SFL Div One 2013

I post the question to the masses out there especially who dat ,cousin tiger etc how would you feel if attard was wearing a clayton jumper,or douthie was at stkilda city or mercoulia was at east brighton?
Not even some of the so called mercenaries city have had over the years would pull what Bruno has done

its an interesting situation which will play out over the next 12 months, over the last 15 years sfl div1 clubs have pretty much had a silent respect for each other in that we dont poach or chase players from opposition clubs, I think it is the 1st high profile signing in my time (15 years) to change clubs.
The good thing is along the way we learn things and myths are buried like "the st pauls dont pay players" which has got a good run over the years well that just gone straight out the door.
In life clubs and players make decisions and like anything you live by that decision good bad or indifferent , and
you accept the consequences also that come your way.
As far as stkilda city goes when you lose a player who has been part of your club for 18 years it comes with mixed feelings and with most of us they would change on a daily basis , but one thing I can guarantee
it has bonded our footy club and we are sweating on the fixture coming out, at a guess i would think the doggies game going to be red hot!
St.Pauls are one of the sides i follow. I will say i am disappointed in their recruitment of Jay, cos if the money he is being offered is as much as i have heard, surely there are better players than Jay from other comps they could have got . If i was a st.Pauls player who had previously being underpaid, i'd be putting my hand up for a decent raise if there is that much to pay for an ex city player.Pretty average of Jay himself as well. If he was gonna stay in the SFL it should be at City where he would of got decent pay again, or gone to another comp.

Not even some of the so called mercenaries city have had over the years would pull what Bruno has done

Really ? Cassett would have swapped clubs at half time if the money on offer was better. Mimo would have at least waited until games end before doing the same thing;)

Just putting it out there that the figures being thrown around such as a $10,000 sign on fee and minimum $1000 per game couldn't be further from the truth.

I won't go into specifics because it's not my place, but i think you will find Jay isn't on "big" money at all. He has chosen to come down to the club, to play with some mates and enjoy his footy.

Ultimately Jay made the decision, and yes i can see from St Kilda City's point of view, i'd be just as pissed if a mercoulia or mcintyre went across to another but it happens and has happened to us in the past also e.g Ben Artz to Stkilda City, Mark Wyld & Kivanc Cevik to East Brighton etc.

its an interesting situation which will play out over the next 12 months, over the last 15 years sfl div1 clubs have pretty much had a silent respect for each other in that we dont poach or chase players from opposition clubs, I think it is the 1st high profile signing in my time (15 years) to change clubs.
The good thing is along the way we learn things and myths are buried like "the st pauls dont pay players" which has got a good run over the years well that just gone straight out the door.
In life clubs and players make decisions and like anything you live by that decision good bad or indifferent , and
you accept the consequences also that come your way.
As far as stkilda city goes when you lose a player who has been part of your club for 18 years it comes with mixed feelings and with most of us they would change on a daily basis , but one thing I can guarantee
it has bonded our footy club and we are sweating on the fixture coming out, at a guess i would think the doggies game going to be red hot!

B2B, St Pauls have never disputed that we pay players, we've always maintained that whilst we pay players, we don't pay anywhere near the budgets (only from what i've heard) of some other clubs e.g. St Kilda City under Houston etc.

We are lucky for a few reasons in that:

• A lot of local players have stuck around e.g. McIntyres, Ambrose, Mercoulia, Wyld, Barnes etc
  • A couple of our major sponsors are in the construction industry and have been able to help new players/recruits with getting work such as apprenticeships or trade related work.

Really ? Cassett would have swapped clubs at half time if the money on offer was better. Mimo would have at least waited until games end before doing the same thing;)
I may be wrong but can't remember mimo or casset aka the love rat playing against city

No they haven’t. Was a tongue in cheek comment but in all honestly I reckon had there been a Div 1 SFL club prepared to offer Danny the required $ then he most certainly would have. Believe Mimo was all set to play with the Dingoes a few years ago that would have seen him line up against StKC but the deal fell thru. He has enough jumpers from his junior and senior days to set up a clothing store. Having said that on his day he was near unstoppable.

Mimo hadnt played at city for 2 years prior to him going to dingley and i can name 5 clubs that casset could of gone to and didnt

B2B, St Pauls have never disputed that we pay players, we've always maintained that whilst we pay players, we don't pay anywhere near the budgets (only from what i've heard) of some other clubs e.g. St Kilda City under Houston etc.

We are lucky for a few reasons in that:

• A lot of local players have stuck around e.g. McIntyres, Ambrose, Mercoulia, Wyld, Barnes etc
  • A couple of our major sponsors are in the construction industry and have been able to help new players/recruits with getting work such as apprenticeships or trade related work.

Your getting off the track mate and backing yourself into a corner, firstly of all you've got a player directly from a rival club by paying him a sizeable cheque upfront fact(shithouse), secondly have the balls to get on here and admit to it instead of writing crap about construction and houston and budgets, as far as being on the committee goes and i know what the deal is, ill let you know a little fact a week after jay signed one of your major sponsors and influential people didnt even know about the deal and was far from happy. As I said in an earlier post let it all play out, but it would be remiss of me to say that the respect stkilda city once had for st pauls is now as low as you can get!

Just putting it out there that the figures being thrown around such as a $10,000 sign on fee and minimum $1000 per game couldn't be further from the truth.

I won't go into specifics because it's not my place, but i think you will find Jay isn't on "big" money at all. He has chosen to come down to the club, to play with some mates and enjoy his footy.

Ultimately Jay made the decision, and yes i can see from St Kilda City's point of view, i'd be just as pissed if a mercoulia or mcintyre went across to another but it happens and has happened to us in the past also e.g Ben Artz to Stkilda City, Mark Wyld & Kivanc Cevik to East Brighton etc.

The sign on is not far off, match payments about 3rd???????????? Still a shit effort poaching players with upfront cheques from rival clubs, I know for a fact having friends at your club they are are filthy on whoever made the decision to go thru with the deal as it against the grain of many including one of your more influential and major sponsors. I think we all know what happened many people will put different spins on it but the respect me personally and many city people would be fairly low. Let it pan out over the next 6 months and what will be will be

Mimo hadnt played at city for 2 years prior to him going to dingley and i can name 5 clubs that casset could of gone to and didnt

Only 5? Yep Danny is a pillar of loyalty and commitment. A shining example to players and clubs everywhere of someone who will play for the jumper. Mimo is different At least you got some good years out of him. A big game player who delivered regularly when it counted but he was not averse to moving clubs regularly. Had a wardrobe full of jumpers before he arrived at the farm but I reckon he played his best footy with you so credit where it is due.

As mentioned it was a tongue in cheek comment and not designed as a shot at StKC but seriously even Danny would have to admit that ‘mercenary’ is fair description of him. Don’t think he ever shied away from that fact and good on him.

You m

mustn't have been to upset about artz he was a pretty average unit

Only 5? Yep Danny is a pillar of loyalty and commitment. A shining example to players and clubs everywhere of someone who will play for the jumper. Mimo is different At least you got some good years out of him. A big game player who delivered regularly when it counted but he was not averse to moving clubs regularly. Had a wardrobe full of jumpers before he arrived at the farm but I reckon he played his best footy with you so credit where it is due.

As mentioned it was a tongue in cheek comment and not designed as a shot at StKC but seriously even Danny would have to admit that ‘mercenary’ is fair description of him. Don’t think he ever shied away from that fact and good on him.

Danny is a character and performed brilliantly for us a city, most of Dannys exploits were 10 plus years ago and the stories are mythical, he kicked a ton in 07 and played the 08 final series with a broken jaw, would have continued on but parted ways by mutual agreement, fortunately we werent caught up in any of the shenanigans from Cass, when you punt like Cass you need cash lol. Mimo played 3 years at City and more unfulfilled potential Ive never seen a freak but we were blessed to see the best of him not sure what he is up to now.

The sign on is not far off, match payments about 3rd???????????? Still a shit effort poaching players with upfront cheques from rival clubs, I know for a fact having friends at your club they are are filthy on whoever made the decision to go thru with the deal as it against the grain of many including one of your more influential and major sponsors. I think we all know what happened many people will put different spins on it but the respect me personally and many city people would be fairly low. Let it pan out over the next 6 months and what will be will be

Sour grapes there B2B............i wouldn't believe everything you hear.

We are in competition, and if a player makes the bold move to change clubs (for less money) then they should be entitled to make that decision.

What's done is done, Jay is playing with us for season 2013 and i can tell you that the majority of players/supporters are very happy about this as he will add a lot to our team.

Ben

Ben artz did not receive a cent at stkilda city and hardly played he chose to come to our club with no encouragement.

Sour grapes there B2B............i wouldn't believe everything you hear.

We are in competition, and if a player makes the bold move to change clubs (for less money) then they should be entitled to make that decision.

What's done is done, Jay is playing with us for season 2013 and i can tell you that the majority of players/supporters are very happy about this as he will add a lot to our team.

Sour grapes not at all , Jay can do as he pleases but with every decision comes a consequence and as far as believing what I hear, if i hear from the actual person via a phone call then I believe, i could name names and start a massive drama but not my style, stop shit talking what your club did with jay was a low act and what goes around comes around we cant wait for the footy to start

Not sure what you mean by consequences but all is good from our end.

Look forward to the first St Pauls vs St Kilda City match will be a good, tough game of footy like it always is.

Introduce yourself and i'll happily talk to you over a beer in person rather than on this crap.

Gee, you don't log on for a few days and all hell breaks loose in here...

Interesting debate. Andy Taranto to St. Paul's is another, they also had a massive crack at ewen mckenzie and Stephen Ott a few years back.
So they've got form is that what you're saying super?
Mackenzie and Ott probably didn't go because stpauls only offer less than you're already getting :rolleyes:

Ben

Ben artz did not receive a cent at stkilda city and hardly played he chose to come to our club with no encouragement.
All these players being mentioned have come from St Kilda City. Everyone knows they were paying overs for these players for years. The City boys were always going to be looking for new clubs when the cash dried up. Dingley interviewed Poyas last week and as they should, he is the best player in the comp. He has signed in the bush somewhere for a reported $1200 a game. Dingley interviewed Bruno last year and he wanted $600. He has a few mates at Dingley too, but his mates at St Pauls must be really good blokes if he is playing there for peanuts next year.

All these players being mentioned have come from St Kilda City. Everyone knows they were paying overs for these players for years. The City boys were always going to be looking for new clubs when the cash dried up. Dingley interview Poyas last week and as they should, he is the best player in the comp. He has signed in the bush somewhere for a reported $1200 a game. Dingley interview Bruno last year and he wanted $600. He has a few mates at Dingley too, but his mates at St Pauls must be really good blokes if he is playing there for peanuts next year.

Don't know where do you??