Seriously , do these AFL honchos just sit around dreaming up ways to screw over WA football all day ?

Bigger picture and in being a bit more serious .

The AFL would be concerned about the lowish number of WA players being drafted.

So something has to change.

My understanding was the AFL had attempted to negotiate a new deal on development pathways with the WAFC and the WAFC told them to gagf?.

Not sure what the truth is in all this but there appears to be an issue here.

Bigger picture and in being a bit more serious .

The AFL would be concerned about the lowish number of WA players being drafted.

So something has to change.

My understanding was the AFL had attempted to negotiate a new deal on development pathways with the WAFC and the WAFC told them to gagf?.

Not sure what the truth is in all this but there appears to be an issue here.

I don't know anything of the specifics of this, but the AFL have form for wanting to monopolise control.

None of the Melbourne clubs that play home games outside Melbourne actually want to do so. All 10 Victorian clubs want to play 11 home games at their preferred venue, be it the MCG, Docklands or Kardinia Park. But the AFL control the fixture and the scheduling and influence stadium deals and distribute funds to clubs etc. so it's not practical for everyone to get what they want and be financially viable. Even Collingwood don't get 11 home games at the G!

As it stands WA Football runs footy in WA and exercises control. WC and Freo pay for it, but there is next to no benefit to those clubs given the majority of players drafted end up outside WA. Why would WA Football wand to cede control to the AFL?

So it’s politics ( AFL vs WAFC ) is the reason Freo has suddenly dropped to 2nd last on the funding table when we were always around 8th or so on any other ones I’ve seen?

Lol my OP might not have been as far off the mark as I thought

The AFL bigwigs ARE sitting around dreaming up ways to **** over WA football

So it’s politics ( AFL vs WAFC ) is the reason Freo has suddenly dropped to 2nd last on the funding table when we were always around 8th or so on any other ones I’ve seen?

Everything with the AFL is about politics and control.
I dont think it's just a WA thing.

I don't know anything of the specifics of this, but the AFL have form for wanting to monopolise control.

None of the Melbourne clubs that play home games outside Melbourne actually want to do so. All 10 Victorian clubs want to play 11 home games at their preferred venue, be it the MCG, Docklands or Kardinia Park. But the AFL control the fixture and the scheduling and influence stadium deals and distribute funds to clubs etc. so it's not practical for everyone to get what they want and be financially viable. Even Collingwood don't get 11 home games at the G!

As it stands WA Football runs footy in WA and exercises control. WC and Freo pay for it, but there is next to no benefit to those clubs given the majority of players drafted end up outside WA. Why would WA Football wand to cede control to the AFL?
Surely it's in everyone's interest if there are more players WA drafted?

WA spend a lot of time jumping at shadows about imaginary conspiracies against them.
We all know the AFL are a bunch of campaigners.
Look at the whole Luke Sayers and Sharon McCrohan stuff.

They are campaigners but it's still a shame WA not producing more draftees and you can't blame that all on the AFL (even if they are campaigners).

You can spend above the soft cap. In fact the soft cap advantages wealthy mining clubs like WCE and Freo

It doesn't really.

And the Eagles are already spending over the soft cap and paying the tax. Pyke confirmed that several weeks ago.

Problem is every dollar spent sends $2.50 on top back into the AFL's coffers and reduces the amount spent on WA football and running the WAFL.

The WAFL ownes both clubs and it is not happy losing money in a tax leaving the state and the AFL redirecting the cash to develop football on the East Coast and other states.

That is not a problem any other club has.

Part of the license agreement for the Eagles and Dockers is for WA football development and pathways to be managed by them.

If they want the AFL to manage development and pathways, come to an agreement on the licenses.

You can’t hold the asset and not do the maintenance on it, then complain about it.

And the final point, how much did the Eagles and Freo then pay the WAFL to run state football?

How much did the AFL contribute to run WA football? Anything?

I was reading the financial reports into this a while back. West coast and Freo give about 1 to 2 mill annually each to WA football, the AFL gives $5 million and the state government I'm pretty sure it was between 10 and 15 mill annually. So all in all WA football has up to $20 mill a year to run off.

I did read Roger Cook was trying to lowball WA football on extra funding though as the contract is up for renewal. This right off the back of saying 'not one dollar of taxpayers money will go to the NRL' then only a few weeks later giving the NRL near $100 mill in funding for the Bears set up and facilities.

I was reading the financial reports into this a while back. West coast and Freo give about 1 to 2 mill annually each to WA football, the AFL gives $5 million and the state government I'm pretty sure it was between 10 and 15 mill annually. So all in all WA football has up to $20 mill a year to run off.

I did read Roger Cook was trying to lowball WA football on extra funding though as the contract is up for renewal. This right off the back of saying 'not one dollar of taxpayers money will go to the NRL' then only a few weeks later giving the NRL near $100 mill in funding for the Bears set up and facilities.

Eagles $2m
Freo $1.5m
WA govt $10.8
AFL $1m

Both clubs also pays a licence fee of $600k each per annum.

So in total two clubs contribute approx $4.5 to $5m every year to run WA football.

AND both get the lowest distributions from the AFL.

WA spend a lot of time jumping at shadows about imaginary conspiracies against them.

They are campaigners but it's still a shame WA not producing more draftees and you can't blame that all on the AFL (even if they are campaigners).
Is it really an imaginary conspiracy ?

Are you trying to tell me Freo is the 2nd richest club in the AFL ?

AFL House v WAFL Commission.

Some big ego's in play there.

AFL love control and in WA they don't hold it.

It doesn't really.

And the Eagles are already spending over the soft cap and paying the tax. Pyke confirmed that several weeks ago.

Problem is every dollar spent sends $2.50 on top back into the AFL's coffers and reduces the amount spent on WA football and running the WAFL.

The WAFL ownes both clubs and it is not happy losing money in a tax leaving the state and the AFL redirecting the cash to develop football on the East Coast and other states.

That is not a problem any other club has.

Spend at or under the soft cap then.

If the eagles were smart they’d launder their afl $$$ through a third party business and then use that money to make third party payments to players and rort the cap.

Put that $100m in the bank to WORK.

Spend at or under the soft cap then.

If the eagles were smart they’d launder their afl $$$ through a third party business and then use that money to make third party payments to players and rort the cap.

Put that $100m in the bank to WORK.

Eagles much prefer talking about all their money than actually spending it. WA thing.

I blame the Scorchers and the Wildcats - the AFL have realised that if you have a level playing field chances are the WA teams will dominate the comp because we're just that much better at sport than the other states...

Developing good cricketers and basketballers though

Since freo come in to the AFL

Wa cricket has been most successful
6 T20 flags
5 shield flags
9 one day cups

Perth wildcats have been the most successful basketball team with
8 flags

Lucky it’s a footy mad state where all the talented kids choose football so nothing to see here

Part of the license agreement for the Eagles and Dockers is for WA football development and pathways to be managed by them.

If they want the AFL to manage development and pathways, come to an agreement on the licenses.

You can’t hold the asset and not do the maintenance on it, then complain about it.

This is a circular argument.

Part of holding an AFL license is that the competition collects centralised revenue and distributes it to the member clubs.

The AFL don't fund development within WA, and they provide less central revenue to the clubs that (partially) do. It's not like the AFL average distribution is $26m per club and the WA clubs are asking for an extra $5m or $10m a year to fund non club related activities - which isn't actually an outrageous request anyway - but the WA clubs do something the others don't (and there are reasons for that) and receive less. Why?

Brisbane declared revenue $11.6m higher than West Coast, because the AFL gave them $14.2m more. It's embarrassing.

Plenty of WA players are drafted. Don't know if you noticed but 19 of the WA squad from SOO don't play for WA clubs.

It's in everyone's interest that more good players are drafted from everywhere, but the AFL draft system is completely broken.

The AFL don't fund development within WA, and they provide less central revenue to the clubs that (partially) do. It's not like the AFL average distribution is $26m per club and the WA clubs are asking for an extra $5m or $10m a year to fund non club related activities - which isn't actually an outrageous request anyway - but the WA clubs do something the others don't (and there are reasons for that) and receive less. Why?
Because they don’t own the club licences for the WA clubs. Part of the agreement in owning the licences are that the development pathways need to be managed and run properly by the owners. That’s the price of having the clubs owned independently of the AFL. I spose the only other solution is handing them back to the AFL, but that doesn’t work for those in WA.

I blame the Scorchers and the Wildcats - the AFL have realised that if you have a level playing field chances are the WA teams will dominate the comp because we're just that much better at sport than the other states...
This is actually an interesting point.

WA fans go to anything with their state name on it. Other states don’t seem to have the same sense of state love for their respective teams in those comps.

Sure there’s the usual hardcore fans everywhere but WA packs out stadiums every time. The same will happen with the new NRL team. If they win the NRL, NBL or BBL, the Eastern states couldn’t care less. It’s not a bad thing, but quite unique to those over the other side of the country.

And the AFL won’t blink twice with the NRL entering the West. They know AFL support of each club is dyed on. The more entertainment over there the better.

WC and Freo also pay a lot of money for WA football youth development and that has fallen off a cliff lately , I think Freo made 500k profit last year

Not exactly rolling in it
We are going to spend the $500k on blowing the soft cap and paying the tax according to our CEO. Its within the rules and I've been saying for over a year that the WA clubs should do it.

Pyke said last year we spend over the soft cap.

No idea how much that is though. Could be heaps, could be little.