SFL 2010 Division 1 Thread

Not at all RedRoomMilkn. Just pulling old b2b up on a few little things!

I do find it interesting though that minute Richard was accussed of the whole Parkmore saga, he came on here and defended himself immediately (as he should have, as it was a crock of shit), but he is nowhere to be seen when these comments are made. If they were so far off the mark (as the Parkmore ones were), I'm sure he would be on here putting the story straight.

OK, enough from me on City. Was just trying to get a bit of footy talk going, and as I have refrained on making comment on these subjects this season and left it to others, I thought I would try and generate some discussion purely based on opinion.

Anything that other posters want to discuss?

Not at all RedRoomMilkn. Just pulling old b2b up on a few little things!

I do find it interesting though that minute Richard was accussed of the whole Parkmore saga, he came on here and defended himself immediately (as he should have, as it was a crock of shit), but he is nowhere to be seen when these comments are made. If they were so far off the mark (as the Parkmore ones were), I'm sure he would be on here putting the story straight.

OK, enough from me on City. Was just trying to get a bit of footy talk going, and as I have refrained on making comment on these subjects this season and left it to others, I thought I would try and generate some discussion purely based on opinion.

Anything that other posters want to discuss?

I still think its a bit rich city trying to compare themselves to Chelsea in the money stakes
As i am sure they have approached a few of those guys already to up the anty....
Everybody knows about the famous $$$ call from City

Geez Rock, as a senior member of your club and someone who knows clubs politics well ,to get on here and bag a footy club is ordinary form, considering the topic concerning you was written supposedly by a psuedo ports colts man. Although i dont know you that well personally , I respect what you and your footy club have achieved, not many have the record you have. Never seen a stkilda city person of note call your club a shithole and also you would be more than welcome to do pre season,LOL

True, we blew it last year, Eastern is the best metro comp by far, and yes we are beatable and good luck with what you do in future.

Way off the mark there champ,try a club a fair way over the bridge,was surprised at Rock's comments myself but then after all he would know your club better than me.Sounds like i was told wrong going by his comments,but then again that was what i was told.

Milkin who did you play with in the WRFL to make you an expert,i was just commenting on what i have seen first hand.

Geez Rock, as a senior member of your club and someone who knows clubs politics well ,to get on here and bag a footy club is ordinary form, considering the topic concerning you was written supposedly by a psuedo ports colts man. Although i dont know you that well personally , I respect what you and your footy club have achieved, not many have the record you have. Never seen a stkilda city person of note call your club a shithole and also you would be more than welcome to do pre season,LOL

True, we blew it last year, Eastern is the best metro comp by far, and yes we are beatable and good luck with what you do in future.

Rod, please mate you should know of all people, especially with what is written about your footy club on here that firstly never to take it seriously and secondly never take it to heart. It took me a while to learn that on here.
So i did it to get a bite and it was all in sarcasm, so no need to get to upset.
Your club has done well over the last few years and no matter how it's done all your opposition is envious!!!
Good Luck in 2010, i look fwd to watching a few games.
I also think you have a very good water boy ....Mitch Clarke...my cousin buddy

Rod, please mate you should know of all people, especially with what is written about your footy club on here that firstly never to take it seriously and secondly never take it to heart. It took me a while to learn that on here.
So i did it to get a bite and it was all in sarcasm, so no need to get to upset.
Your club has done well over the last few years and no matter how it's done all your opposition is envious!!!
Good Luck in 2010, i look fwd to watching a few games.
I also think you have a very good water boy ....Mitch Clarke...my cousin buddy

All in good fun mate, still happy for ya to have a run pre season, tongue in cheek would be the operative word, in all fairness what you do at colts and the effort you put in you can hold your head high

Great kid Mitch , does a fair bit on a saturday

My mail came from the man himself. The offer was before 2009 to come back to Melbourne after he played at Westies in 2008.

** Take note he left West Adelaide mid year this season and will play at Sturt in 2010...but I'm sure you are already aware of this!

If thats the line you want to spit out then fine, but I stand by the figure that I have named. No point arguing the fact, it just comes down to a case of 'he said, she said'. As I said, it came from a very close source. May be you should chat to the coach about it, as you obviously are a bit out of the loop on this one!

If thats what you think it shows how much you overrate/over pay for players.
If you cant attract players by giving them a good culture/social environment and good team, I suppose you have to fork out big moolah don't ya!
Now on those names......
Vlahov joined CH through a mate and I would suggest is on half that figure.
Attard was alaways going back there after St Kilda and from knowing him, he isnt the type of bloke to ask for big $$$.
Beasy is another that had mates at the club and was always going to play there.
Same again with Ash Roberts.
Your figure on Flack is deadset laughable and shows how out of touch with reality you are. Most blokes/coaches are attracted to clubs by their good culture and the way the club is run. You will be amazed what coaches at other top 5 clubs get....nowhere near that amount.
Not sure on Ogier and Turner but acknowledge they are probably well paid. Both good players but even still $400 is big money. That would make them the highest paid player at our club....by miles!

Just for interest sake, what would M.Shalders/E.McKenzie/D.Dunne be worth on the open market?? (This is a test to see how far off you really are!) ;)

Not giving anyone the shits, just yourself, as this information is supposed to be kept in house (or it is at any well run club), yet somehow almost everyone in the entire comp knows about it.....some of your players/members/officials have extremely loose lips and love to boost their ego.

This has nothing to do with my club, its personal opinion. All this started by me saying that Richard (and your club for that matter) would gain a alot more respect if their acheived something with kids rather than mercanaries. I think that is pretty valid.
In defence of my club (who you just attacked....immature move) I will just say that whilst we have not acheived success on the field over the past how ever many years, we are a touch more successful than your club off it.
Off field success breeds on field success, very rarely the other way around.
Our clubs have different values, and that is fine.
Its fair to say that if you did a pop quiz amongst fellow SFL clubs, we would come out well on top of your lot when it comes to the "R" word.

PS. Good to see you could pay your affiliation fees on time this year (week before finals). ;)

Ah yes the famous Jeff Hogg/Frank Bissotto days.....well tell us where did the cash come from then??? And what happened when it ran out?? Please enlighten the readers on here.
I will just sit back and see how you answer this one!
For someone who has been around the club as long as you, I thought you would know by now that this topic in particular is a no-win situation!

its healthy debate I will answer all your questions honestly thats the best i can offer:

1)This is good healthy discussion, but you are wrong again as far as Hassan goes he was never coming back last year so its a complete and utter lie to say we spoke, his offer as stated above was prior to 2008 and didnt involve money, the figure your quoting is what Salim was asking thru an intermediatry if it did eventuate in 2009. we got himcheap in 2007 as it was last minute thing that he decided to play footy and werent interested at that figure for 2009 i CAN GUARANTEE IT

2) Silver was never offered money by City, I know because I had the first meeting with around Oct/Nov last year after he gave Quinny his number for me to call him, we met at a cafe in StKilda and his not on anywhere near
the amount quoted, plus we dont have 2 year deals at the club, so its crap what you heard

3) Chelsea Heights -

I have good friends at Balwyn and was told Vlahov was on 800 , I doubt he would be playing for less than 6-7 at Chelsea mates or no mates, considering he lives in Hawthorn I think

Flack would be on at least 6-7 a game playing coach and worth it

We spoke to Ogier a few years ago and he was around 450 then?

Attard was fielding offers of between 1-2k when delisted, i would imagine he would be around 7 a game
This is my opinion I could go on but I think point proven Roberts,Beasy etc
all 3-5 a week. Mate face the facts thats the market we are in

4) Dunne - big blokes cost, ok player probably 400-1000 , can he ruck as well as play forward, circumstances around what the player wants and where he lives are all factors and who he is playing with etc: if he went to ellinbank or eastern at 6'6 and 101 kgs anythging is possible

McKenzie fit? - similiar

MShalders -4-5 years ago would be 3-500 -

I dont care what chelt pay there players, but what you spend dictates where you finish its a proven fact over 100 years of footy, its just the way it is

5) Off field success breeds onfield, I believe its the complete opposite
on field success attracts the sponsors the supporters and the local community.
I didnt directly attack your culture I just believe Cheltenham for some reason are happy to finish 3-6 and rock up every year with excuses.

I also believe your footy department and mindset needs overhauling
with your facilities and your income I dont believe the club exhausts all its assets in the chase for a flag???

Culturely at City it is very much a winning menatlity not sure Cheltenham have the same desire.

6) 99/00/01/02/03

we had a couple of big sponsors and pretty much at the end of 2003
8 retired, 8 went to Yarraville after the assistant coach secretly recruited them with huge money 4 of them got injured and they finshed bottom anyway and 3 went to other clubs, 20 out 28 players left the club like sheep , it took everyone by surprise, 1 player took a sign on and went to Balwyn, it all happened so fast, the few of us that were left decided to have the year off, fortunately the u18's comp folded and we played pretty much kids all year and copped some floggings and got relegated, we tried to recruit but the joint was in a bad state.
At the time I remember saying to a mate we will bounce back and a lot of these clubs will pay, its amazing what 5 years can do
Money was going to be tight but had minimal affect on the demise of the club at that stage. Rob Walker put his hand up to coach , turned the club around, won the flag by a kick, went back up with some money, recruited Arvanitis who dominated in 06 and finshed 5th, the rest is history

6) Fees, must have paid them, we played finals im sure? not sure what you mean by that

7) as far as Richard goes he made a significant contribution in 07, less in 08 and wouldnt be in our top 3 sponsors this year, our top 2 sponsors are 15k each thats fact, and neither of them is Richard. I agree the stigma will never go away and we have to live with that, but whilst people keep believeing they will fall further behind!!!!!

At the end of the day believe what you want to believe and stay involved at your club, no ones died from footy clubs spending money.

Also i'd be interested in Cheltenham performance since the inception of SFL 1993 (17 seasons), heres StKilda Citys lets compere them!!!!!!

Grand finals -94-div3, 97,98,05 div 2, 01,02,07,08,09 div1 (9)

Flags - 94 div3, 98,05 div 2,01,07,09 div 1 (6)

3rd - 96 div2 (1)

4th - 93 div 3,95 div2, (2)

Unplaced 99 7th,00 8th,03 5th,04last,06 5th

This guy is a dill City paid big dollars at that time how the club got the money is a mystery or is it??:rolleyes:
Maybe we should ask the guy that runs the club??
I am sure he will be very honest with us:D

Probably one of the biggest dills going around, the president at the time is no longer involved and two of the major contributors financially moved interstate
the money was alot less than now, the boom hadnt struck.

Player payments rose heavily across the board about 04 from memory

Thanks for the correspondence b2b.

On Sal and Muz, I am happy to lay the issue to rest as it is getting neither of us anywhere, but it is good to see that we are able to have an open and honest discussion on footy issues.

My point was that whilst everyone has a 'market value' players will play for certain clubs for considerably less due to other factors. I have no doubt that if those players left CH they would command a good figure but what got them to the club in the first place is also what sees them play for much less.

Thanks for the outside feedback on our club and how you see it. It is refreshing for someone to give and honest opinion and in some ways it is what I was fishing for....seems you only get it on here if you have a crack at someone!
I will say that we are just as committed to having success as the next club (including yours), but we are also committed to a sustainable future. We don't want to get 10/20 years down the track and look back and find the club struggling or extinct, so while things are going well off the field, you have to put in place structures and measure to ensure the club will be in a healthy state for the next how ever many years.

When it comes to off field success breeding on field success, I will give you my logic.
If your club is well run, and you have all the proper processes in place, this attracts not only good players, but good people.
Very few clubs (there are a few exceptions) have had success with disharmony or segregation in the ranks.
You are more likely to have success if everyone is pulling in the same direction than otherwise.
I just feel that doing it the opposite way around isn't sustainable, as the players/sponsors are only attracted by success, and when (or if) that doesn't happen, where does it leave them? Usually they are the first to jump off.

When it comes to 99/00/01/02/03, the same thing applies. It all comes back to money.
The model that was being used then wasn't sustainable and thus when the money ran out the club fell over. From the outside, there do seem to be a lot of similarities between then and now. Having been through it once before, I'm sure that you will have learnt the lessons and will be better placed when RH leaves than what you were in '03.

On our record since 93...its nothing like Citys (well done on that)
Grand finals - 92-div2, 93-div2, 94-div2, 95-div 2 (4)
Flags - 92-div2, 93-div2, 5-div 2 (3)
3rd - 08 div1 (1)
4th - 00 div1, 06 div1, 07 div1 (3)
5th - 09 div1 (1)
Unplaced 96 div1, 97, 98, 99, 01, 02, 03, 04, 05.

Also....
Our reserves have played finals every year since 2002, and our U-18 have only missed one finals series (this year) in the SFL since the inception of U18 footy in the mid 90's.

Good to have some footy discussion with you b2b. All the best over summer, and look forward to seeing you when our clubs meet in 2010.

Interesting debate. Philosophically I agree with SF, but you can't argue with StKC's strikerate.
B2B, with the figures you are throwing around as market rate, it's little wonder people have certain opinions on StKC's spend. Comparing to Ellinbank league is misleading as they have to compensate for the substantial travel, some shocking grounds, and a generally scrappier style of footy (the coin out there is ridiculous though!).
The unfortunate thing for you guys is that, because of this reputation, when you speak to players they will amp up their asking price as a result. So don't take your past discussions with players as a rigid guide to what they might be on elsewhere. You took umbridge to SF quoting inflated figures so be careful throwing stones from your glass peanut shack :)

There's no doubt it's a massive advantage to have a coach who pays for the privelage, rather than having to pay someone to do it. I think that gets lost a bit - its a $5k-$15k headstart compared to other clubs as well.

its healthy debate I will answer all your questions honestly thats the best i can offer:

1)This is good healthy discussion, but you are wrong again as far as Hassan goes he was never coming back last year so its a complete and utter lie to say we spoke, his offer as stated above was prior to 2008 and didnt involve money, the figure your quoting is what Salim was asking thru an intermediatry if it did eventuate in 2009. we got himcheap in 2007 as it was last minute thing that he decided to play footy and werent interested at that figure for 2009 i CAN GUARANTEE IT

2) Silver was never offered money by City, I know because I had the first meeting with around Oct/Nov last year after he gave Quinny his number for me to call him, we met at a cafe in StKilda and his not on anywhere near
the amount quoted, plus we dont have 2 year deals at the club, so its crap what you heard

3) Chelsea Heights -

I have good friends at Balwyn and was told Vlahov was on 800 , I doubt he would be playing for less than 6-7 at Chelsea mates or no mates, considering he lives in Hawthorn I think

Flack would be on at least 6-7 a game playing coach and worth it

We spoke to Ogier a few years ago and he was around 450 then?

Attard was fielding offers of between 1-2k when delisted, i would imagine he would be around 7 a game
This is my opinion I could go on but I think point proven Roberts,Beasy etc
all 3-5 a week. Mate face the facts thats the market we are in

4) Dunne - big blokes cost, ok player probably 400-1000 , can he ruck as well as play forward, circumstances around what the player wants and where he lives are all factors and who he is playing with etc: if he went to ellinbank or eastern at 6'6 and 101 kgs anythging is possible

McKenzie fit? - similiar

MShalders -4-5 years ago would be 3-500 -

I dont care what chelt pay there players, but what you spend dictates where you finish its a proven fact over 100 years of footy, its just the way it is

5) Off field success breeds onfield, I believe its the complete opposite
on field success attracts the sponsors the supporters and the local community.
I didnt directly attack your culture I just believe Cheltenham for some reason are happy to finish 3-6 and rock up every year with excuses.

I also believe your footy department and mindset needs overhauling
with your facilities and your income I dont believe the club exhausts all its assets in the chase for a flag???

Culturely at City it is very much a winning menatlity not sure Cheltenham have the same desire.

6) 99/00/01/02/03

we had a couple of big sponsors and pretty much at the end of 2003
8 retired, 8 went to Yarraville after the assistant coach secretly recruited them with huge money 4 of them got injured and they finshed bottom anyway and 3 went to other clubs, 20 out 28 players left the club like sheep , it took everyone by surprise, 1 player took a sign on and went to Balwyn, it all happened so fast, the few of us that were left decided to have the year off, fortunately the u18's comp folded and we played pretty much kids all year and copped some floggings and got relegated, we tried to recruit but the joint was in a bad state.
At the time I remember saying to a mate we will bounce back and a lot of these clubs will pay, its amazing what 5 years can do
Money was going to be tight but had minimal affect on the demise of the club at that stage. Rob Walker put his hand up to coach , turned the club around, won the flag by a kick, went back up with some money, recruited Arvanitis who dominated in 06 and finshed 5th, the rest is history

6) Fees, must have paid them, we played finals im sure? not sure what you mean by that

7) as far as Richard goes he made a significant contribution in 07, less in 08 and wouldnt be in our top 3 sponsors this year, our top 2 sponsors are 15k each thats fact, and neither of them is Richard. I agree the stigma will never go away and we have to live with that, but whilst people keep believeing they will fall further behind!!!!!

At the end of the day believe what you want to believe and stay involved at your club, no ones died from footy clubs spending money.

Also i'd be interested in Cheltenham performance since the inception of SFL 1993 (17 seasons), heres StKilda Citys lets compere them!!!!!!

Grand finals -94-div3, 97,98,05 div 2, 01,02,07,08,09 div1 (9)

Flags - 94 div3, 98,05 div 2,01,07,09 div 1 (6)

3rd - 96 div2 (1)

4th - 93 div 3,95 div2, (2)

Unplaced 99 7th,00 8th,03 5th,04last,06 5th

Gday mate

Great footy discussion loving it , but had to pull you up on something , Clayton won in 2001

cheers

Gday mate

Great footy discussion loving it , but had to pull you up on something , Clayton won in 2001

cheers

Its great to see if you talk to Rod everything will be kept in house.
I told you this guy is a real tool why would anyone trust him or deal with him??

The 2009 Div 1 senior premiership.

wow, that was a pretty well thought out call right there.

So just trying to work out which player you are, as i know you were thereabouts on mad monday with us on acland st.

You aren't that 2's player that was involved in the verbal back and forward during the grand final, and then went on to celebrate mad monday like you had played a part in the win?............

Interesting debate. Philosophically I agree with SF, but you can't argue with StKC's strikerate.
B2B, with the figures you are throwing around as market rate, it's little wonder people have certain opinions on StKC's spend. Comparing to Ellinbank league is misleading as they have to compensate for the substantial travel, some shocking grounds, and a generally scrappier style of footy (the coin out there is ridiculous though!).
The unfortunate thing for you guys is that, because of this reputation, when you speak to players they will amp up their asking price as a result. So don't take your past discussions with players as a rigid guide to what they might be on elsewhere. You took umbridge to SF quoting inflated figures so be careful throwing stones from your glass peanut shack :)

There's no doubt it's a massive advantage to have a coach who pays for the privelage, rather than having to pay someone to do it. I think that gets lost a bit - its a $5k-$15k headstart compared to other clubs as well.

Fair call, the coaching payment gives us a 2 player advantage, funny thing was from 00 -03 we had same set up, the coach effectively paid 2 players with his fee.

I dont take umbridge at any figures , I take umbridge to people when they say they know or quote sources and its bullsh-t.
I have no issue when people quote figures in their opinion, thats there god given right and probably what this forums for.
Theres no doubt at times the constant smashing the club takes on here sh-its me but at the end of the day it doesnt matter nor have any affect
on what we do.

Thanks for the correspondence b2b.

When it comes to off field success breeding on field success, I will give you my logic.
If your club is well run, and you have all the proper processes in place, this attracts not only good players, but good people.
Very few clubs (there are a few exceptions) have had success with disharmony or segregation in the ranks.
You are more likely to have success if everyone is pulling in the same direction than otherwise.
I just feel that doing it the opposite way around isn't sustainable, as the players/sponsors are only attracted by success, and when (or if) that doesn't happen, where does it leave them? Usually they are the first to jump off.

Good to have some footy discussion with you b2b. All the best over summer, and look forward to seeing you when our clubs meet in 2010.

our club and the people work very hard, we have a great bunch of people
loyal as hell, we also have a great group of sponsors who is growing year by year and we have a team of people who manage these relationships
Richard no doubt cleaned the club up in this area and his advice and direction has been outstanding along with his contribution

networking is huge thing footy clubs that is overlooked quite often, it can generate some serious coin.

in a lot of ways we are a rogue club who dares to do things differently and probably takes on players and people other clubs wouldn't entertain, thats the way we are and we dont turn our backs on anyone, it can help you or hinder , but that oru culture and it works for us.

Success attracts good players believe me,not many good players in bad teams?????

Good stuff , only 6 months to go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What would you consider needed to be kept in house?

What you have discussed with people in private for a start.
If you are Rod Gamlin then you have confirmed to me what a goose you really are.
I guess you dont need a footy brain to win a flag as your club has proven.
Another thing you go on about Richard and all his great plans maybe its time he takes over as president and you find a real coach...

If you are Rod Gamlin then you have confirmed to me what a goose you really are.
Another thing you go on about Richard and all his great plans maybe its time he takes over as president and you find a real coach...

Seriously mate, whatever turns you on, if you want to have a crack you stalker have a proper crack ,this is a piss weak effort.:)
Theres nothing private about anything in that summary,if so point it out. how do you know its not fabricated to get all you di-khead'- salivating
No worries veiw, obviously your closely related to the koach.
Yeah , weve got no idea, just turn up in april win everygame and win the flag dont do pre season, recruit ordinary players. Not a football brain amongst the 6 people on coaching staff so your observation would be spot on. as far as our record goes check previous post , Id hate to see how we would go if we had a clue you imbocille.
Rod Gamlin would have to be one of the biggest gooses going around? :thumbsu:and you know what, he would be hysterical reading this and if you knew him at all you would know he wouldnt give a flying f--- whats on here.

I know this kills you but Richards plans have worked so far?
Maybe Richard will do that, anyway what is a real coach?
Keep up the good work donut, in fact in my opinion you could be a necrophiliac

On a more footy orientated topic, I think this might have been mentioned somewhere but have heard from a couple of people Paul Wheatley has signed at St Pauls on a job,car,footy package with Merkon for 80k, obviously havent seen his contract , but from a close friend of his , thats what was on the table when they last spoke, will be a gun recruit , well done to the amatuer club, lol
great pick up for club and comp