Selection: Australia A in the British Isles

Beating up on a very ordinary attack doesn't tell us much. Surely we could've got a game against a div 1 side or against an England A team. We know these blokes are great flat track bullies, we need to know how they're going to go against an Ashes quality line-up. A praccie match between 2 Australian elevens would be more useful.

Probably the most unimpressive 181 scored by an Australian for quite a while.

It's hard to say what his instructions were.

Highly likely he was told that they've got a day to bat, they'd want some decent overs into Harris and Bird tomorrow, plenty of blokes below him, it's only a three day game, with shitty weather around.........

Beating up on a very ordinary attack doesn't tell us much. Surely we could've got a game against a div 1 side or against an England A team. We know these blokes are great flat track bullies, we need to know how they're going to go against an Ashes quality line-up. A praccie match between 2 Australian elevens would be more useful.

Australia proper has a few first class games to go.

This is only an A match.

Yeah and we'll need them. Still would've likes some better opposition but it looks like we're collapsing a bit anyway...

Bit of pressure on Wade and Khawaja here.

Apparently against a pedestrian attack, Smith's failed, Hughes hasn't converted a start, and Khawaja is struggling to score atm, he's made about 5 runs off his last 40 balls.

They'd want a score if it's as shit as everyone is making out to be............

Given the form of Warner and Cowan, I dunno how you can say any spot is safe.

I'm not saying their spots are safe. I'm saying there's plenty of people I would pick before Maddinson, who may well be very talented, but has proven nothing against quality attacks on non flat road pitches. The guy plays his FC cricket at the SCG and hasn't scored a 50 there. Put him in at Bankstown though....

I reckon he has turned the corner since christmas, 6 months is a long time for a purple patch.

He scored 76 against Victoria with McKay, Hastings, Herrick and Ahmed in a match no side scored over 280 and Victoria got skittled for 120 in the first innings and hit 150 against Hilfenhaus and Butterworth in Hobart.........

He's only 21, people are judging him way too harshly imo.

I reckon he has turned the corner since christmas, 6 months is a long time for a purple patch.

He scored 76 against Victoria with McKay, Hastings, Herrick and Ahmed in a match no side scored over 280 and Victoria got skittled for 120 in the first innings and hit 150 against Hilfenhaus and Butterworth in Hobart.........

He's only 21, people are judging him way too harshly imo.

Fair call.

If he continues this in South Africa and for the start of the shield season he's a chance to play test cricket in our home Ashes series.

Well Hobart was in road mode for the first couple of days of that match, hence Copeland and Krejza scoring tons (hell even david dawson made some runs).

The last 6 months has seen Maddinson bat with far more aggression than usual, this is reflected in even the Tassie example, which he scored at a strike rate of 66. It's seen in these two Aus A games, plus the scratch match where he went run-a-ball from memory.I n the Victoria match you mentioned, he may have top scored in that match with 76, but several batsmen lasted longer than 67 balls. There was another innings where he smashed 40 off 20 because NSW needed another 50 odd to win when he came in. This new found aggression also translated to OD cricket (against SA he slammed about 6 sixes. This was the game he took to the field with a toastie), and also even in the 2nd XI matches he played in.

It's frankly pretty unimpressive. It's not a sign of maturity or guts or anything, it's almost a sign of "welp. that's not working. i'll just go hard or go home", so it follows that I won't be particularly impressed when it works. It reeks of Callum Ferguson and Shaun Marsh really. It's nice Maddinson has that trick up his sleeve, but if he wants to open the batting, for both NSW and Australia, he might wanna experiment with making some tough runs, instead of just blasting 'em all over the place. Right now, as a NSW fan, I have utterly no faith in Maddinson standing up in a suitable fashion when needed. (he did it against tassie, but one innings doesn't make a batsman.) Which is a shame because he is pretty talented. Steve Smith impressed us NSW fans, and presumably the Australian selectors, by producing a series of mature, steady scores for NSW over the past 1-2 seasons. He actually went about 18 months without a ton, but he posted plenty of 50's in which he occuiped the crease for awhile and just impressed us with the way he is batting. Maddinson is impressing people by hitting lots of sixes.

160093.jpg

so Silk got bowled leaving, Smith was strangled down the legside, and Hughes edged a late cut

Boom. A lofted straight drive clatters into the construction site at the Ashley Down Road End of the County Ground in Bristol. Whoosh. An attempt to repeat the shot next ball draws a wild swing and a near outside edge. It is 45 minutes before lunch on day one of a first-class match.
http://www.espncricinfo.com/england/content/story/644159.html

Says it all about Maddinson really and the state of Australian Cricket. Too many Davey Warners.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/england/content/story/644159.html

Says it all about Maddinson really and the state of Australian Cricket. Too many Davey Warners.

Well you'd think after half a year his luck would run out?

There's obviously some method to the madness.

He's averaging over 90 this year.

Never thought I'd see the day when balls faced is valued over runs scored. rofl.

He just made 181 ffs, if it was anyone else there'd be some major fapping.

Well you'd think after half a year his luck would run out?

There's obviously some method to the madness.

He's averaging over 90 this year.

Never thought I'd see the day when balls faced is valued over runs scored. rofl.

He just made 181 ffs, if it was anyone else there'd be some major fapping.
Ah the generation of today.. so what are you doing inbetween AFL and BBL?

Mate, I love test cricket, and I'm probably alot older than you.

But how you can dismiss a 21 year old, who has a first class average now the same as Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith and more than Ed Cowan because he's "too attacking" is baffling.

Yeah, he's not your traditional Rahul Dravid model of technique, but either was Viv Richards, Virender Sehwag and Adam Gilchrist....... they'd struggle to make your team I reckon.

People seem to be tarring Maddinson with the brush of disappointment because of how Warner is currently performing, which is pretty unfair.

A batsmen is judged on runs, and atm, Maddinson is making a shitload more of them than Khawaja and Cowan combined.

Mate, I love test cricket, and I'm probably alot older than you.

But how you can dismiss a 21 year old, who has a first class average now the same as Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith and more than Ed Cowan because he's "too attacking" is baffling.

Yeah, he's not your traditional Rahul Dravid model of technique, but either was Viv Richards, Virender Sehwag and Adam Gilchrist....... they'd struggle to make your team I reckon.

People seem to be tarring Maddinson with the brush of disappointment because of how Warner is currently performing, which is pretty unfair.

A batsmen is judged on runs, and atm, Maddinson is making a shitload more of them than Khawaja and Cowan combined.
There is a distinct difference between Gilchrist, Sehwag and Richards who knew which balls to leave and which ones to attack and the cricketers like Maddinson of today. As the article states.. he goes after one, connects.. next ball he goes and misses. He has no control, they all did. You just don't seem to understand anything written in that article, nor have you ever seen Maddinson play.

Strong this ^^^ How many times have we ended up 3/50 and 4/80? Would you be okay with Maddinson coming in at that score? We need solid, steady batsman. For all the concerns about the technique of S. Smith, he's at least proving he has the gullet for the contest

And why wouldn't you? When Channel 9 get to pick the team and David Warner is knob of the highest order, of course you'd be trying to take his place!
do it in the BBL/IPL/whatever... trying to slog every attack doesnt work except for him on flat tracks. He's already been found out before on anything that moves an inch.

Strong this ^^^ How many times have we ended up 3/50 and 4/80? Would you be okay with Maddinson coming in at that score? We need solid, steady batsman. For all the concerns about the technique of S. Smith, he's at least proving he has the gullet for the contest

I don't understand why Maddinson is playing like this. He's an opener ffs. I'm inclined to agree with Phone. There isn't much discipline involved in swinging at everything.

Trouble is, Clarkey himself will play like that and get away with it. That's how he got his big ton last tour of SA. Just swung at everything and got away with a trillion plays and misses. That's also what Haddin does.

I'm going away now, I'm depressing myself.

There is a distinct difference between Gilchrist, Sehwag and Richards who knew which balls to leave and which ones to attack and the cricketers like Maddinson of today. As the article states.. he goes after one, connects.. next ball he goes and misses. He has no control, they all did. You just don't seem to understand anything written in that article, nor have you ever seen Maddinson play.

You're such a flog.

he goes after one, connects.. next ball he goes and misses. He has no control, they all did.

Have you seen Sehwag play? I'm not sure you have, he had absolutely no control at times.

Maddinson has downfalls, of course he does, he's a 21 year old cricketer.

Khawaja and Cowan have downfalls as well atm, they can't score any runs...........and have struggled too at any level for about 2 years.

Do I think he should be in the Ashes squad? No. But he is a chance at the home series if he keeps this form up. The fact you're so dismissive shows you have NFI to be honest.