Scott Welsh leaving

Re: Scott Welsh leaving?

If true, I'm sick of these Melbourne teams poaching other team players. Time to give them taste of their own medicine. eg. Offer Gibbs or Griffen a big contract to leave.

But it's unlikely that any of the SA or WA clubs will have a very early PSD pick.

Without that leverage tool, you have to play ball fairly with respect to a trade.

irrespective of what scotty does, once again a lot of smoke fuelling the rumours of an unhappy lot down there.

Maybe. Or it is people wanting to maximise their earning potential. Which is perhaps fair enough.

i thought he signed a new deal not long before the end of the season??? anyway if scott welsh leaves the crows it will hurt there forward line of course but with walker comin in i dont think they will miss welsh that much, walker will pritty much replace him if he goes anyway,

also i am so happy perrie has finally gone, we should of got rid of him at the end of the 2006 season, he isnt the best player going around, he couldnt kick straight and missed easy shots on goal, just happy he has gone, Luke Jericho should get more games this season, he played well in the games he did get last season he needs more ame time

i thought he signed a new deal not long before the end of the season??? anyway if scott welsh leaves the crows it will hurt there forward line of course but with walker comin in i dont think they will miss welsh that much, walker will pritty much replace him if he goes anyway,

I hope Walker is as good as we are hoping, but lets get our heads out of the sand, seriously. He has been playing in a country league for gods sake. Lets see how he goes in the SANFL first before we start replacing guys like Welshy with Walker. Same as Tippett, lets see him dominate a few SANFL games before we start penciling him in as our CHF.

Lets all settle down a bit here. Walker might replace Welsh in the long run but as of right now, Welsh is a better player than Walker. Walker has a lot of development to do and judging by his character he will get there but in 2008 season, he wouldn't be any where near as good as Welsh.

Welsh is our best goal kicker. Most accurate shot for goal and a player who is more than capable of kicking his 50 goals in a season. A fit Welshy with a decent midfield will kick 50 next year. I just cannot see Walker coming in and kicking 50 goals as a 18 year old in his first year of AFL footy. Not even some of the greatest forward of all time didn't have that impact in their first season.

If Welshy leaves his loss WILL be felt in 2008 but in the long run, it gives us a chance to develop someone else to be as good as Welsh if not better in X number of years but not next year.

Heard a few rumors Welshy is being offered a more lucrative 2 year contract from a Melbourne based team. Adelaide are supposedly only offering a 1 year, performance based contract with the option of a 2nd year if he plays a certain amount of games. Where would this leave our thin forward line if he left?

Well done!! You're on the money!!

KG said earlier this arvo on 5AA that there were rumours sweeping Adelaide today that Welsh has quit the club.

He went on to say that Welsh hasn't quit the club yet as contract negotiations are still continuing, with the sticking point being that Welsh wants a 2 year contract and Adelaide are only offering one.

KG also confirmed that Welsh has been offered a 2 year contract by a melbourne club.

Looks like it'll be coming to a head one way or the other pretty soon.

KG said earlier this arvo on 5AA that there were rumours sweeping Adelaide today that Welsh has quit the club.

He went on to say that Welsh hasn't quit the club yet as contract negotiations are still continuing, with the sticking point being that Welsh wants a 2 year contract and Adelaide are only offering one.

KG also confirmed that Welsh has been offered a 2 year contract by a melbourne club.

Except KG probably read it on here. He knows nothing himself.

If he leaves, he leaves. A good player but I think has underperformed even not taking into account the injuries.

Except KG probably read it on here. He knows nothing himself.

If he leaves, he leaves. A good player but I think has underperformed even not taking into account the injuries.

Looks like channel 9 are reporting the same story- 'big name player set to leave crows'

Well, hopefully he stays, but then Hentschel may be forced back into the forward line, another potent goal kicker, should be able to boot 50 if they injury doesn't worry him.

Despite being massively inconsistent, I saw promise in a lot of Welshys game... He could have been a great goal kicker, getting 60 a year but something just stopped him from playing well consistently. Heres hoping he stays :thumbsu:

I find it strange that Welsh would be interested in going back to Melbourne when he cited wanting to come home as a reason why we got him here in the first place (I know there were extenuating circumstances) but still strange!

I get the feeling his management has leaked all this information just to get the best deal for Scotty. By making it all public it will put a lot more pressure on Adelaide to sign him for the two years he wants. For what its worth I would give him the two years. In a forward line that struggles to kick goals it would make sense to hang on to your number one goalkicker.

You should never bluff unless your prepared to carry the bluff thru ........I'll bet his bluff will be called.

As I said hardly think he wants to shift shop again at his age ........but if he does then life goes on and frankly I won't be disappointed.

May help Salters cause

I get the feeling his management has leaked all this information just to get the best deal for Scotty. By making it all public it will put a lot more pressure on Adelaide to sign him for the two years he wants. For what its worth I would give him the two years. In a forward line that struggles to kick goals it would make sense to hang on to your number one goalkicker.

Im both ways about it...

On one hand im keen to keep welsh, on the other, i think he needs to be on a performance based contract to keep him on the field, otherwise he starts missing for every random bruise he finds.

Just seems to me to be another player we stuck by through injury thats now decided to stuck the knife in the back. Remember Scotty there was a reason you only got a one year contract this year.

Well, hopefully he stays, but then Hentschel may be forced back into the forward line, another potent goal kicker, should be able to boot 50 if they injury doesn't worry him.
Despite being massively inconsistent, I saw promise in a lot of Welshys game... He could have been a great goal kicker, getting 60 a year but something just stopped him from playing well consistently. Heres hoping he stays :thumbsu:

nah would be absolutely amazed .......his key strength for a 194 cm player is his turning circle ......that ain't going to return this year until his confidence grows, if at all.

Backline this year but expect a lot of SANFL games before that happens

Nail. Hammer. Head. He is our next full forward.

Let Scotty go. Short term pain for the longer gain.

nah would be absolutely amazed .......his key strength for a 194 cm player is his turning circle ......that ain't going to return this year until his confidence grows, if at all.

Backline this year but expect a lot of SANFL games before that happens

I also agree that Trent will play limited games this year , I would expect between 12-15

Hopefully welshy doesn't go.

I thought he signed a contract a month ago?

Anyway he has no reason to leave...
Why would he leave us with nothing?

He is not that mean as far as i'm concerned!

-Ben

Im both ways about it...

On one hand im keen to keep welsh, on the other, i think he needs to be on a performance based contract to keep him on the field, otherwise he starts missing for every random bruise he finds.

I'm a bit the same here mate, I love Scott Welsh as a player, however for various reasons, main one being injury he has never really played up to his potential, could be a 60-70 goal a year forward given the right set up and an injury free year. However, he is injury prone and nearing the end of his career and if he did leave it would open the door for another player to come into the side.

Remember we did go through the same fuss at the end of last year and he signed, everything was played up by Rucci etc, so I think we may be reading into it a little more than need be, I've got a feeling he will stay.

There is no doubt in my mind that Welsh was the best and most talented forward running around the paddock for us last year. Not only was he our leading goal scorer, but he was also one of the most accurate - a commodity missing in many of the guys up forward at present. His biggest problem is his fitness, and that may be compromised if he has a lack of commitment to training and rehab. I'd also accuse trying too hard during some games, and not playing within himself.

But he probably heard what an easy start to pre-season training Melbourne have (through Meesen) and decided that's how he would like to train.:D

I have jumped in late here, but has the been any news report that an melbourne club has been mentioned? I heard it was coming up on Ch 9 last night but didnt see it. There were rumours that is was MELBOURNE. Did anyone see it?

Scott Welsh leaving