Season 2012

Any chance that fev will be lining up this week against myrtleford ?
There was some talk around a while back that he may ??

was at the wodonga bulldogs wodonga raiders game yesterday, just wondering if any one seen the dust up on the boundry line just before 3quarter time between the numbers (i think) 34dogs and 4raiders.

I was there, but didn't see it personally. That suggests me that it was off the play, I think Corey Lambert has hit the nail on the head in The Border Mail today.
You don't want clubs bringing good players into this competition and copping this sort of alleged treatment.
There are recent precedents with hoppa mccormick and craig ednie, who were constantly bashed from pillar to post by players with inferior ability.
What needs to happen here is the tribunal have to make a tough stand if the perpetrator is found guilty.
What will be interesting is whether Wodonga goes to the tribunal and whether they plead guilty or not guilty for their player.
If he has done the crime, he has to do some time....

I was there, but didn't see it personally. That suggests me that it was off the play, I think Corey Lambert has hit the nail on the head in The Border Mail today.
You don't want clubs bringing good players into this competition and copping this sort of alleged treatment.
There are recent precedents with hoppa mccormick and craig ednie, who were constantly bashed from pillar to post by players with inferior ability.
What needs to happen here is the tribunal have to make a tough stand if the perpetrator is found guilty.
What will be interesting is whether Wodonga goes to the tribunal and whether they plead guilty or not guilty for their player.

The reason why these type of incidents happen is because the umpires are not prepared to give free kicks to these higher profile players. It's as if they the umpires don't want to be seen as favoring these players.

I guess it could be a bit of umpire bashing in a way. I remember watching a grand final Wang v north albury and McCormick consistently hit and scragged behind play but umpires not doing anything about it. Ednie receives the same type of treatment but gives as good as he gets these days.....

Free kicks whilst it is happening hurts a club more than a player being reported and then going to the tribunal an getting off which seems to happen a fair bit these days.

The reason why these type of incidents happen is because the umpires are not prepared to give free kicks to these higher profile players. It's as if they the umpires don't want to be seen as favoring these players.

I guess it could be a bit of umpire bashing in a way. I remember watching a grand final Wang v north albury and McCormick consistently hit and scragged behind play but umpires not doing anything about it. Ednie receives the same type of treatment but gives as good as he gets these days.....

Free kicks whilst it is happening hurts a club more than a player being reported and then going to the tribunal an getting off which seems to happen a fair bit these days.

Fair dinkum mate you have no idea, what a stupid comment! Both McCormick and Ednie gave plenty out (quality players need to to deal with close attention), but supporters are pretty good at viewing them with rose coloured glasses, umpires view the game without prejudice.

That's in an ideal world.

I reckon I have a fair idea of what goes on out there after playing over ten years in the o & m.

I understand that better players get more attention. That happens. But when late and behind the play incidents happen that are outside the rules I don't think that is fair.

But if you think I have no idea then I guess that's your opinion!!!! We all are allowed that

interesting thing i noticed about the incident is that the 2 boundry umpiers were within 2-3 meters of the scrap and watching closely, but it wasn't untill about a minute after the scrap had finished did they decide to use there whistle to alert the field umpire of the scrap.

Am afraid Raiders' credibility in all of this has been shredded to pieces.....
Read this morning Sam Wortmann has taken the set penalty. Which he is entitled to do.
But, the player and by extension the club had the opportunity to take this to the tribunal which would have over-ridden the set penalty.
Corey Lambert was banging the drum hard about the severity of the knock on Stretton in both the paper and tv news again last night.
But, in the same breath his club is prepared to let it through to the keeper.
Is it because he is a traveller and would have had to come up for the tribunal and it all got too hard and the extent of the injuries was a fat lip.
Something doesn't add up here.....

Read this morning Sam Wortmann has taken the set penalty. Which he is entitled to do.
But, the player and by extension the club had the opportunity to take this to the tribunal which would have over-ridden the set penalty.
Corey Lambert was banging the drum hard about the severity of the knock on Stretton in both the paper and tv news again last night.
Is it because he is a traveller and would have had to come up for the tribunal and it all got too hard and the extent of the injuries was a fat lip.

not sure how raiders credibility is shredded. yes they didn't follow through but maybe they are thinking is it worth taking the report from the teenager who runs the boundary. wodonga would have tore the young bloke apart, and unless there is video evidence it becomes grey and heresay. hate to tell you it was more than a fat lip.

You gotta be kidding! King Hit Knocked out, Head slams into the ground. Doctors say "Severe Concussion" You have no credibilty if you say just a fat lip. It was a cowardly act and he deserves at least 6 weeks!!

See fevola kicked 12 in a 9 goal win over myrtleford. I'd love to know how the myrtleford players really feel about the fact their club paid him to be there. Surely they would've been some sort of chance had he not been there.

Heard that he donated his match payment to the Royal Women's Hospital.

Good on him!

That'll make the Myrtleford players much more accepting of the situation.

Heard that he donated his match payment to the Royal Women's Hospital.

Good on him!

That'll make the Myrtleford players much more accepting of the situation.

Good on him if he did. if he has done no such thing, it's a least a good rumour!
I would've thought it was more of a chance of being donated to Crown Casino.

See fevola kicked 12 in a 9 goal win over myrtleford. I'd love to know how the myrtleford players really feel about the fact their club paid him to be there. Surely they would've been some sort of chance had he not been there.

Went along yesterday to have a look at the game , and what a great day it was it had everything , great footy, great atmosphere , sensational weather , cold beers and a absolute gun win the game off his own boot.
Fev made it look easy , very easy indeed.
In my opinion no fev and myrtleford win simple.
God help the opposition when he gets serious at the moment there is no chasing no second efforts and no defensive pressure at all, but having said that he still demolished the opposition and imo is worth every cent they are paying him !
Congratulations to mytrleford on putting on a ripper day

Sorry to butt in guys, not from your area, just interested in following how fev goes. There was a reference to myrtle ford paying fev??? What is that all about? Money through the gate/bar sales? Is that fact or just a rumor?

Hey mayhem, the rumor is true, myrtleford paid a reported $5k for fev to play AGAINST them.. My understanding is that yarrawonga are only going to pay/play fev at home games, and the saints saw the financial advantage of him playing in the match at myrtle ford's home ground.

Haven't heard how big the crowd was, or how much money myrtleford made from the match, but I'd be surprised if they didn't make around $10k. But given they possibly could've won the match if fev hadn't of played, the arguement is whether it's more important to make a few bucks or win a game..?

With the financial trouble Myrt have it's probably better long term to get the finances stable first and foremost, as nice as the points would be it's probably better for the club in the long run.

I was at the game and Fev was definitely the difference. Yarra might still have won if he didn't play but it would have been bloody close, he was the only bloke who looked like kicking a goal whereas Myrtleford had potent targets in Taberner, Coombes, Kite & Pavitt.

Hey Cotch. Not sure what game you were watching.
Coombes and Pavitt were well held and Taberner as good as he was, had to go up the ground to get the footy opposed to Marcus McMillan.
The marks he took, and he took stacks, were too far from goal to be of real value.
But, I am not knocking the kid coz he can play. Just stating the facts.

Reported in Melbourne papers via Myrtleford president that 11K on the gate was made. Fev's 5K easily covered and obviously all the benefits post that.

Myrtleford at least know that massive planning into how to stop him is the key and now get time to change and put other plans in place:thumbsu: My opinion is a good result (except points) and good on them for taking a risk that may have paid of with some financial advantages.