Oct 20, 2004
Brisbane
Pompey
It's procrastination time (study to do, things due):

What went right:
Mitch Duncan became the player we all dared to hope for, the same goes for Bews. I feel as though we finish the year with better midfield depth than we started it, too.

Parfitt is a class act, and while none of Zuthrie, Simpson, Parsons and Buzza are bona-fide AFL standard yet, they were reasonably impressive for young, raw, late picks. Tom Stewart is a 150-game footballer (and a bit of a cult hero) in the making, and Tuohy was an absolute steal.

Zac Smith is now comfortably the number one ruckman at the club but needs to learn how to beat Jacobs.

Dangerwood.

What went wrong:
No depth - particularly up forward, where losing McCarthy, Gregson and Cockatoo really hurt us. Cam Guthrie and Blicavs both had ordinary seasons by their standards. Blitz in particular seems a bit lost without the third-man-up rule in his favour and enough tall players down back that he can't play a defensive role. He did pull out a few really good games as a tagger, but was inconsistent overall.

Lang and Horlin-Smith should have sealed spots, but didn't - Hyphen was, again, unlucky with timing and injury. Thurlow was inconsistent at the start of the year and never quite hit previous heights, but we can write that one off to the knee injury.

This is the bit where we've mentioned Motlop and Murdoch pretty much every year since 2014 inclusive. Murdoch looked pretty ok on a half-back flank but was terrible up forward. Motlop really pulled his finger out during finals.

We played some really visually unappealing football at times and the Richmond game was one of the worst that I've sat through for a long time. Sometimes a little bit more risk-taking would be welcome down at the Cattery. Who'd be a forward with some of that delivery?

Harry Taylor, CHF?:

Only as a pinch-hitter. I didn't mind throwing him forward occasionally to see if he could get on top of his opponent early, but there were so many games where he had zero impact at CHF. Dangerfield at FF and Hawkins pushing up the ground seemed to work better, for Harry and for Hawkins. With Lonergan and Mackie gone, expect to see Harry back in his usual spot, and the same for Kolodjashnij.

Trading:
Who knows what goes on day-to-day at the club, but Menzel not having his contract renewed yet is a puzzling decision and a worry. Now that Motlop has actually put together a good finals series, losing both he and Menzel in the prime of their careers would be a blow for the Cats - particularly in return for an injury-prone 34yo (even if it is Gary Ablett) and another player with known commitment issues in Stringer.

Obviously, the Cats really need class forward of the ball and some more midfield depth - but in the draft I'd also like to see a young tall defender and a ruckman, to balance out the age profile of the list.

On the Goneskies list are Cowan, Hayball, presumably any of the unsigned trio of Lang, Motlop and Menzel, while Murdoch, Stanley and Black should be nervous.

2018 is a big year for:
Cockatoo and Guthrie are the players who are due to take their football to the next level - Cocky to a level where he's consistently performing, and Guthrie to genuine A-grade like he has sporadically been.

Thurlow, Lang and Horlin-Smith (if the latter two stay) must make themselves first-22 fixtures next year for their own sakes.

Rating out of ten:
I thought we'd finish fifth, so it's a 7/10.

I also didn't think we'd be blooding Parsons, Zuthrie, Simpson, Parfitt, Buzza, Stewart at the same time. Scott was right in his presser when he talked about being a long way off the flag - chalk 2017 up to overachieving, for mine, though the QF loss was awful.

Start weeding out consistent final flops. Murdoch, stanley etc. Menzel has the agility of an aircraft carrier and it looks like he can barely run. Such a shame but i think its best to say goodbye, we never got to see how much of a superstar he could have been. Sign Motlop on a reduced contract with performance incentives. He had a pretty good finals series.

Play Buzza, Zuthrie and Parfitt every game next year. Find a decent goal kicking crumber and pray that linc and gregson come good.

Give Scott one more chance to make a gf or tell him to gagf.

2017 was a failure anyway you look at it. We did not improve on last year because we were beaten by more in the preliminary final than we were last season and we allowed ourselves to have a complete identical first quarter to last years match at a ground we have a positive win loss ratio at. This means we've gone backwards with what would be an even better list.

The only positives whatsoever are Parfitt, Stewart and to a lesser extent Parsons, Z Guthrie and perhaps Buzza depending on how harsh you would judge a 20yo key forward. We all knew what Duncan was capable of 2 years ago.

No depth - particularly up forward, where losing McCarthy, Gregson and Cockatoo really hurt us.
Flow on effect is that we are forced to shoehorn players into the team in those roles merely to have a "small forward" and it stunts their development.
How many games has Lang played as a midfielder? Not many as he's forced to play up forward. Parsons isn't a small forward either. At one point this season we had Guthrie up forward.

So we get 2, 3, 4 seasons down the track and these guys haven't begun to develop as AFL players in the role they're meant to.
If we use Lang as the example, scarcely played in his position, as needs must dictate him to play another role and how many good midfielders games has he played? Zak Jones taken just before him (flog), Zach Merrett and Matt Crouch after him. All played in position and there's already AA's or AA potential in that threesome.

Flow on effect is that we are forced to shoehorn players into the team in those roles merely to have a "small forward" and it stunts their development.
How many games has Lang played as a midfielder? Not many as he's forced to play up forward. Parsons isn't a small forward either. At one point this season we had Guthrie up forward.

So we get 2, 3, 4 seasons down the track and these guys haven't begun to develop as AFL players in the role they're meant to.
If we use Lang as the example, scarcely played in his position, as needs must dictate him to play another role and how many good midfielders games has he played? Zak Jones taken just before him (flog), Zach Merrett and Matt Crouch after him. All played in position and there's already AA's or AA potential in that threesome.
Yeah, that hurt us too - but I don't know that we had better options up forward to play. Duncan and Danger both started as half-forwards, that said, and did ok.

This is the season we have to discard those who fail to be consistent and solidify our new core.
Out: Murdoch, Cowan, Stanley, Menzel, GHS, Mackie (ret), Lonergan (ret), Black
Line-ball: Motlop-I think his last 2 finals give him another year as long as he doesn't expect big dollar. Lang-will be starved of opportunity and he wants mid-field minutes. Could have good trade value. If he stays he's best 25. Ruggles-a lot to like but prone to too many brain-fades and poor disposal. If he can improve a la News he's probably a keeper and at least a depth player. Not much market value, I wouldn't think.
In: Ablett, Stringer. I feel we can get these done. Ablett is NOT playing for GCS either way and GAJ is GFC or retirement. Must be done. I was negative a while back but saw an interesting article where it said he was over his shoulder injuries and his soft-tissues were a management issue, probably due to having to carry their mf as his B & F indicates. Would have a much easier life at GFC. I tend to think he'd be MF and Danger becomes the FF role GAS was. Stringer is 22 and an absolute jet! His problem is 2 kids young and a s**t attitude. Depends if the move to a country environment helps him. Often a kick up the ass like being dumped changes players. Look at Brian Lake. Would make a massive difference to our forward line! Also not too much to expect at least one of Gregson and McCarthy to come good. They were
The beauty of the big finals losses is it gives the club the focus to say we are simply not quite good enough and we can't wait for this group to make it. It has to be aggressively improved via a couple of marquee trades. Also we blooded and found so many good new and young players. An extra pre-season into Parfitt, Guthrie, Parsons, Buzza will see vast improvement. They enter this post/pre-season aware that they are now AFL players. Great motivation.
So the sky is not falling. Get the 2 stars. Throw out the list cloggers. We were found out and now we look to the future!
Go Cats!!

Good - Players
2 man team becoming a 3 man team with Duncan getting back to his pre broken arm form.
Stewart making the step up from VFL
Bews playing consistently, im still on the fence with him as a footballer
Bringing in Tuohy was a smart move,
Smith cementing his position as number 1 ruck
Gettting games into Parfitt and Parsons
Murdochs 2nd half of the season was better then his average
Scott Selwood, good player when not injured
Menegola is a good get

Good - Games
Sydney Semi was the highlight.
1st half against Bulldogs was the best half we played all year. was great to watch
Round 11 against Adelaide
Round 4 against Hawks
Last Quarter against the saints at etihad
Draw against gws, down and out with injuries and everyone wrote us off, unlucky to not have got the 4 points
Beating the Pies at the MCG, s**t game but broke the voodoo hoodoo
Round 10 against Power at home, they came with intent and we held them off

Bad - Players
Cowan, GHS. farewell guys, we hardly got to know you but you were on the list for many years
CGuthrie he gets his standard 20 possessions a game but you just think he should be doing more
Gregson, Linc. i can see these two going the way of mitch brown.
Hawkins 8th in the goalkicking and thats great and all but 34 of his 51 goals came from teams outside the 8.
Aaron Black
Cockatoo 3rd year in and he is still raw, i dont see the hype
Thurlow, gets a pass due to his knee last season but you would want him to have a good year next year
Stanley
Giving 2 games to O'Connor was one of the most bizzare selections in memory

Bad - Games
The Two losing finals, at no stage were we ahead on the scoreboard. a disaster
Pies and Bombers exposed us on the MCG,
1st Quarters again killed us in the losing games this year
Round 2 against norf winning by 1 point, was down all day and we win by a point in the last 90 seconds, same can be said about the power game, thank you dixon
Round 20 against swans
Round 3 and 5 The first 3 quarters against the saints and demons,

you look back at our results and you just wonder did we overachieve in finishing 2nd?. But to be honest ive thought this the last few years, 2015 being the exception of course

Good - Players
2 man team becoming a 3 man team with Duncan getting back to his pre broken arm form.
Menegola is a good get

Good - Games
1st half against Bulldogs was the best half we played all year. was great to watch
Round 4 against Hawks
Draw against gws, down and out with injuries and everyone wrote us off, unlucky to not have got the 4 points

Bad - Players
Cowan, GHS. farewell guys, we hardly got to know you but you were on the list for many years
CGuthrie he gets his standard 20 possessions a game but you just think he should be doing more
Hawkins 8th in the goalkicking and thats great and all but 34 of his 51 goals came from teams outside the 8.
Aaron Black
Thurlow, gets a pass due to his knee last season but you would want him to have a good year next year
Stanley

Bad - Games
Round 2 against norf winning by 1 point, was down all day and we win by a point in the last 90 seconds, same can be said about the power game, thank you dixon
Round 20 against swans

you look back at our results and you just wonder did we overachieve in finishing 2nd?. But to be honest ive thought this the last few years, 2015 being the exception of course

lost me at inaccuracy at point#1.

GO Catters

Absolutely they were. Don't forget that all the traded in players were in career best form too.
PFD was this year.
Hendo was this year.
2E was this year.
Smith consistency an issue but played the best games of his career.

Id say they did pretty well career wise.

Was it enough. Clearly not -

GO Catters

but yet alot on here were adament that we were right in calculations, one hand on the premiership they said

You negative posters are clueless , the one hand on the premiership comment was made last year and given the fact we came 3rd in an 18 team comp that comment was spot on .

You know that if we were certain to win the premiership than the appropriate term would be 2 hands on the premiership ?

This was a successful year or as successful as you can be without winning a premiership .

You're going to find blind optimists in every club supporter base.

We came 3rd in an 18 team comp mate , not the result we wanted but it was a good effort and we can win the premiership next year .

Premierships are just not easy to win , 18 sides are trying but only 1 can succeed and we did better than 14 or 15 other sides .

Another big failure this season just did the same as last year. Would rather finish lower and rebuild or be a genuine flag threat not North 2.0.

Positives
- Zuthrie looks like a good player.
- Parfitt also showed a lot.
- Duncan stepped up.

Other slight positives
- Simpson showed a bit but might be a bit too small
- Stewart was mostly good but jury is still out

Negatives

- 2 embarrassing finals
- lack of youth
- rubbish zone
- still too tall
- Chris Scott is still the coach
- we have so many list cloggers

with talks of Stringer and Ablett its probably more of the same next year, cant see us going higher we just dont have the quality ball users or decision makers

another embarrassing finals series next year unless the club takes a different direction during trade period

*Edit forgot Parfitt he has also been good this year.

Another big failure this season just did the same as last year. Would rather finish lower and rebuild or be a genuine flag threat not North 2.0.

Positives
- Zuthrie looks like a good player.
- Duncan stepped up.

Other slight positives
- Simpson showed a bit but might be a bit too small
- Stewart was mostly good but jury is still out

Negatives

- 2 embarrassing finals
- lack of youth
- rubbish zone
- still too tall
- Chris Scott is still the coach
- we have so many list cloggers

with talks of Stringer and Ablett its probably more of the same next year, cant see us going higher we just dont have the quality ball users or decision makers

another embarrassing finals series next year unless the club takes a different direction during trade period

9 debutants

Yup.. no youth LOL... :drunk:

and we retired 2 of the oldest players on the list...

no youth.
GO Catters

We came 3rd in an 18 team comp mate , not the result we wanted but it was a good effort and we can win the premiership next year .

Premierships are just not easy to win , 18 sides are trying but only 1 can succeed and we did better than 14 or 15 other sides .
Aren't you the poster who has said to pencil us in for two years running?

We would quite easily have the worst youth in the competition.
you said no youth.

Now its worst youth.

2 entirely different sooks.

But go ahead and move the posts to suit your argument.

And then you have Zuthrie looks like a player now followed up by worst youth in the comp.

Tripping over your desperation to find something to sook about is hilarious

GO Catters

Good - Players
Menegola is a good get

Good - Games
Round 4 against Hawks

Bad - Players
Aaron Black
Stanley

Bad - Games
Round 20 against swans

This. (Although I disagree with view on Nakia's potential which is huge imo. I also think our recruiting was very good, particularly Rookies. Think our fitness staff should also get credit - our ability to run out games meant that we pinched a few).

Overall assessment-
Despite two bad finals, 3rd is a good result given the injuries, lack of forwards and inexperience (even Mengelola has sub 40 games). Agree with Scott that we are not a genuine premiership team on skills in the current list.

Needed -
Pretty much what everyone has been saying- more A grade skills, quality small forwards.
Must make elite foot skills a mandatory skill for our ND picks.
Brutal assessment of coaching panel and approaches. Despite the list depth etc there must be accountability for poor starts to games and poor game styles/zones on big grounds).

Time for another Cook 2006 style review ?

you said no youth.

Now its worst youth.

And then you have Zuthrie looks like a player now followed up by worst youth in the comp.

GO Catters
Overall, I agree with cynical - our youth prospects are fairly slim. There's two players who have genuine potential in Cockatoo and Parfitt, but the rest did all start a long way back. Let's face it - we debuted O'Connor, Zuthrie, Parsons, Buzza and Simpson ahead of their time because we ran out of options.

you said no youth.

Now its worst youth.

GO Catters

most people would understand that no youth means there isnt much talent there, dont take everything so literally

the future looks bright when we have 2 good kids and a few others who are injury prone