SFL Div 3 Reserves

The injury cloud is finally lifting at Fritsch Holzer Reserve. While it's mainly been the ones injured, them getting players back kicks a few ones regulars down to us. As a result we should have our best team this year in on the weekend. Henry kicked 6 goals in his only Ressies game against Black Rock, and Wayne Andrews has gotten himself into the best for the ones twice this year, but will be having the pleasure of our company in the twos for the first time and should be good in the centre. It's good to finally have some genuine pressure for spots in the ones, can only be good fo the club. The injection of four ex-Wesley College blokes has been enormous.

The second half of the season will be interesting, comparing scores now that we've played together and a lot of guys have found positions. We should definitely improve on Dandy's 73 point belting of us in Round 1. That goes for the ones too, who won three out of four quarters against Dandy last time around.

Any truth to the rumour that Sandown got 2 to training?

We had a visit from the SFL Chairman last night at training. While he said he was there to congratulate us on getting back in the comp, I'm pretty sure he was there to mention the melee of two weeks ago. Ah well, nice enough bloke.

which wesley college blokes have come down to play with u boys?

i reckon parkmore would win the flag in div3
easy by a mile

Brain snap, if you ever manage to find your way of of Pakenham East, maybe you and MRobbo could meet up and talk footy.

That would be of either of you had a clue. Maybe you could discuss interfamily relationships, something you would know about being from the Boonies.

which wesley college blokes have come down to play with u boys?
We have a guy named Stuart Upjohn who gets a Ressies game every other week, and he got four mates down. Dave Cannizzo, Sam Mendelson, Craig Hughes and Mick (maybe Higgin? That's the only Michael on the list I can't account for). They'd all be 21-22 years old, know any of them?

nah dont recognise any of the names, they are a couple of years younger- good luck on the weekend tho-:thumbsu:

u must be 1 of them hacks that i watch saturday mornings on channel 31 that cant even take a mark.parkmore 4 divy 3 flag.go the pirates.rrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!

Hack, Yes. Drop marks, have been known to on the odd occasion. TV Star afraid not.
Have some excellent footage from 2006 though.
Just send $200 and a self addressed envelope to PO BOX 069 in your capital city.
You do know what the capital city of Victoria is don't you?

And no it isn't Dandenong.

3 straight losses blac? We were so close to doing you guys a favour and knocking off Dandy. Disappointed but we played our hearts out, really could have gone either way. Ordinary umpiring but it went both ways. Number 30 for Dandy is a dangerous older bloke. Slips away like Vinny O'Connor and gets himself free in dangerous positions. It was still a 69 point improvement on the previous result for us. Should have won, led all day. Both results (ones and twos) were good for the club, all the rebuilding has started to show dividends.

with due respect, i was shocked to see you blokes get so close! bad luck. not travelling too well at the moment, the good news is that we have 11 blokes to walk back in to the side who are currently missing due to injuries mainly in the senior side. we lost our f/forward to the seniors and have found it pretty hard to score since. if we can get our other key forward up and about we should be alright! in all honesty, we looked at this game and said that we would cop a loss with the side we had. it was just disappointing to get so close. 5 points down with 5 mins to go, our bloke snapped a shot from 40m, it bounced end over end through the goals only to make contact with the goal umpires flags flapping around behind the post. would have been 2 goals in 5 mins and think we could have hung on!

wouldnt be too concerned blac especially when you know the calibre of players that are due back in the next 2-3 weeks! hopefully ;)

you sound like a few of the black rock people on here, getting confident a bit too early! long way to go!!! time will tell

South Yarra here mate. Yeah, I can see why you'd think that about us getting so close blac. I was looking at the footy record from Round 1 today, comparing our list to the most recent one, I think there's about 15 names difference. We had our best side for the year in against Dandy, were pretty confident of having a decent crack at it. With the ones scoring an impressive victory over Dandy, we'll probably keep the ones players we have as they will find it hard to force their way back in! The Sandown match will be interesting. Hopefully by the time we have you guys again, we've improved enough to stop the 25 straight goals or so. :thumbsu:

would like to know what peoples thoughts are on the div 3 ressies who are the dangers the smokies and who the final four will be ??

I think the top 4 as it is now won't change except maybe the order.

Skye
Mount
Dandy
Doveton

Skye have had a big win over Mount which is Mount's only loss, with Skye of course undefeated. Even though Mount have only lost one, I think every team under Skye is a smokey at the moment, so Mount is my tip as a smokey with Skye the outright favourites. Round 12 will be very interesting for the rematch at Mount's ground. The trouble with reading into results is that they don't show you whose best team was playing or whether they were rotating or whatever. Mount has crazy depth. The SFL Chairman came to our training to have a word and said that even though there's the Parkmores, it is great for the league that one club (he didn't name them) has gone to the SFL and asked to field four sides instead of two next year. Anyone know if this is Mount (my guess) or someone else? Have plenty of time for Skye's Captain Coach Vinny O'Connor. Seems like a good bloke and love the way he plays (except when it's against us).

Dandy only managed to see us off by 4 points on the weekend. We've improved, but they ould have pencilled us in as a comfortable victory and the only time they led all day was the last three minutes (the most important time though). I don't rate them highly enough to retain third. I've said before Bart McDonald is very good, but he's probably their main standout. Vella plays a lot like Vinny, always slipping off and then turning up by himself in a dangerous position, but if he gets tagged he's probably their only midfield danger. Their captain is injured at the moment, but musn't be too bad as he came on with ten minutes to go for the first time to get them over the line against us. Doveton knocked them off at their home patch Round 4 and I think this is indicative of Doveton being the better side. Doveton have lost 4, including the last three on the trot, but they're not ready for the glue factory just yet. Of those four, two have been against Mount and one against Skye, the only one they should have won is Black Rock. They have a very big bodied midfield. I can't remember names, but there was a big bloke who loved to run onto the big punches forward, I think they called him Gus, but I know that's the name of the massive Maori forward so might be confused. How's that forward going anyway, he was still learning the game wasn't he? Doveton obviously smashed us *cough* flat track bullies *cough* but I think will only go one place higher and finish above Dandy.

And the rest...

Black Rock I don't rate. Their 5 wins have come over Canterbury (twice), Cerberus, Sandown and the only upset was beating Doveton. On the other side they were upset themselves by the mighty South Yarra Lions at Fritsch Holzer Reserve (check out photos at www.syfc.org). :D Have for the most part won the games they should have, but aren't good enough to finish in the four.

Sandown has four wins, Cerberus twice Canterbury once and South Yarra once. Again, they've only beaten the sides they should have, and if the reports are to be believed are going downhill faster than a Jamaican bobsled. Looked like they fielded a full team last week though. We have them next week, and definitely think we can win.

Canterbury are surprisingly ordinary considering the ones. Have only beaten Yarras and Cerberus. The Yarra game only had three points in it as well. As SMUU has said, their best midfielder has gone to the ones. It's all about sticking around to watch the ones for them you'd think.

Cerberus played above themselves to get their only win against us, and their ones played below themselves to give our Seniors their first win. I don't know if there's anything in that, probably just sour grapes on my part. :p Our ones are in irrestible form at the moment anyway. We had half our team out, and we'll be pretty fired up when we visit the Navy base.

As for us, we're only % off the bottom. Our one win was against Black Rock, which makes it hard to understand how they beat Doveton and just goes to show how hard it is to read into other results. We lost by 3 points to Canterbury and 4 points to Dandy last weekend. Lots of new players, club rebuilding, all that stuff. Unlucky a few times (like our ones earlier this year) and just ordinary on others. Our main aim will be to improve on all the first half results and set a good foundation for attacking it next year I would think. With only one first half rematch so far, we improved by 69 points and were unlucky not to win. Har to talk about your own club without being biased, but we have the potential to cause an upset or two. I'd love to know what any Dandy blokes on here think about the difference between the two games?

So anyway, I reckon the four now will be the four at the end. Black Rock and Sandown don't have what it takes to mount a serious challenge, though I still can't explain the Black Rock-Doveton game. Only difference will be Doveton and Dandy changing spots. Skye-Mount Grand Final. The winner in Round 12 might well win the flag. Maybe it's because I'm Catholic, but Mount are my smokey. Like I said, they have crazy depth.

I Think that Black Rock are the smokies.

There results in the last month have shown that they can beat anyone and this weks games against us is a massive test for us, I believe we should be at pretty good strenght this weeks with a few back in the seniors so that should drop at least 2 more qaulity players down to the 2's which will help us.

Have to agree with you frank though im tipping it finishes Mount,Skye,Doveton,Dandy
as for finals anyones pic but its always an advantage to teams whose ones dont make it. As for the eagles slump if you call it that, i guarantee mad man it wll turn very shortly, everyteam has injuries but in the space of 2 weeks the eagles lost 8 of their starting players to the ones due to injuries. 5 or six are due back in the next 2 weeks so im expecting a major turn around. I thought that mount probably been the best we came up against, although thought they may have won by more than 2 goals last week obviously missed dino and gags ,same as for skye, they were good in the first quarter but that was it, pretty even for the rest of the game and it was along way from being the strongest side we put on the park this year. Dandy was a hard fought win as usual but surprisingly Canterbury were very good when we played them in contrast to their ladder position and i didnt see the black rock game but know there were a few pull out before the game. Been alot of talk how well the yarra have picked up and am hoping to make it back for that game. Think the rockers will just miss and sandown are probably likely to stack there twos now like every other year so see how they go. they could be a smokie to get in.