SEQAFL Division 1 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

Well I hope every team will improve this year and it's looking very positive in having an exciting comp in 2012. All the best to all teams, I can't wait for it all to start!!

Hey tigerG, have you signed the guy that was going to get the whole comp talking? Dezario, where did you get your mail on the palmy recruits? are they ex broady?

Not me personally :D, seriously the club haven't announced who yet.

Not sure if they are for real or not, probably just got gee'd up so I wont mention any names because its most likely false info

But i know for certain that Darryn Cresswell is coaching down there this year so you'd think he would bring some quality with him...
I can gaurantee PBC have got some very handy recruits already and more on the way - some serious money has been thrown into the sporting club with a high % of that to be spent on players.
3 players that i know have been on AFL lists - courtesy of Daryn Cresswell recruiting and the fact many good players on the Gold Coast will head that way they will have some very good players this year.

Well i'll be daring and do my ladder prediction

1. Noosa
2. W/Magpies
3. W/Grange
4. Sandgate
5. PBC
6. Surfers
7. Burleigh
8. Maroochy
9. Mayne
10.Coolangatta
11.Springwood

They'll replace them alright. Both midfielders so alot easier to find than a key forward. Matthews will be the bigger loss of the 2 IMO (might be slightly biased). Think the Tigers were more concerned when they loss Hicksy (who is apparently coming back) a couple of years back - replacing 80+ goals is difficult - but they did with a bloke that just walked in off the street!

Professional club - I'm sure they would be disappointed but not unduly concerned if true.

rumours around the man they call punky is off to redland bombers.

surfers paradise talking up another massive season in 2012, jake ryan putting $500 on them to win the flag in November. have also heard from their camp that they will go undefeated this season. they havent learned their lesson from previous years, nor do they have the runs on the board. confirmed from the horses mouth directly, breuer and matthews are definitely heading south. Breuer to GV league and matthews back to Bendigo league. WG will be very strong in 2012, shir and brittain brothers will make a difference. They have some quality younger players that will be heading into their 3rd senior seasons, provided they are still there. Corrie at WM but apparently has swallowed an air compressor, although rumours do tend to get blown (pardon the pun) out of proportion. PBC to annnounce signings of some very handy state league players in coming weeks.

I think that info may be from the horse's arse rather than mouth! heading south is correct but not confirmed! Brauer is currently tied up shooting the biggest loser 2012, he's commando's midget stunt double. Matthews can't get of the couch, too many xmas puddings.....
SMY, I'm dissapointed you see us midfielders as easily replaced, 2010 Noosa GF side had no functioning forward line against Sandgates key forwards, I will agree however the key forwards of Mills,Brewster,Frew, Mcguigan made a huge difference in the GF 2011. However I believe it will be a challenge to replace a guy that kicks the football 90m directly up in the air & another the has mastered the helicopter mongrel punt, not to mention no one will fit in his shorts! unless reece langan makes a come back of course....

daryn cresswell the convicted criminal attracting players that have been on afl lists?

daryn cresswell the guy that openly admitted placing a bet on a game he played in?

i would have thought that decent young footballers would want to stay a mile away from a bloke like cresswell. i guess he is a step up from a bloke that got arressted on grand final day, at half time, threatening umpires.

Massive call. Good on Palmy for giving the bloke a chance to get back on track. I'm sure he'd attract players for his football knowledge rather than his criminal record.

I think that info may be from the horse's arse rather than mouth! heading south is correct but not confirmed! Brauer is currently tied up shooting the biggest loser 2012, he's commando's midget stunt double. Matthews can't get of the couch, too many xmas puddings.....
SMY, I'm dissapointed you see us midfielders as easily replaced, 2010 Noosa GF side had no functioning forward line against Sandgates key forwards, I will agree however the key forwards of Mills,Brewster,Frew, Mcguigan made a huge difference in the GF 2011. However I believe it will be a challenge to replace a guy that kicks the football 90m directly up in the air & another the has mastered the helicopter mongrel punt, not to mention no one will fit in his shorts! unless reece langan makes a come back of course....

Mate no matter how much us midfielders like to rate our importance a key fwd is just far more valuable because there just aren't that many good ones around! Midfielders dime a dozen (aka Geelong - didn't miss a beat). Bumped into Mr.Langan a couple of weeks back - lucky to walk let alone roost the footy 60m either foot at this stage - his knees are shot (too much bending getting in and out of trucks and fridges!:D

If you indeed go back home all the best - no doubt the recent addition has probably made the heart grow fonder (and baby sitting easier!!). You have been a fine addition to the sunshine coast football community and left a stamp at Noosa FC.

hi im trying to find out where ex afl players go after they are off afl list . so im looking to know if any ex afl listed or rookie players are playing in your competition? hopefully someone can help me

hi there. Maroochydore had Ben Matthews (swans premiership midfielder) play 2 seasons in 2009 and 2010. I believe Corrie from the lions is playing with the western magpies, and danny dikfos who is also ex lions played with sandgate hawks for about 10 years.

outside of that, generally the ex AFL listed players tend to end up in the NEAFL in qld, or head to country victoria or WAFL, SANFL etc for $$$. Also a few ex AFL players running around in Darwin.

The Div 1 league is more community footy, with most clubs being limited on what they can spend.

My money is on PBC.
Grange will be hard again this year although a birdie tells me they have lost Nicholson and Skuse - and there big ruckman could be gone for the year ( forgot his name ). They have recruited some handy players and Wayne Brittain having some input. Great club and have a great ammateur set up.
Corrie has swallowed a 6 man tent - he wont last 6 games if he doesnt get fit. he is just injury proned and this comp is better then what some of these guys think.Magpies are crazy if they have paid him big bucks.
Sandgate can only improve if they move on some of the oldies including the coach - lost some young kids to Aspley i believe and have no money to do anything.
Mayne - just give it up - good players should just go over to Grange and win some games.
Springwood - should be competitive but need to swoop in on ex Mt Gravatt/Morningside players - SOMETHING
Noosa - strong again. but would love to see them knocked over early.
Maroochy - have no idea.
Cooly - have no idea
Surfers - will be very handy from all reports - have some very good players signed. Between them and PBC to see who can pick up the most State League players from Southport/Broadbeach etc
Burleigh - give up

Grange: The loss of Skuse will hurt! Their best player of last season. The ruckman Macmahon? Gave them first use of the footy more often than not will also be sorely missed, the ins however will ensure the gorillas play in september.
Magpies: Have also heard the Corrie rumors, is no chance of making an impact at their club let alone the comp, none the less the boys from out west will be right there come seasons end.
Mayne: A little harsh fanatic4! will be the biggest improvers for 2012. Will win as many if not more than they lose!
Sandgate: Some very big outs, Long has been a very good coach! has not had a side of stars, but implemented and played to a very good game plan. Unless they can fill with some experience may be a leaner year for the hawks.
Springwood: Defiantly should be scratching around the south brissy neafl clubs for experience to help with their young side! May be another long year for the pumas, but will push clubs harder again this year.
Maroochy: Have picked up some players, and confidence is high. Still need to find min 6 goals a game to trouble top sides and with the loss of Hay might have trouble.
Noosa: September specialists, will not fill the holes left by Brauer and Mathews but will not lose a game up there. May come back to the pack this year but more than capable of going for 3 in a row.
Cooly: Massive losses in the Cairns boys and Hawkins, will struggle for mine this year. A good coach and lots of youth may surprise occasionally but will hover around the bottom.
Burleigh: Like cooly, unless they can snag a couple of neafl boys will be a long year. Can always bet, that when you leave, you know you have been in a contest!
Surfers: Some handy pickups, will they live up to expectations only time will tell. With all the talk coming from there camp anything less than a gf will be another year of under achieving.
Palmy: Big losses, big pick ups, new coach and hopefully a new attitude, will see the boys be right there at the end. Still waiting on confirmation on exactly what they have picked up but if the rumors are true will be very very hard to beat.

The opinions written are those of an uneducated footy tragic. All information is rumor at best. Anyway had fun with it, pick it to pieces lads.

Grange: The loss of Skuse will hurt! Their best player of last season. The ruckman Macmahon? Gave them first use of the footy more often than not will also be sorely missed, the ins however will ensure the gorillas play in september.
Magpies: Have also heard the Corrie rumors, is no chance of making an impact at their club let alone the comp, none the less the boys from out west will be right there come seasons end.
Mayne: A little harsh fanatic4! will be the biggest improvers for 2012. Will win as many if not more than they lose!
Sandgate: Some very big outs, Long has been a very good coach! has not had a side of stars, but implemented and played to a very good game plan. Unless they can fill with some experience may be a leaner year for the hawks.
Springwood: Defiantly should be scratching around the south brissy neafl clubs for experience to help with their young side! May be another long year for the pumas, but will push clubs harder again this year.
Maroochy: Have picked up some players, and confidence is high. Still need to find min 6 goals a game to trouble top sides and with the loss of Hay might have trouble.
Noosa: September specialists, will not fill the holes left by Brauer and Mathews but will not lose a game up there. May come back to the pack this year but more than capable of going for 3 in a row.
Cooly: Massive losses in the Cairns boys and Hawkins, will struggle for mine this year. A good coach and lots of youth may surprise occasionally but will hover around the bottom.
Burleigh: Like cooly, unless they can snag a couple of neafl boys will be a long year. Can always bet, that when you leave, you know you have been in a contest!
Surfers: Some handy pickups, will they live up to expectations only time will tell. With all the talk coming from there camp anything less than a gf will be another year of under achieving.
Palmy: Big losses, big pick ups, new coach and hopefully a new attitude, will see the boys be right there at the end. Still waiting on confirmation on exactly what they have picked up but if the rumors are true will be very very hard to beat.

The opinions written are those of an uneducated footy tragic. All information is rumor at best. Anyway had fun with it, pick it to pieces lads.
Pretty good write up their kwhit,quite fair I think. Maroochy and Mayne will be the big improvers, won't play finals but have a solid year. I think Surfers and grange will give the big guns a good shake rattle and roll! Haven't heard enough on Burleigh,Pumas and Cooly to really know how they go, from what little I have read looks they might struggle, who knows.
Lets pray for a nice even and exciting comp this year!

I will put my 2 cents worth but I more regularly watch the NEAFL games.

Noosa- the best run and most supported club in the league IMO as an outsider looking in. Will cover the couple of big losses.

Surfers- I believe the hype and by reports good numbers to training. Rolfes and Fulton will be very handy.

Magpies- the Lions relationship is a big advantage for retention of players.

Grange- The Aspley boys will ensure they are finalists.

PBC- Lost quite a few and a couple of others Drake etc starting to get a bit long in the tooth. Still play finals though I reckon.
--------------------------------------------------------------
Sandgate- usually thereabouts.

Mayne- big improvers with a couple of genuine competition elite pick ups.

Maroochy- heard they got a couple should improve.

Burleigh- not sure where they are at but have not heard of any real pick ups. Top 6 sides will be too good, but will win a few against the other strugglers.

Springwood- I think give their location that they ought to do better. Should have a stream of Gravatt, Morningside and Redland fringe players being attacted to the club.

Cooly- I fear for where they are at. Lost some of their best players, training numbers are poor from what I hear- the economy on the southern end of the coast is pretty bad and it is tough to keep spirit up when you start getting whacked. Hope I am wrong.

Springwood- I think give their location that they ought to do better. Should have a stream of Gravatt, Morningside and Redland fringe players being attacted to the club.

Been there, done that. It's not sustainable to throw the $$$ around to do it and given the increasing seriousness of the PHC, blokes who want to have a real crack are going to NEAFL clubs and blokes who want to ease back and play with mates go to the less serious Wynnum/Alex Hills type clubs

Surfers seem to have been able to get a few from the coast neafl clubs and they certainly don't have money to throw around. Maybe I am harsh in my assessment but IMO springwood need to work harder because I reckon their location should allow more success, as there are hardly any phc clubs on the south. The north has more clubs competing (about 5) so on balance it should be harder for them.

Like I said, I don't reckon it's sustainable unless you have the $$$ to back it up.

I query this not to be a smart arse or anything as I genuinely don't know the answer - but when you say "Surfers seem to have been able to get a few from the coast neafl clubs and they certainly don't have money to throw around" how many stay more than 2-3 years? I'd be surprised if it's more than a couple and if that's the case, you end up stifling the development of (some) young guys and can also burn some long term stalwarts if it's not done properly. There's certainly ways to go about it properly but it's delicate and can fail

You can look at us over the 2005-07 period - massive names from Redlands/Springwood/Mt Gravatt came into the club, Easdown, Moncur, Wilson x 2, Gillett, Button, you could put 20 names there. But then for various reasons most of them left (work, moving interstate, wanting to move down to a lower comp) and unless you replace them you leave a void and end up with the debacle that was us in 2008.

I'm more than happy with our current strategy, a sprinkling of experience guiding kids through development phases and you can top up with the right kind of players along the way. Absolutely there's a hell of a long way to go but most importantly it's sustainable and you end up with a quality group on and off field

corrie looks ok when i saw him the other week, where did cairns go?

Where is Noosaboy?

This time last year he was a serial pest on here, telling us all about the amazing pick ups they have, and from all reports most of them aren't actually playing for Noosa this year.

Gotta feel for them if it's true, not alot of work around on the coast at the moment.