Megaman123
The neafl reserves would practically flogg every team in this Div...
From memory, Sandgate played Aspley and Mside reserves last year pre season, and beat them both. So maybe wouldnt be that big a gap?

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
this league would be so much better if they ever worked out how to split it in half and have a northern and southern division. Gold Coast hate the sunny coast trips and vice versa.
someone put an idea forward to have neafl clubs reserves play in this division with a north and south, and have 18s play instead of reserves. was a good plan in theory, obviously too good for the AFL to consider.

How did the magpie reserves go at state league? Watched several broady games last year and caught some of the reserves and they would not be in top 5 phc! Redlands southport etc would obviously be firm favorites in phc, I think it's a great idea and that way we could bring back the old north v south rep game! Would lift the level of this comp considerably and from a state country perspective make us a lot stronger. I guess it would be similar to lion and sun reserves playing neafl in respect to young guys still wanting to play highest standard possible and not just dropping back a comp for a couple of bucks!
Another point to the neafl2 playing phc is you are and will continue to see more first graders coming back thru the phc rather than the two's due to the competition being stronger than there own reserves! Why would southport send Hughes and carmody to burleigh and likewise the morningside players to both mayne and grange? And who could forget the storm Fulton caused by going to palmy rather than twos at broady! Players decision or is it that of the coaches?
I think it's great for the Western Magpies footy club, I only dislike it in the context of how it affects the competition - it's a retention advantage that no other club has for quality youth, but also has the flipside that where the Lions are decimated by injury it can also impact on the Magpies firsts team.i think you will find these players at PHC level when their neafl clubs had byes....
Lenny why dont you like the magpies/lions setup
I think it's great for the Western Magpies footy club, I only dislike it in the context of how it affects the competition - it's a retention advantage that no other club has for quality youth, but also has the flipside that where the Lions are decimated by injury it can also impact on the Magpies firsts team.
It's a competition purity issue more than anything else. Like I said, it's not the end of the world given they only have Magpies players playing for them but it can artificially impact the strength of the side the club can put on the park week to week and my preference is that these variances are kept to "natural" causes within a competition only (injuries, unavailability etc)
If i'm wrong, i'm wrong so be it, no need to be a ****ing smartass for having an opinion!Nah -that's a dumb comment. They would flog the Tigers, wouldn't beat any of the top 4 sides at least!
I think it's great for the Western Magpies footy club, I only dislike it in the context of how it affects the competition - it's a retention advantage that no other club has for quality youth, but also has the flipside that where the Lions are decimated by injury it can also impact on the Magpies firsts team.
It's a competition purity issue more than anything else. Like I said, it's not the end of the world given they only have Magpies players playing for them but it can artificially impact the strength of the side the club can put on the park week to week and my preference is that these variances are kept to "natural" causes within a competition only (injuries, unavailability etc)
). I think the integrity of a comp is vital for credibility. The NEAFL is the comp for a stepping stone to AFL stuff and clubs quite rightly put players desires ahead of clubs needs occasionally. The PHC is a great standard of footy, all clubs are out there trying to win and like Lenny said, if there was more than one Magpies/Lions arrangements in place then it would be a concern.
) and there are a few new faces around, but at this time of year who knows how good they areI reckon Palm Beach Currumbin will be tough to beat, i heard on the grape vine a few very handy players who are making their way there...