SFL Division 1 Only

spot on there tap ruck.......are you as good as predicting sfl games as you are afl because my tips are struggling!

Popped into the peanut farm on Saturday and saw the best comeback , City were down 52 points late in the 3rd quarter and got up, how does that happen at this level?

Looks like the doggies are up and about, I reckon without Casset theyve got City's measure!

Mordi were extremely ordinary on the weekend, combine that with a very polished St Pauls equals an ass f’in!! Lack of on field leadership & direction, accompanied with a pea heart attitude also doesn’t help. Injuries are becoming a big concern with Long out indefinitely with a bad pinched nerve in his neck, Marc and Rob Horler both out are really hurting the club.

Positive notes – Nathan Stockley is in sensational form at present, Sammy Hobley burning it up along with Troy Ogier. Reserves are feeling the pinch from the first’s injuries but with a few players performing exceptionally well so far this year should be close to a recall this week.

Might just be a few more surprise selections this week’s very important game v Tooronga, as the club find a way to get that sensational early season form back. Just hope that the off field problems can be solved this week for the greater good of the club. A win this week is crucial if they are to challenge for a top four spot - with 6 home games in the 2nd half of the year they need to get to 5-4 to have a good crack at it.

Do you care to elaborate on this Chaddles. Obviously Mordi out of form but are you implying there is something more to it?

John McNamara. Drafted by the Roos. About 35-36 years old. Well built, good hands, good kick. Football nomad.

Saw him Saturday, good mates with the port guys at City,played his best footy at Port VFA in the 90's apparently been at Berwick for a couple of seasons,mid 30's in fairly good nick. Looked a little out of touch but Kicked 4 and gave a couple away , more a CHF\CHB than FF, smart move by City as they lack size and he could be handy come finals time, didnt look like a player you would buy?

yeah must agree mordi were pretty average, really thought it would be alot closer than the score showed.

i know mordi had a couple out but if u looked at the doggies out they probaly were missing more talent.

heath barnes, jarrod rafferty, steven sziller, andrew shilton, dan oreilly, ryan smith thats just abouth their full time onball division

More like a player who is trying to pinch a flag before his body caves in, I think City were hoping for Rob Walker to fire up mid season but it doesnt look like that will happen from all reports.

Even better, what about Cheltenham picking up Adam Henry reportedly one of the worst blokes to represent East Brighton football club has held at least 3 clubs to ransom, even signed at Balwyn whilst still playing at East Brighton in the same season, an absolute shocker, I would have though Chelt with there juniors would not want a 35 yo highly paid midfielder taking up a spot. He would not get out of Bed for under $500, maybe thay think they are a chance to win it and are topping up on experience, if I was Bret Shalders I would be looking over my shoulder very carefully

Sorry he could be 38?

Even better, what about Cheltenham picking up Adam Henry reportedly one of the worst blokes to represent East Brighton football club has held at least 3 clubs to ransom, even signed at Balwyn whilst still playing at East Brighton in the same season, an absolute shocker, I would have though Chelt with there juniors would not want a 35 yo highly paid midfielder taking up a spot. He would not get out of Bed for under $500, maybe thay think they are a chance to win it and are topping up on experience, if I was Bret Shalders I would be looking over my shoulder very carefully

Sorry he could be 38?

Hasn't played in two years. Dominated the two's on the weekend but still short on game fitness.
Not sure about whats happened in the past but we don't live in the past. Everyone deserves a chance.
Kids (U18's) still playing in both firsts and seconds and doing very well. Promoting juniors is still the main goal and are what will keep the club strong!

Not trying to ruffle a few feathers before the weekend are you b2b? :)

Hasn't played in two years. Dominated the two's on the weekend but still short on game fitness.
Not sure about whats happened in the past but we don't live in the past. Everyone deserves a chance.
Kids (U18's) still playing in both firsts and seconds and doing very well. Promoting juniors is still the main goal and are what will keep the club strong!

He played in 2006 Superfreak.
Walked out on East Brighton after practice match because he couldn't handle being told a few home truths.Then went out to Bundoora where he couldn't get a game and gave it away.A good 2's player who was finished 2-3 years ago.

Also interesting to note CRUNCH from East Brighton has gone to Collegians (A-Grade Ammo's).Mr Insider would be very disappointed with him after all he has done for him over the last 3-4 years.
Will struggle to get a game at that level i would think.

Do you care to elaborate on this Chaddles. Obviously Mordi out of form but are you implying there is something more to it?

Nothing sinister anyway - when you look at the way the season started playing some great football with a lot of confidence, esp. against St Kilda and Chelt, then 3 very poor results in succession including 2 100+ pt pumpings, you have to explore on and off field for solutions. I was referring more to training numbers being average lately, and a few key injuries that seem to have sapped confidence out of the side. Maybe all the boys really need is a good old fashion kick in the arse...

Not at all mate,whos feathers would I be ruffling? just passing on some second hand info I had from friends at East Brighton, you sound very excited about Saturday should be a decent game, probably wont see it
have to work, will the league be showing it?

heard there were a little more than some home truths told to henry.

he told me he walked out of the club because of the coaching situation.

for him to stay east were to appoint a non paying coach, that they did hired scurrah, week befor the season starts scurrah decides he wants to play, adam cracked the shits and left the club

Adam Henry = Bad news, the bloke is highly reasponsible for East Brighton's demise with an influx of players leaving the club when he was still around. (start of season 2006) I heard he wanted to play for Black Rock at one stage but James Challice feared his presence as a bloke at the club may also continue the domino affect he has at other clubs, will effect the rockers. If Chelt need to know anymore about the bloke just ask BRIGHTSPARK!!! I carnt wait to also see Adam's number 1 supporter again his lovely mrs cheering for him on the wing.

Adam Henry is a very good FOOTBALLER. Not sure how he goes now but I remember him terrorising sides back at Hurlingham Park and he was very good on the big stage at Springy too. Hopefully he can get himself fit...

Cheltenham V City Winner and why? I'm going with City due to form and the overall list strength, both sides not at there best though.Should be a ripsnorter.

PS. Doggies Missing Barnes, Rafferty, Sziller, O'Reilly, Smith and Shilton- only Raff and Barnsey are true onballers...and even these two are rotated thoroughly.

Sorry Brightspark, Kivanc Cevik is a great player, can kick goals, racks up stats and runs very hard. Should do well at A-Grade Ammo's level if he has a crack...

Adam Henry is a very good FOOTBALLER. Not sure how he goes now but I remember him terrorising sides back at Hurlingham Park and he was very good on the big stage at Springy too. Hopefully he can get himself fit...

Cheltenham V City Winner and why? I'm going with City due to form and the overall list strength, both sides not at there best though.Should be a ripsnorter.

PS. Doggies Missing Barnes, Rafferty, Sziller, O'Reilly, Smith and Shilton- only Raff and Barnsey are true onballers...and even these two are rotated thoroughly.

those in bold spend a bit of time in the midfield, sziller plays a half forward role and only comes into the midfield if needed, oreilly is predominantly a backman whilst Smith has been out all year with a knee reco since the grand final.

But still a good group of players to come back

Springvale made the news today

THE grieving son of a woman shot dead by her ex-partner in a bloody murder suicide is appalled by a planned footy club tribute to the killer.
Nicholas Brown said the Springvale District Football Club's plan to wear black armbands during their weekend match was a slap in the face.
"How could you participate? He's a murderer," Mr Brown said of Moorabbin businessman Carl Parkin.
Parkin, 61, lured Aspendale Gardens resident Annette Brown, 57, to a deserted carpark late Monday night where he shot her dead.
He then turned the .22 calibre gun on himself.
Ms Brown had taken out an intervention order against Mr Parkin when their relationship ended recently.
Springvale District Football Club league secretary Tony Cooper last night defended Mr Parkin, a 15-year member.
"It is a tragedy," Mr Cooper said. "He was a friend of the club and what he's done was pretty horrible but he did a lot for the local area."
Mr Parkin's business -- Keys Road Clearance Centre -- had sponsored clubs in the district and Parkin had been popular with teammates.
The tragedy had shocked the club.
"He was at footy last Saturday and he seemed as happy as the next bloke," Mr Cooper said. The club website says: "Vale Carl Parkin . . . Carl was a generous benefactor to our club who never said no to the many requests for sponsorship and assistance over the years."
Mr Cooper confirmed players would wear black armbands during their Saturday clash with against East Brighton.
Victims' advocates demanded a boycott of the match, branding the armband gesture disgraceful.
"It's very inappropriate," Crime Victims Support Association president Noel McNamara said.
"The guy murdered an innocent person.
"No one deserves to die like that so to pay tribute to a murderer is an insult to the victim's family. There should be a boycott."
Ms Brown's sons, Nicholas and Sam, 28, are still trying to comprehend the tragedy.
"He's taken away the best thing in our lives," Nicholas, 26, said.
"My mum was the best thing in the world."
Mr Cooper said plans to wear an alternative jumper -- which Mr Parkin had helped buy -- were scrapped when the Southern Football League intervened.
Southern Football League general manager Wayne Holdsworth said the opposing team had asked them to step in. But he said there was nothing the league could do to stop players wearing black armbands.

Whats everyones thoughts on this?