SFL DIV3 2014

3 guards and one of them stationed permanently at the gates. Security's priority is to protect the umpires so its completely unrealistic to think they were somehow at fault.
Also for the previous two finals series SFL had Police drive through the ground few times a day but abandoned the idea this year for financial reasons.

yeah I don't mean to blame them but stupidity like this might mean the league has to change something. not a good situation for anyone involved sadly

3 guards and one of them stationed permanently at the gates. Security's priority is to protect the umpires so its completely unrealistic to think they were somehow at fault.
Also for the previous two finals series SFL had Police drive through the ground few times a day but abandoned the idea this year for financial reasons.

ps. There was no punches thrown in the post game incident at Div2 game between Mordi and Doveton, just heaps of "have a go you ****" that went on until the Mordi supporting family including the mother that was already mentioned were escorted of the ground. The dark skinned pony-tailed Doveton player and his mates were amongst the main protagonists. Credit to couple of Doveton officials for helping to cool off the situation.
Do you know why they were going off? He was racially abused all game. A few of the keys found out after the game and were not putting up with it.

*Shakes Head*

Seems i was a bit of an oracle a few weeks back, but all of this pointing the fingers is laughable.

First lets talk about the only football played.

Wilkin takes 10 marks and still no one wants to come and man him up? CPL coaching staff need to go back to the game plan and work out that one.
Dalton not being able to take some advice from the coach at Qtr time huddle? Would have thought when your coach is telling you something you listen and dont talk back? Taking the incident away i couldn't see CPL getting back into it after half time. But who knows. Will be the big mystery now as i wasted my $15

In regards to all the justification around security, police, he said, she said. A little bit of common sense here needs to prevail.

If people were intoxicated, how did they get let into the ground?

What ever happens on the field and even if you saw something doesnt mean you have the right to "fix" the situation by taking it into your own hands.

Everyone involved whether you threw a punch or not should spend the next few weeks having a look in the mirror and asking yourselves is what i did acceptable? Yeah have a crack over the fence. We all love a bit of banter. But your dumb, idiotic and un-intelligent actions just brought the whole league into disrepute.

Yes Extra Security, Extra Police, Extra Brains and maybe some extra intelligence would have caused all of this not to happen.

But I'd rather have spent my monday going on about how Stacy's kicking skills weren't one of those "who was a pleasure to watch" or whether or not Mount could get over the "choked" tag. Instead im having to explain to colleagues and people who weren't at the game what happened.

But now not only are the two clubs involved going to be remembered for all the wrong reasons. The league will have to cop the flack for all of this while those involved think they are champions.

Only time will tell what happens, i just hope for the good of the league and everyone involved those at fault are brought to justice and in charge of respected clubs don't try and sweep this under the carpet.

See you all in 2015.

After the whole GRAND final fiasco, there seems to be only two logical solutions:
1) Lyndale v Sandown Grand Final. No, not exactly 1v2 but at least the season gets a finale. Hell the league could even throw the winner 5-10k to help them compete in div 2 in 2015

2) Hallam v Endeavour Hills. If the best two sides cant control themselves and put on a decent show then may as well have the bottom 2 sides fight it out.
Give the winner a premiership flag and cup, preface it with a "default" tag. Leave them in div 3 and then hopefully both so called struggling clubs, can perhaps start an uphill climb.

On a more serious note, would love for someone to post the video so all can see. Even the Beecroft hit if anyone has it.
Perhaps in true Mount style they'll claim all the spectators did was push the CPL players. (in reference to an End hills player ending up with a broken jaw and fractured eye socket. At the tribunal the Mount player claimed all he did was push the EH player.)

Do you know why they were going off? He was racially abused all game. A few of the keys found out after the game and were not putting up with it.
Wasn't aware the incident was sparked by the racial abuse and if shit like this happens again the best thing to do is to notify the authorities as early as possible instead of waiting for the game to end and sorting it out yourself.

After the whole GRAND final fiasco, there seems to be only two logical solutions:
1) Lyndale v Sandown Grand Final. No, not exactly 1v2 but at least the season gets a finale. Hell the league could even throw the winner 5-10k to help them compete in div 2 in 2015

2) Hallam v Endeavour Hills. If the best two sides cant control themselves and put on a decent show then may as well have the bottom 2 sides fight it out.
Give the winner a premiership flag and cup, preface it with a "default" tag. Leave them in div 3 and then hopefully both so called struggling clubs, can perhaps start an uphill climb.

On a more serious note, would love for someone to post the video so all can see. Even the Beecroft hit if anyone has it.
Perhaps in true Mount style they'll claim all the spectators did was push the CPL players. (in reference to an End hills player ending up with a broken jaw and fractured eye socket. At the tribunal the Mount player claimed all he did was push the EH player.)

Having seen that E. Hills incident from about 10 metres away on the boundary - the E. Hills player squared up and copped a right whack after dishing out cheap blows all game. Not that he deserved what he copped and it was a really poor effort all round. I cannot comment about the hearing as I was not there, so I'll take your word for it. But for the incident itself, he squared up first, missed and copped it sweet. Shameful regardless though.

What was this incident? I don't think Ive ever read about it on this board.

However i think we see the ever growing problem that Mount think its alright to just punch someone willy-nilly. Mount you gotta stop your members from posting the holes are getting deeper.

It was an incident in our first year, Eh player was niggling all day, nothing even on the crowley scale. The mount player just turned around and chinned the EH player 25m off the ball. The EH player ended up having facial surgery for a broken jaw and fractured eye socket. MW reserves coach at the time, told our entire club, that said MW player would never play again. At the tribunal the mount players defense was that all he did was push the EH player. MW coach backed up the story. The whole tribunal was a farce. Think the player only got a week or two due to good past behavior.
Yes i know was many seasons ago but the blatant lying to the EHSFC and the SFL hasn't been forgotten by our club.

On a more serious note in regards to the GF.
It is truly a sad state of affairs and a shame for the majority who commenced the day with excitement at playing in a seniors GF. Only to have the day and season spoilt by a minority, who somehow and for some reason convinced themselves that assaulting others was the best option.

Wasn't there so I cant comment, (hence why i would love to see the video) but all involved should be punished by the full extent of the law.

IMO after the investigation is complete, at the very least, they should suspend the club at fault from finals next season, two seasons, 5 seasons whatever, with the look of expulsion from the league all together.
Even Doveton who was suspended twice, (missed half a season and second expulsion was overturned) never stooped so low as having spectators attack players. It is the clubs responsibility to make sure its members behave.

I like this ;-)
I'm feeling pretty fresh, and I can free up Saturday to play :-D

It was an incident in our first year, Eh player was niggling all day, nothing even on the crowley scale. The mount player just turned around and chinned the EH player 25m off the ball. The EH player ended up having facial surgery for a broken jaw and fractured eye socket. MW reserves coach at the time, told our entire club, that said MW player would never play again. At the tribunal the mount players defense was that all he did was push the EH player. MW coach backed up the story. The whole tribunal was a farce. Think the player only got a week or two due to good past behavior.
Yes i know was many seasons ago but the blatant lying to the EHSFC and the SFL hasn't been forgotten by our club.

These types of incidents have been part and parcel of local footy(they shouldn't be!!), and particularly what the SFL was known for until the last couple of years (every club would, unfortunately, have a story of a dirty act perpetrated on someone from their club, by someone else's club)- they should play no part in the game, and the league has done almost all they can to clean it up (outside of actually employing and training competent umpires- but that is another story)
That said, the reason this incident was so galling for our club and those involved (and the issue most relevant for our, and seemingly a majority of other club's dislike for Mount is their complete arrogance in dealing with the situation that unfolded.
I can almost guarantee there would be no bad blood between mount and us if they had copped their right whack for what occurred, apologised and moved on. Unfortunately the player copped 4 weeks, then appealed the severity of the sentence!!!! For breaking a bloke's jaw and eye socket, behind play.
That incident ended our player's career.
Regardless of any niggle, that is surely not a resonable response.

What is the purpose of this whole story?

When you have behaviour like that, couple it with the lip that comes from the Mount supporters around the bench and on the hill at home games, and the frankly UNBELIEVABLE amount of sooking, and moaning and diving that mount players carry on with during games- and this borederline cheating tactic of clapping & celebrating kicks that are clearly points so as to intimidate umpires into calling them goals- there is a pattern of behaviour that we have seen in games against us (and bare in mind we've only got close to Mount about 3 times in 4 years, so I can't imagine what would happen if we were a chance to beat them regularly) that explains why we despise Mount.

After having conversations with other teams, most come up with similar stories.

Cerberus, after the thirds finals, came up to our players nearly begging us to beat Mount the following week because of how much they disliked how Mount went about the game.

There are some ripping blokes at Mount (i'm not saying they're all sooks & dogs), i've played on Goughy and although he talks a bit of smack on the field, found him to be a ripping bloke. The problem is the acceptance of a culture of arrogance and a celebration of boorish behaviour that should be not accepted at a club that has been frequently up and about on the ladder for the last decade.

Be humble Mount, cop whatever is coming your way- don't appeal the severity of your punishment. Get your house in order and begin to act with class and win with grace. There are enough good footballers at your club to ensure many more years of sustained finals action. There is no way, with the talent that has gone through their doors in the past 5 years Mount should still be in Div 3, perhaps with the actions of their supporters this weekend, we saw a glimpse into the culture of the club as to why it has become so difficult to win and gain the respect of their opponents.

I truly hope Mount can recover from this, play with talent and skill, but also a bit of humility and grace. Then, and only then, will they get respect from their opponents.

After the DIV 3 incident and all accusations on clubs within, its quite interesting to summarise the suspensions through the year in this league and perhaps see where the REAL issues are:

TOTAL SUSPENSIONS BY DIVISION
Div 1: 33 weeks
Div 2 : 64 weeks
Div 3 : 20 weeks (will grow soon though)

TOTAL 117 WEEKS or over TWO YEARS
Crisis, what crisis???
No wonder we struggle to attract players.

OFFENDING CLUBS
Bentleigh: 20 weeks (only one player but the record is there)
Clayton : 20 weeks
Hallam : 12 weeks
Highett : 12 weeks

After the DIV 3 incident and all accusations on clubs within, its quite interesting to summarise the suspensions through the year in this league and perhaps see where the REAL issues are:

TOTAL SUSPENSIONS BY DIVISION
Div 1: 33 weeks
Div 2 : 64 weeks
Div 3 : 20 weeks (will grow soon though)

TOTAL 117 WEEKS or over TWO YEARS
Crisis, what crisis???
No wonder we struggle to attract players.

OFFENDING CLUBS
Bentleigh: 20 weeks (only one player but the record is there)
Clayton : 20 weeks
Hallam : 12 weeks
Highett : 12 weeks

What's that got to do with anything? Suspensions range from anything from abusive language too striking. Other leagues wouldn't be different.
This has to do with somebody from the crowd attacking a player, something that nobody thinks is acceptable.

As said by a few people, most clubs have people who do stupid and inappropriate things that hurt the image of the league and their club. Bringing up past incidents and putting them all together obviously makes a club look bad, but with what happened on the weekend, mount players didn't deserve what happened, some absolutely stupid supporters cost them a flag, something they have trained all year for, and had one hand on it at half time, until something out of there control occurred and now were here.
Not only will the SFL penalise who was involved but you'd think mounts committee will also. Nobody's wants people like that at there club.

Mount Waverleys Senior group should seperate themselves from the club and ask for the SFL to intervene and hand down life bans to the offending people, committee etc.. This was entirely out of there control and it has cost them a flag they deserved, they were the best team all year and they were about to get there reward.
One hand on the cup and an intoxicated group of there supporters have cost them. The people involved should all be banned for life, they have disgraced there clubs and the league. But I feel that in no way should the playing group be punished, under most league guidelines if a season is abandoned the team that finished on top of the
ladder is awarded the premiership.

I really feel for blokes like J. Wilkin, absolute superstar and ripping bloke. Multiple league B&F 's and was by far best on ground to half time. All those GF losses and now this? Can't imaginehow he feels..

I would recommend to him to go to the SFL and plead his case, ask for the playing group to be spared and for a complete overhaul of the club with the league's assistance.

Mount Waverleys Senior group should seperate themselves from the club and ask for the SFL to intervene and hand down life bans to the offending people, committee etc.. This was entirely out of there control and it has cost them a flag they deserved, they were the best team all year and they were about to get there reward.
One hand on the cup and an intoxicated group of there supporters have cost them. The people involved should all be banned for life, they have disgraced there clubs and the league. But I feel that in no way should the playing group be punished, under most league guidelines if a season is abandoned the team that finished on top of the
ladder is awarded the premiership.

I really feel for blokes like J. Wilkin, absolute superstar and ripping bloke. Multiple league B&F 's and was by far best on ground to half time. All those GF losses and now this? Can't imaginehow he feels..

I would recommend to him to go to the SFL and plead his case, ask for the playing group to be spared and for a complete overhaul of the club with the league's assistance.

Aren't you a Lyndale supporter? Why do you care so much about this?

Because its now shown the true colors of a club.
Dumb response.
I played for Mount back in the early 90's, they've not always been responsible for behaviour like that on the weekend.
Every club has it's element of wannabes or never was's that drink piss on the hill that never played football.
I'll bet you London to a brick that none of those supporters were at the club when I played.
On this occasion, those w***ers cost the club a flag.

I've played against Lucas at Skye and cpl, he is a loud mouth and cheating bastard but so are most big forwards. He's hit me behind play a few times but if you give it back to him he drops out of the game. Beercroft is a key play for mount why did it take a thirds player to stand up for him? Nothing that happens on field should be remenstrated off field. The whole thing is a disgrace, dirty act or not no one should be attacked by a spectator.

Nothing that happens on field should be remenstrated off field. The whole thing is a disgrace, dirty act or not no one should be attacked by a spectator.

Couldn't agree more. But that sentiment goes both ways. No matter what verbal abuse may be thrown by any supporter, racial, drunkard or otherwise should ever result in a player hitting a spectator. Players v Players to be dealt with on field by umpires and tribunals, Supporters v Supporters off field to be dealt with by event security and police. Any mixing of those 2 groups is disgraceful, regardless of who started what, retaliation is just as bad and "defending yourself" by attacking back is 100% not an excuse for anyone, on or off the field. Everyone involved in the "brawl", supporters and players are equally to blame so stop singling out any 1 club or individual.

No one here has the actual facts, no one from either club is allowed to comment or it will be deleted by the league anyway, as we've already seen half the posts deleted. So I suggest you all take your speculation of "I heard blah" elsewhere, since it holds absolutely no merit, is completely untrue and you're only going to cause people to believe your lies.

I was 5m from the incident and couldn't see a thing, so speculation of "I saw everything" is bulldust. And claims of 4,000+ crowd is an absolute joke. 1 newspaper reported that figure and everyone has run with it. Be lucky to get 4,000 at div 1, let alone div 3. Would be lucky to have been 2,000 there.

Couldn't agree more. But that sentiment goes both ways. No matter what verbal abuse may be thrown by any supporter, racial, drunkard or otherwise should ever result in a player hitting a spectator. Players v Players to be dealt with on field by umpires and tribunals, Supporters v Supporters off field to be dealt with by event security and police. Any mixing of those 2 groups is disgraceful, regardless of who started what, retaliation is just as bad and "defending yourself" by attacking back is 100% not an excuse for anyone, on or off the field. Everyone involved in the "brawl", supporters and players are equally to blame so stop singling out any 1 club or individual.

No one here has the actual facts, no one from either club is allowed to comment or it will be deleted by the league anyway, as we've already seen half the posts deleted. So I suggest you all take your speculation of "I heard blah" elsewhere, since it holds absolutely no merit, is completely untrue and you're only going to cause people to believe your lies.

I was 5m from the incident and couldn't see a thing, so speculation of "I saw everything" is bulldust. And claims of 4,000+ crowd is an absolute joke. 1 newspaper reported that figure and everyone has run with it. Be lucky to get 4,000 at div 1, let alone div 3. Would be lucky to have been 2,000 there.

are you serious? a drunktard starts throwing punches at the playing group your not going to sit there and cop it! no one would. mount crying poor....again

are you serious? a drunktard starts throwing punches at the playing group your not going to sit there and cop it! no one would.

Does that not work the other way? Drunktard slurring words starts copping punches from a player? Retaliation is not tolerated on the field, how often do you see the retaliator getting suspended instead of the initiator. IANAL but pretty sure in a street fight both parties get charged the same, regardless who threw first, or at least close to the same. The retaliator is certainly not "let free". I'm not claiming to know who threw first, no one should be claiming that as no one knows. My point is it shouldn't matter. Both parties are equally accountable for their actions.

You, like most others here, seem to be adamant mount threw first. So give us all your undeniable proof. What? You don't have any? Exactly.

mount crying poor....again

Don't associate me with mount, haven't played there in 3 years. Nor do I know if they've been "crying poor" or not. And not sure why people claim they are. Not a single person posting on here has been associated with them as they have a league imposed ban. As do CPL. There were 3-4 posts early from a CPL player whinging about not getting to play the last half and they got deleted within minutes.