SFL 2009 Division 1 Official Thread

Just a pat on the back to the st kilda city players who came over for a few beers with the st pauls boys on mad monday.

Although they probably weren't expecting us to be on ackland st, mcnamara, tasiyan & co were good sports and shared a few brews.
just wondering if you went up to tasiyan and told him you'd bagged him on here?

Just a pat on the back to the st kilda city players who came over for a few beers with the st pauls boys on mad monday.

Although they probably weren't expecting us to be on ackland st, mcnamara, tasiyan & co were good sports and shared a few brews.

Ditto on behalf of the City boys. The beer was cold, the banter was good and everyone was friendly from both sides of the fence. :thumbsu:

The Lancefield Football/Netball Club is a succesful family club affiliated in the Riddell District Football League. Season 2009 saw the club return to the top, with the senior team taking out the premiership.

We are currently seeking expressions of interest for season 2010 in the following positions:
  • Senior football coach
  • Reserves football coach
  • Under 18's football coach
Applications close Friday October 9, 2009.

Anybody with interest PM me for more details, or email the club at info@lancefieldfc.org.au

Koach you are a stooge.

EFL Div 1 is a good standard but Jay would be a walk up start don't you worry.

I'm positive that an SFL Div 3 player from a couple of years ago is playing in a Div 1 side and was in the best in their loss to Vermont on the weekend ?

Please enlighten us who is this player?:rolleyes:

The Lancefield Football/Netball Club is a succesful family club affiliated in the Riddell District Football League. Season 2009 saw the club return to the top, with the senior team taking out the premiership.

We are currently seeking expressions of interest for season 2010 in the following positions:
  • Senior football coach
  • Reserves football coach
  • Under 18's football coach
Applications close Friday October 9, 2009.

Anybody with interest PM me for more details, or email the club at info@lancefieldfc.org.au

Where the hell is Lancefield??:rolleyes:

you talking someone's character down on here you f..kin tosser get a life

Totally agree RRM, Boots came to city to play with Gav,Dobbers & the stinears he played with us in 2007 when available as well, he left port because the alignment destroyed his chances of playing senior footy after playing 12 games the year before. Ripper player and bloke.

Jay trained at Port pre season and broke a couple of time trial records
missed a couple of sessions and got told he lacked commitment, he would play VFL on his ear, but having not come thru the system that produces lots of duds mind you, it seems his opportunity has passed him by, but he might get a gig a Sandy he is good enough

Get seriouis you Stooge Jay Bruno aint in the top 5 best in this league.
He is and always be a frunt runner most people at City no this is a fact with him.
As for my knowledge of the EFL I would back myself against yours anyday;)

Get serious , he is the best small man in the comp and would play EFL Div 1, just for your info Balwyn,Noble Park,East Burwood & Vermont were all at SFL GF looking for recruits

Please enlighten us who is this player?:rolleyes:
David Black is th player your after. Kicked 5 in a loosing side and was best on ground for Croydon. Played for Dandy in 07. Max Melzer has been a regular in the best for balwyn and he is a previous ressies b&f at canterbury, but has really kicked on.

Totally agree RRM, Boots came to city to play with Gav,Dobbers & the stinears he played with us in 2007 when available as well, he left port because the alignment destroyed his chances of playing senior footy after playing 12 games the year before. Ripper player and bloke.

missed a couple of sessions and got told he lacked commitment
, he would play VFL on his ear, but having not come thru the system that produces lots of duds mind you, it seems his opportunity has passed him by, but he might get a gig a Sandy he is good enough

Yeah I heard he had an argument with the coach at Port Melb so the coach told him to piss off. But he was definitely good enough to play for them.

Thanks for all the input fellas but i still say Jay Bruno aint up to VFL standard.
He is a good player when the team is doing well.
He wont win you too many games off his own boot.
And good luck to him as i am sure he is a good bloke like most i bag on here;)

just wondering if you went up to tasiyan and told him you'd bagged him on here?

i did actually.

was probably the first thing i said to him.

i have never given him shit as a person off the field, only ever commented on him as a player, and thats an opinion, which i am entitled to.

Thanks for all the input fellas but i still say Jay Bruno aint up to VFL standard.
He is a good player when the team is doing well.
He wont win you too many games off his own boot.
And good luck to him as i am sure he is a good bloke like most i bag on here;)

Well we'll soon see. My sources tell me he's going to be trying out for Collingwood's VFL side so stay tuned.

missed a couple of sessions and got told he lacked commitment, he would play VFL on his ear, but having not come thru the system that produces lots of duds mind you, it seems his opportunity has passed him by, but he might get a gig a Sandy he is good enough

Thats total BS Jay bruno did not make port because he was not up to the standard.
I can tell you that on good authority as i know the team maneger at port.
The only thing he broke down there was his ego so stop the rubbish.....

Now I have some spare time I will answer my own questions!!

1. Who is the most likely team to break into the top 5 in 2010?
Dingley or Heatherton. Plenty of talk on GF day that the Tonners are going to have a fair crack in 2010 and have already spoken to quite a few very good recruits.
2. Who is the most likely team to drop out of the top 5 in 2010?
Mordialloc. A lot went right this year and they got under the radar to a certain degree. Unless they are able to recruit a big forward and a ruckman they may find themselves being overtaken.
3. What does St Pauls/Chelsea Heights/Cheltenham/Mordialloc have to do to catch up or overtake City?
For us, we need a few quality onballers. With McKenzie back, we have more than enough quality in the KP.
4. How will Heatherton fare in Div 1 in 2010?
They will be around the mark. I'd say 5th-7th.
5. Should it be mandatory for all Div 1 clubs to field a Colts side?
Yes. Once clubs realise that kids are the lifeblood for local clubs the better off they will be. Each week should be a triple header in Div 1.
6. Where should the league look to have the finals series in 2010?
It has to be Trevor Barker Oval. Of the local grounds, if the surface can be improved, Cheltenham. There is a bit of a ground swell of support for this.
7. Who will be next seasons big recruit (like Poyas/Ward this year)?
Luke James back to St Pauls or is he heading to the Heighters with his mate Phil Smith? I would expect RH to try and lure either Matt Whelan or Paul Wheatley to the Peanut Farm.
8. Should Jay Bruno have a crack at playing at a higher level (i.e. VFL)?
Yes. He is good enough. I have seen more than enough VFL footy over the past few years and he is more than up to it.Likewise the EFL, he would walk straight into a Vermont or Balwyn.
9. Should a points system (like the one in the MPNFL) be introduced to curb huge spending?
Not this year but it should be investigated. It would force clubs to put a bigger influence on junior development and player retention rather than splashing out the cheque books.
10. Which opposition club does your club get along with the best?

St Pauls. Both clubs have a huge respect for each other and have enjoyed some great battles over the years.

St Pauls FC Best & Fairest

Seniors Best and Fairest: Travis Ridgway
Seniors Runner Up: Peter Mercoulio

Reserves Best and Fairest: Chris McMahon
Reserves Runner Up: Owen Lewis

Colts Best and Fairest: Kieron Knox
Colts Runner Up: Will Chum

Well done to all players

St Pauls FC Best & Fairest

Seniors Best and Fairest: Travis Ridgway
Seniors Runner Up: Peter Mercoulio

Reserves Best and Fairest: Chris McMahon
Reserves Runner Up: Owen Lewis

Colts Best and Fairest: Kieron Knox
Colts Runner Up: Will Chum

Well done to all players

Well done and come to Stkilda city $$$$$

Neutral observer but will have a stab...

1. Who is the most likely team to break into the top 5 in 2010?
Dingley have the youth and support to continue to improve.
2. Who is the most likely team to drop out of the top 5 in 2010?
I would say Mordi as well, although Chelt would only need to lose a couple of key players to come back to the pack. But decent depth will keep them competitive.
3. What does St Pauls/Chelsea Heights/Cheltenham/Mordialloc have to do to catch up or overtake City?
St Pauls - dominant ruckman and big defender. Heights - Power forward and key defender. Chelt - 2-3 gun mids + key defender. Mord - 1 extra class player on every line.
4. How will Heatherton fare in Div 1 in 2010?
Would need to recruit well to trouble finalists. Current team = 7-8th.
5. Should it be mandatory for all Div 1 clubs to field a Colts side?
Yes. 2010 should be the last optional year.
6. Where should the league look to have the finals series in 2010?
Springy is OK - no reason it couldn't be spread across a few venues though. Chelt is too small for a decent game of footy at Div 1, Good viewing but not conducive to good footy. Need planty of work on surface. But could be OK for Div 2-3. Clayton is in the same category.
7. Who will be next seasons big recruit (like Poyas/Ward this year)?
McKenzie effectively recruit for Chelt will be huge. No doubt StKC will lure 1-2 big names (Hassan back??). Also expect Mordi/Dingley will go hard at a few with $$. With this years top 6 having juniors, expect the gap to widen between top and bottom.
8. Should Jay Bruno have a crack at playing at a higher level (i.e. VFL)?
Absolutely. Would easily play VFL/EFL and be a valuable player in either.
9. Should a points system (like the one in the MPNFL) be introduced to curb huge spending?
Eventually this is the only way to maintain an even and competitive comp, but can't work until juniors are mandated at every grade.
10. Which opposition club does your club get along with the best?
N/A but in my experience the guys at St Pauls, Heights, Chelt and Clayton always seem to be up for a chat and a drink after the game.