel and McGregor were comfortable in defence if a different look was needed.

This guy plays a few good games one great game and a shocker that's just how he roles. As a back man you look much worse when you mess up.

The way Henderson goes he looks likely able to play anywhere, he's seriously very good and the only difference in the backline would be changing his priority to spoiling the opponent, he perhaps could just be set to play the ball really the way the backline is zoned off and our players don't actually tend to man up or stick with leading players. He certainly offers a lot more speed on the rebound then the majority of the group.

I wonder whether Stevens' flexibility (and for that matter, Davis' ability to play as a forward) is overvalued in our current team.

For Stevens to play as a forward, someone has to move elsewhere. Walker's a forward and nothing else. Henderson may be able to the midfield to pinch-hit, but doesn't strike me as a defender. Tippett can go in to the ruck, but that's robbing Peter to pay Paul and has been done to death here. Both Maric and Griffin have spent time resting up forward recently, but neither should be considered as defenders.

It's a lot different to a few years ago, where the likes of Hentschel and McGregor were comfortable in defence if a different look was needed.

I could understand it if supporters were overvaluing him because of his 'flexibilty' but if our coaching staff are still picking him for that reason then we are in deep shit and may never come out of it while the current team management is in place.

Definitely.

NTRabbit will shout it down again, but we don't need a swingman anymore. If he isn't good enough to be in the side as a pure defender or forward, then he shouldn't be in the side.

This guy plays a few good games one great game and a shocker that's just how he roles. As a back man you look much worse when you mess up.

He's probably played 3-4 good games all year (and I still say his Geelong game is over-rated), and even in those good games, he easily gives away 2-3 goals due to poor decision making and skill errors.

Trade him to the Gold Coast or Carlton.

If it was between Stevens or Davis (with Bock getting the gold pass), then we must rectify the error this week and re-instate Davis. Seriously, he will be one of the players we build our next 10 years around...give him 5 more games experience (by the end of which he will perform the 3rd tall/swingman role just as well anyway).

Personally i wouldn't care if Bock got the arse to go back and start his pre-season for whichever club he will play for next year and bring in Sellar or McKernan as well!

Also, one of Maric/Griffin to pay the price for insipid performances...clearly not with it upstairs, must schedule the shrink in to see them before playing showdowns. Sellar or Smack again. There are 5 rounds left. What is better for our future? I reckon we could give Maric a rest and promote someone else.

Doughty/Reilly/Symes/vB...too many average skilled plodders for a team balance to beat the best consistently imo. Reilly is safe based on performance and role. Really couldn't care about the others, they are very similar. Someone (or 2) can go to make room for Brodie Martin and Chris Knights.

Armstrong an obvious out for Goodwin if he back from injury. Back to the weights room Tony...hopefully that will boost your confidence with handling body pressure. I assume McLeod out for a while.

Well the search has been going for a while but we have found our new Douglas (Whipping Boy). This guy is going to cop it for one reason or another each time we lose.

I cant see why stevens is being blamed for Ebert outmarking him, most if not all of these marks were on the lead where ebert is mighty quick. Even johncock couldnt stay with him.
Having said that i hope davis comes in for him as the rest of stevens game was pretty ordinary, whoevers desicion it was to make him kick out should be shot, why wouldnt you want all of your marking talls around the 50, its not as if hes the best kick in the team.
Also Whesthoff has just been waiting for the right game to rip apart he is a sensational kick and a great mark has a big upside imo.

Well the search has been going for a while but we have found our new Douglas (Whipping Boy). This guy is going to cop it for one reason or another each time we lose.

He's like Ian Perrie; serviceable at times, but that's about it. He quite simply isn't very good. His defensive side is fine, but with ball in hand, his decision making and skills would have to be the worst on our list.

If we don't have a better option, he's in the side, if we do, he shouldn't be.

Finals are gone, I'd rather see SMcK play the rest of the year to help his development for next year.

Well, if we are looking to the future, and are dinkum about it, then one of Bock or Stevo should be dropped, and Smack or Sellar give a go.

Sellar in particular was showing good signs. Next year Talia might be the answer for one of Bock or Stevens.

And can someone please answer why, oh why would we have Stevens kicking in after a point. Personally I'd prefer a long kick straight down the guts to a Stevens 20 metre pass to the opposition.

the truth is that Scotty has only played one good game this year (last week).....

My concern has always been his lack of strength and composure in 1+1 marking contests, this is why we see him grab the jumper on many occassions

if the selection decision is between Davis or Stevens, Davis should be selected on every occassion

He wasn't even that good last week. He did some good things, but quickly cancelled them out with something terrible. I counted 3 goals to Geelong coming directly as a result of Stevens awful kicking and considering Geelong only managed 9 for the match, that's pretty damn poor.

Trade him at the end of the year IMO. I'd be happy with a new (even used) football for the club.

I like Stevo, doesn't shirk the issue but reckon he's just been knocked out too many times... a long spell in a lush green paddock should apply here...

Top post:thumbsu: I think you've hit the nail on the head here, our need of a swingman has really dried up thanks to the emergence of 3 genuine key forward options in Tippett, Walker and Henderson. Even Porplyzia is starting to struggle to find a kick up there, similar to the way Mark Williams started to struggle at Hawthorn once Buddy and Roughy started hitting their straps.

Stevens really offers nothing up forward that we aren't already getting from Tippett, Walker and Henderson. In fact, as much as Walker and Henderson were struggling to slot goals, they were still finding plenty of the footy and looking dangerous. IMO if a forwards finding the footy, but struggling to slot them, leave him there. Did Hawthorn shift Buddy after he kicked 2.9 in a match?

Disagree a little re Tippett though, if he's struggling to find the footy up forward, I have no issue with us moving him into the ruck, what we shouldn't do is go into matches expecting Tippett to be our #1 KPF and 2nd Ruck. Tippett was being well blanketed, a move into the ruck, especially considering Maric and Griff weren't doing terribly much is a reasonable move.

The "swingman" phenomena is a myth anyway. It wasn't like Matthew Pavlich being swung from the forward line to the midfield to create a spark.

It was usually because he'd had a kickless half up forward so we put him down back to see if we could get something out of him. Something, anything. He'd chime in with a serviceable second half, enough to stay in the team next week. The next week he'd start down back, have a swag of goals kicked on him early and get moved up forward after half time to limit the damage.

Somehow this dodging of his pitiful form became misconstrued as him having two strings to his bow.

I will stay this though. Stevens is equally good up forward as he is down back. And I'm equally good at opera singing as I am at performing heart surgery.

The new whipping boy cops it once again. Well, he's always been a whipping boy, but he's replaced Shirley and Douglas as number 1 this year.
At least he put his head over the ball and had a go. I didn't see him once deviate off the line or dog it. Others were soft as butter. The footage of some of our players shirking the contest should be played in front of the team and what they did pointed out to them.
That was a shameful performance by many wearing a jumper they apparently have little respect for.
We need to deal with the bogey-man wearing teal. Stevo could be held up as an example of how to do just that.

Make reference to the gameday thread i started a tally, but by mid way through the second corner my fingers were getting sore. As much as i like Stevens and everything he has done for the AFC he clearly is nothing more than the a solid depth player.

At least he put his head over the ball and had a go. I didn't see him once deviate off the line or dog it. Others were soft as butter. The footage of some of our players shirking the contest should be played in front

Don't dispute that at all mate.

But his decision making and footskills are absolutely terrible; possibly due to the repeated concussions?

Hes going down the path of Mcgregor, we might see a 2 possession 3 clanger game sometime soon.

But seriously, he stinks, ever since he got towelled up by Hansen in 2006 prelim, i have never rated him. Frontrunner of the highest order. Down back he gets a few touches like ANY backman would do, but concedes 3-4 goals a game even when we win. Up forward he is too slow to chase, not agile or good at ground level.

Hes going down the path of Mcgregor, we might see a 2 possession 3 clanger game sometime soon.

But seriously, he stinks, ever since he got towelled up by Hansen in 2006 prelim, i have never rated him. Frontrunner of the highest order. Down back he gets a few touches like ANY backman would do, but concedes 3-4 goals a game even when we win. Up forward he is too slow to chase, not agile or good at ground level.

Wasnt it bassett that got towelled up in that final by hansen?