Scott Welsh leaving

Re: Welsh gone

Yes Welsh has to look after himself, good luck to him in wanting and doing that, but dont lump the AFCs policy as the reason he is leaving.

But I feel there were other different issues that led to the AFC taking the stance it did

I dont like the way Welshs so called "off field discretions" have been chucked into the media reporting mix ;its like saying Hudson left coz of a curfew break.:rolleyes:

Oh well he's gone now.
Thanks for your efforts Scotty -Ill miss ya.

Certainly the wolves (AFC supporters) have been after Scotty's blood for overa season .......yet when he decides to leave we are upset???

I was a wolf, and I'm not crying now. Will he get the white shorts dirty at his new club?

1. Meh ....about him leaving ....he wasn't part of the future but he was going to help with a winning environment as we did blood the future kids.

Never quite sure what to make of a player "not being part of the future" or "never going to be a premiership player". You need role players - for every Macca or Roo in a premiership side there's a Clay Sampson and a Chad Rintoul. Having said that, Welsh's work habits on the field (clearly - ESPECIALLY away from home) and off the field (implied by the club) aren't exemplary, and if we're going through a R-phase, we want the veterans to be teaching the kids what's required by example.

2. He had every right to take another offer as it was as plain as it comes this would have been his last year.

Yep.

3. We are now very light on for forward line experience .......we do however have time to review our drafting strategy to short term cover the situation (another Gill scenario)

It also gives the coaches a whole summer to think an entirely new strategy for the forward line. A midget squad, a la the Bulldogs? More resting ruckmen up forward (both Biglands and Maric are far more capable in the forward 50 than Huddo)?

4. I do not mind a full rebuilding year coming into a strong 2008 draft ......2009 IMO will BE EXCITING :thumbsu:

2008 will be exciting too. Every season's got something - even the bad ones, whether it's the emergence of new talent (Burton 1999, Macca under Shaw), cameo great games (flogging Hawthorn at the G in 2004) - there's always something.

But I will Love 2007 .......seeing kids ....future stars being groomed ......and watch out those posters who try and tear them down because I'll attack ;)

Psst - WW - we've done 2007. 119 times over. ;)

Its strange because Welshy is such a great player for the crows, i would have thought reid would have learnt the lesson from the hudson contract issue :thumbsdown:

I hope Welsh gets picked up by another club, i know the tiges wont take him because they already have 2 superstars in the forward line and they have issues actually getting the ball there.

Scott Welsh's AFL career could be over. Too many injuries even though he played a majority of the games this year. I'm not sure if he'll be picked up by another club, if so well fine. I must say that he has done an excellent job with us. But we've won plenty of games without him too.

You cant dismiss the notion so easily there arent issues at the club. Hudson, Welsh, Mattner, Meesen and for awhile McGregor all wanted to leave.

...and did you read Obsts gripe in the Sunday Mail?
If theres a half truth in what he says, youve got to be a bit concerned with the way 'we' communicate to players.

11) Draft Kepler Bradley. There could be worse things to do with a low draft pick.
QUOTE]

Yeah and now that Welsh has gone if there was any doubt about recruiting Bradley IMO we should chase him.

http://au.blogs.yahoo.com/aflkevinsheedy/80/ask-the-coach

Kevin Sheedy Ask the coach
By Kevin Sheedy, Yahoo!7 Sports
September 12, 2007Post a comment | User Comments (1)

Hi Kevin. Why persist with Kepler Bradley? Ntumes.

I think Kepler Bradley is a good footballer and I think people underrate Kepler. Just because he looks awkward doesn't mean he always is. I think that if Essendon let him go, so be it, but I met Roger Merrett at the same age of 21 and Kepler Bradley is a better player than Merrett was at 21 years of age because Merrett hadn't played 50 games by then.

It just depends. Maybe the competition's better, obviously the AFL is a better competition than the VFL, but people are ready to jump on these young players when they come through. He does need to work on his balance and his kicking but he's got a very good engine and he's capable of kicking goals. I've put him at centre-half back as we search for a tall, key defender and he's probably not suited necessarily to that position at this time of his career, but he may be at some stage in the future.

He might become a key forward like Ashley Hansen, but don't criticise, let's work on the positives of the young man. Too many people are looking for the class player. Of course he's not Lance Franklin and he's probably not as good as Paddy Ryder, but that doesn't mean he won't end up playing 150 games.

Why the hell wouldn't we draft Bradley??

Sheedy thinks he shouldn't have been delisted and that he's much more suited to being a forward with a big engine who can kick goals (where he played prior being drafted by Essendon).

I'd much rather draft Kepler Bradley who we know WILL play games with a late pick rather than gamble with some young long-shot who might happen to make it or go the way of Alan Obst.

I would definitely draft Bradley with a late pick. Definitely.

I like your info and to the most i agree with you. But Bradly is rubbish and we should get some more youth to the table!!! I know we need a balance of experience and youth but youth will pay off in the long run on a percetage basis.

Bradley turned 22 today - that's young.

He's already played 49 games for Essendon, where he received a Mattner - he was played out of position.

He's ready to plug and play. :thumbsu:

I dont like the way Welshs so called "off field discretions" have been chucked into the media reporting mix ;its like saying Hudson left coz of a curfew break.:rolleyes:

Oh well he's gone now.
Thanks for your efforts Scotty -Ill miss ya.

Well he did, didn't he? :confused:

I don’t buy and never have bought the crap he left because he wanted a 3 year contract.

Scott Welsh's AFL career could be over. Too many injuries even though he played a majority of the games this year. I'm not sure if he'll be picked up by another club, if so well fine. I must say that he has done an excellent job with us. But we've won plenty of games without him too.

He would be mental not to have some sort of guarantee with the new club before announcing his intentions to quit. I would be pretty sure his manager has arranged this sort of insurance.

He would know where he is going to play next season and wouldn’t be surprised to see him training with that club come Monday (or when ever they go back to train) .

I don’t buy and never have bought the crap he left because he wanted a 3 year contract.

He would be mental not to have some sort of guarantee with the new club before announcing his intentions to quit. I would be pretty sure his manager has arranged this sort of insurance.

He would know where he is going to play next season and wouldn’t be surprised to see him training with that club come Monday (or when ever they go back to train) .

Absolutely right on the money both times!! :thumbsu:

...and did you read Obsts gripe in the Sunday Mail?
If theres a half truth in what he says, youve got to be a bit concerned with the way 'we' communicate to players.

He had a pretty big dip didnt he !!! I have to say from a supporters point of veiw I have thought this has been the case for a while. Now im not saying that we should be listening intently to this kid but we shouldnt take it with a grain of salt either.

If he left because of a curfew break hes a sook.
If he left because of a curefew break and the fact that he was ostricised (sp?)over it by the AFC,then we are sooks.

It had to be the contract.

If he left because of a curfew break hes a sook.
If he left because of a curefew break and the fact that he was ostricised (sp?)over it by the AFC,then we are sooks.

It had to be the contract.

I think it had a bit to do with both the last 2 points you raised. Did anyone hear him say the other day he was excited to be at the Bulldogs as they would be giving him greater game time than he had at the Crows ?? He was our number 1 ruckman FFS how much more did he want ??

Welsh was never going to win us a flag. Whilst we will suffer some short term pain by losing our leading goal kicker, it will speed up the development of our younger players, and ultimately bring us to our next premiership sooner (which is the only reason for playing IMO).

The following guys will all be pretty excited about 2008 at AFC:

1) Jericho - for mine the logical replacement for Welsh provided he plays as a running half forward. He played more good games than bad in 2007 at AFL level. I think he has matured as a player and can make it. Not everyone is ready to go at age 20. Furthermore, not every player has to be a hard as nails enforcer. Adelaide needs quick, skilled players with clean hands just as much as it needs a tough gritty midfielders. So for mine, provided Jericho does everything right in the pre-season, he should get first dibs on a half forward flank.

2) Gill - I would like to see Gill at centre half forward. He will play a similar role to Perrie - he will just do it better. However, my primary reason for wanting to play Gill at centre half forward is so we can leave Bock at centre half back. Bock is a brilliant centre half back and an okay forward. Play him in his best position for f$%k sake.

3) With Gill and Jericho across the half forward line we need some class. I would say Edwards (he is winding down in what is a very good chance to be his last year) as he has class and is pretty handy around goals or Burton - a classy player with heaps of aerial ability and goal sense.

4) Porplyzia - the easiest forward to pick for mine. Of all the blokes on out list he is primed along with one or two others to make the next step. He sholuld be aiming for 40 plus goals next year and if he plays a full season I reckon he can do it.

5) Hentschel - massive question mark on this one. If he continues where he left off in 2006 then he is our first pick full forward. If he struggles then he may need to play in defence or regain SANFL form. Too hard to tell at this stage.

6) McGregor - with Welsh gone and with Hentschel likely to struggle early McGregor is a decent option for us. However, he is unlikely to be a game breaker and is never likely to kick more than 3 or 4 goals in a game.

So we have a forward line of:

McGregor Hentschel Porplyzia

Edwards / Burton Gill Jericho

In terms of other options

7) Stevens. Looks good up forward. I would rather see Bock at centre half back and Stevens up forward if Hentschel doesnt make it. Bassett will be back next year so there will be less need for Stevens to play in defence - especially if Moran can fill a role down there as well (although I am not sure he can)

8) Sellar / Tippett. Yes they are likely to be key forwards. How likely are they to be any good in 2008 though? Probably a few games here and there but I would expect more in 2009. Also with the AFL set to establish a gold coast based team, AFC will need to start managing the retention of KT now. If he is out of contract when the Gold Coast team starts up we will no doubt be screwed again. At least Sellar and Walker barrack for AFC.

9) Vince. Could cover for Edwards or Porplyzia.

10) Walker. Let him crack skulls and breathe fire at SANFL level for one or two years.

11) Draft Kepler Bradley. There could be worse things to do with a low draft pick.

Thoughts people?
1. It’ll be a satisfying moment when the club finally realises Jericho’s no good. Even when he plays for Norwood there’s so little to like. He has speed, decent skills and can kick a few goals but there’s just so much wrong with his game. Despite the fact he may have improved over the past 12 months the bottom line is that he’s still as soft as butter and he shirks a few contests every game. Even playing in the SANFL his attack on the man and ball is pathetic. There’s no doubting he has the skills to play at the top level but you can’t carry someone who refuses to put their body on the line. Despite the so called improvements to his game go look at the Round 11 game against Geelong and count the contests he blatantly pulled out of. It’s great that we’re rebuilding but he should’ve been the first to bite the dust.

2. I’m still not a believer in Gill. He’s 25 years old and despite showing some good signs late in the year he will find the going tougher as opponents start paying him more respect, and with Welsh gone expect a better defender to take him. I have no doubt he’s in for a tough year. And when you’ve got a key forward with kicking as bad as his, you know your forward line is a weakness.

3. Edwards should play in the midfield but he should get used to being active in rotations. He needs to slowly be phased out so VB, Douglas and even Mackay get some more time in the midfield. As for Burton, it’s better if your expectations are low for season 2008. He’s begun the decline and it won’t be pretty.

4. I’m a huge fan of Porplyzia but there’s no way he’s capable of kicking 40 goals at the top level. He must stay injury free and to do so he needs a big pre-season which hopefully sees him lose 3-5kg. He needs to work on his endurance so he can spend some time in the midfield. His work in heavy traffic will enable him to be a quality on-baller, as long as he’s fit enough.

5. Agree on this one. I think it’s better if we expect little from Trent in 2008 as it’s going to be a long, hard road back.

6. Agree once again. McGregor knew he wasn’t getting a contract anywhere else so he came crawling back. His speed and mobility are on the decline but as long as his hands and accuracy remain he’ll be a 30 goal forward which given our list is invaluable.

7. To be honest I too like Stevens as a forward. I think he presents very well and he has good hands. The main thing is that when up forward he makes things happen; the same can’t be said about too many others on our list. But he’ll probably stay in defence and only occasionally be sent forward which is a shame.

8. Both are unproven, raw and a slight concern at this stage. I want to know what happened to the 17 year old Sellar I saw on debut. He looked quick, aggressive and talented, now he looks slow and lethargic. I’m sure the OP had a lot to do with that but 2008 is a massive year for James.

Tippett showed some great signs as a ruckman but that’s just it, he has shown nothing as a forward. I guess as a junior he looked the goods up forward but I don’t share the same faith as WW. When watching Tippett the main thing I liked was his aggressiveness which cannot be taught. For as much as I liked Meesen it was something he lacked whereas Tippett has a ton of it. He’s strong, quick and aggressive, all great attributes. You get the feeling the AFC is extremely high on him and we’ll see a lot of him next year. I just hope he’s worth it.

9. I’m not sure where Vince fits into our plans. He’s not creative enough to be a midfielder as all he does it bang it on the boot without looking for an option. As a forward he’s too slow and his ball drop is deplorable and needs a lot of work.

10. Can’t wait to see him in action, hopefully for Norwood. ;)

11. There are bad players in the AFL such as Jericho, Wade Mills, Clinton Jones, and then there’s Bradley. DUD!!!

How do you come to that conclusion? :confused:

Im assuming it wasnt gametime (see hey shortys post above)

Im assuming Ben has the reponsibility to accept the penalty for his curfew break given that team roles are tattooed on players foreheads.

Maybe he just wanted to return to Melbourne and "used" his contarct as a bargaining chip and we called his bluff = contract.

That's because he's got the pics of who was involved with what happened to the goat. :D

I've got mixed feelings about Welsh's departure.

Part of me says that he's doing what he needs to do to protect his livelihood, and that's understandable.

Another part of me says that he has let us down miserably because it was his perpetual behavioural issues that led to us not giving him the 2nd year and his leaving.

Part of me says it will be exciting to see new forward structures and new faces up forward.

Another part of me says that we could be in for a dog of a year while we rebuild our forward lines.

Part of me says that it's great that the club are flexing their muscles and saying that they won't tolerate players not complying with team rules as success comes when all players do the right thing, not some of them.

Another part of me questions whether we are becoming over regimented and almost becoming self-destructive in the process.

To say that's it's been an unusual year both on and off the field is putting it mildly!! :eek:

I am exactly the same...up until now I was type of ok with the rest leaving , most of the de- listings etc. Scott wasnt going to win us a flag, but good luck to him.

Now I have a "nervous" excitement about next year.

One thing for sure...it wont be the same old same old !!:thumbsu:

Yeah I'm not overly fussed or bitter about scotty leaving... Good luck to him, I hope things go well for him.

If I had a choice I would have preferred to keep Welsh and lose McGregor, but thats not how it panned out.

Can't wait for next year and the coming of the new generation!!

He only played well against the Roos. Bastard.

Interesting that richmond supporters were claiming today that he only plays well against them and then if you head to the bulldgos board they were also claiming he only plays well against them.....

Surely you weren't serious with that post, he wouldnt have left Adelaide if he didnt already know he had a firm offer from another club.

If he knew he wasnt going to be picked up by anyone he would have signed with Adelaide.

Scott Welsh leaving