SEN caller

• Thread starter Thread starter GoNorth

Thumbs up to the caller (Andrew?) who called SEN earlier and had a go at David King for wanting North to go to the GC and for continually referring to North as the Kangaroos. Thumbs down to David King and his off-sider who then proceeded to ridicule what the caller had to say for the rest of the program. :mad:

This morning wasn't one of Andrew's better efforts. I haven't heard him on SEN for ages. He was an absolute gun in the day ringing in and arguing the logic of destroying our club while sending it to the GC - a point I see from this thread is still lost on some people, including Kingy. He was more than a match for knob ends like Fatprick and the Cow. I remember he used to leave Fat fuming and shouting over the top of him. Very uplifting at the time for some of us.

He was much admired on here and we used to wonder which one of us he was. Wasn't me! The consensus was it wasn't any of us.

Anyway, I'll assume Andrew was a bit rusty today and hopefully he'll be back sticking up for the Club like he did in the bad old days (that turned out by a whisker to be the good old days).

...think I missed that one...I was in the car park walking out, hands in pocket, thinking that this era is over, but we should be back winning flags around, lets say 2005-6ish....

Frank-Underwood-eye-rolling-gif.gif
Yay i'm not only the person to watch this show.

OMG..watched Season 1 in four days before Season 2 started this year.

Nekminit watched Season 2 in 3 days.
Strangely addictive. Love it.

For me the most boring discussion we have on big footy is what ex players say about our club.

I couldn't give a stuff about what any of them say.
Agree and disagree....couldn't give a rats about the opinion of those paid to have an opinion. Vast majority bleed blue and white, always glad to hear Arch for example speak of the Roos.

How was the Subway scene at the start of S02...didn't see that coming.
His long-term manipulation of the President and Trusk was masterful. Bits and piece's.

How was the Subway scene at the start of S02...didn't see that coming.

It was a bit like the storyline in the English series (''To play the King'' or something) where (spoiler alert!!!!!) the Francis character launches the female reporter off the top of Parliament House during a smoko.

I was sad to see Zoe go. She was an interesting character in many respects.

It was a bit like the storyline in the English series (''To play the King'' or something) where (spoiler alert!!!!!) the Francis character launches the female reporter off the top of Parliament House during a smoko.

Gives a very interesting view into the Francis character, pure Machiavellian, borderline sociopath. Love it.

6) Played nearly 250 games for the club, won two flags and was a dual All-Australian.
Not bad for a bloke who didn't even play first 18 at school and came to the club the long route via the vfl. In a lot of ways was ground breaking for a lot of other players (eg gibbo) that made it via vfl. Worked his ass off to get where he is and is entitled to his opinion. Let's remember, afl players aren't compensated like soccer players. They need to continue to earn a living, and to do that maintain credibility by appearing professional and considered in their opinions rather than wearing their hearts on their sleeve. Privately, I'm sure king bleeds blue and white

Does anyone find it strange that most of our ex players have little to nothing to do with the club anymore? Even those in the media don't seem to show a strong connection to it. Kinda sad. :(

Not sure how old you are but I know I don't have any connection with my ex employers.

When these guys played for us we were called the kangaroos. Carey does it all the time. I often refer to us as North Melbourne, North, kangaroos or roos. The important thing is we are still based in Melbourne. I think we are the only club whose supporters have an issue about what we are called.
As for kingy he is entitled his opinion. I dont think ex players ever have the same love and passion for the club like we do.

It was the original House of Cards. There were two other parts in the trilogy - To Play the King and The Final Cut - but that happened in the first series.

Haven't got to the US version yet and wondered how close it would be. So thanks for that spoiler...

I think we are the only club whose supporters have an issue about what we are called.

Only due to a ******** decision by past administration that's been put right, thank goodness. Because of this overuse of the "Kangaroos" can grate on traditional nerves.

And no, it's not just us. If you think we're picky try working your way through Port fans the the Official/Unofficial "Port Power" moniker.

I dont think ex players ever have the same love and passion for the club like we do.

Agree 100%

Not sure how old you are but I know I don't have any connection with my ex employers.

It's a bit different for a footy club though, isn't it? The only players that ever seem to back it back to the club are the Krakouers. I'd love to see Archer, Carey and even the older guys from the 70s make appearances.

When these guys played for us we were called the kangaroos. Carey does it all the time. I often refer to us as North Melbourne, North, kangaroos or roos. The important thing is we are still based in Melbourne. I think we are the only club whose supporters have an issue about what we are called.
As for kingy he is entitled his opinion. I dont think ex players ever have the same love and passion for the club like we do.

The people who tried to force us to the Gold Coast used the fact that our club's named had been stripped from us as part of their push.

We played home games all over the place and didn't even have an acknowledged location in our club's title. One less thing tying us to Arden Street.

People who remember how close we were to getting rolled know the importance of being called North Melbourne and that is why we are more likely to take umbrage at those who continue to ignore the fact our name has been restored for several years now.

It's a bit different for a footy club though, isn't it? The only players that ever seem to back it back to the club are the Krakouers. I'd love to see Archer, Carey and even the older guys from the 70s make appearances.
I've seen Archer & Stevo and their kids catch up at the footy. At the end, shook hands, said "good to see ya mate" and walked to their respective cars with their respective families. Like any other supporters. Just coz they don't hang around the change rooms doesn't mean they don't still love the club.

Oh, I'm sure they still do. I just think it'd be nice to hear about it every once in a while.

People who remember how close we were to getting rolled know the importance of being called North Melbourne and that is why we are more likely to take umbrage at those who continue to ignore the fact our name has been restored for several years now.

Extremely well said mate. :thumbsu:

And they probably would've had it drilled into them while they were there "we're the kangaroos now, stop saying north, north melbourne, etc, it's the kangaroos," it'd be a hard habit to break

Who do you reckon is more conniving, him or the Mrs?
The wife slightly, she almost goads/lead him into many of his actions on several occasions, plus she's harder to pick.

As supporters we would like to think so but unfortunately it isn't