SFL 2010 Division 1 Thread

St Kilda City fishing in their favourite recruiting pond, Port Colts.

Danny Jacobs, Chrissy Brennan and two others headed to the Penut Farm in 2010.

Wouldn't surprise me to see Clark their coach joining them also,seeing his day's as a player in WRFL Div 1 are well and truly over,very ordinary season and another poor final series,will apreciate the drop in Standard and start kicking goals again.

Just a very strong rumour i heard from a number of people.

Wouldn't surprise me to see Clark their coach joining them also,seeing his day's as a player in WRFL Div 1 are well and truly over,very ordinary season and another poor final series,will apreciate the drop in Standard and start kicking goals again.

Funniest post I think I've ever read on here. Drop in standard??? Mate, what are you watching? SFL is a much stronger comp played and ran more professionally. City are pretty much set on the forward line and I can tell you with 99.9% certainty Clarke won't be at the Farm next year.

What about the others???:confused:
So much for giving the kids a go at City we will be talking to some of those kids to join our club;)
Do you think is it real that trading platform

dont know about the drop in standard comment, we played port colt 4 years back and beat them by 5 goals, they never threatened and they had a full side cos john lindsey was there and speaking to him after. western league is prob the worst of all the major suburb leagues as in E/N/S/W/. think thats the year they won the flag to.

Whether this is true or not, I think that Richard would get alot more credit and respect as a coach if he were to achieve something with a home grown list rather than imports like he has in the past.

If St Kilda City were to win a flag next year with 5 or 6 of this years Colts (who went through undefeated), it would to me, be a hell of a lot more satisfying than bringing in another batch of players who are in essence mercanaries.

This would also dispel the theory that he is a shite coach, an opinion that I myself hold after listening to him at thw quarter time breaks over the past few seasons and standing behind his coaching bench on a few occasions.

As someone who is obviously acutely aware of his public perception and the stigma that he brings, by taking the youth route, he could not only improve his standing in the game, but also in the minds of local footy watchers.

Just my two cents.

I think you are way off the mark, we have had a 4 year gap between our last u18 and and the present one, we are as a club committed to bringing juniors thru.

The facts are it is nearly impossible to build a local team to win a division1 flag thru junior system, 4 of our better kids are at TAC clubs already?

Richard hasnt recruited a player to StKilda City since Casset/Dimachki

We had 8 2005 divvy 2 premiership players in this years team thats nearly
half. I'd suggest thats a fair effort in an era where players come & go regurlarly.

How many locals did chelsea have ? Who recruited more players this season Chelsea Heights or StKilda City?

People have become obsessed by City but we are not doing anything spectacular when it boils down.

I for one am not obsessed by City mate, was just putting my thoughts forward on how Richard can gain some respect in this competition.....something of which he doesn't have.

Saying that he hasnt recruited a player since Casset/Mimo is the biggest load of tripe of all time. I personally know for a fact that Murray Silver was coaxed from Rowville for $30,000 over two seasons. He said that money was simply too good to refuse.

Salim Hassan was also offered a similar figure to be playing assistant coach last season. This is also FACT.

Richard doesn't have to directly recruit a player personally to gain benefit. The money that he puts into the club does the job when the club are talking to perspective recruits.
Take his financial input away and is the club able to pay the likes of Myles Quinn, Silver, Ward, Poyas...the list goes on. You cannot tell me that without this, these players would be at the club. (I know they wouldnt so you dont have to try and explain it to me!)

It is possible if you are totally invested in it B2B. Look at St Pauls...not too many imports in that side, yet they have had greast success in Div 1.

On the Chelsea locals, these blokes have been juniors there or have been at the club for a long time.....Paul Wineberg, David Jensen, Jarryd Uren, Michael Roberts, Phillip Matheson, Travis Coote, Jayden Attard, Damien Costante, Michael Omond...plus plenty more that didn't play GF day. Puppet has done a great job down there.

you are kidding yourself if you think the wrfl is a better standard than sfl i was at both grand finals i can tell you now both chelsea and city would shit on spotswood

I can tell you 100% i will not be at city, i wouldn't piss on that shit hole and i'm sure they feel the same about me.
Also i agree with red room milkn that city and chelsea would smash spotty, just as colts should of.
Though sometimes teams just don't perform on the day, like city didn't perform their best in 2008 against st.pauls, comparing those two list city should have won that flag by 10 goals.
SFL is the best metro comp, and if it's not they at least have the best metro team....no one would beat city just ask them!!

I can tell you 100% i will not be at city, i wouldn't piss on that shit hole and i'm sure they feel the same about me.
Also i agree with red room milkn that city and chelsea would smash spotty, just as colts should of.
Though sometimes teams just don't perform on the day, like city didn't perform their best in 2008 against st.pauls, comparing those two list city should have won that flag by 10 goals.
SFL is the best metro comp, and if it's not they at least have the best metro team....no one would beat city just ask them!!

Thanks for adding the 0.01% ROCK!

Are you able to confirm or deny that Jacobs and Brannan will be at the Farm next year or will the Colts look to try and lure a few Saints in the opposite direction??

efl>sfl

Thanks for adding the 0.01% ROCK!

Are you able to confirm or deny that Jacobs and Brannan will be at the Farm next year or will the Colts look to try and lure a few Saints in the opposite direction??

I'm unsure of what those guys are doing, i will probably not coach nest year, so i think the club is keen for D.Jacobs to coach the club.
As for Brannan i think he has some good friends at city on and off the field so that may get him over the line.
Colts are in no position to compete with city so i highly doubt we would attempt to get any of their players.

I for one am not obsessed by City mate, was just putting my thoughts forward on how Richard can gain some respect in this competition.....something of which he doesn't have.

Saying that he hasnt recruited a player since Casset/Mimo is the biggest load of tripe of all time. I personally know for a fact that Murray Silver was coaxed from Rowville for $30,000 over two seasons. He said that money was simply too good to refuse.

Salim Hassan was also offered a similar figure to be playing assistant coach last season. This is also FACT.

Richard doesn't have to directly recruit a player personally to gain benefit. The money that he puts into the club does the job when the club are talking to perspective recruits.
Take his financial input away and is the club able to pay the likes of Myles Quinn, Silver, Ward, Poyas...the list goes on. You cannot tell me that without this, these players would be at the club. (I know they wouldnt so you dont have to try and explain it to me!)

It is possible if you are totally invested in it B2B. Look at St Pauls...not too many imports in that side, yet they have had greast success in Div 1.

On the Chelsea locals, these blokes have been juniors there or have been at the club for a long time.....Paul Wineberg, David Jensen, Jarryd Uren, Michael Roberts, Phillip Matheson, Travis Coote, Jayden Attard, Damien Costante, Michael Omond...plus plenty more that didn't play GF day. Puppet has done a great job down there.
super are you murrays account keeper

I think you are way off the mark, we have had a 4 year gap between our last u18 and and the present one, we are as a club committed to bringing juniors thru.

The facts are it is nearly impossible to build a local team to win a division1 flag thru junior system, 4 of our better kids are at TAC clubs already?

Richard hasnt recruited a player to StKilda City since Casset/Dimachki

We had 8 2005 divvy 2 premiership players in this years team thats nearly
half. I'd suggest thats a fair effort in an era where players come & go regurlarly.

How many locals did chelsea have ? Who recruited more players this season Chelsea Heights or StKilda City?

People have become obsessed by City but we are not doing anything spectacular when it boils down.

The stuff down at the farm must be good because you spin some shit mate:eek:
Look, i've found this reliable! profitable forex system

I wish mate!! 10% of that would be nice!

Good kanga and would have been mad to knock it back.
i have no doubt murray is well looked after and so he should be judging by his grand final performance but just wondering how you know it as FACT as you said

From someone very, very close to the situation.

That's alot of pies to be sold in the canteen if the cockroach isn't tipping in plenty!

As I have said in the past though MilkMan, what your club do is their business and doesn't really bother me a whole lot, it just sets the bar higher for the rest of us and makes it all the sweeter if we are able to have success.

Geez Rock, as a senior member of your club and someone who knows clubs politics well ,to get on here and bag a footy club is ordinary form, considering the topic concerning you was written supposedly by a psuedo ports colts man. Although i dont know you that well personally , I respect what you and your footy club have achieved, not many have the record you have. Never seen a stkilda city person of note call your club a shithole and also you would be more than welcome to do pre season,LOL

True, we blew it last year, Eastern is the best metro comp by far, and yes we are beatable and good luck with what you do in future.

As I have said in the past though MilkMan, what your club do is their business and doesn't really bother me a whole lot, it just sets the bar higher for the rest of us and makes it all the sweeter if we are able to have success.

Fact,
Salim Hassan was always going to the sanfl last year and he signed for two years, so you mail was crap, if he was to stay in melbourne he was going to be employed by a sponsor in the fitness field, so thats the facts

Fact,
Murray Silver was not offered a cent to come to StKilda City,,he approached us around november last year thru his good mate
myles quinn and wanted to talk about making a move saw us a chance at winning a flag, at this time Casset was still a Stkilda City player and it was decided we would go with Murray
2 year deals $30k , is just crap, right now the clubs not sure if murray
is playing on next year, we dont have 2 year deals and he was not getting anywhere near 15k,

Fact, we have over 20 fantastic sponsors which contribute between 2-10k each for a total around 70k to our coffers.

I cant believe you can city and then defend Chelsea Heights on what they spend vs City.

Im not critical of ChelseaHeights they've done a great job, but you have spend plenty to have success, these figures I believe would be market value, you seem to be the football manager and wage controller at many clubs, what are your thoughts SUPERFREAK

If you can disprove me, be my guest, if you cant piss off and write about
other clubs you giving everyone the shits. Your sr=arting to border on becoming the new KOach

Especially from a piss poor club like cheltenham who talk the talk, but never walk the walk, no one respects them they are a waste of space:thumbsu::)

That's alot of pies to be sold in the canteen if the cockroach isn't tipping in plenty!

The facts are you know nothing about Murray or Salim or Richard or StKilda City, you' re not the footy manager nor the treasurer nor the prersident nor are you on the coaching staff, so dont claim to know anything becauser you are making DH of yourself, the Koach tried the same method/path and got flogged off here for talking crap and having his theories destroyed time and again, if you want to really know the facts PM me and we can have a coffee,

The facts are you are involved with a club who talks the talk and never walks the walk on the field. No one respects Cheltenham because there football team have achieved "0". Cheltenham
many years ago won a Division 2 flag and reneged on being promoted because they werent ready????? then went on to win another Div 2 flag
and flogged themselves to death about how good they were, the facts your club has and will always carry the stigma of that decision as being underachievers to not have the balls to take the next step when you should have /could have!

Also for the people who have short memeories StKilda City played in the 2001/02 Division 1 GFS , prior to Richard being at the club, what happened then who paid the players then?

Salim Hassan was always going to the sanfl last year and he signed for two years, so you mail was crap, if he was to stay in melbourne he was going to be employed by a sponsor in the fitness field, so thats the facts

My mail came from the man himself. The offer was before 2009 to come back to Melbourne after he played at Westies in 2008.

** Take note he left West Adelaide mid year this season and will play at Sturt in 2010...but I'm sure you are already aware of this!

Murray Silver was not offered a cent to come to StKilda City,,he approached us around november last year thru his good mate myles quinn and wanted to talk about making a move saw us a chance at winning a flag, at this time Casset was still a Stkilda City player and it was decided we would go with Murray 2 year deals $30k , is just crap, right now the clubs not sure if murray
is playing on next year, we dont have 2 year deals and he was not getting anywhere near 15k

If thats the line you want to spit out then fine, but I stand by the figure that I have named. No point arguing the fact, it just comes down to a case of 'he said, she said'. As I said, it came from a very close source. May be you should chat to the coach about it, as you obviously are a bit out of the loop on this one!

I cant believe you can city and then defend Chelsea Heights on what they spend vs City.

Vlahov - minimum 600plus from balwyn
Attard - afl - minmum 600 plus
Beasy Frankston - 500 plus
Ash Roberts - 500 plus
Flack - around 12-15 k
Ogier - 400 plus
Turner- 400 plus

Im not critical of ChelseaHeights they've done a great job, but you have spend plenty to have success, these figures I believe would be market value, you seem to be the football manager and wage controller at many clubs, what are your thoughts SUPERFREAK

If thats what you think it shows how much you overrate/over pay for players.
If you cant attract players by giving them a good culture/social environment and good team, I suppose you have to fork out big moolah don't ya!
Now on those names......
Vlahov joined CH through a mate and I would suggest is on half that figure.
Attard was alaways going back there after St Kilda and from knowing him, he isnt the type of bloke to ask for big $$$.
Beasy is another that had mates at the club and was always going to play there.
Same again with Ash Roberts.
Your figure on Flack is deadset laughable and shows how out of touch with reality you are. Most blokes/coaches are attracted to clubs by their good culture and the way the club is run. You will be amazed what coaches at other top 5 clubs get....nowhere near that amount.
Not sure on Ogier and Turner but acknowledge they are probably well paid. Both good players but even still $400 is big money. That would make them the highest paid player at our club....by miles!

Just for interest sake, what would M.Shalders/E.McKenzie/D.Dunne be worth on the open market?? (This is a test to see how far off you really are!) ;)

If you can disprove me, be my guest, if you cant piss off and write about other clubs you giving everyone the shits. Your sr=arting to border on becoming the new KOach

Not giving anyone the shits, just yourself, as this information is supposed to be kept in house (or it is at any well run club), yet somehow almost everyone in the entire comp knows about it.....some of your players/members/officials have extremely loose lips and love to boost their ego.

Especially from a piss poor club like cheltenham who talk the talk, but never walk the walk, no one respects them they are a waste of space

This has nothing to do with my club, its personal opinion. All this started by me saying that Richard (and your club for that matter) would gain a alot more respect if their acheived something with kids rather than mercanaries. I think that is pretty valid.
In defence of my club (who you just attacked....immature move) I will just say that whilst we have not acheived success on the field over the past how ever many years, we are a touch more successful than your club off it.
Off field success breeds on field success, very rarely the other way around.
Our clubs have different values, and that is fine.
Its fair to say that if you did a pop quiz amongst fellow SFL clubs, we would come out well on top of your lot when it comes to the "R" word.

PS. Good to see you could pay your affiliation fees on time this year (week before finals). ;)

Also for the people who have short memeories StKilda City played in the 2001/02 Division 1 GFS , prior to Richard being at the club, what happened then who paid the players then?

Ah yes the famous Jeff Hogg/Frank Bissotto days.....well tell us where did the cash come from then??? And what happened when it ran out?? Please enlighten the readers on here.
I will just sit back and see how you answer this one!
For someone who has been around the club as long as you, I thought you would know by now that this topic in particular is a no-win situation!

The facts are you know nothing about Murray or Salim or Richard or StKilda City, you' re not the footy manager nor the treasurer nor the prersident nor are you on the coaching staff, so dont claim to know anything becauser you are making DH of yourself, the Koach tried the same method/path and got flogged off here for talking crap and having his theories destroyed time and again, if you want to really know the facts PM me and we can have a coffee,

The facts are you are involved with a club who talks the talk and never walks the walk on the field. No one respects Cheltenham because there football team have achieved "0". Cheltenham
many years ago won a Division 2 flag and reneged on being promoted because they werent ready????? then went on to win another Div 2 flag
and flogged themselves to death about how good they were, the facts your club has and will always carry the stigma of that decision as being underachievers to not have the balls to take the next step when you should have /could have!

This guy is a dill City paid big dollars at that time how the club got the money is a mystery or is it??:rolleyes:
Maybe we should ask the guy that runs the club??
I am sure he will be very honest with us:D

My mail came from the man himself. The offer was before 2009 to come back to Melbourne after he played at Westies in 2008.

** Take note he left West Adelaide mid year this season and will play at Sturt in 2010...but I'm sure you are already aware of this!

If thats the line you want to spit out then fine, but I stand by the figure that I have named. No point arguing the fact, it just comes down to a case of 'he said, she said'. As I said, it came from a very close source. May be you should chat to the coach about it, as you obviously are a bit out of the loop on this one!

If thats what you think it shows how much you overrate/over pay for players.
If you cant attract players by giving them a good culture/social environment and good team, I suppose you have to fork out big moolah don't ya!
Now on those names......
Vlahov joined CH through a mate and I would suggest is on half that figure.
Attard was alaways going back there after St Kilda and from knowing him, he isnt the type of bloke to ask for big $$$.
Beasy is another that had mates at the club and was always going to play there.
Same again with Ash Roberts.
Your figure on Flack is deadset laughable and shows how out of touch with reality you are. Most blokes/coaches are attracted to clubs by their good culture and the way the club is run. You will be amazed what coaches at other top 5 clubs get....nowhere near that amount.
Not sure on Ogier and Turner but acknowledge they are probably well paid. Both good players but even still $400 is big money. That would make them the highest paid player at our club....by miles!

Just for interest sake, what would M.Shalders/E.McKenzie/D.Dunne be worth on the open market?? (This is a test to see how far off you really are!) ;)

Not giving anyone the shits, just yourself, as this information is supposed to be kept in house (or it is at any well run club), yet somehow almost everyone in the entire comp knows about it.....some of your players/members/officials have extremely loose lips and love to boost their ego.

This has nothing to do with my club, its personal opinion. All this started by me saying that Richard (and your club for that matter) would gain a alot more respect if their acheived something with kids rather than mercanaries. I think that is pretty valid.
In defence of my club (who you just attacked....immature move) I will just say that whilst we have not acheived success on the field over the past how ever many years, we are a touch more successful than your club off it.
Off field success breeds on field success, very rarely the other way around.
Our clubs have different values, and that is fine.
Its fair to say that if you did a pop quiz amongst fellow SFL clubs, we would come out well on top of your lot when it comes to the "R" word.

PS. Good to see you could pay your affiliation fees on time this year (week before finals). ;)

Ah yes the famous Jeff Hogg/Frank Bissotto days.....well tell us where did the cash come from then??? And what happened when it ran out?? Please enlighten the readers on here.
I will just sit back and see how you answer this one!
For someone who has been around the club as long as you, I thought you would know by now that this topic in particular is a no-win situation!
your obsession with city is becoming a little sickening
like standing behind our coaches box and following the coach around.....haha