SFL Division One - 2011

I think rather than speaking about lists & money, we should be talking about the actual football game.

Will be an absolute cracker no doubt, with hopefully good weather for all to view SFL at it's best.

East Brighton have been a successfull SFL club in the past, and don't spend too much time down the bottom, whilst St Pauls are one of the most consistent teams, having never been relegated to Division 2, whilst making finals numerous times.

Both are great clubs, so lets focus on the footy!

I think rather than speaking about lists & money, we should be talking about the actual football game.

Will be an absolute cracker no doubt, with hopefully good weather for all to view SFL at it's best.

East Brighton have been a successfull SFL club in the past, and don't spend too much time down the bottom, whilst St Pauls are one of the most consistent teams, having never been relegated to Division 2, whilst making finals numerous times.

Both are great clubs, so lets focus on the footy!

100% agree with you CT. End of the day its refreshing to see two different sides in the GF as one of us will be the winner. Nothing against city but they've had their time in the sun.

I'm heading along for my second SFL game (the first was last week :D). Who should I barrack for? What I should I look out for? What are the hotdogs like at Springvale?

St Pauls by less than 20
BOG:Barnes

Will be a shame that after copying the way St Kilda City won all their flags that East Brighton won't bring home the chocolate's.
you'd be better off copying stkilda city winning flags than stpauls winning a flag
haha it will be 1 from 6 come sunday evening
thats unless the dirty fat copper umpires the odds shorten right up for stpauls

Agree Cousin Tiger (congrats to you also for taking the next step and becoming a consistent ones player!!). Lets talk about the upcoming game. Who cares which team pays what and how much. It is local footy. And if you have the cash and/or personal to rescruit good footballers to your footy club then good luck to you!!

Hopefully will be an even game on Sunday. Obviously East Brighton would go in as firm favourites as they have had an outstanding year. Well coached by the hard nut Hope, and with some great runners to compliment there big boys they will be very difficult to beat. St. Pauls to have some great runners, probably not as big across the board, but the recruitment of the Gilbert brothers, especially the key position one (Andrew) i think has helped greatly in that department.

Loking at the forecast (not that it matters 3 days out) it seems like it will be a good day for footy. Lets hope the spring wind is not up and about like usual on GF days.

My tip is an upset, after to finally getting the monkey (gorilla) off their backs in 2008, St. Pauls by 10 points in a cracking affair!!

Good luck to both teams!!

PS. To TheKoach who is still bitter about 2008. Let it go!! Even the boys down at City would have to admit that their own undisplined acts cost them heavily on that day. You guys were probably the better team in 2008, but one could argue St. Pauls were the better team in 2007 and you boys got the chocolates. So 1 all between 2007/08 seems pretty fair in my opinion!!

And the alternative? Douthie 3 years, Williamson 3 years, Jamieson 9 years, Bowman 9 years, Stewart 3 years, Reid 4 years, Hope 8 years, De Luca 4 years, Mahoney 3 years, Gomizel 3 years. As far as leaving all have resigned for 2012. In terms of dollars I think you might find the Doggies are spending more but when you have a dysfunctional junior club hell bent of preventing a path through what does a club do? Pretty lame criticism. Don't see a Sziller, Liddell or Wheatley in there. Never chased the likes of Sautner. Pretty simple really if your list isn't good enough to bring home the bacon get one that might be or run around playing social football like 2nd Division clubs that have been relegated and have been making up numbers for years. St.Pauls finally have the luxury of Colts so bragging rights are there but canning East Brighton for getting a quality list when they are hamstrung with private school footy and a junior committee that shows no interest doesn't leave lot of choice. Credit where credit is due. The club shouldn't be criticized for constructing a very competitive group of players that might just be good enough to take it out. After all there are 27 other clubs in the SFL that haven't been able to do it.

Just checked a league record from 2009, neither Stewart or Reid on list, hence 1st or 2nd year players(2010/11).

Wasn't really a criticism of your club, more a simple fact of your playing list.I realize that clubs have to pay money to keep/get players. I think you have done a great job getting good players for not alot of coin.Your club's dislike of StKC is well known, just find it interesting you bag them for paying heaps of money for flags, when you have done pretty much the same thing, but cheaper.

And I think we all know the value of a contract these days.....

Just checked a league record from 2009, neither Stewart or Reid on list, hence 1st or 2nd year players(2010/11).

Wasn't really a criticism of your club, more a simple fact of your playing list.I realize that clubs have to pay money to keep/get players. I think you have done a great job getting good players for not alot of coin.Your club's dislike of StKC is well known, just find it interesting you bag them for paying heaps of money for flags, when you have done pretty much the same thing, but cheaper.

And I think we all know the value of a contract these days.....

You seem confused. Your saying we are buying a flag but then say we aren't spending foo much. Give it a rest. Since you have nothing better to do than check our 2009 playing list, I'm still waiting to see who has played in the mostGF loses or are you waiting till Sunday for the clubhouse champion

Agree Cousin Tiger (congrats to you also for taking the next step and becoming a consistent ones player!!). Lets talk about the upcoming game. Who cares which team pays what and how much. It is local footy. And if you have the cash and/or personal to rescruit good footballers to your footy club then good luck to you!!

Hopefully will be an even game on Sunday. Obviously East Brighton would go in as firm favourites as they have had an outstanding year. Well coached by the hard nut Hope, and with some great runners to compliment there big boys they will be very difficult to beat. St. Pauls to have some great runners, probably not as big across the board, but the recruitment of the Gilbert brothers, especially the key position one (Andrew) i think has helped greatly in that department.

Loking at the forecast (not that it matters 3 days out) it seems like it will be a good day for footy. Lets hope the spring wind is not up and about like usual on GF days.

My tip is an upset, after to finally getting the monkey (gorilla) off their backs in 2008, St. Pauls by 10 points in a cracking affair!!

Good luck to both teams!!

PS. To TheKoach who is still bitter about 2008. Let it go!! Even the boys down at City would have to admit that their own undisplined acts cost them heavily on that day. You guys were probably the better team in 2008, but one could argue St. Pauls were the better team in 2007 and you boys got the chocolates. So 1 all between 2007/08 seems pretty fair in my opinion!!

Cheers mate.

Hopefully your tip eventuates!

Cheers mate.

Hopefully your tip eventuates!

The way I see it if you are going to be successful in Division 1 you need to spend money on players. There are 2 issues, how you get it and who you spend it on. I feel that's where any possible resentment of StK City originates
You cannot tell me the Doggies win in 08 wasn't extensively popular and one only has to ask why? You'll answer the question easily.

As far as the big one this week is concerned. St. Pauls have been gallant and probably surprised even themselves. They were too good for City last week but have had a tough month. East Brighton, on the other have done everything right and have a very good list. On that basis I think the Vampires have the upper hand and will be hard to beat. If the second semi was any indication it will be a tough uncompromising affair. My doubts surround St.Pauls ability to kick a winning score against the best defence in the SFL

Doggiedunce look harder as they both played in 2009 and who cares anyway as everyone pays money for good players,( some pay for bad Players as well ) and you are paying more than us, but that doesn't mean anything at all.
The main thing is how you put the list together and East Brighton have done a great job of getting this group of young players together to form a great team
So the two top teams of 2011 will meet this week and the best side will win that is a fact
Go Vampires

Good to see you know your own players well, footballs great.Why don't you ask someone at your club who actually knows what their talking about.maybe ask the coach to put name tags on the players jumpers......

I'm gonna tip an upset... I'm not a big fan of having the week off in finals as opposed to a team thats had tough games all the way through.

So St. Pauls by 20 points.

I'm also a fan of an underdog and don't like sides who big mouth'emselves.

Good to see you know your own players well, footballs great.Why don't you ask someone at your club who actually knows what their talking about.maybe ask the coach to put name tags on the players jumpers......

Why don't you talk about something you know about then, not what you don't know about:D:D So you wouldn't have much to talk about would you LOL :D:D:D:D
As I said the best team will win. Go Vampires

I'm gonna tip an upset... I'm not a big fan of having the week off in finals as opposed to a team thats had tough games all the way through.

So St. Pauls by 20 points.

I'm also a fan of an underdog and don't like sides who big mouth'emselves.

That's the perennial argument isn't it? Whether the week off is offset by teams playing through. I'm not sure anyone can define it accurately. There are enough examples of each to indicate that it's who's up on the day that takes it out but, having said that at this stage of the year my preference would be for the week off. As far as the players you mentioned Doggiedancing, both played in 2009 but the player list may have not been updated in the record as is often the case. Best of luck to all playing and their supporters. Both clubs have had ripping seasons and are worthy Grand Finalists. In the twos Dingley by the length of the straight to rub more salt into the Heighters season and City to win the Colts. Highett to march back into Division 1 over Bentleigh who have done a great job in their first year back.

Watching tonight has me thinking doggies may be able to advantage of the vampires lack of footy I last month. However if close at 3 qrt time vampires to finish over dogs.
FG am I leading tips as a vampire win will see me 6 out of 6 in finals

Watching tonight has me thinking doggies may be able to advantage of the vampires lack of footy I last month. However if close at 3 qrt time vampires to finish over dogs.
FG am I leading tips as a vampire win will see me 6 out of 6 in finals

Yes you are the only one going for 6/6