SFL Div 2 - Part 3

Unfortunately only going on hear say & rumours so I can't give you anything substantial. Was told a few from Mentone are heading down there (whatever that means) plus another from the Bentleigh area heading down with the Dewar bros.[/quo

When you say Mentone, are you meaning St Bedes Mentone or Old Mentonians?

what names have u heard??

Like I said I heard it from facebook of all places, which didn't divulge any names. Although the source did attend Mentone Grammar as a teen, so I'd take a guess to say they'd be from Old Mentonians. Sorry that I can't give anything more concrete.

A question for anyone South Yarra.

I noticed that South Yarra have a bye in the last round (Round 20). Being that they were there abouts in the finals last year & assuming that they make it again, will it be benefical or a disadvantage for them to have the bye just before the finals?

There are two ways of thinking,
beneficial in that they will secure 4 valuable points to get into/stay in the top 5 & they will be rested for finals?

or

disadvantageous if they have winning form leading up to Round 20 & a break would be them lose a bit of momentum?

What do others think?

Away from the point of the question but I've never played in a league with byes.. was wondering do they usually give 4 points or just give nothing? Guess it all just turns out the same seeing all clubs get 2 each.. but on another note each club plays all other clubs twice bar one which is advantageous to some and not to others. Just luck of the draw, like the AFL draw. Pretty sure at Bentleigh the club we cop only once is Skye, so we obviously hope they have a ripper year!!

Edit: my maths was sh!t on this occasion.. Turn n Burn has mapped it out for us all below!!

Interesting look at the fixtures for 2011. 20 rounds, 2 byes, play 8 teams twice and 2 teams once. Interesting to see who gets the luck of the draw in this comp - cast a vote.

- Ashwood Vs Highett / Caulfield (1)
- Bentleigh Vs Skye / Hampton (1)
- Blackrock Vs Caulfield / Murrumbeena (1)
- Caulfield Vs Ashwood / Blackrock (1) Unlucky to be given bottom teams from last year only once each.
- Hampton Vs Bentleigh / South Yarra (1)
- Highett Vs Ashwood / Oakleigh (1)
- Murrumbeena Vs Skye / Blackrock (1)
- Oakleigh Vs South Yarra / Springy (1)
- Skye Vs Murrumbeena / Bentleigh (1)
- South Yarra Vs Hampton / Oakleigh (1)
- Springy Vs Oakleigh / Highett (1) Will be given every chance to head straight back up to Divy 1

Interesting look at the fixtures for 2011. 20 rounds, 2 byes, play 8 teams twice and 2 teams once. Interesting to see who gets the luck of the draw in this comp - cast a vote.

- Ashwood Vs Highett / Caulfield (1)
- Bentleigh Vs Skye / Hampton (1)
- Blackrock Vs Caulfield / Murrumbeena (1)
- Caulfield Vs Ashwood / Blackrock (1) Unlucky to be given bottom teams from last year only once each.
- Hampton Vs Bentleigh / South Yarra (1)
- Highett Vs Ashwood / Oakleigh (1)
- Murrumbeena Vs Skye / Blackrock (1)
- Oakleigh Vs South Yarra / Springy (1)
- Skye Vs Murrumbeena / Bentleigh (1)
- South Yarra Vs Hampton / Oakleigh (1)
- Springy Vs Oakleigh / Highett (1) Will be given every chance to head straight back up to Divy 1

Good analysis Turn & Burn. I'd say your on the money as Springvale only play 2nd & 3rd place getters for 2010 only once. Also you'd say Oakleigh & Highett would be happy to only play Springy once also.

Caulfield though, as you point out only play bottom teams for 2010 once, although this could be a double whammy as Black Rock are tipped to be the big improvers for 2011.

Very early I know but here's my ladder at the end of the home & away season for 2011. I generally only get this about 50% correct & being new I can only go on the Big Footy hype, so my apologies if I offend (South Yarra). But here goes

Springvale Dist
Oakleigh Dist
Highett
Bentleigh (pure bias)
Black Rock
Murrumbeena
South Yarra
Skye
Hampton
Ashwood
Caulfield

Good analysis Turn & Burn. I'd say your on the money as Springvale only play 2nd & 3rd place getters for 2010 only once. Also you'd say Oakleigh & Highett would be happy to only play Springy once also.

Caulfield though, as you point out only play bottom teams for 2010 once, although this could be a double whammy as Black Rock are tipped to be the big improvers for 2011.

Very early I know but here's my ladder at the end of the home & away season for 2011. I generally only get this about 50% correct & being new I can only go on the Big Footy hype, so my apologies if I offend (South Yarra). But here goes

Springvale Dist
Oakleigh Dist
Highett
Bentleigh (pure bias)
Black Rock
Murrumbeena
South Yarra
Skye
Hampton
Ashwood
Caulfield

Bentleigh that high pure something.... :D

i would have skye a bit higher, lots of good kids coming through..

i beileve there colts finished premiers and there 1s and 2s just missed finals if they can recruit a few new faces and there coach plays again then no doubt they will play finals:):):)

I am a keen VAFA follower, however i find it hard to compare leagues, i have noticed Bentleigh who were middle of the road in D2 came straight into Div 2, how do you think the other teams in Div 1 & Div 2 compare to the ammos?

clearly the ammos are faster and younger over all and tackle like girls if they lay a tackle at all:eek::eek::eek:

Top 4 Teams in Div1 would be competitive with Middle/Low Div2 teams
falls off alot from there

clearly the ammos are faster and younger over all and tackle like girls if they lay a tackle at all:eek::eek::eek:

Harsh but fair. The VAFA is a faster, more free flowing brand of football and a little bit more cleaner, so the tackle count reduces. Where as the SFL, so I'm told, is more about the contested footy which I don't mind.

Top 4 Teams in Div1 would be competitive with Middle/Low Div2 teams
falls off alot from there

I'd tend to disagree. The top 4 VAFA D1 clubs would hold their own in SFL Div 1. I'd go as far to say that Werribee Amateurs (won D1 this year) would make the finals. Banyule (who won D2 with an awesome list) would not look out of place either, albeit from 6th to 9th.

As for the rest of VAFA D2, which was a very even comp, I think would fit nicely in SFL Div 2, behind the top 3 (Springvale, Oakleigh, Highett). These two comps are the closest in comparison IMO. The standard in the lower grades (VAFA D1 & D2) is not as bad as you think

Caulfield not off to a good start.

15 on the track for there first night Monday and the committe is still not locked in and no President to guide the ship.

Any of the bears want to comment.

15 on the track for there first night Monday and the committe is still not locked in and no President to guide the ship.

Lets hope they get up & running but if worse comes to worse, (god forbid), they're more than welcome to come to Bentleigh.

We are always looking for new players, anyone can PM me for details

What have other clubs been getting ? Black Rock got 35 last week, skye 25, Oakleigh Districts 20 and Beena have been struggling with 15 - 20

i beileve there colts finished premiers and there 1s and 2s just missed finals if they can recruit a few new faces and there coach plays again then no doubt they will play finals:):):)

I dont reckon the coach will play again, but we will be there abouts hopefully. As for wingman and Skye having 25 on the track, I thinink he may be getting lead astray, quite a few more than that I can tell you.

Lets hope they get up & running but if worse comes to worse, (god forbid), they're more than welcome to come to Bentleigh.

We are always looking for new players, anyone can PM me for details
are the rumours true that James Robertson is leaving Bentleigh for Black Rock?

New Coach is trying to poach players from previous club.

If he had have been more concerned with player development instead of personal glory then his new club may have been more appealing. Unfortunately he burnt too many players in his quest for a 2nds flag!!!

New Coach is trying to poach players from previous club.

If he had have been more concerned with player development instead of personal glory then his new club may have been more appealing. Unfortunately he burnt too many players in his quest for a 2nds flag!!!

He is another bad choice for senior coach.... another example of a footy club making bad appointments should of done the home work required on him...:rolleyes:

MyView I have a question for you.

Has any football club, any football player, any football president, or any football coach ever done anything, ever in the history of the game that was actually a positive thing in your mind?

Let me know.