Second Club Blues....

S.Robbo

Aug 27, 2000
Melb, Vic, Aus
The "One Season Wonder" topic, got me thinking about players who by either choice or trade, fell in a whole or faded into football oblivion, at their second clubs.

To get the ball rolling, a few players spring to mind like Benny Allan and Peter Mann originally from Hawthorn and North respectively, were never able to get it together after moving to Freo.

From a Bomber perspective we could all say Wanganeen's struggled since moving back to Port, whilst Merv Neagle wasn't overly remembered for his time up at Sydney, after starring for the Dons for years back in the early 80's.

Who can the rest of you's come up with?

Warwick Capper has to be the biggest example of failing at a second club ever. Maybe it just proved that it is was the SCG and the Swans midfielders that made Wozza what he was.

Mick Mcguane at Carlton? Thank you for reminding me of the worst thing that ever happended to the Carlton Football Club! Mick Mcguane in a Carlton jumper. What a sacrilege! I still have nightmares about it.
frown.gif

Chris Bond (although Freo was his 3rd Club), Ashley Prescott, Chris Naish.

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Originally posted by The Old Dark Navy's:
Warwick Capper has to be the biggest example of failing at a second club ever. Maybe it just proved that it is was the SCG and the Swans midfielders that made Wozza what he was.

That reminds me of a story that Wozza told excusing his failure at the Bears.

He said that the other players were jealous of his paypacket & deliberatly did not pass the ball to him!

ODN .... interesting you mention that moron Capper. After his star(?) appearances with the Bears, he joined the Southport Sharks in the QAFL to keep fit while he worked on his movie career. (joke!)

I can safely say that he failed while even at Southport. Probably because he was such a marked man. Saw him get decked in backplay against Windsor-Zillmere one day .... he was fine, just hurt pride .... and he simply walked off the field, went up to the coach, and said word for word "I don't wanna play no more". That had to go down as one of the funniest things I've seen at the footy. When the Eagles played against him next time, blokes were throwing hankies and tissues to him from the sideline, and making whimpering sounds ..... what a giggle!

------------------
Anyway, that's what I reckon ........

mud n blood

Just to bring Capper's and Plugger's performance at the SCG into perspective

They had a fiarly good midfield serving them. However poor old Minty-Connell had a much poorer team but still managed to kisk a big bag up there one year !

No Ben Allan
Was a star at the Dockers and would of continued to perform had he not been struck down with injury

Peter Man won a best a fairest .But Neesham put him at center half forward when he played center half back allot better.And so his form slumped.

Um
Stephen Oreily Springs to mind when he went to the Blues

Nice one Pess

Minton-Connell had an outstanding 92-94 for the Swans. He kicked two bags of 60+ and managed a 40+ as well and this was in a team that managed only 8 wins from 66 games in those years. Ron Barassi rated him as an easy '100 goal a season' FF and it is a shame that the rest of team just couldn't get it to him enough to be able to make a difference.

cheers

Grant Fowler
Tim Hargreaves
Michael Byrne (at the Swans)
Doc Wheildon
Brad Hardie (Woods)
Doc Clarke
Scott Russell
Allen Jakovich
Iliga Grigic *TWICE*
Terry Wallace (but he was pretty good at his third club)
Peter Bradbury

and im sure theres heaps and heaps more.

Big Ilija Grigic actually played really well for the Eagles in 97 I think. However with Michael Gardiner coming through the ranks, he was given the second preference ruckman and was eventually delisted.

Just a couple off the top of the head :-

Jeff Hogg
John McCarthy
Damian Monkhurst
Any ex Carlton player that went to StKilda around the late 80's
Brett Allison
Dermott Brereton

Agent 86,

I alwys thought the Jeff Hogg had first club blues as well!
biggrin.gif

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Second Club Blues....