SFL Div 3 Reserves

Dildo's sent through some input on this week via MSN:

South Yarra update.
Big losses too the reserves this week as Muzza and Mundy step up too seniors.
Big in for the reserves as J.Rumbold comes back into the side from injury.
One to watch, Lachy in the centre, could be some frustration about a black eye received last week. J.O
’Rourke on the wing, had a good run last week another one to watch.
Big match for the South after a big loss last week.
Funny stuff, but I think Mundy is starting full back for us.

Dildo's sent through some input on this week via MSN:

South Yarra update.
Big losses too the reserves this week as Muzza and Mundy step up too seniors.
Big in for the reserves as J.Rumbold comes back into the side from injury.
One to watch, Lachy in the centre, could be some frustration about a black eye received last week. J.O’Rourke on the wing, had a good run last week another one to watch.
Big match for the South after a big loss last week.
Funny stuff, but I think Mundy is starting full back for us.
I was going to say mundy was nammed at fullback ? u going to have a dip tomorrow cow and win the ball out of the middle?:D

I hope you're not suggesting I don't have a dip normally Rich. :p Yeah, going to go hard during the game and then go hard during the "Beers Of The World."

i didnt say that...hehehe if the ball doesnt go over my head all day tomorrow id love to have a dip myself and yeah cant wait to consume plenty of beers

blac, you must be pretty happy to knock off Dandy? Where was the game won in your opinion? We got close to Canterbury, massive improvement on the effort we served up a week earlier at your ground.

Mount had a good win against Blackrock..
our ruckman Matt Pirovano was instrumental in the ruck, winning almost every tap to advantage.
Cam Marshall was classy and highly skilled up on the half-forward line going through about 3 different opponents and kicking 4 goals.
In defence, Kramer, woodsy and matt morro showed strong marking and great run out of defence. Considering with the strong wind favouring one end of the ground which would be considered a '6 goal' wind, it would not be the best conditions for defenders. So the Mount defence held up very well when playing against the wind.
Jamie Stapleton was very underated by the opposition and he would have been our best midfielder playing as an 'in and under' type, winning heaps of contested posessions and dishing out to teammates in advantage.
Overall, Mount played some decent forward going forward, and some tight disciplined footy in defence.

Just to note, considering Mount Waverley have about 70 on the players list, with 10+ being "rotated" through the reserves, Mount has not played their best team this year. So considering after the bye, they will be 4-1, this shows they have committed players who will stand-up when needed and this will start the foundations for a good season for Mount Waverley.

GO MOUNTERS!!

Welcome Pretty Boy, nice to have another team on here rather than just us and blac04. :thumbsu: We're yet to trouble the scorers, but might have found a few handy players this week. Considering Doveton beat us by 25 goals, getting within 3 points of Canterbury was very encouraging. Only thing is, a few blokes might have played a bit too good and got the eye of the Seniors coach, but we'll get blokes coming down. New guy Barry from Yarraville on our half back flank was good, as was Danny in the middle.

What can you tell us about Black Rock, and also Skye who we have this week?

Welcome Pretty Boy, nice to have another team on here rather than just us and blac04. :thumbsu: We're yet to trouble the scorers, but might have found a few handy players this week. Considering Doveton beat us by 25 goals, getting within 3 points of Canterbury was very encouraging. Only thing is, a few blokes might have played a bit too good and got the eye of the Seniors coach, but we'll get blokes coming down. New guy Barry from Yarraville on our half back flank was good, as was Danny in the middle.

What can you tell us about Black Rock, and also Skye who we have this week?

Black Rock really aren't that bad.. we dominated the game in the first quarter kicking 6 goals to 0.. but from then on in, it was pretty even.. maybe Mount playing just a bit better.. Black Rock on the day didn't seem to put much pressure on the ball carrier, and since thats how we usually play our game by a lot of playing on, running and carrying the ball.. we're a very young side but a very fit side.. thats why in most games we generally lose the first half and run over the top in the second half.. our inexperience gets caught out in the first half, but our fitness and speed shines in the second half..
and just like last year we were fortunate that our second halves was enough to win most games.. but we always got found out against the older, more experienced and much more highly skilled sides...

skye's midfield smashed us.. i wouldn't say they were quicker or fitter.. but they had better midfield setups and their ruckman dominated the ball-ups.. our side compared to pretty much every other side in the ressies comp is much younger and inexperienced.. and it showed against skye...
skye played pretty well against us.. they ran in numbers, ran into space.. they were smarter with the ball...
to beat skye.. all you need is a very tall ruckman who can quell their ruckman's tap.. cos on the day we played skye, our tallest ruckman (who's around 6'6) wasn't playing.. due to our "rotations" since we have too many players on our list.. also watch for their players surrounding the stoppages.. they have more players surrounding the stoppages looking for the ball being dished out rather than having more players trying to get the ball out.. this kind of play killed us cos we had too many players chasing the ball rather than working together and figuring out who will get the contested posession and who will be the outside runners... skye did this much better than us, and this is due to their much more experienced team.. so just be mindful of their players surrounding the packs..

To beat Black Rock just keep running!!.. Against us they just gave up in the legs.. they did cut our supply to the forward line very well in the last quarter when we thought we had them giving up.. but we ran it out of their defence to easily and through the middle to easily.. they just kept bottling the play up and causing ball-ups.. which I'm afraid to say is not a strong suit..

**This is just my opinion and not the opinion of the Mount Waverley Lions Football Club**

Nice summery pretty boy you guy's given up on your soft seniors now youv'e switched to the ressies fickle lot you dead cats.DOWN THE MOUNTERS:mad:

I haven't given up on our seniors..
its just that i play mainly in the ressies.. and I love playing ressies.. hence, i have more of a passion to talk about our reserves side rather than the senior side..

But in saying that, don't discount our seniors side just yet, just because we played poorly against Black Rock doesn't mean we are a bad side..
If thinking that, then you must think Skye are a crap side and won't be much of a threat come finals time due to that fact we convincingly beat you guys last week?!.. its still only early rounds.. you never know what will happen during the course of the season..

The positive aspect of Skye and Mount Waverley is the depth they both have.. I know first hand that Mount have about 10 or so regular 2's players that could play seniors comfortably and make a solid contribution,
considering both clubs have successful performing 1's & 2's sides..

our ruckman Matt Pirovano was instrumental in the ruck, winning almost every tap to advantage.
Cam Marshall was classy and highly skilled up on the half-forward line going through about 3 different opponents and kicking 4 goals.
In defence, Kramer, woodsy and matt morro showed strong marking and great run out of defence. Considering with the strong wind favouring one end of the ground which would be considered a '6 goal' wind, it would not be the best conditions for defenders. So the Mount defence held up very well when playing against the wind.
Jamie Stapleton was very underated by the opposition and he would have been our best midfielder playing as an 'in and under' type, winning heaps of contested posessions and dishing out to teammates in advantage.
Overall, Mount played some decent forward going forward, and some tight disciplined footy in defence.

Just to note, considering Mount Waverley have about 70 on the players list, with 10+ being "rotated" through the reserves, Mount has not played their best team this year. So considering after the bye, they will be 4-1, this shows they have committed players who will stand-up when needed and this will start the foundations for a good season for Mount Waverley.

GO MOUNTERS!!

pretty boy whats pete seiferts chance of playing in the 1's for round 7 against south yarra.

Popsta, yet again another south yarra player, you blokes must think you own this website or something. I guess thats all you guys can do though:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: Go waverly!!!

vulture, You blokes in the ressies look about ready for a win. despite your last game away, you guys have improved every week. starting to work together i think. If dildo can remain injury free, his contribution will be enormous. I herd your back line is really starting to stand up.

You are a strange bloke kuta Kinta you talk about Yarra like you know them well yet you claim to be from Mount you speak with fork tounge.That is all.

pretty boy whats pete seiferts chance of playing in the 1's for round 7 against south yarra.

As long as Big Pete trains well and puts in strong performances in the ressies, he should be a chance..

but since 4 rounds have already been played.. and we have a bye next week.. he really has to dominate in round 6 in the ressies and only if one of our current playing senior ruckmans gets injured.. which at the moment looks to me highly unlikely..

But full credit to Big Pete with all the weight he has dropped over the summer.. he really has put in the hard yards to get himself fitter and slimmer.. my jaw dropped when i first saw him during the pre-season..

if it wasn't for his chronic injuries and lack of discipline to stop mouthing off to the umpires and opposition.. he would be playing 1's already..
he really has to learn that actions speak louder than words..

scubas a bit angry. been missing me cow? when are you getting dropped? i reckon rory should get a go on the ball.

p.s. i am not gkw or the dutchman or kuta

Good effort from the boys on the weekend they fought it out its good to see blokes that have never played the game before picking it up so quick like ivan,hus,brooksy dont worrie boys its gonna come together this week its gonna happen:thumbsu: Go South Yarra

blac, you must be pretty happy to knock off Dandy? Where was the game won in your opinion? We got close to Canterbury, massive improvement on the effort we served up a week earlier at your ground.

yeah, a good win considering we had a few out, missed our full forward who should return this week, and one of the best wingmen in d3 ressies is probably out for the year. the young kids are starting to find their feet. dandy had a few out as well though. our backline smashed their tall forwards. henderson kicked 2 but was towlled up and lawrence was well held.

GO MOUNTERS!!

you are kidding i hope!! wind days are what defenders should be dreaming of, it makes it that much harder for delivering to the forwards. great to have more people posting on here, but shorten your posts mate. the yarra boys can't cocentrate for long enough to read them fully!:D :D