Second club locked in for proposed China game, says Gillon McLachlan

You know nothing. I am meaning the financial risk to us with all we have already poured into China and the heavy lifting we have done. Plus all the anti Chinese crap we are getting from, in particular, surprise-surprise jealous Crows Ambassadors and callers in Adelaide trying to destroy the project with small minded mud raking. If you think, that by losing one home game you are doing any heavy lifting at all you are deluded. Your club Administration is incredibly savvy by getting on board. All clubs sell away games by the way. You are getting a financial payment plus massive media and sponsor exposure. Small minded people and clubs will remain small. Personally I have a soft spot for the Saints and would prefer they have the opportunity.
By the way Port supporters are planning to travel to Shanghai for this historic moment.

Port supporters couldn't even be bothered driving 5 mins down the road to Aami stadium yet they are willing to fork out thousands of dollars for this game?

Port should be the one compensating the Gold Coast not the AFL, but then again Gold coast with their sponsors Huawei, team colours and being a tourist destination would likely end up the biggest winners out of all this

"Port has done the heavy lifting and takes the risk"

"after Port doing the heavy lifting."

"the financial risk to us with all we have already poured into China and the heavy lifting we have done."

This is what is so fascinating about this. Port is deemed a "Have Not" club, apart from the $15m the SANFL pumped into them in their short history, they receive an equalisation dividend from the AFL every year despite having the same stadium deal at AO as Adelaide, the same or more members, and aren't made to pay to enter a reserves team in the SANFL like Adelaide have to. It's important to remember that Adelaide is deemed a "Have Club" and have to pay a equalisation tax which pretty well goes to Port. Work that out!

Now they're supposedly pumping a whole lot of money into China in a plan that their own supporters deem "a risk". Surely if they're a "Have Not" club the use of this money should be spent on the basics not a risky venture overseas.
Or, the AFL take away their equalisation dividend and they do as they please.
Seems a bit rich to have it both ways, the same goes for not giving up a home game for this "risky venture".
Heavy lifting my ar$e, you can't lift much with one hand while the other is being gifted handouts.

"the financial risk to us with all we have already poured into China and the heavy lifting we have done."

This is what is so fascinating about this. Port is deemed a "Have Not" club, apart from the $15m the SANFL pumped into them in their short history, they receive an equalisation dividend from the AFL every year despite having the same stadium deal at AO as Adelaide, the same or more members, and aren't made to pay to enter a reserves team in the SANFL like Adelaide have to. It's important to remember that Adelaide is deemed a "Have Club" and have to pay a equalisation tax which pretty well goes to Port. Work that out!

Now they're supposedly pumping a whole lot of money into China in a plan that their own supporters deem "a risk". Surely if they're a "Have Not" club the use of this money should be spent on the basics not a risky venture overseas.
Seems a bit rich to have it both ways, the same goes for not giving up a home game for this "risky venture".
Heavy lifting my ar$e, you can't lift much with one hand while the other is being gifted handouts.
So if what you're saying is right, what is your club going to do about it?
Nothing.

If nothing else this just shows the rest of the country just what South Australian football punters have had to put up with for decades. Port supporters beating their chest with one hand, expecting money in the other and not being able to back up an argument.

Nanananananana whatareyyougunnadoaboutit is a pretty good argument.

Lots of AFL cash.

A Port Supporter seriously didnt just say that did they? A club that still cant make a sustainable profit after bleeding money every season for years and years?

And surely you guys know that even if this China thing becomes lucrative, Collingwood and Essendon etc will take it from you? Or are you like North Melbourne who thought theyd get the bulk of the Friday night footy after developing it themselves first.

It was always going to be one of the AFL's project clubs going, because they don't have a choice.

But Port will be playing against a side which is:
  • From the Gold Coast, which is far more popular with China than Adelaide.
  • Playing in red, the luckiest and most popular colour in Chinese culture that is linked to good luck in a highly superstitious country.
  • The symbol of the Sun, the most potent force in Chinese culture.
Which team do you reckon this hypothetical casual Chinese footy supporter will follow Kochie? :p

you missed:
  • Garry Ablett looks more like Buddha than any port player does
No wonder every other teams supporters are so upset on Gold Coasts behalf, how are the Gold Coast supporters going to cope with all of those benefits?

Youre right, the AFL may seem them as the international rules team, they could play in London, NZ , Japan and China. No need to have fans or members, what is the good of that. As long as the AFL pay the bills everyone is happy, they better hope for the commision to remain in power, becasue without any fans could make it difficult to survive in Australia

Didn't read the previous page on this thread? "It [the money] comes out of whatever deal's done, we won't be paying a club to do it." McLachlan said on 3AW.

Hopefully the suns (or whichever other team) and their sponsors make a killing out of it, while Fages and Smart get creative and put a big 'go crows' poster up at Gepps Cross intersection or something.

OOHHHH you seriously dont think the GCS are paying for themselves at present, take a wild guess how much the AFL is pouring into the club at present and will continue to do so, AS I SAID AS LONG AS SOMEONE PAYS THE BILLS!

Didn't read the previous page on this thread? "It [the money] comes out of whatever deal's done, we won't be paying a club to do it." McLachlan said on 3AW.

Hopefully the suns (or whichever other team) and their sponsors make a killing out of it, while Fages and Smart get creative and put a big 'go crows' poster up at Gepps Cross intersection or something.
image.jpeg

Number 1 its General Giant not Jon Snow.

it's common sense. You are doing nothing other than getting another club to take the risk with crowds etc. You arent wasting your home game in a country that gives two fifths of **** all about us and our game
OMG the lack of intelligence and understanding in these posts blows me away. Enjoy your home games. Sit back and watch and you will be very disappointed that your club has missed out on this opportunity.

Port supporters couldn't even be bothered driving 5 mins down the road to Aami stadium yet they are willing to fork out thousands of dollars for this game?

Port should be the one compensating the Gold Coast not the AFL, but then again Gold coast with their sponsors Huawei, team colours and being a tourist destination would likely end up the biggest winners out of all this
You Camries ar shitting yourselves with frustration that Port has done this. Haha.

OMG the lack of intelligence and understanding in these posts blows me away. Enjoy your home games. Sit back and watch and you will be very disappointed that your club has missed out on this opportunity.

Been to china a few times have you? Good luck with converting them to such an unusual game as AFL, its a hard sell on the eastern seaboard never mind overseas!

Heavy lifting my ar$e, you can't lift much with one hand while the other is being gifted handouts.[/QUOTE
You are actually the one talking out of your ar$e. Heavy lifting with all we have put into China, for all clubs to eventually reap the benefits. Small minded people like you make me so proud that you don't support PAFC. Always harping back, not even able to see that this is so we can be a Have club in the future. We can't win can we? And that is the real point here: If we fail, you jeer, if we succeed you jeer. Pathetic but shows how fearful you are..which is....delicious.:rolleyes: An I'll bet your Fagan's sponsors are on the phone to him this very minute demanding to know what AFC has been so backwards. Port's phones are ringing hot, and it's all good, is the inside info.:)

A few facts amongst all the guesswork, commenting and squawking:
  • This project was started in 2013 in Hong Kong by volunteers who are life-long Port Adelaide Football Club supporters. This is how and when the heavy lifting started. Said volunteers regularly donated time and funds to go from step 1 to step 2 and so on....
  • The SA Government didn't get involved until there was a viable project to support within the overall strategy and that was PAFC's sponsorship of the China squad to IC14 in August 2014. Since then other projects such as the SAASTA Aboriginal Academy Tour to China late 2015 have been supported by such institutional benefactors as SA Tourism and UniSA and Club sponsors such as EnergyAustralia (owned by China Light & Power in HK).
  • The Adelaide Football Club could have done something similar, but didn't. For example one strident voice on this thread, that of marty36 to be precise, was heard last year telling all and sundry on the Crows board how he was going to China with an SA Govt. delegation, how important he was, etc. etc. Nothing was said by Marty on his return to Adelaide about how he had discovered during his observant trip to China that a massive underhand plot was being perpetrated by arch enemy Port Adelaide to actually make a commercial success of the international strategy that had been started by Club volunteers living and working in HK & China. How dare such a thing happen!
  • The CEO of Adelaide Football Club labelled the Port Adelaide China Strategy a 'Sideshow' during a round-table forum conducted by the media last year, turned to Port CEO Keith Thomas and said to his face: "This is not a knock on you, Keith." Motivation? Priceless.
  • Heavy lifting is great fun, when you get in first.

If you are so concerned about the Suns getting funding from the AFL in other areas of their business, then why sook about a plan that may in some small way help them get out of that situation? Wouldn't exposing their sponsors and team to a chinese market help them rely less on the AFL if this idea is successful? If it isn't successful, then no harm has been done in trying

I suppose if you consider a club is all about $$$$

You would be thinking the AFL started two teams in QLD to take advantage of the population up there and try and convert more to AFL and try and capture the Rugby market. But by shipping that home grown team off overseas and having less games in QLD, it sort of flys in the face of what they were trying to acheive, you would think.

How would you feel as a member if it came to a road block and the Power had to give up its home game to make it happen?

Just sitting back, watching Crows fans melt.

Most melty thread outside bay 13 - where this thread probably belongs now. Enjoy your stale franchise, which leads the way in nothing whatsoever. All your questions and concerns have been answered at some point in this thread and I am surprised that a couple of Port Adelaide supporters are still here, alleviating the need for you cretins to research anything.

Anyway, continue melting! :D

A few facts amongst all the guesswork, commenting and squawking:
  • This project was started in 2013 in Hong Kong by volunteers who are life-long Port Adelaide Football Club supporters. This is how and when the heavy lifting started. Said volunteers regularly donated time and funds to go from step 1 to step 2 and so on....
  • The SA Government didn't get involved until there was a viable project to support within the overall strategy and that was PAFC's sponsorship of the China squad to IC14 in August 2014. Since then other projects such as the SAASTA Aboriginal Academy Tour to China late 2015 have been supported by such institutional benefactors as SA Tourism and UniSA and Club sponsors such as EnergyAustralia (owned by China Light & Power in HK).
  • The Adelaide Football Club could have done something similar, but didn't. For example one strident voice on this thread, that of marty36 to be precise, was heard last year telling all and sundry on the Crows board how he was going to China with an SA Govt. delegation, how important he was, etc. etc. Nothing was said by Marty on his return to Adelaide about how he had discovered during his observant trip to China that a massive underhand plot was being perpetrated by arch enemy Port Adelaide to actually make a commercial success of the international strategy that had been started by Club volunteers living and working in HK & China. How dare such a thing happen!
  • The CEO of Adelaide Football Club labelled the Port Adelaide China Strategy a 'Sideshow' during a round-table forum conducted by the media last year, turned to Port CEO Keith Thomas and said to his face: "This is not a knock on you, Keith." Motivation? Priceless.
  • Heavy lifting is great fun, when you get in first.
You said It!!:):):)

Just sitting back, watching Crows fans melt.

Most melty thread outside bay 13 - where this thread probably belongs now. Enjoy your stale franchise, which leads the way in nothing whatsoever. All your questions and concerns have been answered at some point in this thread and I am surprised that a couple of Port Adelaide supporters are still here, alleviating the need for you cretins to research anything.

Anyway, continue melting! :D

OOH sorry we will just go on our way and attempt to win back some respect, isnt that the new buzz from the power! hahahahaha