SFL - 2018

Didnt mention Moncur Jackal. Seems like it above...."Lets wait & see hey old Text19, he wont be back. Funny how the story broke well after I & everybody else knew."

Reddy actually look to be travelling ok whether or not people agree with Motlop's playing or not. Cant beat Irymple or Imps but could compete for 3rd again. Looks like a 2 horse race with Imps favored at moment but with Irymple a chance by end of year. Dont think they will win this time around with Eaton very doubtful to play

What happened to Camilleri and Prympke to WW rumor/signings?
Reddy looked a million bucks against Wenty, & without Moncur Faulkhead & Motlop come off still accounted for Mildura easily so they wont be far off the mark.
Word is Prymke getting a payout & cant leave until June & Camilleri done his knee first game at Red Cliffs.
Imps to win easy.
Word is if Jacko gets done for this investigation he could be finished for life after his suspension in the NT a few years ago, not sure how true this

Didnt mention Moncur Jackal. Seems like it above...."Lets wait & see hey old Text19, he wont be back. Funny how the story broke well after I & everybody else knew."

Reddy actually look to be travelling ok whether or not people agree with Motlop's playing or not. Cant beat Irymple or Imps but could compete for 3rd again. Looks like a 2 horse race with Imps favored at moment but with Irymple a chance by end of year. Dont think they will win this time around with Eaton very doubtful to play

What happened to Camilleri and Prympke to WW rumor/signings?
Reddy looked a million bucks against Wenty, & without Moncur Faulkhead & Motlop come off still accounted for Mildura easily so they wont be far off the mark.
Word is Prymke getting a payout & cant leave until June & Camilleri done his knee first game at Red Cliffs.
Imps to win easy.
Word is if Jacko gets done for this investigation he could be finished for life after his suspension in the NT a few years ago, not sure how true this

Imps to win easy.

Early Tip
McLeod Medal-Jarrod McNally
Leading Goal Kicker- Jarrod McNally
Premiership- Imps by 10 goals

I watched McNally on Friday he is a gun.

Imps to win easy.

I think he's only got a few weeks total.

Hey Schnail Word on the street is they are already calling the green men over the line. If the Swallows don't put up a show for the game of the round this weekend then they may as well cancel the home and away rounds ans start the finals in June. Amazing turn around for a club who were getting rolled by over 100 pts every game just 2 seasons ago. The envy of all country clubs. What is their secret. No big paid players. It's a great premiership story.

Fair dinkum Vanderhum, they might give premiership cups away in May around Ivanhoe but not up our way. I'm sure Irymple, South and a full strength Wentworth will be targeting how and why imps are tracking well, and then trying to dismantle it. A couple of injuries and they might come back to the pack.

I reckon I now know one side that could. (Or did)
There ya go Vanderhum, never get ahead of yourself, someone or something will trip you up. Great game of footy, imps played the same style and came unstuck with the weather and the opposition. Kicked backwards on a couple of occasions and was picked off by the forward pressure. Irymple have more speed than last year, and DTrain was let off the leash when Rhoads left the field injured. Irymple lost Callow during the game as well, and Eaton did not play. I thought Cam McKenzie was really good throughout the contest, the younger McNally played his best senior game, Brodie Hodson was a really important inclusion, and the centre clearances were controlled by Irymple. Hard work got Imps back into the game in the last quarter. It shoulda been all over at 3/4 time, but Coleman and Mee had other ideas. In the end, the better team, and deservedly so, won the contest. On a side note, much respect to Irymple for the pre-game minutes silence for Feathers, the big man would have loved the contest while having a beer before a game of cards 'till midnight.

Sounds like it was a great last quarter and from your assessment the green men could have stolen this one. So with eaton not playing, back to back is going to be a challenge. Great gesture from the teams to recognise Feathers, very sad. Did hear on the wire that some of the green men being played out of position

Dunno if your wire is connected Vanderhum, a couple of slight changes but the back 6 was as good as Imps could put together. It struggled with the loss of Rhoads but they were just outpressured and outplayed for 80 minutes.

Irymple had 12 missing from 2013 G.F. side. Three players in the side were not Irymple juniors.
Is the points system working or are clubs just getting smarter.

Irymple had 12 missing from 2013 G.F. side. Three players in the side were not Irymple juniors.
Is the points system working or are clubs just getting smarter.
Bit of both I reckon. With the wholesale changes made in the last 6 months or so, Irymple have done it quite well. The inclusion of C McKenzie is bigger than most expected, but I reckon Eaton has learned a lot since the GF loss last year. If it was all about junior systems, Mildura shoulda won at least 2 flags in the last 5 years. Clubs work hard up front to ensure they have their ducks in a row prior to recruitment and lodging of paperwork to the VCFL.

So what's ya take on the reason why the demons have had huge success across junior ranks including a number of under 16 flags with quality players across all the lines. Does it mean Mildura's juniors are not filtering into the seniors because the senior club is poorly run cos what you say is very true, with the players that came through the 14s. & 16s and even the 18s have not gone on to represent the club on a regular basis at senior level. Where have they gone wrong schnail ?

I would suggest that Mildura lose a lot of their juniors to the big cities (maybe more than the other clubs) primarily for a tertiary education. They did lose lot of players that transferred out of the club recently for one reason or other.
Despite all that though five flags in row should have provided them with more success at the senior level.

I would suggest that Mildura lose a lot of their juniors to the big cities (maybe more than the other clubs) primarily for a tertiary education. They did lose lot of players that transferred out of the club recently for one reason or other.
Despite all that though five flags in row should have provided them with more success at the senior level.

That's a damming stat Hillite, thought they won a few but 5 in a row and nothing has filtered from that group into success at senior level. Doesn't have to mean flags but with all those quality juniors should mean there are regular finals appearances. It's a real concern for the demons if they can't retain their juniors. From memory both Imperials & Irymple have structured processes for keeping their kids which has reflected in their recent records. Not good

Should we stop kids from going to Uni or higher level footy? There would be at least 12-15 quality senior level footballers either at University in Adelaide or Melbourne and a couple playing in the VFL, AFL as well as a few that went to the SANFL and have settled into work and life in Adelaide. Also in those junior flag teams there were a lot of kids that were handy thirds players but were either not quite up to it or never keen on the work required to make good senior players. Despite all that coupled with the Millewa recruiting strategies (which most clubs cop) the senior team each week this year runs out with 18-19 out of the 21 that played juniors with the club. The senior team has been 4th-5th every year for the past few years and are probably only 3-4 experienced guys away from genuinely challenging. Perhaps some research might be better before you bag a club?

Hey Yaaablett, Not bagging ya club at all and sorry you took the left view. Just an observation on junior footy success from what is a very well run junior club and how it does or doesn't flow onto the senior group. All Sunraysia clubs deal with the transition away from the town to uni and work. It's a real worry for the town when there is nothing for the kids post VCE. There is no industry for them to feel confident to stay. You can either work at IGA or centre link, the hospital but you have to move away to at least create some opportunity. The casino would have been a huge boost that would have, dare I say it, saved this town. And I am not a gambler. But in the current climate and 3 years ago, who is going to throw 260 mil into a country town. What a blunder that was and the jobs and the kids it would have retained. Imagine the sponsorship. The influence of the minorities in Mildura is a barrier to survival

Fair dinkum you blokes, it started about the points system and smarter clubs, a valid question and developed into universities, casinos, vfl, afl, sanfl and other stuff outta clubs control. What was supposed to provide some parity (points system) really has been outworked by the smarter clubs and resulted in it being pointless (pardon the pun). Not a great deal of local footy influence will get back Kerridge, Christadoulou, Rowles, just to name a few young guns, or the cash of the Millewa or Mallee that entices quality. Just checked the points list on the SFNL site, last one posted was Imps in April 2013. What's the point of the points system if it's not really governed? I still reckon Mildura had the quality in the 2008 - 2011 junior group to make a great senior side, however something went wrong, even with the above named missing....

Fair enough - Name the quality that is no longer at the club that would have made the senior team a great side.

Would is different to could......they may have overdeveloped early, or the coaches (Lanyon & Parr) got the best outta them

Chris Curran - saw him destroy Imperials in an U18GF last quarter with 5 centre clearances
Riley Chirgwin - U18 premiership captain I think? Should be controlling the half back line for the Demons seniors....
Warwick Williams - Doing his thing at Red Cliffs.
Cam Robertson - Dunno what is going on there, is he still around? Another high quality junior...
Jack Bower - Not much of him but geez he goes good...tough for his size
Marcus & Damon Healy - 2 productive forwards, Damon could do anything on his day...

It may have just been the junior system Mildura had. Not too many teams win 5 flags in a row, especially when every 2 years the personnel change

Would is different to could......they may have overdeveloped early, or the coaches (Lanyon & Parr) got the best outta them

Chris Curran - saw him destroy Imperials in an U18GF last quarter with 5 centre clearances
Riley Chirgwin - U18 premiership captain I think? Should be controlling the half back line for the Demons seniors....
Cam Robertson - Dunno what is going on there, is he still around? Another high quality junior...
Marcus & Damon Healy - 2 productive forwards, Damon could do anything on his day...
Ensor club
It may have just been the junior system Mildura had. Not too many teams win 5 flags in a row, especially when every 2 years the personnel change

Wakadoo schnail you have come out swinging on this issue, reads to me like you see the junior club as the senior club. It's no doubt the Gotta be basis for every junior club and whilst you have struck a nerve, where does junior success reflect in senior success. No doubt Mildura F C are the bench mark with this failure given what they had but how can they do better?

So after all your comments that's it? Chris Curran - Great young guy, was given some senior opportunities, wasn't prepared to play two's, went to Bambill, don't think he is playing anywhere now. Riley and Warwick left after some issues. Robbo played in the first 2 rounds this year, missed round 3 with illness. Jack is at Uni in Melbourne, Marcus is overseas and Damon has actually played every game in the seniors this year and is playing some good footy. If that's it then it probably shows the opposite wouldn't it?

Wakadoo schnail you have come out swinging on this issue, reads to me like you see the junior club as the senior club. It's no doubt the Gotta be basis for every junior club and whilst you have struck a nerve, where does junior success reflect in senior success. No doubt Mildura F C are the bench mark with this failure given what they had but how can they do better?

Come out swinging with a wet lettuce leaf. No nerves struck mate, criticism is part of footy but at least let it come from a base of fact.

Fact is that the senior group fails to deliver with what the junior system develops. The U18 record is as good as any in country Vic, disciplined, hard, skilled, team orientated footballers. I've seen it first hand, and then.....nothing. It's funny that the U18s is actually part of the Senior club. I would hope they are picking the brains of Parr and Laynon to get something outta that group. Great to see Mitch Rogerson and Henry Kerr in the best on the weekend, two kids who should play in the Demons next flag. Keep it coming Yaaablett, who's in your inter league squad?

can someone list the inter league full squad?