SFL Div One 2013

Gee, you don't log on for a few days and all hell breaks loose in here...

Interesting debate. Andy Taranto to St. Paul's is another, they also had a massive crack at ewen mckenzie and Stephen Ott a few years back.

Was this prior to Ott and Ewen playing at Chelt or whilst they were there?

All these players being mentioned have come from St Kilda City. Everyone knows they were paying overs for these players for years. The City boys were always going to be looking for new clubs when the cash dried up. Dingley interviewed Poyas last week and as they should, he is the best player in the comp. He has signed in the bush somewhere for a reported $1200 a game. Dingley interviewed Bruno last year and he wanted $600. He has a few mates at Dingley too, but his mates at St Pauls must be really good blokes if he is playing there for peanuts next year.

From the sounds of it they may have spoken to him again this year also.

Thats now Dingley & St Pauls who have approached opposition players. I'm sure we can add more to the list as this discussion continues........

When they were there mate. No big deal, a lot of clubs do it, this isn't the first time and won't be the last.

Yeah very true. I don't see what the big deal is as most clubs put the feelers out and if they get a bite they follow it up.

How is the recruiting going on the Chelt front (obviously without giving too much away?)

Not sure mate. I know there are a few good ones lined up but am out of the loop ATM.

Superfreak & out of the loop isn't usually heard in the same sentence!

Taranto will be a good get for us if he does play next season, missed his hit up on the half forward line

Gee, you don't log on for a few days and all hell breaks loose in here...

Interesting debate. Andy Taranto to St. Paul's is another, they also had a massive crack at ewen mckenzie and Stephen Ott a few years back.

Young Dingley Gun Jackson Peet was chased by St.Pauls last year with the promise of $$$$$ and a job.

We are ok with it though as I think there are family connections and we would do the same the other way around. I know The Dingoes are chasing players outside of the comp but if it was made known to us that a player that would make an impact from within the SFL wanted to talk, we would talk.

The MPNFL and EFL are notorious for chasing star players from opposing teams with big dollar offers. It is a great day at the local footy when an ex player arrives with his new team to play. The crowd loves it. When Mimo first came to us we expected a massive impact from the big man but he only played a handful of games and we havent seen him since. Pity as he was a Dingley Junior before he started his journey through his many senior clubs.

We spoke to Jay a couple of years ago but werent prepared to pay so much for one(very good) player. Obviously St.Pauls gain is City's loss. Move on boys there are plenty of good players out there!

Young Dingley Gun Jackson Peet was chased by St.Pauls last year with the promise of $$$$$ and a job.

We are ok with it though as I think there are family connections and we would do the same the other way around. I know The Dingoes are chasing players outside of the comp but if it was made known to us that a player that would make an impact from within the SFL wanted to talk, we would talk.

The MPNFL and EFL are notorious for chasing star players from opposing teams with big dollar offers. It is a great day at the local footy when an ex player arrives with his new team to play. The crowd loves it. When Mimo first came to us we expected a massive impact from the big man but he only played a handful of games and we havent seen him since. Pity as he was a Dingley Junior before he started his journey through his many senior clubs.

We spoke to Jay a couple of years ago but werent prepared to pay so much for one(very good) player. Obviously St.Pauls gain is City's loss. Move on boys there are plenty of good players out there!

Good post, spot on.

I don't know Jackson but i do know we have Rhys Peet & Dylan Peet at the club so i assume they are either his brothers or cousins?

A Dingley Junior for a time but started and finished at St Peters from memory with quite a few other clubs in between. As B to B said he was a freak who despite playing some absolute blinders was probably an unfulfilled talent. Had the ability to have finished his days in the SFL as one of the all time greats.

Having played juniors against Mimo, he started at East Sandy, went to Dingley and then finished at St Peters.

He was really a man child that was significantly developed compared to others in the league and would just monster the opposition.

I still have great memories of Mimo going head to head vs our ruckman (Mimo's best mate) Ronnie Tannous who was equally big, if not bigger.

All these players being mentioned have come from St Kilda City. Everyone knows they were paying overs for these players for years. The City boys were always going to be looking for new clubs when the cash dried up. Dingley interviewed Poyas last week and as they should, he is the best player in the comp. He has signed in the bush somewhere for a reported $1200 a game. Dingley interviewed Bruno last year and he wanted $600. He has a few mates at Dingley too, but his mates at St Pauls must be really good blokes if he is playing there for peanuts next year.[/
Have Ajax gone rural you've got no idea

Having played juniors against Mimo, he started at East Sandy, went to Dingley and then finished at St Peters.

He was really a man child that was significantly developed compared to others in the league and would just monster the opposition.

I still have great memories of Mimo going head to head vs our ruckman (Mimo's best mate) Ronnie Tannous who was equally big, if not bigger.

Reckon he had two stints at St Peters punctuated by his time at Dingley. Hampton Rovers may have been in there also. Agree he was an absolute beast but also highly skilled and one of the strongest marks I have seen in junior footy. Believe he turned in nose up at the whole TAC cup thing but would have certainly held his own in that company with the right attitude. While he might be classed as an unfulfilled talent he at least played senior footy and walks away with a few premiership medallions.

Just putting it out there that the figures being thrown around such as a $10,000 sign on fee and minimum $1000 per game couldn't be further from the truth.

I won't go into specifics because it's not my place, but i think you will find Jay isn't on "big" money at all. He has chosen to come down to the club, to play with some mates and enjoy his footy.

Ultimately Jay made the decision, and yes i can see from St Kilda City's point of view, i'd be just as pissed if a mercoulia or mcintyre went across to another but it happens and has happened to us in the past also e.g Ben Artz to Stkilda City, Mark Wyld & Kivanc Cevik to East Brighton etc.

Hey CT you conveniently left out that St.Pauls arseholed Cevik because he didn't fit the Doggies culture. Wyld wasn't made welcome either. Thats why they ended up at Hurlingham Park not because the Vampires poached them. Heatherton pinched 7 from EB in 2006/7. Want names? Ring (dual premiership player) Einseidel (dual premiership player 3 times B & F) Matt Jamieson (Club and League B & F and Premiership Player & coach) Marcus Wilson (Dual premiership player) Matt Wardell (handy full back) Mark Cater ( premiership at Heatherton) and Shaun Scurrah probably irrelevant at that stage. Matt went back to EB this year to play with his brothers and basically return home. He wasn't poached but wanted a bit of success in the twilight of his career and wasn't going to get that at Heatherton and played for bugger all. Recruiting from within is like shitting in your own nest and at some stage you'll pay the price and the price maybe from where you least expect it!

All these players being mentioned have come from St Kilda City. Everyone knows they were paying overs for these players for years. The City boys were always going to be looking for new clubs when the cash dried up. Dingley interviewed Poyas last week and as they should, he is the best player in the comp. He has signed in the bush somewhere for a reported $1200 a game. Dingley interviewed Bruno last year and he wanted $600. He has a few mates at Dingley too, but his mates at St Pauls must be really good blokes if he is playing there for peanuts next year.

Clutchin at straws rhino, Ezra after 6 weeks of thought to everyones surprise has decided to play with AJAX in B grade amatuers
this year, but city is on the verge of regaining ex premiership players in Mark Tasiyan & Josh ONeill to bolster its list

Hey CT you conveniently left out that St.Pauls arseholed Cevik because he didn't fit the Doggies culture. Wyld wasn't made welcome either. Thats why they ended up at Hurlingham Park not because the Vampires poached them. Heatherton pinched 7 from EB in 2006/7. Want names? Ring (dual premiership player) Einseidel (dual premiership player 3 times B & F) Matt Jamieson (Club and League B & F and Premiership Player & coach) Marcus Wilson (Dual premiership player) Matt Wardell (handy full back) Mark Cater ( premiership at Heatherton) and Shaun Scurrah probably irrelevant at that stage. Matt went back to EB this year to play with his brothers and basically return home. He wasn't poached but wanted a bit of success in the twilight of his career and wasn't going to get that at Heatherton and played for bugger all. Recruiting from within is like shitting in your own nest and at some stage you'll pay the price and the price maybe from where you least expect it!

Gotta love the badgers work

Don't know where do you??

get off here you blood sucking lalbert leach you drained us of about 10 players over 2 years and still didnt do anything stick to your country forums ,basically piss off your not welcome . All bigfooty users beware of roota

Bit touchy about players leaving your precious club hey backtoback. If your going to get so cut everytime somone chooses to leave your club you are going to be one depressed little man. I am a bit disappointed in this response a I had become a bit of a supporter of your club after hearing blokes like Taz speak so highly of it. By the way champ I was actually going to steer a couple your way but you can jam that up your arse

I think we did as well actually... I was just sht stirring...

Jason Norris DID go to city directly from us though :p

And I'll put this on front street, we got a LOT of players from Parky in 2000.
I bet you wish he was playing for you guys in the 2010 grand final he played a decent game

Bit touchy about players leaving your precious club hey backtoback. If your going to get so cut everytime somone chooses to leave your club you are going to be one depressed little man. I am a bit disappointed in this response a I had become a bit of a supporter of your club after hearing blokes like Taz speak so highly of it. By the way champ I was actually going to steer a couple your way but you can jam that up your arse

Mate, couldnt care less what you think although respect you having a crack back, 2 things im not "little" and eithers my arse, there wouldnt be anyone at lalbert we would want, the only decent players you had were from city anyway!
We couldnt afford them so it wouldnt matter you were paying 2 of our twos players 300 and 500 a game are you serious. Mate ive been doin this footy thing for 15 years and have seen hundreds come and go and love to have a bit of banter but get real just go elsewhere and recruit your not welcome! LOL