Selection Changes

• Thread starter Thread starter lunacy

Not sure why people keep wanting Symes out. At least he is tough at the footy. Wish we had more blokes like him.
Clearly, with Symes out of the team, our lack of hard ball gets and intensity issues will be fixed.
BTW Did i hear right, patful has a broken jaw. Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't that occur when walker threw out an elbow and hit a Brissie player high?:eek:
You'd think it will be looked at and thrown out.

Oh wait! I mean that's 10 weeks thesedays. 20 weeks if you're Shaun Burgoyne. Which walker isn't, but he lives in the same city. So 15 weeks.
For mine

Out: Douglas (not an AFL player), Doughty (would rather see a younger player get game time), knights (see Douglas), Stevens (is obviously struggling - Bradshaw had a field day)

In: Jacky, Cook, Sellar/McKernan (as a key defender), Maric.
You're... a maniac. I think alternatively, we could just agree to give carlton a 20 goal win and have a week's rest.

OUT:

Goody; Has Been
McLeod; Has Been
Edwards: Has Been
Doughty; Too Much Back Passing
Moran; Never Was, Never Will Be

IN:

McKernan; Young Big and Tough.
Maric; Tough. Will fly the flag for the team.
Bock; He is AA after all.
Griffin; (?) We should play two rucks, anyway. All the other teams
do!
Armstrong; I heard he will be our next McLeod. Beside, we need to
blood our young ones. Regardless of how they are going in
the SANFL.
You're also a maniac. Edward and Goody were our best playrs (+Mackay) this week. Also, you're dropping the entire midfield for KPP players. Which I agree, would be interesting to see. For the first 10 minutes, before Judd kicks his 5th for the quarter.

OUT:

Goody; Has Been
McLeod; Has Been
Edwards: Has Been
Doughty; Too Much Back Passing
Moran; Never Was, Never Will Be

IN:

McKernan; Young Big and Tough.
Maric; Tough. Will fly the flag for the team.
Bock; He is AA after all.
Griffin; (?) We should play two rucks, anyway. All the other teams
do!
Armstrong; I heard he will be our next McLeod. Beside, we need to
blood our young ones. Regardless of how they are going in
the SANFL.

Finally, if we are allowed to drop some players due to bad form, why are we not allowed to drop the coach for bad form?
So, NC should be dropped to the SANFL until he shows enough form to return to the AFL.

All those in favour say 'AYE'

You want to drop Mcleod for the game where he breaks the club record for games played surely u are takin the piss?

Also why are people callin for Maric to come in ahead of Griffen didnt he get beaten by Griffen in the ruck in the SANFL on the weekend although i want them both to come in this week

One ill informed or naive person asks for it, a few others who don't know any better repeat it because it sounds like a novel and daring idea, and pretty soon it becomes an oft repeated but completely baseless fact/demand.

Examples include
- "Drop all the seniors and blood the kids for the rest of the year"
- "We need a year right down, you can't win a flag without a couple of top 3 draft picks"
- "Stevens is a terrible player"
- "Nathan van Berlo is already locked in as the next AFC Captain"
- "Rutten is big, strong and can take a mark, we should play him at Full Forward"
- "The game has gone past Rutten and he wants out, we should trade him for a first round draft pick"
- "Sellar needs to be played, so that he can prove himself"
- "Top 10 draft picks are guaranteed stars, therefore are always going to be better than an established player we want dropped for them"
- "Gameplan A is the reason we're losing, we should just be <favourite tactic from 1985> and we'd win easily"

Great Post:thumbsu:

How can we win this week?

- Limit Fevola (Rutten almost certainly would be smashed...hope I'm wrong cos the club will give him first shot).

- Add some hardness to the midfield (time for Symes to play a massive role this week. His best long-term chance as a first choice player is in the Kirk, KCornes, Ling roles i believe)

- Be more attacking with our set-up by trying to attack with precision through the middle rather than setting up our best kicks at half-back. This is aided by Mackay's return to form.

- Let the sadly out-of-form VB recapture the simplicity of his game in defence.

- Stop putting a midget fleet up forward and expecting Walker to ruck at any stage. Get the balance right by selecting an additional tall for the forward line. Do this with Tippett permanent forward and the resting ruck to add height if advantageous.

I've selected a taller side with the knowledge that Stevens, Otten and Moran have flexibility, with the first two in particular having the ability to play as a running player.

B: Johncock, Bock, Rutten
HB: van Berlo, Stevens, Otten
C: Mackay, Vince, Reilly
HF: Knights, Tippett, Goodwin
F: Porplyzia, Walker, Dangerfield
1R: Moran, Symes, Thompson
Int: Griffin, Edwards, McLeod, Douglas*

Douglas retained over Doughty merely because he may improve with age whereas Doughty is merely playing out his contract till retirement. VB to take Doughty's role in the 22 (should be a good fit atm:rolleyes:)

IN: Griffin, Bock
OUT: Doughty, Petrenko

Don't know why you think this is so. Rutten did a job on JB, do you think Fev a better player?

I think he is a different player. One who is very quick on a lead and has beaten Rutten many times before.

Horses for courses. Problem is there aren't many draught horses around these days. Even that old nag down the road gave Rutten a touch-up when the ball wasn't lobbed on his head.

How can we win this week?

- Limit Fevola (Rutten almost certainly would be smashed...hope I'm wrong cos the club will give him first shot).

Arnt you forgetting about Bock all reports are he should play this weekend althogh id back Rutten 2 do a good job

If we were ever going to win a game it must be this 1 it would be disgracefull if the boys do not get up for Mcleod he has been an absolute star of the club and AFL IMO will go down as the greatest indegnous player to ever play shame he was robbed of a brownlow thow

In: Maric
Out: Moran

Maric was playing the Tippett role in a losing team, I heard he was v good on the weekend. This can only be a good thing because he weakness is clearly getting to the ball around the ground. In the forward 50 he becomes a different players. In any case, I just think he is the best ruckman at the club as it stands.

Moran just needs time imo.

Cook: Great player but he's been down for a couple weeks. I think playing in Souths can only be a good thing for him. Of course if the opportunity unfortunately presents itself through a couple injuries, Cook should be on of the first off the bat., but I think he just needs a bit more football into him after missing out on a lot of the previous season. I would love to see him come in for Petrenko, but I think Shirley would stand more of a chance. Jacky is still off the pace a bit.

You want to drop Mcleod for the game where he breaks the club record for games played surely u are takin the piss?

Also why are people callin for Maric to come in ahead of Griffen didnt he get beaten by Griffen in the ruck in the SANFL on the weekend although i want them both to come in this week

Me?? Takin the piss?? NEVER!!!!!

You have to remember that the old guys will not be in the team for much longer. We have to give the young blokes tog in an AFL match. How else are they to become stars? They will never learn anything in the SANFL. :rolleyes:

Read my last paragraph, if you want to know whether I was takin the piss!;):p

OUT: Moran
IN: Maric

At least Maric has a bit of grunt and can kick a goal. Patrenko is skating on thin ice aswell...

Out: Moran, Petrenko

In: Griffin Jacky

As I have said for weeks now, Jacky to small forwrd abd Porplyzia into the midfield to boost it up

Still feel Maric is not in the "zone" so he should stay in the SANFL until he gets those competitive juices flowing again

Sellars name is being thrown up due to necessity.

Look he's been on par for form with guys like McKernan except he has a bigger body.

With Bock out and Stevens in need of form we lack legitimate KPD options.

He's just the next logical KPD option.

that's kinda the way I see it

Out: Moran, Petrenko

In: Griffin Jacky

As I have said for weeks now, Jacky to small forwrd abd Porplyzia into the midfield to boost it up

Still feel Maric is not in the "zone" so he should stay in the SANFL until he gets those competitive juices flowing again

Seems about right.

Me?? Takin the piss?? NEVER!!!!!

You have to remember that the old guys will not be in the team for much longer. We have to give the young blokes tog in an AFL match. How else are they to become stars? They will never learn anything in the SANFL. :rolleyes:

Read my last paragraph, if you want to know whether I was takin the piss!;):p

Mate, if you were not taking the piss then somethings seriously wrong in that brain of yours, let me explain.
Mcleod-breaks club record this week, champion of the club, I don't see how we could drop him on the eve of such a big week in the club's history, even if his form hasn't been super. He has earned enough points over his career to be able to be given the chance to shake off his form issues.

Goodwin and Edwards- both in top 5 players for us from last weeks game, don't know why NC would drop 2 of his most experienced players when they have hit some form.

So seriously mate, if you want to chuck an SANFL like side out there, which is what your implying with your changes, then we may as well forfeit our premiership points to Carlton without a ball being bounced. Just think about making accusations like that before you post them mate, ludicrous comments such as that should result in a ban from this thread! I hope everyone else on this thread agrees.

What I would like to happen, but doubt will:

In: Bock, Maric/Griffin, Shirley (for Judd)
Out: Patrenko, van Berlo, Doughty (all need to fine form in SANFL - Patrenko needs a good run, the other to rediscover how to use the ball)
On Notice: Johncock, Reilly, Douglas, McLeod

B: McLeod, Rutten, Otten
HB: Douglas, Bock, Goodwin
C: Reilly, Vince, Mackay
HF: Porplyzia, Stevens, Edwards
F: Johncock, Tippett, Walker
R: Maric, Thompson, Shirley
I: Moran, Knights, Dangerfield, Symes

I want Bock v Fevola:thumbsu:

Last year it was Fevola vs Truck
and I wondered why then I realised Fevola didn't seem to leave his attacking 50 - even once when he kicked the ball straight into Truck's hands and Truck ran off with it, instead of chasing him, Fevola just stayed back and abused the umpire.

We have to get to the point where someone else can do this job.

We wont have Rob much longer and someone needs to be able to play some sort of half negating role, while hurting him the other way.

Shirley won't play because he will be suspended tomorrow night after his spear tackle that sent the West Adelaide player to hospital.

Take Van Berlo out of the mindset of having to be one of the core midfield group and use him as the tagger, its what he was doing when he first arrived and it made him a pretty good player, back to basics