SFL Division Two - 2012

Abella would be over the moon with his decision to go to the dragons after he committed to play at Skye. (after the weekend results.)Dragons were competitive for a half though. Skye were shattered after losing the first game from all reports so the dragons may have got them on a bad day. Huge game next week Skye V Bentleigh. Is Plapp playing?

I think from what i heard he (Abela)went there as he knows the coach and a mate of both A.Dexter also went down to the club. The Dragons were definatly outplayed for alot of the game, Skye had too many talls and seemed to play there ground very well. If the Dragons play like they did in round 1 more often, they will push quiet a few sides, they need to kick straighter though, hahahaha

What a weekend. Rain, hail and shine and that was just Saturday. Few dominate performances along with a few disappointing results as well. Lets get into the Round 2 review

Bentleigh vs Black Rock
The first half ebbed and flowed and the Rockers took it up to the Demons in a hard fought contest. But in 15mins of footy the Demons blew this game wide open and ended up showing Black Rock what premiership contenders look like. In what was an ugly day, Harris toiled hard in the ruck again, but the Rockers failed to kick a goal after half time and this game got ugly early into the 3rd quarter. Like the week before Black Rock need to play 4 quarters of footy, not be satisfied with just a half of footy.

South Yarra vs Oakleigh Districts
Oakleigh took apart South Yarra from the opening bounce and this was over early on, but what would have pleased the Oakleigh coaching staff is they kept the foot on the throttle and kicked 18 goals to 6 after quarter time. Alimovski kicked a bag of 7 and was a clear BOG for mine as the as the boys from Oakleigh won clearly by 90. South Yarra look disinterested from the opening bounce and need to come out and play with a bit more sting in their tail.

Hampton vs Springvale Districts
As i mentioned last week the boys from Hampton took it up to Bentleigh and again came out on FIRE again smashing Springvale in the first quarter kicking 4 goals to one point and looked like the celebrations from last friday night were still carried on until Saturday for the boys from Springvale. But true to form they hit back and were all level at half time. The game ebbed and flowed through the last half but like any good team found a way to win even if they arent at their best. Hampton can consider themselves stiff and a win is not to far away.

Skye vs South Dragons
Not only did the boys from Skye take last week personally they took it physically out on the Dragons. After a slow start in the first quarter the Bombers hit their stride and went bang bang bang. And then before the Dragons could respond the game was over. The 17 scoring shots flattered the Dragons score, because they were lucky to have not been pumped by 100+. The boys from Skye put the cue in the rack and had chances to have a massive % boost.

Murrumbeena vs East Malvern
The Oracle was made to eat his words last week and again the old Tooronga Malvern FC have again proved they will not be taken lightly. But the real talking point was the fact in the last quarter Murrumbeena kicked 2.6 vs East Malverns 2.1. If you kick more goals then points its proven you win games and The Beans only have themselves to blame. Is the East Malvern run a fluke or have they stamped their mark on the competition with 2 wins from 2 starts. Only time will tell

The Oracle
:):)

Here come the bombers, look out bentleigh. I fear an almighty touch up looming next week.

Skye r the team to beat they r lucky they have two grounds to train on

The sfl oracle should be renamed the sfl NFI don't comment on games u were not at

Will bentleigh twos be ever be beaten??

Here come the bombers, look out bentleigh. I fear an almighty touch up looming next week.

Print the flag and engrave the cup for 2012. Address it to Carrum Downs Recreational Reserve, Wedge Rd Skye.

Rumour has it the Coach is already rehearsing his acceptance speech.:D

Also heard Chrissy Merlo maybe training down at hanger this week, another handy in if true

The sfl oracle should be renamed the sfl NFI don't comment on games u were not at

You obviously have never been to Skye's grounds at night. There lights are sh-thouse on both grounds. They do not even light up half of the ground so it is no advantage at all. They have to train at an alternate location on Thursdays because they are that bad. I'm sure East Malvern beat them last week too.

Print the flag and engrave the cup for 2012. Address it to Carrum Downs Recreational Reserve, Wedge Rd Skye.

Also heard Chrissy Merlo maybe training down at hanger this week, another handy in if true

Which one?

Pretty good effort by the Oracle to attend five games simultaneously. Judging from the posts I'd suggest he's going to the Black Rock games (if any) and that's it. Nothing else there that can't be gleaned from the SFL website.

We hosted Oakleigh and it was tight and competitive for the first quarter or so. After that Oakleigh were able to hit the scoreboard pretty regularly. As cptkirk said, we've obviously had our dramas in the off season but we can't dwell on that. We're rebuilding the club this year with plenty of new players and there will be some pain in this transition period. It'll say a lot about the character of our guys this season how we carry ourselves against teams that are often a lot more experienced, but we're a club with good people behind the scenes and hopefully we'll come out of this period stronger as a group and as a club. All we can do is aim to learn from each week and improve, which I'm confident we'll do.

What a d1ckhead statement, Skye is 1-1??

Next week will be ridicolously tough, at bentleigh's home ground they are indeed favourites for this game and for the premiership followed by springy!!

Give the oracle a break, who cares how many games he went to, i for one enjoy the write ups and predictions, you keep bagging him and he wont write anymore

it aint that hard to ring people and find out info

yes they will be beaten, we have our ways. Any chance to get a lazy fifty on them losing.:)

Give the oracle a break, who cares how many games he went to, i for one enjoy the write ups and predictions, you keep bagging him and he wont write anymore

it aint that hard to ring people and find out info

I too agree with MadMan, it gives us something to read in between the trolls on here. If someone is going to take to the time to do what SFLOracle does, then let him.

Does anyone seriously believe that Daryl Pitman goes to the 15 SFL games per week so he can write his match review for the Leader each week??

Seriously give him a break, keep up the previews/reviews Oracle :thumbsu:

Thank you for all your constructive criticism and positive feedback on how i should compile my weekly events, really good to get feedback on what you think and ill take that info consideration

Been a bit slack so i cant wait for the reaction to the previews each week. ;-)

Logical sense would dictate that it is physically impossible for me to be at 5 games at once. I am not going to say who i have gone and watched each week on the weekend, but i do have ways of getting information from people both involved in the SFL and those who might not be involved in the clubs at all they may just be a spectator that went along to watch the footy. More then one way to skin a cat

Lets not throw the baby out with the bath water just yet. We are only 2 rounds in and i havent even given the mid year review, which ill give you a heads up now if you dont like honest opinions look away come mid year

Can anybody down at the hammers let us know if George Metaxis has trained down there yet? He's a good mate of the coaches and if he plays will make a handy onball combo for them with diluvio

Thank you for all your constructive criticism and positive feedback on how i should compile my weekly events, really good to get feedback on what you think and ill take that info consideration

Been a bit slack so i cant wait for the reaction to the previews each week. ;-)

Logical sense would dictate that it is physically impossible for me to be at 5 games at once. I am not going to say who i have gone and watched each week on the weekend, but i do have ways of getting information from people both involved in the SFL and those who might not be involved in the clubs at all they may just be a spectator that went along to watch the footy. More then one way to skin a cat

Lets not throw the baby out with the bath water just yet. We are only 2 rounds in and i havent even given the mid year review, which ill give you a heads up now if you dont like honest opinions look away come mid year

Just want to say, you are doing a great job and it would be great to get more people like yourself around SFL in any Div

What a d1ckhead statement, Skye is 1-1??

Next week will be ridicolously tough, at bentleigh's home ground they are indeed favourites for this game and for the premiership followed by springy!!
Skye are ready this year, bentleigh is a test but the bombers are ready to take the comp by the scruff of the neck. Hynes will dominate especially in finals and the coach corwey, is really on a mission this year! Stop deflecting favourtism and get behind us! Go the bombers!!! I agree with kphrophyphe and print the flag and post it to wedge rd.

Can anybody down at the hammers let us know if George Metaxis has trained down there yet? He's a good mate of the coaches and if he plays will make a handy onball combo for them with diluvio
Normy, i hear george has wandered past but non commital. Diluvio is a gun who is a brilliant kick and tough in and under ball magnet. Would be handy for the hammers if george got on board but i doubt he'd commit to the effort required.

Skye are ready this year, bentleigh is a test but the bombers are ready to take the comp by the scruff of the neck. Hynes will dominate especially in finals and the coach corwey, is really on a mission this year! Stop deflecting favourtism and get behind us! Go the bombers!!! I agree with kphrophyphe and print the flag and post it to wedge rd.

good call yippa! Madman, rd 1 was merely a slight speed bump and bentleigh wont beat us without plapp. sandy dragons are playing gippsland power on saturday down there! Mark it down, especially if merlo plays

Normy, i hear george has wandered past but non commital. Diluvio is a gun who is a brilliant kick and tough in and under ball magnet. Would be handy for the hammers if george got on board but i doubt he'd commit to the effort required.

Sorry Yippa its Norman, not Normy :thumbsu::D

agree with the comments on diluvio, was suprised dingley let him go, see he was named BOG on saturday!

hopefully georgie does get on board as they could do with him.

Sorry Yippa its Norman, not Normy :thumbsu::D

agree with the comments on diluvio, was suprised dingley let him go, see he was named BOG on saturday!

hopefully georgie does get on board as they could do with him.
Sorry Norman :). Diluvio had great relationship with dean andrews at parkdale and when dean got the job diluvio was priority number 1! Agree about georgie, not only would he go alright on the field if he lined up, but he would do some serious after hours damage on the fillies around the hammers and would be giving that meat axe a serious working over!!!

Agreed Hynesy is a quality player and Skye are a solid unit but anyone saying they should stencil them in for the premiership this year is beyond delusional. They are yet to prove themselves this year after losing to East Malvern Round 1 and beating an undermanned Southern Dragons without Abela and a quarter of their premiership squad. Beat Bentleigh this week and maybe we can take them for a genuine chance at a flag but until then they are just a mid-tier club IMO. I still have Bentleigh, Springy, Malv, Oakleigh and Murrumbeena ahead of them to round out the finals. Hampton and Skye are near a bouts giving Skye a slight advantage due to depth and Dragons, Black Rock and South Yarra will fight it out for their life to stay up in Div 2. Fair call? Waiting for all the potshots from you hammers and bombers :D:D:D

I hop the Dragons can turn things around this week and bounce back to at least be competitive against Murrumbeena but highly doubt they have the list to do it after watching them against Skye missing so much quality and character from their team last year. I'll be at Keeley Park this saturday supporting my newly adopted favorite team once again and hope to see the dragon's heart and spirit :thumbsu:

Agreed Hynesy is a quality player and Skye are a solid unit but anyone saying they should stencil them in for the premiership this year is beyond delusional. They are yet to prove themselves this year after losing to East Malvern Round 1 and beating an undermanned Southern Dragons without Abela and a quarter of their premiership squad. Beat Bentleigh this week and maybe we can take them for a genuine chance at a flag but until then they are just a mid-tier club IMO. I still have Bentleigh, Springy, Malv, Oakleigh and Murrumbeena ahead of them to round out the finals. Hampton and Skye are near a bouts giving Skye a slight advantage due to depth and Dragons, Black Rock and South Yarra will fight it out for their life to stay up in Div 2. Fair call? Waiting for all the potshots from you hammers and bombers :D:D:D

remember the best team going around now does not mean you win the grand final .

I hop the Dragons can turn things around this week and bounce back to at least be competitive against Murrumbeena but highly doubt they have the list to do it after watching them against Skye missing so much quality and character from their team last year. I'll be at Keeley Park this saturday supporting my newly adopted favorite team once again and hope to see the dragon's heart and spirit :thumbsu:

I heard last night that they should have 4 to 5 players back possibly including Abela and 2 other recruits this week, should be a great contest.