Second Favourite Team?

• Thread starter Thread starter MWPP

Who is your favourite opposition AFL team/s? (upto 3)

Hi , do you have a second favourite team/s?
Adelaide has been up there for a few years now :)
I consider them the SA equivalent of the Eagles
And love seeing them do well (when they aren't playing us, of course), especially in light of recent events
#weflyasone
I lived in adelaide for a bit so i don't like either side but i prefer adelaide out of both sides.

Hawthorn sort of want them to win 4 but not against us. Would be a sigh to see on game day. Want to see how big footy and media react.

They have a lot of good blokes like hodge and Mitchell.

They are really a family club unlike Richmond. The supporters suck and so do they. Supporter are sucking Hardwick dick still
They took out freo and sydney in successive GFs so I was pleased with them, then they beat us and now I hate them lol.

Lucky pricks will probably 4peat over another interstate side, maybe the Crows.

I wouldn't use the term 'favourite', but I'm rather curious to see how the Bombers, Doggies and Cats play this season. Every season I make an effort to watch a few different teams, even to the point of going to a cheap Sunday arvo match at the G when the weather's nice

It does change year to year depending on team make up and whoever the media make you dislike. As said previously, was liking the dogs but not so much now.

I'll want certain teams to beat other teams.

Not minding Adelaide this year coz of Pyke, also dont mind Bombers coz of Woosh (COME AT ME)
Essendon are one of my favourite or rather, least disliked Victorian sides (I dislike almost all Victorian sides)
I didn't like them under Hird (even pre-ASADA), but liked/respected them under Sheedy, and can't help but wish them well under Woosha <3

Gold Coast
Brisbane
: in that order, the only clubs along with gws that I don't 'hate'

Gold Coast
Brisbane
: in that order, the only clubs along with gws that I don't 'hate'
I love Adelaide /like Brisbane
Don't like GC because:
-I'm a little jealous of their WA talent /the timing of their arrival (the year after our spoon)
-they sacked McKenna :(
But I don't hate them either
I don't hate any of the non-Vic sides

Back in the 90's it was the Tigers but it's not that I barrack for them, especially nowadays...more that I liked their colours/song/crowd.

The term "second favourite team" can be misleading - do you barrack for them or just not hate them as much as you hate the other teams? Even the term hate is a little misleading. I don't really hate much about footy. I strongly dislike some Freo players (turds - did anyone see Ballantyne attack Lecca in the derby? Didn't read much about it on this board) and North's cheating pieces of slime, and I love to see the Scott brothers under despise Hird for what he did, oh and don't enjoy much of the commentary. But I digress.

A lot of people tend to hate the Eagles...I wonder if it's an interminable hangover from being the first non-Vic side to win the flag, or perhaps a perception of arrogance with the party-boys mid-noughties.

I love Adelaide /like Brisbane
Don't like GC because:
-I'm a little jealous of their WA talent /the timing of their arrival (the year after our spoon)
-they sacked McKenna :(
But I don't hate them either
I don't hate any of the non-Vic sides

I think living in SEQ at the time when the suns first started up gave me more reason to like them, plus all the WA boys they had initially, Bluey, Gaz and one of my mates (Alik Magin) played for them.
Went to a few of their home games.

Was a bit pissed off when they sacked bluey though.

Don't support or mildly support any other teams, although there may be a team in a GF (obviously not involving us) that I wouldn't mind see win for some trivial reason (e.g. St Kilda, simply because they haven't won since 1966).
I don't favour any other teams in the regular season, unless I'm simply backing a team to win over a team I dislike or needs to lose (or they need to win themselves) for our sake (e.g. ladder position).

The term "second favourite team" can be misleading - do you barrack for them or just not hate them as much as you hate the other teams? Even the term hate is a little misleading. I don't really hate much about footy. I strongly dislike some Freo players (turds - did anyone see Ballantyne attack Lecca in the derby? Didn't read much about it on this board) and North's cheating pieces of slime, and I love to see the Scott brothers under despise Hird for what he did, oh and don't enjoy much of the commentary. But I digress.
Depends on the team . Sort of in between the two (for Adelaide), and perhaps simply not hating them much (for some other teams )
Ie I want Adelaide to win/do well when they aren't playing us
However I'd never buy a crows membership or merchandise , not get as emotionally involved

A lot of people tend to hate the Eagles...I wonder if it's an interminable hangover from being the first non-Vic side to win the flag, or perhaps a perception of arrogance with the party-boys mid-noughties.
Yeah, agree that we seemed to have been hated in the past
However , I don't get the impression we're hated anymore
I'm ok with being hated (as it usually means being successful on-field )- many people seem to hate teams for *tall poppy* reasons (I don't though )

Don't support or mildly support any other teams, although there may be a team in a GF (obviously not involving us) that I wouldn't mind see win for some trivial reason (e.g. St Kilda, simply because they haven't won since 1966).
I don't favour any other teams in the regular season, unless I'm simply backing a team to win over a team I dislike or needs to lose (or they need to win themselves) for our sake (e.g. ladder position).
I nominally favour a team in pretty much every game , but it's usually biased by what would be a good result for our sake . Adelaide may be the exception though . Carlton may be the other exception (for the opposite reason ie because I hate them )

In order from fave to least fave...

2. PORT ADELAIDE
Had a brief relationship with them during high school when I fell in love with the bow and goose step celebrations. Tredrea was a personal hero and I loved their attacking brand of footy with the likes of the Burgoyne brothers and Daniel Motlop at his mecurial best.

3. WESTERN BULLDOGS
An amazing club who helped one of my best friends through a very difficult period of his life. Much respect and I love how they are killing it this year.

4. HAWTHORN
An amazing club right now and I love watching them play. Stars all across the paddock.

5. BRISBANE
Again, fond memories of their star midfield supplying big Browny in the 2000s. A non-threatening entity right now which makes it very difficult to hate them. I hope they can get back to what they used to be. Plus they supplied us with Yeo and Redden!

6. GEELONG
Such a professional unit for so many years.

7. SYDNEY
Obvious one, could have been higher perhaps, a lot of mutual respect between the two clubs.

8. GOLD COAST
Prefer them to GWS as a new club and I like the type of footy that they play. Lynch is a superstar and is one of my favourite non-Eagles.

9. ADELAIDE
Their choke job handed us a premiership, hard to hate them on that alone.

10. MELBOURNE
Jack Watts.

11. ST. KILDA

Had a few negative experiences with their fans on this site but the club itself and the players I quite like. Riewoldt a champion.

12. GWS
Connections to a few of their players but they are only just really starting to grow on me.

13. RICHMOND
Bunch of overrated flogs but they have a good song and Deledio is a beast.

14. ESSENDON
Bunch of cheats but enough individual players I like like Davey Myers to cheer them on against the teams below them here.

15. CARLTON
These dingos stole our captain.

16. COLLINGWOOD
17. NORTH MELBOURNE
18. FREMANTLE

Do I even have to justify these last three shit-stains?

In order from fave to least fave...

2. PORT ADELAIDE
Had a brief relationship with them during high school when I fell in love with the bow and goose step celebrations. Tredrea was a personal hero and I loved their attacking brand of footy with the likes of the Burgoyne brothers and Daniel Motlop at his mecurial best.

3. WESTERN BULLDOGS
An amazing club who helped one of my best friends through a very difficult period of his life. Much respect and I love how they are killing it this year.

4. HAWTHORN
An amazing club right now and I love watching them play. Stars all across the paddock.

5. BRISBANE
Again, fond memories of their star midfield supplying big Browny in the 2000s. A non-threatening entity right now which makes it very difficult to hate them. I hope they can get back to what they used to be. Plus they supplied us with Yeo and Redden!

6. GEELONG
Such a professional unit for so many years.

7. SYDNEY
Obvious one, could have been higher perhaps, a lot of mutual respect between the two clubs.

8. GOLD COAST
Prefer them to GWS as a new club and I like the type of footy that they play. Lynch is a superstar and is one of my favourite non-Eagles.

9. ADELAIDE
Their choke job handed us a premiership, hard to hate them on that alone.

10. ST. KILDA

Had a few negative experiences with their fans on this site but the club itself and the players I quite like. Riewoldt a champion.

11. GWS
Connections to a few of their players but they are only just really starting to grow on me.

12. RICHMOND
Bunch of overrated flogs but they have a good song and Deledio is a beast.

13. ESSENDON
Bunch of cheats but enough individual players I like like Davey Myers to cheer them on against the teams below them here.

14. MELBOURNE
Jack Watts.

15. CARLTON

These dingos stole our captain.

16. COLLINGWOOD
17. NORTH MELBOURNE
18. FREMANTLE

Do I even have to justify these last three shit-stains?
Admire your effort!
I'll try and make my own list
Apart from 2. , 3. And 18. , it fluctuates quite a bit

2.CROWS
Our SA Cousin. 2005-6. Walshy, Woosha and now Pyke. Have lost players /been through some tough times but never whinge and instead just get along with it . Play exciting football. Aren't media/umpire /tribunal darlings either. Haven't won a premiership in a while . Aren't an arrogant Vic side . Not only do I have multiple reasons to like them, but more importantly , I can't think of a reason to dislike them
#weflyasone
_____________________ daylight

3. LIONS
Joined at the same time as us , yet are also a relic of Fitzroy due to the merger. Loved their early 2000s Lions team and especially Simon Black. Fond memories of some famous underdog wins against them at the gabba . In recent times , I've felt bad for them ("Go Home Five", on field issues ), yet I'll always be grateful for Yeo and Redden

_____________________ more daylight

4. CATS
Professional , successful , fair on the trading table , pleasant supporters . Not much to dislike besides Scott , but also have fewer reasons to like them than the above 2 sides. I'm a little jealous of their success, but really respect them

5. SWANS
Used to be even higher, but their advantages /the favouritism (and their record against us ) has made them slip a little . Will always respect them and fondly remember the 2005-5 era .

____________________ more daylight

6. BOMBERS
Used to be a little higher (Sheedy) , then slipped a little lower (ASADA, Hird) before this year (Woosha). I can't help respecting them for their off-field success and I want to see Woosha do well. Prefer their supporters to the other big 4 supporters too.

7.SAINTS
Saints- Irrelevant , but I like Nick . Feel sorry for their long-suffering fans too. Wanted them to win in 2009-10

8. GWS
I have no passion/interest in them , but I also have nothing against them. Maybe that will change as they become better . I'm dreading their rise

9. PORT
I'm a little bitter about Ebert/their trading attitude , as well as their record against us (plus liking Adelaide /viewing port as the SA Dockers also limits how much I can like them ), but admire their professionalism and like their coaching style . Felt their pain in re: to guernseys

10. PIES
I've never been one to hate teams just because everyone else does . They used to be even higher on my list (due to Malthouse ) but I dislike Eddie (who doesn't ), Buckley and their trading attitude .Their lack of protection from the media/tribunal , and their fans (I prefer them to many other fans ) means that they still aren't as low on my list . I also respect their off-field record

_______________ more daylight

11. SUNS
I don't like the way they got Ablett , the way they sacked Bluey, or their WA players (not to mention- getting them in the year when we otherwise would have had access to them because of the spoon). Also liking Brisbane limits how much I can like their rival. Exciting team though

12./13. TIGERS/BULLDOGS (can't separate them)
Their popularity annoys me , as do some of their players . I like the Tigers' song and the Dogs' playing style (last year anyway, not so much this year ), but the Tigers' arrogance as a club (especially regarding clash guernseys ) irks me
I can't hate them , and certainly don't dislike them as much as many other Eagles supporters seem to . Maybe I'll dislike more them if/when they win a premiership , but until that happens, they will always be a little irrelevant (i.e. not as low as some other teams ). They used to be even higher on my list , but I dislike Lyon's coaching style , some of their supporters , and Ballantyne. Part of me feels bad for Pavlich , and admires Fyfe.

15. NORTH
Dislike several of their players/their coach/their president , and their fans.

16. HAWKS
Disliked them before their three-peat, but now sick of their fans , favoritism from the umpires /tribunal/media and general arrogance . Can't help respecting them , but I'm also very sick of them . I felt pretty flat after the saints lost to them yesterday (first time I'd felt so flat after a "neutral" game ). And yes , hurting from 2015 :'(

17. DEMONS
Spineless tankers.

18. BLUES
The only team I hate . I disliked them even before Judd . I'll admit that my hate has softened in recent years due to their woeful on-field performances , time (since the salary cap cheating and Judd retiring) and being grateful for Kennedy

Essendon. Yeah come at me. Followed closely by Adelaide.
I don't mind Essendon (See my list above)
I don't like them as much as Adelaide and a few other clubs , but they are still my favorite (more like , least disliked ) Melbourne-based club.

I hate them all.

Once the Eagles are no longer in contention, I hope whichever team plays the most attractive footy to go all the way. That changes year-to-year. That never extends to actively supporting* that team though.

*2013 was an exemption ;)

Easy for me.

Fitzroy.

Still pissed that Ross Oakley and his band of Plonkers sold them out and that the AFL / VFL didn't help them more than they did....shame on them.

At the time The Roy Boys had the :

Best Jumper.
Best Team Song........ was lost in the Brisbane merger as the Bears butchered the wording big time .... The QLD pricks stole their jumpers and purged their song and the less said about the paddle pops the better.
Real team of battlers and triers ...against huge odds.... hard to win when City Hall is screwing you over.... and over ...........and over.

Great part of Melbourne and a Suburb with real character and substance.

It is and will continue to be a blight on the AFL landscape.

Oh and I just happened to admire their pluck and character....pity the League sold them out.