TheMcManusNose

Apr 21, 2014
Vancouver Canucks
Didn't mind Sheridan as depth this year TBH, wouldn't have minded keeping him but not too vexed about it. Sutcliffe was cooked, sometimes blokes just fall away.

Sep 22, 2011
Liverpool FC, Washington Wizards
Cam Sutcliffe is a weird one though. He used to love a dash off half back and had a decent composure - amazing to see he was kicking goals and getting 30 touches for East Fremantle in the WAFL before he got a debut - and it was coached out of him. He even played in a Grand Final as a what, teenager? 20 year old?

It’s the step up to the main league that’s the problem. Sheridan and Suttclife has great performances in WAFL, just couldn’t translate that consistently to AFL.

But to see Suttclife get as many games as he did, during our most successful period. Incredible for his durability and player he was. Pick 71 in the 2011 draft. Lachie Neale at 58. Bloody hell we managed to get maximum potential out of those two.
Now that’s all our draft picks from 2011 done. Hayden Crozier, Sheridan, Neale all left for greener pastures.

smokingjacket

Mar 30, 2014
Liverpool
Can't say I'm super sad, I never got Sheridan. I've always thought he was a really bad footballer to the point that I questioned what our draft team saw when his flaws as a footballer were so obvious. We might have been hoping for an Isaac Smith type but he never developed beyond the limited player he emerged as, which was disappointing seeing as there was the opportunity for him to grow into a key role in midfield if he took his football more seriously. After the clip I won't miss him with the compliment though, any mate who crossed paths with him all reported back that he's an absolute ripper bloke.

Farewell Tommy, sad to lose a larrikin from the team. For some reason when ever I think of the 2013 Qualifying Final, I always think of Tom Sheridan. Can't explain why, I know it's Hilly's goal I'm thinking of and Tommy doesn't even properly shepherd but I must have been so pumped for that goal that the TV shot of Tommy getting around Hilly as his raking left foot kick sails through mid-post height is now burned into my lizard brain. A happy memory to keep anyway.

Apr 5, 2009
Sherro was almost a good player. Just seemed to not quite reach the standard but showed glimpses. I liked Greys toughness - something that we have been a bit light on but don't think he was ever a favoured player. Sutcliffe was one of my favourite whipping boys. For that I will miss him like Suban and de Boer before him.

One_Wing

Jan 10, 2016
It’s the step up to the main league that’s the problem. Sheridan and Suttclife has great performances in WAFL, just couldn’t translate that consistently to AFL.

But to see Suttclife get as many games as he did, during our most successful period. Incredible for his durability and player he was. Pick 71 in the 2011 draft. Lachie Neale at 58. Bloody hell we managed to get maximum potential out of those two.
Now that’s all our draft picks from 2011 done. Hayden Crozier, Sheridan, Neale all left for greener pastures.

We got Brad Hill in from that draft year though

FUS_RO_DAH

Dec 17, 2012
Kalgoorlie
Sheriden... What could've been. He was actually developing really nicely early on.

2013 played a few games; sub for the qualifying and emergency for the Grand Final

2014 the T-Train got more games and towards the end of 2015 he was starting to cement himself. People remember him for that dropped mark but he was actually playing quite good footy off balf back.

2016 pre-season he was set to really explode. I think he was voted by his peers across the AFL as the most likely player to have a breakout year, fantasy podcasts had him locked in their backlines, he was training the house down, he had massive numbers in that round 1 smashing from WB... And then it all seemed to fall apart from there.

Funny how quickly things can change. Now Margot Robbie's wearing his sunnies though, so, eh.

Superkoops

May 7, 2009
Never an easy time for club's management or the players delisted. Classy response from each, especially Tommy. Seemed to be a popular team member.

I thought he would be handy depth for 2019 but to be fair he wouldnt have got anything more than a 1-year contract and likely to be in the same position at end of next season. Best to let him go and see if he can pick up a 2-year deal as a DFA with a fresh start. He just hasnt improved over the past 3 seasons - very vanilla. I like his attitude in that the change might be a positive outcome for him.

Freo are also very tight for list spaces. The moment we signed Trav Colyer was the end for Tommy.

Other than the likes of Gold Coast and Carlton who have recycled a bunch of spuds - most clubs are pretty tight for list spots. There will be some good Delisted FA's available (Sheridan, Mav Weller, Billy Hartung, Hugh Goddard, Brendon Goddard, Jacob Townsend, Tom Bugg are a few that come to mind - all relatively early early draft picks; Weller/Townsend/Bugg were Pre-draft concession picks).

Will be interesting to see who joins these three. We obviously shopped around Bennell, Apeness, Jones and Sheridan with no bites whatsoever. Expect Jones to join them (he ended the year in the Peel reserves) and Apeness to be moved to the Rookie list.

Interesting that it was Sutcliffe that sent the dangerous kick across to Sheridan in the 2015 Qualifying final before Sheridan dropped the mark and we know the rest of that story. Not sure that he has ever fully recovered from that. Not sure RTB or Sutcliffe have either.

heavho

Dec 22, 2005
perth
fremantle
Sutcliffe, Sheridan cut. It’s a ruthless industry but it was about time we took a few steps forward and not back in 2019. In Ross we trust ? Or is bell? :) this football club might be heading the right way with bell being apart of it. Hopefully some more tough choices are made and we can start creating the list we are after which is a quality one with depth.

Jul 15, 2007
Too far from my bed
Boston Celtics, Patriots
Sutcliffe was the perfect SUB during that period of AFL madness - he earned the title Subcliffe coming on - kicking goals and generally being v.good - sad he won't be playing AFL.

Yeah, right. Forgot about that. You can see how it suited him in a way. Sutty was a bit of jack of all trades master of none when it came to AFL footy.

Nolo180

Sep 17, 2014
Somewhere in time
Peels midfield is gonna stink next year! DP was a big loss on its own. Now brady, sherro & rory obrien last year. But atleast there stacked with talls right?

Jezzitizle

Aug 17, 2009
Would have preferred to keep Grey over Ballas, neither have an impact with the footy but Grey covers him now days for pressure imo.

Sheridan, bit surprised given our lack of midfield depth, thought he could play 10 games per year when injuries hit.

Ah well, hope all three land on their feet and have some success outside footy.

Docker82

Jun 21, 2013
Grey seems like a nice bloke and all that but anyone who thinks he offers more than Ballantyne even now has rocks on their head. Both would have been delisted end of next year anyway.

People seem to ignore that Grey plays equally as rubbish as Ballantyne did when the team sucked yet also ignore the fact Ballantyne kicked multiple goals on multiple occasions this year. Grey has never kicked more than two in his life. The games against Carlton and Collingwood late in the year showed me Ballantyne still offers a bit when when the team is going ok. He’s far from perfect but the way our fans have turned on perhaps the best small forward in the clubs history is disgusting.

SiempreFreo

Sep 29, 2015
Interesting that it was Sutcliffe that sent the dangerous kick across to Sheridan in the 2015 Qualifying final before Sheridan dropped the mark and we know the rest of that story. Not sure that he has ever fully recovered from that. Not sure RTB or Sutcliffe have either.
Reckon it was a similar story for Rhys Palmer after he broke Micky B's leg...

its free real estate

it's free real estate
Jul 30, 2018
I remember when Sheridan was drafted, the reaction on this board was puzzlement. Eked out an OK career, but not what we needed. Another from the early 2010s era of drafting where it seemed like we had zero strategy or eye for talent.

Sutcliffe was actually pretty good in his first few years, looked like a handy replacement for Duffield at one stage.

wayToGo_

Oct 24, 2015
Really great guys. Have been super impressed with Sheridan as a clubman this season and his post on Insta is a testament to the kind of guy he is. Really hope he smashes life with his Rixx business and carves out a nice state league career on the side.

All three aren't fast and all three have suspect kicks (Sutty was ok before but lost confidence)... not exactly surprising we delisted them. Clearly we want more speed and/or skills in our smalls.

Nolo180

Sep 17, 2014
Somewhere in time
In fairness there wasnt a lot of quality midfielders taken after Sherro in 2011 except for maybe Seb Ross? & Yeo. We got Lauchie at 58 and got Hambling & BHill eventually anyway. All the top end stuff got philfered by GWS and everyone else got the dreggs.
I put too much expectation on Sherro being a first rounder. Being a 2km time trial specialist doesnt mean your gonna be a star. Hopefully Logue bucks the trend. Im keeping the faith for now.
Unfortunately I will always remember Sherros dropped mark and Maynes missed point from 2015 Prelim. :( They shouldnt be burdened by a single act.

Im gonna miss Brady's toughness I reckon we could of kept an enforcer but they dont carry the same weight in todays softened game style.

Sutcliffes been a shadow for a while now. His form disappeared with the teams slide (or cliff drop). He was drafted as a mid the same as Sherro so did well when u think about it but probably explains why he lost condfidence is his game when the back 6 became unsettled and he got more responsibity. Always seemed to get a mismatch on the dangerous smalls & the bigger bodies too. Competed well but didnt seem to win too many battles convincingly so im happy for him to make way now theres better equiped backmen in the side.

All the best for the future to all three. They can hold there heads up.