SFNL Div 1 2025

When you were in U/19s it was basically putting off the full back that was kicking out, by making that "Whoaaaaaaaaaaaoooooff!" sound in unison. Now its see which bunch of young blokes can get the most personal & use the worst language towards a targeted player.

and yes before you start, I'm old & expect a level of decorum

That kid from Cheltenham who spat at Mullen is lucky he wasn't eating soup though the side of his mouth for a month. There's certain players you don't mess with.
Yes exactly right. What did he do to cop the verbal abuse anyway or was it just random coward idiots trying to be tough behind a fence. Probably don’t even go near the footy in under 19s I guess.

When you were in U/19s it was basically putting off the full back that was kicking out, by making that "Whoaaaaaaaaaaaoooooff!" sound in unison. Now its see which bunch of young blokes can get the most personal & use the worst language towards a targeted player.

That kid from Cheltenham who spat at Mullen is lucky he wasn't eating soup though the side of his mouth for a month. There's certain players you don't mess with.
I still remember playing St. Kilda City at the peanut farm and they kicked about 22 points. I had the pleasure of taking the kick ins that day and had to endure a group of men, who could’ve been a group of homeless, being pretty consistent with some abhorrent abuse.
Not once did I consider punching them in the head to teach them better “decorum”.
No excuse, for either behaviour in my opinion.
Mullen could’ve rightfully realised that these spectators are just moronic. Unfortunately for him he’s lowered himself to their level and has to now cop the consequences for doing so.
They’re all idiots in my opinion and have made fools of themselves, their clubs and the league.
Was there any discussion of punishment for the Chelt 19’s?

See this is the reason that so many kids leave the SNFL at u19 level and go elsewhere to play.

The SNFL u19 level has the reputation as a bunch of loud obnoxious bogan "pot smoking" tradies who all failed year 12. Somone at the league has to come up with a plan of bringing these kids into line.

am not one to normally comment on forums however as president of the Cheltenham Football Netball Club I feel it is now appropriate to respond after the recent and ongoing articles and threads regarding the ALLEGED spitting allegation of one of our supporters who happened to be an Under 19's player.

Firstly, and very strongly, we deny this allegation and will no longer sit back and have an innocent under 19's player persecuted for a disgusting act that simply did NOT occur.

I will not go into the full account of the incident and will not be having a he said/she said of the event and events that lead up to it, however we are extremely disappointed that such an unfounded and unsubstantiated claim has been made, and further to this, with parents within this section of the crowd(when the striking incident occurred at the 10-minute mark of the 1st quarter) we strongly refute the allegation of disgusting crowd behaviour.

We as a club do not condone any abuse of players, and we acknowledge comments were made to player 49, the challenge always is the fine line between banter and abuse. As a club will continue to educate our players and our supporters of their responsibility to our club and also community standards and expectations, however we will not stand by and allow anyone to be persecuted for an act that did not occur.

We are also extremely disappointed in the article by Mitch Bourke in the Leader Local Footy to allow such a serious allegation to be made without even the courtesy of contacting the club for a comment.

If anyone would like to discuss this matter any further then feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,

Adam King
President
Cheltenham FNC

*allegedly spat

Dingley President comments from the Mitch Bourke article:

“There was a heap of Cheltenham under-19s behind the goal, Jake said through the abuse while he was picking up a footy he felt a drop of spit go in his eye, and that’s what fired him up, that could’ve been part of the abuse, it could’ve been spit or whatever.

“Jake questioned it, the kid was smart to him, and he slapped him in the face, it was an open-handed slap. He didn’t punch him or anything and probably thought he let the kid off lightly as it was.”

I mean come on. It's a pretty bold and to be honest exuberant claim that because a player has felt something wet on his eye that means someone has spat at him.... Let's get real here.... He's playing footy on what was a hot day, he would have been sweating buckets. The president's comments read as a fabricated lie in order to garner sympathy and understanding for the incident. Realistically, Mullen only gets spat on if he was picking up the ball next fence to take a kick out. I wasn't at the game nor do I know if Mullen takes kick outs. So I take this whole spitting claim with a huge grain of salt.

Yes 19s/2s do need to improve state-wide behind the goals. It's a fine line they tread but I'm of the belief that a vocal support behind the goals creates a rousing and enjoyable atmosphere at the game. I'm sure Mullen did cop some verbal abuse from a few 19s who have just discovered the powers of liquid courage, but this is an experienced man with kids and really he should be better and not respond to the incident.

And the Dingley president stating "He didn’t punch him or anything and probably thought he let the kid off lightly as it was" is pretty poor form in my opinion. How can you be claiming the victim and sympathy card for Mullen and then back it up by saying Mullen would've bashed the shit out of him if he could.

5 weeks or whatever it was 100% warranted. I'm sure Cheltenham have spoken to 19s involved and they will now tread the line better. If Mullen can't control his temper from some verbal teenage abuse and because he maybe felt a wet substance fall on his eye, why should be play again? What happens if next time it's a closed fist to the back of the head because he thought a player kicked him? He will be targeted for the rest of his career both on and off the field if he successfully appeals his deregistration next year and he needs to be able to cope with that.

Why doesn't the league simply release the vision of incidents like this to stop the he said/she said parade that happens for numerous events each year?

Dingley President comments from the Mitch Bourke article:

“There was a heap of Cheltenham under-19s behind the goal, Jake said through the abuse while he was picking up a footy he felt a drop of spit go in his eye, and that’s what fired him up, that could’ve been part of the abuse, it could’ve been spit or whatever.

“Jake questioned it, the kid was smart to him, and he slapped him in the face, it was an open-handed slap. He didn’t punch him or anything and probably thought he let the kid off lightly as it was.”

I mean come on. It's a pretty bold and to be honest exuberant claim that because a player has felt something wet on his eye that means someone has spat at him.... Let's get real here.... He's playing footy on what was a hot day, he would have been sweating buckets. The president's comments read as a fabricated lie in order to garner sympathy and understanding for the incident. Realistically, Mullen only gets spat on if he was picking up the ball next fence to take a kick out. I wasn't at the game nor do I know if Mullen takes kick outs. So I take this whole spitting claim with a huge grain of salt.

Yes 19s/2s do need to improve state-wide behind the goals. It's a fine line they tread but I'm of the belief that a vocal support behind the goals creates a rousing and enjoyable atmosphere at the game. I'm sure Mullen did cop some verbal abuse from a few 19s who have just discovered the powers of liquid courage, but this is an experienced man with kids and really he should be better and not respond to the incident.

And the Dingley president stating "He didn’t punch him or anything and probably thought he let the kid off lightly as it was" is pretty poor form in my opinion. How can you be claiming the victim and sympathy card for Mullen and then back it up by saying Mullen would've bashed the shit out of him if he could.

5 weeks or whatever it was 100% warranted. I'm sure Cheltenham have spoken to 19s involved and they will now tread the line better. If Mullen can't control his temper from some verbal teenage abuse and because he maybe felt a wet substance fall on his eye, why should be play again? What happens if next time it's a closed fist to the back of the head because he thought a player kicked him? He will be targeted for the rest of his career both on and off the field if he successfully appeals his deregistration next year and he needs to be able to cope with that.

Why doesn't the league simply release the vision of incidents like this to stop the he said/she said parade that happens for numerous events each year?
5 weeks is a big suspension for something like this in my opinion.

PS: I don’t know Mullen..

Mullens definitely should not be slapping spectators. A 100% no no in any circumstance.

But it seems that neither the Dingley nor the Cheltenham Presidents have taken any responsibility for their respective roles in this altercation. Unfortunately, both are seen in a poor light.

The same thing is going to happen in the next Cheltenham and Dingley game and both Presidents need to be pulled over the coals by the SNFL administration. And the justification both Presidents will use then will be, they did it to us first!!!

This is not an issue that should be handled individually at Club level. it is an issue that the SNFL administration should be handling, and they should be the only ones commenting on the issue with punishments equally weighed on both sides.

The SNFL administration is one of the poorest ones in the State.

And that is how things like this get out of hand.

VAFA actually fine Clubs for bad crowd behaviour and have a demerit points system.

Remember also in the VAFA, spectators can't even drink alcohol outside at the ground until the seniors' match is finished.

I've seen blokes at SNFL games arrive with 3 or 4 slabs of beer in the back of their vans and collectively drink them before quarter time in the seniors. This is a regular occurrence. No wonder there are so many punch-ons in the crowd at SNFL games.

VAFA actually fine Clubs for bad crowd behaviour and have a demerit points system.

Remember also in the VAFA, spectators can't even drink alcohol outside at the ground until the seniors' match is finished.

I've seen blokes at SNFL games arrive with 3 or 4 slabs of beer in the back of their vans and collectively drink them before quarter time in the seniors. This is a regular occurrence. No wonder there are so many punch-ons in the crowd at SNFL games.
I'm yet to see a crowd punch on in 6 or 7 years of watching sfnl

Well, you weren't at the Dingley v Cheltenham game then were you. It's about verbal and physical violence now. It's also about intent.

It depends on what you call a punch on. Some of you blokes still live in the 1970s.

These days, crowds aren't even allowed to make disparaging remarks at opposition players. Thats the point.

If they do, clubs and the league can be sued.

Well, you weren't at the Dingley v Cheltenham game then were you. It's about verbal and physical violence now. It's also about intent.

It depends on what you call a punch on. Some of you blokes still live in the 1970s.

These days, crowds aren't even allowed to make disparaging remarks at opposition players. Thats the point.

If they do, clubs and the league can be sued.
Seriously you go and see so many VAFA games and SFL on the same day , amazing how you get around . There are faults in both admins .

Mullen has lived on the Edge of being suspended out of Victorian football for a fair while.

Almost double daring a league to suspend him. He got away with a lot at Noble Park. Because he is a very good football player; they let him get away with things others couldn't.

Good on the SNFL tribunal and administration for sticking to their guns and giving him the type of suspension that slapping a crowd member deserves.

Mullen has lived on the Edge of being suspended out of Victorian football for a fair while.

Almost double daring a league to suspend him. He got away with a lot at Noble Park. Because he is a very good football player; they let him get away with things others couldn't.

Good on the SNFL tribunal and administration for sticking to their guns and giving him the type of suspension that slapping a crowd member deserves.
You weren't the recipient of the alleged slap were you mate, you seem to have skin in the game! You do realise that everyone has or should have moved on. Mullen has been rubbed out, Dingley continue to win and the world is a wonderful place. As for the next game against Cheltenham, both clubs have total respect for one another, Chelt got us last year and we hope that we can turn the tables this year. Go and stir the pot at the mighty Glen Eira FC!

I just said that he got his due comeuppance. If nothing else, the return game between Dingley and Cheltenham will be packed to the rafters. There isn't anything like a bit of niggle to sell tickets. There is a genuine rivalry here that you can't fabricate.

No doubt you'll be watching a VAFA game

Well Bedders, like most people, I get around to as many of the different league big games as I can in the area.

Thats the beauty of being able to travel and having games so close together.

Well Bedders, we are blessed to have as many different games as possible around to watch. The SNFL is a vital cog in southern footy. Thats the beauty of being a local and into your footy. In the middle of winter, there isn't much else to do in Melbourne. The rivalry between Dingley and Cheltenham is real and it drives the whole of the SNFL at the moment. This is just one example of it. When two teams are separated by less than a goal in a Grand Final, you have to expect them to be at each other because they are at the top of the pecking order.

Only incident of a spectator getting a whack I've witnessed was down at Clayton back in 2008ish times, Ryan Goodes was coming to the bench and had to walk past a heap of us blokes who were giving him a bit of a friendly dressing down.

As he walks past us he swings and connects on one of our blokes who funnily enough was the only one who didn't say a word haha

No action taken, he wasn't seriously hurt but we all had a good laugh at getting under his skin and had an equally good laugh at our teammate who copped the punch!

Now days that would easily get 5 - 6 weeks with the oppo club submitting a report for investigation

SFNL Div 1 2025