Opinion Setting up for a fall?

• Thread starter Thread starter Bluebear

Think it is too early to tell either way. However at this point in time I am perhaps leaning towards what Bluebear is raising here. Attitude has been a massive problem for this side for many years and for mine there are still signs that we are yet to become disciplined and composed to a level that befits a premiership side. However things are looking better and by years end hopefully we will have developed considerably in this area. Lets hope that Ratten and the MC are placing much attention into the areas of discipline and respect.

On a number of occasions it has been Robbo's long bombs into F50 which have created goals at a time when the opposition has been strangling our forward line.

The reality is you are not going to be able to spot up a forward everytime you go into F50. Sometimes the long bomb to the hotspot makes the defenders nervous & if you have a big bloke down there creating a crumb, that is when our small/medium forwards shine.

Agree with you about not always being able to spot up a forward, that's definitely true, but he does it almost every single time. It's like he just does it instinctively and if you're going to bomb it at least look at where your forwards are and if you haven't the opportunity to look (quick kick out of a pack or something) then direct it towards the boundary line in the F50 to try and create a stoppage in the F50.

If his long kicks go straight to opposition defenders then they have an easy rebound 50 and we have been hurt by those over the past few weeks, particularly the Essendon game.

Good luck and focus on the business mate, nothing to see here.

Yup, this thread is right up there with Hammo smirking after kicking a goal...normally BB is a pretty canny poster ..but this thread is terrible. :thumbsd:

images

;)

Welcome back BB - posts from analysists are always needed

:thumbsu:

I think there are some of us fearing we are not going as well as some others might think (and maybe have the odd pessimistic bone in their body)

Overall nothing much has changed - finish top four and pray you have no more than your share of injuries at the pointy end of the season

ps I think the OP has 'legend' under his name

I think we're better than we're showing. Much like the whole pre-season thing.

Call it arrogant if you will, but if it works at the pointy end of the season...

Well, we shall see I guess.

I don't beleive we are paying all our oponents, week to week, due respect.

We haven't achieved anything yet, and I fear some within our ranks are hanging their hats a little on smashing the Pies, which, while a good result, was a reflectn on the opposition as much as it was our superb effort.

Coming into a season defining month either side of the bye, we should not underestimate the Saints, Crows, Port at home and Dees, or we may go into a very tough patch under the pump and having squandered another promising start to the year.

BB

I don't entirely agree with the 'due respect' aspect of the OP, but there's a lot in there that is worthwhile.

If we take GWS as an example, it is beyond doubt we didn't go into that game as mentally sharp as we did against Cwood. The mental ability to 'get up' for certain games has been my biggest concern over the last few years, think Hawks and Dogs last year. Without question it is something we've been working on, and getting better at, but there's still a way to go in my opinion.

I think the point about hanging our hat on very little is a reflection of our inability as a club to deal with the inevitable media hype that comes with a rich vein of form. The footy media is relentless at best (I can't believe the hype over sliding has caused the AFL to change the rules mid season) and we need to learn to handle the expectations that come with success a little better. Honestly, I reckon once we develop a grasp of the mental aspects of the game commensurate with our physical skills, all of us will be sitting on here celebrating our first flag for almost two decades. :thumbsu:

Hampson shouldn't smile.

Aren't you over that yet? :cool:

When people start complaining about players smiling, theres too much negativity

That was simply relayed from a person who is generally upbeat about the club. It's just that I'm not too scared to say what is on my mind. Those who can't deal with cognitive dissonance will not let me live it down.

Aren't you over that yet? :cool:

That was simply relayed from a person who is generally upbeat about the club. It's just that I'm not too scared to say what is on my mind. Those who can't deal with cognitive dissonance will not let me live it down.

Every now and then someone writes something on these forums that is so remarkable that it deserves repeating by all who are amused by it. Those who fail to learn from history are condemned to repeat it. etcetera etcetera.

It's football, Wookie. If I believe Hampson is currently a bit in love with himself then get over it!

I believe I am currently in love with Shaun Hampson. I think you need to get over the fact that the majority are enjoying his footy at the moment. You've made your point, now move on.

I disagree with a lot of the negative sentiments, but can Ratts PLEASE stop mentioning "how Geelong did it last year, that was successful, resting players, we're trying to do that" etc. Sure, we're going to do it, but why publicise it every week? It does give the impression that these run-of-the-mill, home & away games are sacrificable and unimportant. More of a chuckleworthy observation than an actual gripe, but he just can't help himself. "Uhhhh...ran out of things to say...Geelong! Rotations. Yes! We'll do that."

The game has gotten incredibly scientific. These days coaches spend more time looking at KPIs than players.
Coaches know, just by comparing KPIs, whether their team should win. Doesn’t necessarily mean they will win, but rather they should.
Ratten would have looked at the KPIs and known we’d have to have 7 injuries to not beat GWS, and that this meant we could afford to do some different things, and rest some players, and still win the game.
The only concern, if there is one, is all this talk and tweaking of tactics might get to the players’ heads, but I don’t think it will.
I actually think this playing group, most of them anyhow, know where they are at, and this is a good thing.
They have made finals 3 years straight, had heart break along the way, they know what they need to do now. It is a sign of a maturity that they know what they are capable of and what is required.
So they know they don’t have to totally 110% bust their butt every game, they know they can preserve themselves X amount and in turn this should limit the risk of injury, in what is becoming a ridiculously dangerous game with injuries left right and centre.
The team is pacing themselves beautifully.
They are ‘up’ for the big challenges, like Coll.
The Ess game was probably another little lesson along the way, a let down after they had their most significant win in over 10 years.
The other thing to remember is the injuries in that game – Carrots gone early, Laidler could barely run let alone turn, Yazz was restricted and ended up coming off, and Curnow was on one leg.
Cast your mind back, the only major losses we have had since the start of 2011 have been when we have been cruelled by injury – WC and Ess.
The Dogs game, in retrospect, we were absolutely robbed by the umps – go see the game again and tell me the umps didn’t ruin us and directly impact on the game.
We beat GWS last week by 11 gaols without winning the clearances and hard ball count, and without Judd, Carrazzo, Curnow, Waite, and Yarran. The first three are 3 of our 4 main on-ballers.
And yet we still won with ease, apparently tweaking the game plan as we went.
I see this as calculated risk, resting and innovation.
Look the game is getting more and more demanding on players, and game plans are having more and more impact on success – the club are working with these ‘realities’ beautifully, they have learnt from Geelong that you need to rest players (and frankly having won or not having won a flag means nothing, it is the act of recognising resting players is good management that counts), they are aware there are more and more injuries nowadays, they are aware game plans are changing all the time and you need to be ahead of the game, they are aware also I suspect you don’t want to give away our your cards too early, keep opp coaches guessing.
This team didn’t beat a top 4 side all year last year, but you know what, they went close to winning in nearly all these games.
They were a smidgen off the pace in 2011 and I think in 2012 have the cattle to really compete.
The players might have got ahead of themselves after the Coll game, but all that means is they will be less likely to fall for this trap again
They’re still developing, but they are closer to what it takes now than they ever have been
We’re second on the ladder btw, maybe you missed that? Best start to a year since 1995.
And you think we have problems?
Let’s see how we take St.K on on Monday night.
I’m guessing we will win the game.

The Dogs game, in retrospect, we were absolutely robbed by the umps – go see the game again and tell me the umps didn’t ruin us and directly impact on the game.

Lets not be the supporter group that blame losses on umpires and injuries.

We would have lost the WC game regardless of the injury to Jamison as we were beaten all over the ground that day.

We played badly all of the Doggies game and only got to a 4 goal lead early on in the game on the back of some generous frees/50m penalties. Also unlucky to get Cooney on his 1 standout game for the season.