September 2016

People from Frankston can afford to go to Bali. ;)
And there's the issue.
Stereotypical Aussies, drinking to much piss, getting on motorbikes with no licence, no helmet, and ( they seriously don't understand this) with no bike licence there is no travel insurance.
Harsh to only include Frankston, as these people come from all over Oz.
My theory is, and always has been, the fact that Australians can go to Bali, and even if on minimum wage, live like kings.
That they end up treating the Balinese as nothing more than slaves only enhances the experience for them.

And there's the issue.
Stereotypical Aussies, drinking to much piss, getting on motorbikes with no licence, no helmet, and ( they seriously don't understand this) with no bike licence there is no travel insurance.
Harsh to only include Frankston, as these people come from all over Oz.
My theory is, and always has been, the fact that Australians can go to Bali, and even if on minimum wage, live like kings.
That they end up treating the Balinese as nothing more than slaves only enhances the experience for them.

I'm from Frankston so I can say that lol. Also a guy I went to school with was killed when he donged his head on a street sign riding without a helmet in Phuket...(same diff...)

I only want to go to say I've been...

Mate, I just checked.
For 1700 dollars you can fly to Paris and back, 5 nights in a 4.2 out of 5 rated hotel in October.
The Louvre, the tower, the history, just about everything.
Why say "I've been to Boganville" when you can say "I've been to culture central".
Oh, and they have excellent alcohol in France (check out the underground caverns at Pommery) albeit more costly than the Bali firewater. Even bogans may enjoy.

Mate, I just checked.
For 1700 dollars you can fly to Paris and back, 5 nights in a 4.2 out of 5 rated hotel in October.
Why say "I've been to Boganville" when you can say "I've been to culture central".
Oh, and they have excellent alcohol in France (check out the underground caverns at Pommery) albeit more costly than the Bali firewater. Even bogans may enjoy.

Yeah don't worry I'm way ahead of you. My trip in April hopefully will be New York, London, Paris, Barcelona, Rome and maybe Venice and Milan if I can squeeze it in but I only have 28 days. I'm even resisting Amsterdam. :P

Mate, I just checked.

I'm not one for fancy hotels and wines though, I'd rather backpack and see more sights and sports.

Mate, I just checked.
I agree it's very important to say to people, "I've been to culture central".
It helps with social standing.

Halls Gap/Grampians is one of mine and the Mrs favorite getaways.
Looks like we'll have to change it, to get further away, further away,..... from the footy.
Boganvile might be the best option. No, not the PNG Boganville which is a real place, I am thinking, the Bogainville BW speaks of in Bali. :thumbsu:

Last time I went to Bali was 2011. Went to a Seminyak pub to watch Collingwood belt Richmond - credit where credit's due, the Tigers' bogans were definitely more fearsome. Backed up the next day to watch the Essendon-Carlton draw. Rocket Eade sat in the adjacent vinyl tub chair: on a short break because the Doggies had a bye. Very friendly bloke.

No, not at all.
There is no better social standing than saying you've been overseas.
Over Bass strait that is.
As much as I enjoyed the continent, Tassie still is the place to go.

We can only afford to go to culture south-central... or southy as we like to call it on the culture projects.

Yeah don't worry I'm way ahead of you. My trip in April hopefully will be New York, London, Paris, Barcelona, Rome and maybe Venice and Milan if I can squeeze it in but I only have 28 days. I'm even resisting Amsterdam. :p
28 days wont do it justice.
If you want to get a day or two back, don't bother with Venice.
If you've seen one canal, you've seen them all. Very underwhelming and the worst food we had in the whole trip.

Don't bother with Venice...

You're not the first person to say this B_W.

However, loved Venice. Wife and I roamed for 4 days: St Mark's Square at daybreak and hanging out in the uni quarter at night, rode bikes around the Lido,
saw great art at the Guggenheim, Doge's Palace etc. Food is good if you like razor clams and you grab breakfast at the main market.

(kudos to launching the thread, it has meandered in good ways)

Yeah don't worry I'm way ahead of you. My trip in April hopefully will be New York, London, Paris, Barcelona, Rome and maybe Venice and Milan if I can squeeze it in but I only have 28 days. I'm even resisting Amsterdam. :p

That's a bad idea. Amsterdam rocks.

If you are single definitely skip Venice and do Amsterdam.

The Dutch are the best people I met through Europe.

Everyone should do Amsterdam once in their life.

Mate, I just checked.

Paris rocks but its expensive even to backpack unfortunately. Still the most amazing place.

Only place on earth I've picked up in a cemetary.

Did you bring the body back?

Lol, no, got taken back to their place. A bunch of Parisian girls from the Sorbonne. I'm still a little in love.

Believe it or not my pickup technique consisted of being able guide them to the grave of Joachim Murat.

Paris rocks but its expensive even to backpack unfortunately. Still the most amazing place.

Only place on earth I've picked up in a cemetary.
Dead root?