Seriously , do these AFL honchos just sit around dreaming up ways to screw over WA football all day ?

Plenty of WA players are drafted. Don't know if you noticed but 19 of the WA squad from SOO don't play for WA clubs.

It's in everyone's interest that more good players are drafted from everywhere, but the AFL draft system is completely broken.

I just checked. Last two years only two blokes drafted in the top 20. Bo Allen (16) and Jacob Farrow(12) . 2/40.
So 5 %.
Are you happy with that output? 5%?
From a supposed powerhouse?
Should be 20%.
In the last two drafts WA haven't had any top 10 picks. 0/20.. 0%.
Surely that's not good?
As I said the AFL would be concerned with the numbers.
And you should be too.

Pyke said last year we spend over the soft cap.

No idea how much that is though. Could be heaps, could be little.
Every little advantage within the rules needs to be taken. The whole WA whingeing over Vicbias thing gets a laugh on here, but its undeniable that the clubs are at a notable disadvantage. How much do Assistant coaches even get paid under the soft cap rules? Enough for a Buckley or Ratten or Leppitsch or Goodwin or Longmire to move their families across the Nullarbor? There needs to be a financial incentive more than just offering the same money they could make in their home states.

All established clubs in traditional footy states should get the same distribution. This includes the Swans who have been around long enough

The WA clubs basically pay a huge tax because there is too many parasite pauper Vicco clubs

The real travesty is creating a rounde zero and extra bye for round zero clubs.
The two clubs that travel ten folds don’t get this bye.

This doesn’t make sense, but it does!
Growth market teams leg up
Vic teams with a chance to bring cup home leg up

Teams that don’t interest them in 2026
View attachment 2546724
Don’t forget old Collingwood and Geelong could do with an extra bye to rest during the year.

You know there's a salary cap in the WAFL, right?

As well as the WAFL teams(apart from WCE) all having a Colts team because outside of PSA, there's no other junior pathways?

I don't think WCE or Freo would particularly care about how the development pathways are set up, as long as it's better than current.

If the AFL were serious about junior development around the country, they'd implement a national program that's consistent across every state.

Having said that, the WAFL and SANFL are a lot more serious about their traditions than the VFL, which is almost purely a development league for east coast AFL sides. If they want to raise the overall talent pool, they need to incentivise the SA and WA clubs to bother investing in high performance for junior pathways that they have a chance to properly benefit from.

Currently they don't. They don't get the same broad access to talent pools that the northern clubs get, nor do they get the same amount of training access either(WCE and Freo asked last year and were promptly knocked back).

Nor do either state's clubs get their talent pathways paid for by the AFL, like Vic and the northern states enjoy.

So either all clubs should have an opportunity to attract the best youth from their zone and form a proper academy that trains and develops together, like the northern clubs do, or the AFL needs to decouple their funding form those clubs and turn them into AFL run academies instead and nobody gets any form of special access to any player, outside of father/son.

1. It's not just that. Why does Collingwood get more money than the WA clubs, despite having the most members and highest revenue, as well as traveling the least? Just one example.

2. WA(and I presume SA) clubs would be more than happy to spend their own money but they're gimped because of small Melbourne clubs and the northern clubs being unable to have access to the same funds.

The soft cap was brought in under pretense to stop the small clubs overspending and putting themselves in massive debt but all it did was utterly gimp the WA clubs, who need to spend more money to attract people west and have more support staff on hand for the amount of travel they do.
The AFL killed the VFL, Its didn’t die because we gave up on it, it was actively destroyed. Like most things footy related in VIC the AFL doesn’t want any competition

The soft cap was brought in to help the small clubs after the AFL gave fixture priority to the big clubs, the small clubs are only now in a position to spend the maximum allowed.

Not sure I’d be hold VIC up as an example of the AFL looking after the game, we have 100+ year old clubs folding and serious issues metro and regional.
Agreed, but in reality most if not all clubs are AFL franchises.

As it stands WA footy is governed by WA Football, which is funded by royalties from WC and Freo (licenses owned by WA Football) and revenue from Optus Stadium which is a WA govt asset.

You can make whatever case that the AFL should or should not distribute funds to the SANFL, WA Football, AFL Victoria - whoever, for junior development, but as it stands WA development is funded by WA.

AFL distributions per club are $26m on average. WC are at $18.5m and Freo $20.9m. So that's $12m that on average would go to WA ending up elsewhere. So why is there such a disparity? It's not like we are flying. That we fund WA footy from royalties is a separate issue. There are discrepancies of $5-10m+ between the WA clubs and other clubs that do not fund junior development. Why is the AFL giving Collingwood $5m more than WC then funding the Talent League from a separate pot?

The AFL effectively gives the premier money generated by other teams so they can run an academy to develop players and bypass the draft as a club expenditure. It's a joke.
AFL distributions are a shit show to work out, most likely on purpose.

In VIC clubs case, distributions is also include returns from the MCG and in Docklands case, the AFL get all the money from signage and pourage at the ground, it’s only in the last few years that the 3 small clubs have been given access that revenue stream. For over a decade we needed 30k to simply earn a dollar.

It’s true all clubs want to play home games at home. north Dogs and Saints have sold home games merely as a means of survival, when 1 65k crowd game at the mcg makes more money than a season at docklands something is seriously wrong, when a saints jumper sold game day earns Essendon a % profit, something is ****ed. Richmond sold home games to tas simply to avoid docklands because they needed extra income to pay for the rising costs of punt rd. a direct quote from the Richmond president

You also have to account for tv exposure, how much more does a WC sponsor pay then a saints sponsor, figure in, 12 home games, shown delayed on tv and 12 away games shown live (in WA). Vs say saints a year ago were on fta 7 x in the year.

And then you have Brisbane getting 5-10m more than any other established club whilst also wining 5 flags in 25 years……

You know there's a salary cap in the WAFL, right?

As well as the WAFL teams(apart from WCE) all having a Colts team because outside of PSA, there's no other junior pathways?

I don't think WCE or Freo would particularly care about how the development pathways are set up, as long as it's better than current.

If the AFL were serious about junior development around the country, they'd implement a national program that's consistent across every state.

Having said that, the WAFL and SANFL are a lot more serious about their traditions than the VFL, which is almost purely a development league for east coast AFL sides. If they want to raise the overall talent pool, they need to incentivise the SA and WA clubs to bother investing in high performance for junior pathways that they have a chance to properly benefit from.

Currently they don't. They don't get the same broad access to talent pools that the northern clubs get, nor do they get the same amount of training access either(WCE and Freo asked last year and were promptly knocked back).

Nor do either state's clubs get their talent pathways paid for by the AFL, like Vic and the northern states enjoy.

So either all clubs should have an opportunity to attract the best youth from their zone and form a proper academy that trains and develops together, like the northern clubs do, or the AFL needs to decouple their funding form those clubs and turn them into AFL run academies instead and nobody gets any form of special access to any player, outside of father/son.

1. It's not just that. Why does Collingwood get more money than the WA clubs, despite having the most members and highest revenue, as well as traveling the least? Just one example.

2. WA(and I presume SA) clubs would be more than happy to spend their own money but they're gimped because of small Melbourne clubs and the northern clubs being unable to have access to the same funds.

The soft cap was brought in under pretense to stop the small clubs overspending and putting themselves in massive debt but all it did was utterly gimp the WA clubs, who need to spend more money to attract people west and have more support staff on hand for the amount of travel they do.

The wider funding / distribution model is exceedingly complex, I don’t know how’s it’s all worked out, and I doubt anybody does. My club got significantly less than almost all clubs despite being a long way behind them, I don’t know why.

Strictly on the development debate, academies are in NSW and Qld because the AFL is in a major battle for young talent with other football codes. The academies were implemented as it was thought offering a direct pathway to their local AFL club was required to attract that talent. The other codes already have that, as they don’t have a draft. The players just get scouted and signed. On that score, the academies are working okay.

There’s no such battle for talent in Vic/SA/WA so there’s no academies.

Is it fair? Possibly not.

Vic has an AFL-run development system but it’s just that, it’s AFL-run. It’s independent of any senior clubs (AFL or state league). And it came about via the complete destruction of the VFA and the former club-tied Victorian pathways (zoning and VFL Under 19s). Clubs and entire leagues were shut down.

I think WA could have a similar program and the AFL would probably run it, but there’s no taxation without representation. The AFL would take control and I would say immediately de-couple it from any senior clubs - as they’re too self-interested to prioritise development. That’s what they found in Vic and they’d find the same elsewhere.

Distribution this, funding that. An earlier poster mentioned 2 out of the top 20 drafted kids were from WA. Probably 2 or 3x that were from Qld academies, it is what it is. How about we discuss the private school to football pipeline in Victoria. It seems like most of the kids drafted aren't associated with an academy and rather are from prestigious Melbourne (& Geelong Grammar) private schools. These kids in recent years have also been putting their hand up saying they don't want to move away, so don't draft me unless you're a vicco.
The arms race these schools have started between each other is well and good but it means less traditional methods of talent scouting are taking place. It's no secret indigenous participation has cratered, and those boys make some of the most entertaining players. We're losing our great game from AFL house to the draft while middle managers and mediocre old boys take out the undesirables and unwashed masses so their own ilk have more of a chance.

Simple - because the WA (and SA) football bodies won't hand over any control of their pathways.

You can't just say "give us all your money and we'll spend it at our leisure".

The AFL knows exactly what that will result in - the money going straight to WAFL clubs who will do what all football clubs do when they get money - buy players in bidding wars with other state league and local clubs. They money goes straight out of the game and into the pockets of state league players because the clubs don't do development, they just want to win state league flags.

In the eastern states the AFL funds development, but they also control it. They say where the money is spent. And they make major calls. They disbanded the VFL/AFL Under 19s and built the non club-affiliated Coates League instead. They disbanded both the AFL Reserves and the VFL Reserves because they deemed both to be a waste of money that weren't producing development outcomes. The VFL seniors and the AFL Reserves is now merged and the VFL Reserves disbanded. They set up the northern academies as the best way to capture young athletic talent in NSW and Queensland.

You don't just get given cash without handing over control of how it's spent.

So the AFL cant provide funding with caveats where the money goes?

Thats total BS because they do provide limited funding for specific programs.

And for some reason the AFL does not report development funding by state. Wonder why?

Spend at or under the soft cap then.

If the eagles were smart they’d launder their afl $$$ through a third party business and then use that money to make third party payments to players and rort the cap.

Put that $100m in the bank to WORK.

Ok you re obviously losing this debate if you are now simply suggesting salary cap rorting and "washing money" to pay third party deals.

So in other words the Eagles should cheat to catch up to the nepo baby clubs?

Because of the AFL policies propping up said nepo clubs.

Yep. Thanks for the advice.

I just checked. Last two years only two blokes drafted in the top 20. Bo Allen (16) and Jacob Farrow(12) . 2/40.
So 5 %.
Should be 20%.
Surely that's not good?
And you should be too.

Lets compare states and money 8nvested in academies / junior development.

Problem is the AFL wont release those figures.

Ok you re obviously losing this debate if you are now simply suggesting salary cap rorting and "washing money" to pay third party deals.

So in other words the Eagles should cheat to catch up to the nepo baby clubs?

Because of the AFL policies propping up said nepo clubs.

Yep. Thanks for the advice.

There’s 3 ways to get ahead in this comp. Fix your culture, cheat or be a northern club. And I don’t cheat. It is generally a hell of a lot easier to just be a northern club.

WA and SA should get 30-40% of funding for players development, the AFL puts into Victoria development.

SANFL and WAFL should get 30-40% of funding the AFL puts into the VFL. If they did this, you wouldn't have half the arguments.
So 5 %.
Should be 20%.
Surely that's not good?
And you should be too.

How does the number of WA players drafted impacted the AFL?

While people still show up to watch Freo and Eagles, there is no financial reason for Eagles to give a shit.

So 5 %.
Should be 20%.
Surely that's not good?
And you should be too.
That's an AFL problem ultimately, not a WCE or Freo one.

WA needs QLD style academies

They just need a state facility and academy like the SANFL now have for their juniors. SA are doing development superbly, I dunno why WA football doesn't copy their model exactly, as it's pretty much the same set up.

Then you double dip on academy development via the club's and their indigenous and multicultural academies. Really a club like west coast should be churning out NGA talent with their money and resources, not sure what they're doing. They should even be head hunting the most talented indigenous and multicultural athletes from other sports, kids in their early teens. They're the big dog in town but seem to act like the little one for some reason.

They just need a state facility and academy like the SANFL now have for their juniors. SA are doing development superbly, I dunno why WA football doesn't copy their model exactly, as it's pretty much the same set up.

Then you double dip on academy development via the club's and their indigenous and multicultural academies. Really a club like west coast should be churning out NGA talent with their money and resources, not sure what they're doing. They should even be head hunting the most talented indigenous and multicultural athletes from other sports, kids in their early teens. They're the big dog in town but seem to act like the little one for some reason.

To be fair, WCE has had a decent amount of NGA prospects join AFL lists in the last few seasons - real NGA prospects - speculative, regional based players who could otherwise be lost to the game.

It costs money to do that. WA clubs pay a royalty before profit. Freo paid 1.5m last year, I haven’t seen what WC paid but assuming it would be probably double Freo’s.

That money goes into the WAFL and funds their current setup which is run by the clubs and a long way behind the money and resources of every other state.

It’s seems to be a power struggle between the AFL and WAFL since the WA clubs aren’t owned by the AFL. The casualties are the WA kids who aren’t getting a fair shot at success since the pathways aren’t there yet the WA public pay more for footy to subsidise Northern clubs talent pathways.

It’s sad that no one is doing anything about it over here.

Distribution this, funding that. An earlier poster mentioned 2 out of the top 20 drafted kids were from WA. Probably 2 or 3x that were from Qld academies, it is what it is. How about we discuss the private school to football pipeline in Victoria. It seems like most of the kids drafted aren't associated with an academy and rather are from prestigious Melbourne (& Geelong Grammar) private schools. These kids in recent years have also been putting their hand up saying they don't want to move away, so don't draft me unless you're a vicco.
The arms race these schools have started between each other is well and good but it means less traditional methods of talent scouting are taking place. It's no secret indigenous participation has cratered, and those boys make some of the most entertaining players. We're losing our great game from AFL house to the draft while middle managers and mediocre old boys take out the undesirables and unwashed masses so their own ilk have more of a chance.
Was about to post this about the Victorian private school system which is effectively operating as defacto academy for Vic kids. Think I read a stat last years draft that something like 80% of Vic kids drafted acme through the private school system.

So 5 %.
Should be 20%.
Surely that's not good?
And you should be too.

Top 20 picks the 5 years before that:

2023: 2
2022: 4
2021: 4
2020: 3
2019: 3

Given over half the players in the AFL are from Victoria, WA's "share" per draft should be around 10-11 players per draft and 3-4 per top 20.

I would prefer there were more top 10 picks from WA but what do you want us to do about it exactly? Just hand the keys to WA footy to the AFL with their proven track record of caring about WA?

Was about to post this about the Victorian private school system which is effectively operating as defacto academy for Vic kids. Think I read a stat last years draft that something like 80% of Vic kids drafted acme through the private school system.

And it sucks when Geelong scouts gun kids from local state schools and suddenly St. Joeys or Grammar come calling offering these kids scholarships to attend their private schools. Under Mick Turner kids were actively informed that they needed to change schools if they were going to ever get into the Falcons!

Go and have a look at Grammar's sports facilities (they put many AFL club's training and re-hab facilities to shame!)

Geelong has benefitted quite a bit from their "Academy" system (state schools>private schools>falcons> Cats

AFL statement on how it allocated Vic NGA zones -

"alongside updated criteria and weightings, club requests, having each club hold a metropolitan and regional or remote region :), club heartland areas, serviceability of zones :):), infrastructure, the under 15 population in areas and the alignment to SA2 level (a bureau of statistics measurement)"

Vic Sample -

Richmond servicing Bendigo

1773205852021.webp

WA Sample:

WC servicing Newman

1773206410564.webp

Current Qan cheapest flights (getting there one way sort of reasonable, but have to get back)

1773206541690.webp
1773206562192.webp

One sure ain't like the other!

There’s 3 ways to get ahead in this comp. Fix your culture, cheat or be a northern club. And I don’t cheat. It is generally a hell of a lot easier to just be a northern club.

It's not cheating when your club is governed under different rules. :thumbsu:

Good for you.

Option 4. AFL don't have ridiculously different rules for 4 clubs in the competition that perpetrates rorting and an unequal competition.

Which is finally where we will end up.

Enjoy your AFL endorsed rorting while it lasts.