SFL DIV3 2014

Agreed Realtalk, all parties must take responsibility but the League has no one to answer to except the clubs and they need to be answering some questions here...in 2015 no police = no grand final . Just like a ground inspection report the league get clubs to sign before the game.

Cannot agree with you at all this time Bounce, the league are hosts they need to provide a safe environment, they did not, yes both Presidents are to blame as well but why did they let blokes into the ground that were drunk and brought in there own grog. Bounceback you have some good ideas but your theory is replaced here by simple good management - get police at the Grand Final, get proper security and do what you are paid to do SFL.

Sorry Perspective, when you stated ' SFL lack in duty of care. They are the ones to blame here. ", I thought you meant THEY ARE THE ONES TO BLAME. Now that you agree that both Presidents and clubs are also to blame then I think everyone on here 100% agrees with that.

If any of the clubs go into the 'please explain' meeting by stating our drunk supporters would not have enticed the brawl because there were no police around is like a speeding driver wrapt around a tree saying "I only did it because there were no police around".

Really, individuals must be accountable for their actions and clubs must also for their players and supporters.

My advice to them would be to agree it was not a good look, highlight couple of things could have been done differently, have identified the main culprits and as that is not what we stand for those persons have been informed not to come back. We apologise to league, sponsors (letter to each would be good), Heatherton FC, on their club website, and to the opposition clubs. Get that done, tighten the butt cheeks and await the verdict and punishment I reckon.

Say what you want about the incident or either club, at the end of the day the SFL failed. They failed to hire enough security or to enforce a police presence at an event where they were fully aware of what is possible with the influence of alchahol.

They failed to deliver a result in a Grand Final which is heart breaking for both clubs, supporters and most of all players.

They told Mount Waverley players that CPL did not feel safe to go back onto the ground, and that there first priority was "safety" ....well clearly not.

They panicked and made the wrong decision to call the game off, when police attended they could have separated supporters and continued. They could of cleared the venue of everyone but officials and players and continued..? Why rush your decision and immediately call the game off? And take a month to reach a decision that in the end we all knew, of course the game was brought into disrepute but it didn't have to be. The police could have arrived settled the crowd and even charged/ kicked the offenders out and continued the game! It would never have reached the news and the SFL would have avoided a lot of bad press.
But most of all we would have a RESULT!

Agreed?

Say what you want about the incident or either club, at the end of the day the SFL failed. They failed to hire enough security or to enforce a police presence at an event where they were fully aware of what is possible with the influence of alchahol.

They failed to deliver a result in a Grand Final which is heart breaking for both clubs, supporters and most of all players.

They told Mount Waverley players that CPL did not feel safe to go back onto the ground, and that there first priority was "safety" ....well clearly not.

They panicked and made the wrong decision to call the game off, when police attended they could have separated supporters and continued. They could of cleared the venue of everyone but officials and players and continued..? Why rush your decision and immediately call the game off? And take a month to reach a decision that in the end we all knew, of course the game was brought into disrepute but it didn't have to be. The police could have arrived settled the crowd and even charged/ kicked the offenders out and continued the game! It would never have reached the news and the SFL would have avoided a lot of bad press.

Agreed?
Not involved in Divvy 3 but have spoken to Carrum's President and was at the game. You have just spent 3 minutes of your life typing absolute tripe!
Did you expect 30 Police Officers from around the area to drop what they were doing and come to Heatherton so WE could get a result?? That had the potentional to get real ugly. It was lucky most Carrum supporters and Reserves Players were over the other side of the ground and weren't aware of the incident. The second half would have been marred with punch ups and crowd brawls.

Not involved in Divvy 3 but have spoken to Carrum's President and was at the game. You have just spent 3 minutes of your life typing absolute tripe!
Did you expect 30 Police Officers from around the area to drop what they were doing and come to Heatherton so WE could get a result?? That had the potentional to get real ugly. It was lucky most Carrum supporters and Reserves Players were over the other side of the ground and weren't aware of the incident. The second half would have been marred with punch ups and crowd brawls.

When I said police arrived I meant what I said, police did arrive. The 2-3 that were there could have resolved the incident. I never said anything about 30 police officers get a grip.

And by WE I mean everyone on this forum and everyone in division 3, we want a result. The only people who seem happy not to have one are the SFL AND Carrum! I don't blame them for not coming out after half time it would have gotten ugly, on the scoreboard.

When I said police arrived I meant what I said, police did arrive. The 2-3 that were there could have resolved the incident. I never said anything about 30 police officers get a grip.

And by WE I mean everyone on this forum and everyone in division 3, we want a result. The only people who seem happy not to have one are the SFL AND Carrum! I don't blame them for not coming out after half time it would have gotten ugly, on the scoreboard.

Or Mount could have choked as they have been renowned to do..perhaps they caused the incident to avoid this happening, who knows.

Agreed?

No I don't agree and end of the day you can blame everyone but the most satisfying thing to all SFL players and supporters is that the perpetrators of this shameful incident have been identified, charges have been handed out and now its up to the ACTUAL people responsible to answer those charges. SFL not on trial here, it is a group of individuals and their clubs that must answer the questions.

Did I not make myself clear? I understand the SFL are not fully responsible, the security issue before the incident is there only fault. The rest is fully on Mount & CPL . I'm talking about everything that took place after the incident, the SFL have failed!

Mmm sort of in a biased way. The non result is what it is and under the extradinary events it had to happen and its not world ending issue as some are making it out to be. I reckon a winner will be announced however no silverware presented and one will go up and one will go out. A person will get 6 weeks and a few other fines and suspensions.

End of day just everyones opinions.

and the $$$ circus continues in the west. Obviously Ross chasing $$ which Ashwood have to find and in the meantime strip Sandown where they go back or have to spend to compete.

Cannizzo and the board 'pumps its chest' about looking after current SFL clubs and they just sit back and allow this to happen. As stared on Div 1 thread, league allows the clubs to run the agenda by allowing this type of spiralling cost effect to happen in our area which is already stretched in terms of players and sponsors with end result that players paying subs have to foot these bills I know I cant afford it and will drop out..
Turbo if Ross is that good why doesn't he build his cred and coach in a higher division rather than chasing $$ in the same level. Also I hope you don't go there, if you are annexed to his contract with $$ would be a shame as you need to remove yourself from his skirt and go out in a higher standard and maintain your cred.

If you and him to go there for $$$ doesn't sit right.

SFL should set a rule a player or coach cannot move to same division in its league following year i.e. 12 months out of that division if they are fair dinkum in shutting down the $$$ circus which is destroying SFL battling clubs in this case Ashwood and Sandown. Good help the poor 2's and 3rds players at Ashwood having to pay increased subs with Ross, Turbo and Wineburg t+ all other potential Sandown players. Come on Canizzo get fair dinkum here.

Obviously you have no idea of the goings on at Sandown, and nor do you know Mick. He's not the sort of bloke where money is a motivating factor, and to be honest, do you really think he would be getting more money at a club in the same division? Clubs just don't splash the cash anymore. It's not like he was headhunted by Ashwood, 5 others applied for the position and were all interviewed. Your thread only tells me how little you know of the whole situation.

Why do people feel ok with the game being called off? Was it the scale of the thing? 3 CPL players potentially not able to continue the game?

Think of it on a smaller scale, if for example there was an altercation near the boundary line, say maybe a CPL player pushed a MW player into the boundary fence (which can happen in the midst of a game), then some drunken MW supporter reaches over the fence and connects with CPL player, he's KO'd. In that situation, you would expect security immediately eject that supporter and deal with it after game. Would the game be immediately called off? I wouldn't think so. In fact I'd be surprised if this exact situation (of 1 player) hasn't happened at some local footy game in the past. I've seen many supporters getting heated around opposing teams bench areas.

So if people agree no call off in that 1 player can't continue situation, but are ok with 3 players can't continue means call it off, then what is the number? 2 or 3? If you're about to lose a grand final, do you just get in a supporter brawl so 2 or 3 of your players get "hurt" and call the game off so you don't really lose? Seems a crap precedent to set.

Southern Dragons are transferring back to the SFL and are being put into Div 3 for 2015.

This confirms to me that one of either Carrum or Mt are going to still go up imo.

Or one of them are going to get a ban.

Considering it's effectively 1 charge vs 5 charges, I'll take a stab at Carrum going up, Southern Dragons coming in and maybe Mt getting a few fines and what not.

Southern Dragons are transferring back to the SFL and are being put into Div 3 for 2015.

This confirms to me that one of either Carrum or Mt are going to still go up imo.

Or one of them are going to get a ban.

Considering it's effectively 1 charge vs 5 charges, I'll take a stab at Carrum going up, Southern Dragons coming in and maybe Mt getting a few fines and what not.

Moorabbin going down, dragons coming in and both GF sides staying down would make an even 12 sides in div 3.

Keysy come in to Div 2 keeping it at 10 sides.

That's my guess on what's going to happen.

Moorabbin going down, dragons coming in and both GF sides staying down would make an even 12 sides in div 3.

You'd be wrong, in the AFL report, and its in writing from the SFL to both clubs, there's definately going to be a promotion.

I'd be surprised if they promoted a side and created an uneven divy 2. If there are uneven divisions all leagues inc. SFL would want the uneven division to be the bottom division.
Do they create a 4th division?

I'd be surprised if they promoted a side and created an uneven divy 2. If there are uneven divisions all leagues inc. SFL would want the uneven division to be the bottom division.
Do they create a 4th division?

It's been instructed that there will be a bye in Div 2, as I said, it's in writing there is is to be a promotion.

They will probably rectify the bye with an incoming team in 2016.

Southern Dragons were sought out for that reason, obviously the league has a plan in place for the 2016 season in Div 2 and are setting things in place now.

Reckon you're spot on, Tigers. Can't see either Div 3 team going up IMO - especially with the announcement yesterday that the Dragons had applied to come back into the SFL and would see them back in Div 3.

Maybe that's why the investigation has taken so long, need to finalise incoming clubs before a decision made on who's where in 2015

Not only that but there was also an investigation into the Mordialloc/Doveton incident running concurrently to our investigation as well.

Not surprising that the Dragons realised that there long term future is with the SFL. They are a club that required a lot of SFL assistance when setting up and when they got on their feet flew the coup but when the VAFA treated them like just another district club and the promotional opportunity for the VAFA subsided then lost interest in the Dragons and they knew that the SFL would support them. Well the previous SFL regime would have welcomed them...hopefully the same now applies..

SFL DIV3 2014