Food, Drink & Dining Out Self-dates

Footy, yeah I used to go by myself sometimes- back in the day where it was just me and mum going to games and she sometimes didnt go. Now tho, meeting so many people thru here, dont have that issue anymore.

Still go to movies on my own, and prefer shopping alone. A meal or coffee alone is okay too, but need something to read.

I pity the poor sod who has the seat behind you.

Actually.... the people who are sitting in the seats about 5 rows behind you. :p
Sitting down is fine, although for a couple of games I have been in the standing room which is more likely to cause some problems!
In fact I remember at Hawks vs Saints in 10' (the draw) where I was standing room with a mate, I remember a guy behind me trying to whisper to his mate "the guy is front shouldn't be allowed in standing room".
All other games I have been standing room (including the grand final) I have been at the back which was OK as I could still see :thumbsu:

I love self-dates. Probably stems from being an only child and having to make my own entertainment growing up. I'm stuffed if I'm going to miss out on doing something just because I can't find anyone else to tag along. Seems to be very much a bloke thing - my wife would never do dinner or a movie on her own as she thinks it looks sad and I've heard many women say the same.

I reckon it is more common for blokes but I go to stuff on my own. Sport, movies, coffee, walks and definitely shopping - never shop with anyone else it drives me to distraction. I've travelled a fair bit on my own in the past where I had to do stuff by myself so I got used to it and found I really liked it. My friends are just too hard to organise sometimes and, like you, I'm not going to miss out just because I can't find someone to tag along.

Cinema Paradiso in Northbridge has usually got a couple of good films on. Go alone from time to time. Usually more people in there by themselves than anything else, actually.

Head down to the WACA after uni sometimes and watch a few sessions of the Sheffield Shield, too. Love doing it.

^ Sheffield Shield, a good book or mag and a nice warm day - nothing better. Shame WA cant bat long enough to warrant a decent stay.

Very much enjoy doing it, tend to do it more when I'm travelling though. You get special attention at restaurants when doing so and the staff are always friendly. Have no issues at all going to the movies alone, don't really do it all that often as I'm not a fan of movies in general.

Clubbing alone is awesome when not in your home city. Never failed to have a good night alone, always end up meeting people (people will approach you) and I've found it's alot easier to hookup with girls. My favorite though is mountain hiking, nothing beats being alone in the Welsh countryside or the Scottish Highlands.

The OP belongs in the "underrated things" thread. :thumbsu:

Movies is a big one where it shouldn't matter, who talks during a film? Sporting events can be similar in that respect.

I draw the line about going to pubs and gigs on my own. Find it hard trying to be comfortable trying to drink by myself. There is only so many times you can check your phone. Hate trying to make small talk too, especially with people who don't bother to reciprocate. At least at sporting events and movies etc everyone is occupied.

I find this much harder, the downtime at a gig with not much else to be doing can be kind of awkward.

Movies is a big one where it shouldn't matter, who talks during a film? Sporting events can be similar in that respect.

It's not about talking during the film, but being seen alone during the film. Other people in the cinema are not watching the film, they are watching you and judging you.

notsureifsrs
I know, but slip in late and sit at the back if you're that self-conscious about it. Once you come to terms with it, it's a rather ridiculous notion that you need to go with someone else.

If people are paying to come and watch me watch a movie, they're the ones that should feel stupid.

I do a fair bit of stuff by myself especially when traveling. I stopped going to restaurants alone though as it feels really awkward. You often get put at a table thats right in the middle and people just stare.

Took myself to the movies on Saturday and out for lunch beforehand, might do it again this weekend.

Shopping I frequently do on my own.

I do a fair bit of stuff by myself especially when traveling. I stopped going to restaurants alone though as it feels really awkward. You often get put at a table thats right in the middle and people just stare.

Do they? Or is that just how you perceive it?

Strangers don't give a flying **** about you.

I go to football regularly by myself. Eaten by myself every now and then. The odd gig.

Never been to the movies though.

Movies is the obvious one for anyone self conscious of being seen hanging with no mates. Buy ticket on line. Walk in. Pick up ticket. Walk into dark room where everyone else is distracted by the film. Leave first at end of film so once people spot the loser with no mates they can only see your back and can't ID you.

Well they may not care but they were looking.

You're imagining things. When's the last time you took special notice of a single person in a restaurant?

If it even registered that you were alone they probably just assumed you were travelling on business or something. It's not like you have two heads.

One thing I am seriously over tho- is going on holiday alone. Went to the Gold Coast a few weeks ago, had a pretty shit time. :(

The OP belongs in the "underrated things" thread. :thumbsu:

I take it you don't go to the movies very often... :rolleyes::p

Dunno about footy or the moves but a round of golf by yourself sounds top notch.
I quite often go to my golf club and play 4-9 holes by myself once a week in the evening. It's the one time I find golf relaxing, probably because if I hit a bad shot I just drop another ball and swing again.

Usually go to the footy with my Dad and, while it's a great bonding experience for us both, on two occasions where i've gone by myself, it has been awesome (both times resulting in 10 goal wins over Richmond :thumbsu: ) Moving to Melbourne at the end of this month and looking forward to going to a couple of NAB Cup matches and just enjoying the fact that the footy is back and being able to bask in it all by myself. But i'm also looking forward to having a few beers with my old man in the season opener against Essendon.

Don't like going to the footy with my GF, she asks way too many non-relevant questions about the game. Been to the movies once when I was on work experience, but that was it. Didn't have a problem with it and would happily watch one all alone if I had to. Eating out at night, however, probably a little too lonesome for my liking. Breakfast or lunch by myself in a cafe is fine though.