SEQAFL Division 1 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

I would be surprised if they have any issues getting clearances. But if there is an issue, to what extent? How long can a club with hold a clearence to a club in a different division? And given at least one Palmy junior has signed at broady for this year (will be a superstar in time, and defiantly one to watch over the coming two years!) could make it difficult to attract other juniors in future." From Palm Beach"
Can't help you there kwhit. We are happy with Arnold Knight from you guys. Maybe some of the Broady guys know?
They probably will clear them but they don't have to if they are contracted.
We had a couple of young guys wanting to leave last year to go back a division. Said no and they both played out the year and did well.
Whats the point in signing a contract?

Riodj,

How is Arnie going? Is a terrific pick up if he can stay on track! Are the players that wanted to leave still there?

As far as signing contacts, might want to ask Fev or Malcom Blight, Mathew Knights not sure contacts are worth the paper there printed on any more

Riodj,

How is Arnie going? Is a terrific pick up if he can stay on track! Are the players that wanted to leave still there?

Has not looked out of place on the track. Reckon he will be more of a depth player though as we have a very strong and healthy squad.

I believe one is still there and the other has gone travelling but both were pleased to stay !
Just don't think you let players go without sorting out what the underlying problems are. Sure if they are near the end of their careers or if they are not going to get an opportunity to play seniors etc. Don't know the Broady circumstances and I don't think any state league club would do differently if players are contracted.

Has not looked out of place on the track. Reckon he will be more of a depth player though as we have a very strong and healthy squad.

I believe one is still there and the other has gone travelling but both were pleased to stay !
Just don't think you let players go without sorting out what the underlying problems are. Sure if they are near the end of their careers or if they are not going to get an opportunity to play seniors etc. Don't know the Broady circumstances and I don't think any state league club would do differently if players are contracted.

Riodj,
I must admit you make some sense in your posts but I don't think Broadbeach needs any Southport supporter/follower assistant coach etc to comment or speculate on their footy matters.I am sure PBC will be sorted out.

i think you will find that the only way the league will block the clearance of a player to another club is if the player owes the club money, especially when it is different leagues.

Not if they have signed a contract for that season.
Does not matter what league, state, country etc. The contract is valid for the season. What would be the point of a contract if they could go anywhere, anytime ?

Not if they have signed a contract for that season.
Does not matter what league, state, country etc. The contract is valid for the season. What would be the point of a contract if they could go anywhere, anytime ?

Only way out is if player and club agree to a mutual termination, or if either party breaks part of the terms of the contract (like Fev did with his behaviour etc). If player simply wants to back out and leave, the club they have signed for dont have to release them.

Its a tough one but, club obviously will want player, but if they dont want to be there, whats the point of them sticking around?

I would be surprised if they have any issues getting clearances. But if there is an issue, to what extent? How long can a club with hold a clearence to a club in a different division? And given at least one Palmy junior has signed at broady for this year (will be a superstar in time, and defiantly one to watch over the coming two years!) could make it difficult to attract other juniors in future." From Palm Beach"

Whos the superstar Palmy junior that signed at Broady you speak of ?

Nick Burton! Was a real standout for a kid who is 16. In the games I watched, which incl games against Noosa and Sandgate did not take a backwards step at any contest, which in my oppinion, to be doing at 16 against seasoned hard footballers was a credit. Skills need improving but endeavour was brilliant. Would not be surprised if gets picked up when eligable. Good luck to him and Broady.

Only way out is if player and club agree to a mutual termination, or if either party breaks part of the terms of the contract (like Fev did with his behaviour etc). If player simply wants to back out and leave, the club they have signed for dont have to release them.

Its a tough one but, club obviously will want player, but if they dont want to be there, whats the point of them sticking around?

I stand corrected.

Tassie Tigers commit to Mayne

A couple of ex-Tasmanians have added to the growing list of recruits heading to the den in season 2012 with Adam Stevenson and Ben Davies officially signing with the club last week.

A lengthy career in the army has seen Stevo travel across much of the country including stints at Springwood and Wilston Grange in the PHC. A powerful midfield type Stevo brings with him plenty of experience and ideas to add to the Tigers’ midfield and his ability to kick the ball long will see him add an extra dimension to the Tigers attack this season.

Former Scottsdale (Tas) and Redland Bomber (NEAFL) Ben Davies is looking for a fresh start in the PHC after a frustrating stint at Redland Bay last season. Davies found limited opportunities with the Bombers and is chomping at the bit to play senior football at the Tigers where he will likely play across half forward and through the midfield. A schoolteacher by trade Davies is keen to educate the tiger cubs pushing to play seniors this year. Completing his first full pre season for some time will see Davies hit the ground running where his efficient ball use will be invaluable to his Tigers’ team mates.

Both players are turning out for the first time in Tigers colours on Tuesday night out at Yeronga with Mayne taking on the Devils in the club’s first hit out of the season.

The club wishes Adam and Ben the best of luck for the season ahead.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?sportid=4&client=1-109-9628-0-0

I am new to the forum but by seeing the comp last few years most of queensland representatives for country champs would come from this comp. who will get selected at this early stage.

Bit of a tough question there! If you where going to work on a incumbent formula with the players still in the league from the last carnival you would have

Luke faulkner (Mayne) Angus Munro (PBC) James Rozynski (Magpies apparently he's back) Caleb Brown (Mayne) Brendan Forbes (Sandgate) Michael I'Anson (PBC) Jess Derek (PBC) Darryl Dyson (PBC) Ben Drew (Sandgate) Not sure if they all played thou.

You could also throw in Danny Brewster (Noosa) won league goal kicking.
James Drake(PBC) Bill Ryan Medalist

You also have an allowance of state league players
Nick Tomlinson (Morningside) Blake Passfield (Redlands) Josh Brown(Morningside) Tyson Upton(Morningside) Glen Screech (Southport) Josh Norman (Redlands) All played in Stockman Squad.

I'M sure some punters on here would like to see some of there boys named, which will make for some interesting discussion.

Bit of a tough question there! If you where going to work on a incumbent formula with the players still in the league from the last carnival you would have

Luke faulkner (Mayne) Angus Munro (PBC) James Rozynski (Magpies apparently he's back) Caleb Brown (Mayne) Brendan Forbes (Sandgate) Michael I'Anson (PBC) Jess Derek (PBC) Darryl Dyson (PBC) Ben Drew (Sandgate) Not sure if they all played thou.

You could also throw in Danny Brewster (Noosa) won league goal kicking.
James Drake(PBC) Bill Ryan Medalist

You also have an allowance of state league players
Nick Tomlinson (Morningside) Blake Passfield (Redlands) Josh Brown(Morningside) Tyson Upton(Morningside) Glen Screech (Southport) Josh Norman (Redlands) All played in Stockman Squad.

I'M sure some punters on here would like to see some of there boys named, which will make for some interesting discussion.

Still hearing that Derrick is not going to be cleared to PBC as he is contracted at Broady - Is this right kwhit?

that would be silly on broadys behalf he has given them great service and wants to go back to his junior club, i think broady do well out of pbc juniors and pbc do alright out of the older ex brody blokes..... ps i am NOT a pbc fan