Scott Stevens

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I swear, Sheedy is a genius. Pick 6 for Jacobs. We could have done better in the trading period. Be a bit more agressive for a ruckman we desperately need.

As I have thought for a while, we should've offered Perrie to the Bulldogs. Judging by this I reckon we could've upgraded our 1st round pick to number 6 in exchange for Perrie and someone else.

We don't desperately need a ruckman. It would've taken a huge sacrifice to trade for a ruckman good enough to displace Clarke or Biglands. And that's unecessary because these two are one of the best ruck duo's in the league. Marsh is an able third string ruckman.

We will need a ruckman in 3 years or so but we don't need to trade get that. We need to draft and put some on the rookie list. In three years time we will then have a replacement.

What we don't need is to overpay for an average ruckman and thankfully, we haven't.

OK I have calmed down a bit now. Welcome aboard Scott Stevens. I hope you reach your potential with AFC.

I still think we should have played hard ball and got him for pick 45 alone. I wanted us to have a pick in 20s.

Now we have picks 14, 31 and 61.

Pick 14: I think we will take a punt here and take Brent Hall (a98 cm / 94 kg) ruckman from South Fremantle. Although he not exactly worth pick 14, he will NOT be available at 31. IMHO, we will take a punt here.

Pick 31: Hopefully a project player like Chris Stewart (193 cm / 80 kg) will still be available. A one grab player than can play at either end. Rated as possibly a tall with most raw talent. If we can get him and then develop him, can turn out to e a good investment.

Pick 61: Hopefully we can get a smoky. If someone like Harry Miller (175 cm / 75 kg) is available, he would be worth considering. We might use this pick to pick up a delisted player from another club.

We have done the trades and now its time to make our draft selections count:(

I wanted us to have a pick in 20s.

But seriously Stiffy, there's not much difference between 29 and 31. I'd totally agree with you if we gave up a pick in the 20s (like 21-23) for 31.

Originally posted by ****
As I have thought for a while, we should've offered Perrie to the Bulldogs. Judging by this I reckon we could've upgraded our 1st round pick to number 6 in exchange for Perrie and someone else.

You know that is a really interesting trade. Dogs trade Pick 6 to Essendon, who send Jacobs to Hawthorn. Hawthorn send Veale (who????) and their word that they will let Rawlings into the pre season draft to Bulldogs.

Surely Pick 14 and Perrie to Bulldogs would have been good. Then doggies could have traded pick 14 to Essendon instead of pick 6.

I think Essendon well and truely laugh all the way to the draft.

Originally posted by PrideOf
But seriously Stiffy, there's not much difference between 29 and 31. I'd totally agree with you if we gave up a pick in the 20s (like 21-23) for 31.
True BUT when you look at the teams before us in the 2nd round, most of them will be after talls. Sydney will most likely pick a tall with that pick and it might well be a tall that we would want ourselves.

This also forces us to take more of a punt with our 1st pick. I am almost certain now we will draft a ruckman with Pick 14 even if there isn't really one thats worth that much:(

With our first pick I think the Crows will (and should) take the best available player.

All picks after that will come down to positional needs but the first pick is the most important one and we need to get the best available. We did this two years ago with Reilly when we didn't need another wingman and I think the policy will be the same this year.

That's just a hunch I have, nothing more.

True BUT when you look at the teams before us in the 2nd round, most of them will be after talls. Sydney will most likely pick a tall with that pick and it might well be a tall that we would want ourselves.

But we're not looking at the second round as a whole. We were always going to be behind teams with picks #20-#28 anyway. We've only lost the opportunity of standing behind teams with #29 and #30. Sydney now has #29. Fair enough, they may go tall. But #30 is Port - who don't need talls (particularly ruckmen) like most other clubs. So I don't think we've missed out on much at all.

Originally posted by PrideOf
But we're not looking at the second round as a whole. We were always going to be behind teams with picks #20-#28 anyway. We've only lost the opportunity of standing behind teams with #29 and #30. Sydney now has #29. Fair enough, they may go tall. But #30 is Port - who don't need talls (particularly ruckmen) like most other clubs. So I don't think we've missed out on much at all.
I think Port will get a ruckman this year. Even if its pre-season draft. We really have very little chance of getting a good KPP at 31.

There is nothing we can do about it now. We just have to make the most of it. One thing is for sure, I have not heard good things about Ericksen and Whitehead and those 3 might be available with pick 31. Whitehead I have seen a couple of times and while he has a very good leap for a ruckman he doesn't offer much in terms of ability. Hopefully I am proven wrong. Ericksen is an atlethic giant with basketball background but some people reckon he is a bit of Ben Marsh.

I just hope we have somethin up our sleeve come draft day.

Originally posted by ****
With our first pick I think the Crows will (and should) take the best available player.

All picks after that will come down to positional needs but the first pick is the most important one and we need to get the best available. We did this two years ago with Reilly when we didn't need another wingman and I think the policy will be the same this year.

That's just a hunch I have, nothing more.

Uh...we have always had a deficiency on the wing, mate until Burton arrived this year...we definitely needed another wingman

Originally posted by DaveW
Is a third round pick too little?
Originally posted by liz
I'd be pretty happy if we got a 3rd round pick for him.
I thought we agreed on the third rounder alone.

No one said anything about swapping our second rounders!

Not that I'm anywhere near as upset as Stiffy (are you feeling ok S18?). In fact I couldn't care less that we drop a whole two places in the second round. It's a rather insignificant sweetner, it puzzles me that they even did it.

I'm very happy with this deal.

it puzzles me that they even did it.
I guess the Swans were just squeezing that last little bit out of the deal.

He was always worth around about a third rounder.

The Swans wouldn't have been interested in any of our delistable players - they just take list and cap space.

And we'd never swap our first round picks - they're too valuable.

But a second round swap is worth that teency bit something.

Not that I'm anywhere near as upset as Stiffy (are you feeling ok S18?).
I am OK now :)

I have been looking through the draft list reports and I reckon we could still get a couple of good kids. But whichever way i look at it we will take a punt on a ruckman with Pick 14.

Pick 61, I think this is where Brent Busastow could come in;)

I guess the Swans were just squeezing that last little bit out of the deal.

He was always worth around about a third rounder.

The Swans wouldn't have been interested in any of our delistable players - they just take list and cap space.

And we'd never swap our first round picks - they're too valuable.

But a second round swap is worth that teency bit something.
According to James Fantasia we offered Pick 45 but they thought it was not quite right. We went back and said Pick 29 and Pick 45 for Stevens and Pick 31 were the best we would offer. Sydney didn't really want this either but rang back with about hour and a half left and accepted our latest offer.

You would have seen more of him than I have. How would you rate him?

Pick 14: I think we will take a punt here and take Brent Hall (a98 cm / 94 kg) ruckman from South Fremantle. Although he not exactly worth pick 14, he will NOT be available at 31. IMHO, we will take a punt here.

I doubt that they'd give up pick 14 for this guy Stiffy, because as you said he's not worth it.

William Gayfer is a good chance to be around at #14, and as a big strong 6'4" goer who plays anwhere, he'd be good value.

I tend to agree with the others Stiffy. 29 or 31. It gets pretty speculative at this level. No guarantees and plaenty of bad ones.

OMG - We have 2 STEVO'S!!!!!!!!

Please note - from now on - when I refer to Stevo - I mean MY Stevo - Mark Stevens!!!

Although............my STEVENS warm up shirt will cover both bases!!

k
xx

No, the AFL are considering changing the rules and will examine having 3 wings in the pre-season.

Originally posted by macca23
I doubt that they'd give up pick 14 for this guy Stiffy, because as you said he's not worth it.

William Gayfer is a good chance to be around at #14, and as a big strong 6'4" goer who plays anwhere, he'd be good value.

I tend to agree with the others Stiffy. 29 or 31. It gets pretty speculative at this level. No guarantees and plaenty of bad ones.
I am not so sure that he will be available at pick 14. I think Essendon will pick him up just before we get a crack at him.:(

Behind Bradley, Hall is the best young ruck prospect and I doubt he would last until pick 31. I think with 31 we are probably looking at someone like Ericksen or Whitehead, none of which are rated that highly. Both ate LONG term projects. Hell they might never develop into good AFL ruckmen.

I am not so sure that he will be available at pick 14. I think Essendon will pick him up just before we get a crack at him.:(

Behind Bradley, Hall is the best young ruck prospect and I doubt he would last until pick 31. I think with 31 we are probably looking at someone like Ericksen or Whitehead, none of which are rated that highly. Both ate LONG term projects. Hell they might never develop into good AFL ruckmen.

Dont go anywhere near Whitehead. Not up to it.

Stiffy dont be so negative.

Rawlings and Stevens in the draft may help us. It's changed the draft order, so the priorities for the clubs who have a pick before us may have changed now. Ours havent changed so we may still get a Gayfer or Hall.

Kevin Sheehan just went through his top 10 draft picks on Fox Footy and he didn't have either Fergus Watts or William Gayfer in there.

Hopefully one of them will hang in there until our turn.

Originally posted by Jerome
Stiffy dont be so negative.

Rawlings and Stevens in the draft may help us. It's changed the draft order, so the priorities for the clubs who have a pick before us may have changed now. Ours havent changed so we may still get a Gayfer or Hall.
Dude. not negative just looking at possible selections. Rawlings and Stevens are going into the pre-season draft so really drafting targets for Bulldogs and Carlton have not changed at all.

For whats it worth here is how I think the top 15 will go.

1. Bulldogs: Adam Cooney
2. Carlton: Kane Tenace
3. Melbourne: Colin Sylvia
4. Bulldogs: Kepler Bradley
5. Melbourne: Farren Ray
6. Essendon: Andrew Walker
7. Geelong: Troy Chaplin
8. St. Kilda: Raphael Clarke
9. Kangaroos: Fergus Watts
10. Fremantle: Jacob Surjan
11. West Coast: William Gayfer
12. Fremantle: Brock McLean