SFL Division One - 2011

Re: Div 1 2011

Very amusing read Wildy. It would be a great idea for a book I reckon, a lot of country towns/clubs would have an anecdote like this particularly going back when AFL/VFL lists weren't formalised as they are now.

This guy certainly hasn't done anything of note in the SFL in the last 7-8 years, haven't heard of him.
I was U/16's and 18's back then and never played 1's till after he left, did train with them a few times though. So was never coached by him.

He was always pretty welcoming with the young blokes back then and didn't mind a few of us joining in training. The young blokes obviously idolised him. He was probably one of the most talented players i've ever seen but obviously his activities outside footy stopped him from reaching his potential at a higher level.

Having said that on his day he was absolutely unstoppable, loved a scrap, could take a hanger and a gem of a kick. Saw him bomb goals regularly from set shots well outside fifty and lost count of how many times he kicked double figures.

I've caught up with him a couple of times over the last 6 or 7 years when he's been down to Moe for re-unions etc. and he's certainly put in a few big day's with the boy's.

All I could say about his coaching is during 94,95 Moe had on paper some of the most talented players ever to play in our competition with Ken at the helm and quite a few other Port Melbourne players and yes Paul Bryce did play I think it was the year after he was delisted by the Swans, we also had Brad Sparks for a season as well and we were a flop in the finals. He just couldn't bring that group of blokes together to achieve success.

Think he wen't to Tassie (Launceston or Sth Launceston) in 96.

How did you find him?

if the club is in the red could you please explain how that could possibly be richards fault?

Did the club spend money that they didnt have?
Did Richard encourage them to do so with some undertakings that were not forthcoming.
As I said, i heard the same rumour and i was making a simple comment!

Did the club spend money that they didnt have?
Did Richard encourage them to do so with some undertakings that were not forthcoming.
As I said, i heard the same rumour and i was making a simple comment!

Richard paid all money promised to the club and never encouraged them to overspend on players. He had nothing to do with recruiting. Richard was coach of the senior team he didn't run the club. He has never promised anything to the club and not delivered.

I was U/16's and 18's back then and never played 1's till after he left, did train with them a few times though. So was never coached by him.

He was always pretty welcoming with the young blokes back then and didn't mind a few of us joining in training. The young blokes obviously idolised him. He was probably one of the most talented players i've ever seen but obviously his activities outside footy stopped him from reaching his potential at a higher level.

Having said that on his day he was absolutely unstoppable, loved a scrap, could take a hanger and a gem of a kick. Saw him bomb goals regularly from set shots well outside fifty and lost count of how many times he kicked double figures.

I've caught up with him a couple of times over the last 6 or 7 years when he's been down to Moe for re-unions etc. and he's certainly put in a few big day's with the boy's.

All I could say about his coaching is during 94,95 Moe had on paper some of the most talented players ever to play in our competition with Ken at the helm and quite a few other Port Melbourne players and yes Paul Bryce did play I think it was the year after he was delisted by the Swans, we also had Brad Sparks for a season as well and we were a flop in the finals. He just couldn't bring that group of blokes together to achieve success.

Think he wen't to Tassie (Launceston or Sth Launceston) in 96.

How did you find him?

Yeah it was 96 and with the then Launceston Raiders which have now gone back to being called the Launceston Blues.

Kenny was a great bloke actually all our recruits that year were there was a young bloke i say young was same age as me back then 20 from Moe who also came across his proper name has me lost nicked name "Bull".

We were coached that year by ex Collingwood/Richmond player Michael Lockman who also didnt mind a party.

Gee i think we pulled in something like 6 victorian recruits that year to just miss the finals.

Richard paid all money promised to the club and never encouraged them to overspend on players. He had nothing to do with recruiting. Richard was coach of the senior team he didn't run the club. He has never promised anything to the club and not delivered.

He is terrific for the comp, just ask Parkmore!!!:thumbsdown: Are you fair dinkum when you say that he had nothing to do with recruitment?

Rumour out of St. Kilda City is that they are struggling? Have heard that they are starting 2011 with $70,0000 in the red?

Is this just crap being spread around or is the powerhouse actually struggling?

Rumors about stkilda city are not new!

The club is in good hands , and going ok on & off the field.

He is terrific for the comp, just ask Parkmore!!!:thumbsdown: Are you fair dinkum when you say that he had nothing to do with recruitment?

I just made a simple comment hoping a simpleton like yourself would understand but maybe you are a little bit worse off than i thought?? Richard brought casset, mimo and Dave Sheehan with him when he first come but did not recruit one player after that. Can you not understand that. Not sure how I can write it any other way. We had other people in the club doing recruiting which I would think is not unusual. Maybe it is unusual where you come from but then again how many divvy 1 grand finals has your team played in and won over the last four years. As for Richard not being good for the comp as you say I would of thought the standard of divvy 1 has gone up since he come in

Yeah it was 96 and with the then Launceston Raiders which have now gone back to being called the Launceston Blues.

Kenny was a great bloke actually all our recruits that year were there was a young bloke i say young was same age as me back then 20 from Moe who also came across his proper name has me lost nicked name "Bull".

We were coached that year by ex Collingwood/Richmond player Michael Lockman who also didnt mind a party.

Gee i think we pulled in something like 6 victorian recruits that year to just miss the finals.

That would be Kevin "BULL" Grima, Kev has been having a kick for Yarragon in one of the local minor leagues over last couple of years, still finding plenty of the pill and sending blokes off on stretchers..saw him running around Moe regularly last season...still super fit!!

B2B, do you mean not true??

As I mention, it's only whats been heard! That's why I thought someone on BF who is close to St. Kilda City can clarify.

Rumour has it the club hast lost sevaral players and appointed another Dud Coach i am sure they will all get on here and deny this..
I would say the club wont win more than 8 games next year....

Rumour has it the club hast lost sevaral players and appointed another Dud Coach i am sure they will all get on here and deny this..
I would say the club wont win more than 8 games next year....

Danny Jacobs has signed at Sunshine. Apparently owed $$$ by St Kilda City.

That would be Kevin "BULL" Grima, Kev has been having a kick for Yarragon in one of the local minor leagues over last couple of years, still finding plenty of the pill and sending blokes off on stretchers..saw him running around Moe regularly last season...still super fit!!

Thats the one Kev Grima he is around my age he was hard at back then.

I just made a simple comment hoping a simpleton like yourself would understand but maybe you are a little bit worse off than i thought?? Richard brought casset, mimo and Dave Sheehan with him when he first come but did not recruit one player after that. Can you not understand that. Not sure how I can write it any other way. We had other people in the club doing recruiting which I would think is not unusual. Maybe it is unusual where you come from but then again how many divvy 1 grand finals has your team played in and won over the last four years. As for Richard not being good for the comp as you say I would of thought the standard of divvy 1 has gone up since he come in

So he hasnt recruited anyone but he brought 3 players with him, hmmm. You are the king of contradiction buddy.
If you are happy being Richy's Muppet, I will leave you in peace but next time dont change your story so meekly!

So he hasnt recruited anyone but he brought 3 players with him, hmmm. You are the king of contradiction buddy.
If you are happy being Richy's Muppet, I will leave you in peace but next time dont change your story so
Which club are you from again.....???:D

i believe i said this about tays a few weeks ago cmon guys give me up to date news:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

mate wheatly is one of the best blokes going round. like many ex afl players i dont think he took on much of a career during his playing days and might be struggling to make the adjustment. from all reports he was offered huge money and a role to further his coaching development, so good luck to him.

fact is though he only managed 6 games last year, the big mans hamstrings are as gone as any player ive ever seen and i think he will be first to admit that.

So anyone dare to have a crack now at the ladder positions come the end of H&A 2011?

CH
St Pauls
East Brighton
Mordi

Chelt
Dingley
Clayton
Tooronga
Heatherton

Pretty uneducated, but i think the top 5 and bottom 5 should be along these lines.... maybe chelt and mordi to swap

So anyone dare to have a crack now at the ladder positions come the end of H&A 2011?

CH
St Pauls
East Brighton
Mordi

Chelt
Dingley
Clayton
Tooronga
Heatherton

Pretty uneducated, but i think the top 5 and bottom 5 should be along these lines.... maybe chelt and mordi to swap

look's about right to me good work :):):):):):)

CH
St Pauls
East Brighton
Mordi

Chelt
Dingley
Clayton
Tooronga
Heatherton

Chelt to be the big improvers and finish 3rd behind C H & St.Kilda City, East B to miss.

CH
St Pauls
East Brighton
Mordi

Chelt
Dingley
Clayton
Tooronga
Heatherton

Ha ha ha City cant finish 3rd when they will be lucky to win 8 games get your head out of that big black hole champ:D